June 02,2016 Source

As part of the programme of celebrations of the 50th Anniversary of the country’s Independence, the Ministry of Education and the Embassy of Mexico organised the first tour to Guyana by Internacional Mariachi Agave, one of Mexico’s most prestigious groups in the area of traditional music.

A release from GINA said that on May 27th, the music band held a Golden Jubilee commemorative concert before a packed-to-capacity National Cultural Centre in Georgetown. President David Granger and Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo attended the cultural event, a celebration of Guyanese and Mexican heritage.

GINA said that the six-member Mariachi band performed 14 songs during the free-admission two-hour concert.

An Aztec calendar was presented to President David Granger [fourth from right)

An Aztec calendar was presented to President Granger.

Django, yuh born stupiddy or wha? Yuh nah know dat abee people is nat Mariachi kinda folks? Ballywood music is abee ting, bhai. And Chutney music to besides. Dis GNI ah one Ballywood centre. Adios, amigo. 

I am eagerly awaiting the Carib lashout on that highlighted portion of your comment.

you guys take Carib to seriously. For all u know, he might turn out to be one of Bollywood's biggest fan. Come to think of it, he might even be an expert at screwing out bulb and fan batty.

Why "lashout"? Carib does not disdain Indian culture.

What does a Mariachi band have to do with Guyana's 50th anniversary? 

How come jackass Granger couldn't give accolades to a tassa or steel band instead? What is the significance of Mexican culture to the celebration of Guyana's 50th?  This is what you get when you put idiots in office. 

So you think he had something to do with the selection of the Mariachi band?  

I don't think so. Carib lives outside the homeland and is a one-man army like Gilbakka. 

Why will I lash out.  He is telling the truth. What he didn't add is that many on GNI relate to this as THEIR culture, and not as music that they happen to like. 

They will disavow chutney, and get quite frantic when I describe this as a musical genre to which Guyana made a major contribution.  And in fact might have even created it, though T&T embraced it, and now fully claims it.  I remember serious arguments on GNI about the shame that people had about chutney (too close to the fingers as food utensils in their minds I guess).

Bollywood is no more Guyanese than is reggae, jazz, R&B, or classical.  The fact that many Guyanese like it doesn't change that fact.

Had the PPP been in office millions would have been spent to get Bollywood acts there. What does Bollywood have to do with Guyana?

This was clearly a Mexican gift to Guyana, as they develop closer ties.

you guys take Carib to seriously. For all u know, he might turn out to be one of Bollywood's biggest fan. Come to think of it, he might even be an expert at screwing out bulb and fan batty.

No I already told you how irritating Bollywood is.

In fact I am a fan of tassa drumming and love it when it is combined with cumfa/Kwe Kwe drumming.

Had the PPP been in office millions would have been spent to get Bollywood acts there. What does Bollywood have to do with Guyana?

This was clearly a Mexican gift to Guyana, as they develop closer ties.

Nonsense, tell us one independence celebration where bollywood stars were brought in by the PPP for celebration. You continue to defend the pNC by pointing the finger backwards and making up lies. 

No I already told you how irritating Bollywood is.

In fact I am a fan of tassa drumming and love it when it is combined with cumfa/Kwe Kwe drumming.

It is good to see that Caribbeanj the artificial Englishman likes a local cultural item.

Seriously, folks, we have to be broadminded. We lose opportunities when we limit ourselves with our familiar cultures. A group of Mexicans decided to forego their tacos and muchachas and travel to Guyana to share their mariachi music for free and perhaps taste our cookup rice and ripe plantain fritters. Like Django, we must appreciate that.

World music is good, as I discovered firstly through shortwave radio and later through YouTube and Tune-in app. Of course, there is mediocrity in all cultural expressions but we must overlook those in favor of the sweet sounds of music.

Nonsense, tell us one independence celebration where bollywood stars were brought in by the PPP for celebration. You continue to defend the pNC by pointing the finger backwards and making up lies. 

The Jubilee would have been a special for Jagdeo to prance about, so yes, it would be Bollywood, now that he openly admits that the PPP is a "coolie people party" and his only goal is to "consolidate the East Indian support base".

It is good to see that Caribbeanj the artificial Englishman likes a local cultural item.

Funny that. Classical music and English folk dancing is even more irritating than the mosquito like tone of female Bollywood singers.

I like my drum music.  I suspect you don't. Only Kathak for you as you pretend to be a pure Brahmin.

I wonder if Royal Ralph and his brother hit the dance floor and get down to the beat when the Mariachi band was playing their 14 Mexican hit songs to celebrate the winning of the Granger PNC medal. Opportunity is always knocking at the door for the men into rank.

Seriously, folks, we have to be broadminded. We lose opportunities when we limit ourselves with our familiar cultures. A group of Mexicans decided to forego their tacos and muchachas and travel to Guyana to share their mariachi music for free and perhaps taste our cookup rice and ripe plantain fritters. Like Django, we must appreciate that.

World music is good, as I discovered firstly through shortwave radio and later through YouTube and Tune-in app. Of course, there is mediocrity in all cultural expressions but we must overlook those in favor of the sweet sounds of music.

Who said it was for free, they got paid handsomely by Granger. Meanwhile some poor sods playing nagara/tassa/steel pans get pushed to the background in favor of Mexicans who have no relation to Guyana. 

The Jubilee would have been a special for Jagdeo to prance about, so yes, it would be Bollywood, now that he openly admits that the PPP is a "coolie people party" and his only goal is to "consolidate the East Indian support base".

Never heard of this, all part of your imagination. You seem fixated on Jagdeo, maybe he owes you something. Please concentrate on the idiot Granger and his band of jackasses running the country.