PDF Prin|
Written by Denis Scott Chabrol

Marriott's VP Houghton and President Jagdeo turn the sod in the presence of government and other officials.
Even as the sod was turned for the construction of a more than US$51 million dollar Marriott-branded hotel inGuyana, government says more airlines would be coming here and theCheddiJaganInternationalAirportwould be rebuilt into a major regional hub.

The sod was turned Sunday for the 197-room hotel to be located in Kingston near the mouth of the Demerara River and theAtlantic Ocean.

Addressing the simple and brief event, President Bharrat Jagdeo remarked that talks have started with several major airlines to ease international travel woes in an under-served and high-fare market.

β€œThe idea is that once that’s ( new modern airport) completed,Guyana could become a significant hub for South America connecting the Caribbean,” he said.

Originally Posted by ABIDHA:
 PDF Prin|

β€œThe idea is that once that’s ( new modern airport) completed,Guyana could become a significant hub for South America connecting the Caribbean,” he said.

Why do people chat such foolishness? With scant business ties to major centers in South America there is absolutely no way that some foreign carrier will use GEO as a hub as described. 

Trinidad with CAL and Suriname with Surinam Airways might have a shot, probably more likely the latter, given Suriname's stronger ties to non border parts of Brazil.  Already Panama fills this space with their vast business ties to the rest of Latin America and parts of the Caribbean, and they have  a strong carrier who plays this role, flying as close as Trinidad.

Does this idiot think that there are massive opportunities transferring people from Boa Vista to Trinidad?  Well META, the carrier which once flew this route is no more and no other Brazilian airline has seen fit to fill that gap.

CBJIA will work based upon travel into/out of Guyana.  If they need instransits then the project will be a financial drain.

Guyanese need to stop dreaming lofty dreams and start learning what Brazil and the rest of South America are all about and develop realistic notions about how Guyana can fit in.  Trinidad and Suriname, and even Jamaica are way ahead of us...Jamaica attracting DIRECT several flights from So America.

 PDF Prin|

Why do people chat such foolishness? With scant business ties to major centers in South America there is absolutely no way that some foreign carrier will use GEO as a hub as described. 

Trinidad with CAL and Suriname with Surinam Airways might have a shot, probably more likely the latter, given Suriname's stronger ties to non border parts of Brazil.  Already Panama fills this space with their vast business ties to the rest of Latin America and parts of the Caribbean, and they have  a strong carrier who plays this role, flying as close as Trinidad.

Does this idiot think that there are massive opportunities transferring people from Boa Vista to Trinidad?  Well META, the carrier which once flew this route is no more and no other Brazilian airline has seen fit to fill that gap.

CBJIA will work based upon travel into/out of Guyana.  If they need instransits then the project will be a financial drain.

Guyanese need to stop dreaming lofty dreams and start learning what Brazil and the rest of South America are all about and develop realistic notions about how Guyana can fit in.  Trinidad and Suriname, and even Jamaica are way ahead of us...Jamaica attracting DIRECT several flights from So America.

OK, so because there are other airports and maybe even some competition, Guyana must roll over and die.  The Govt has to be pragnatic but also must push there agenda and fight for their space.  Yours is a loser mentality.

Dem coolie bais tek the country in 1992 from bankruptcy and have things hopping, why you think you see more than them.

The Govt has to be pragnatic but also must push there agenda and fight for their space. 

Which is why they must build only what Guyana needs and use the remaining funds more beneficially.

If they continue to build white elephants they will once again leave Guyana indebted.

Btw you need to stop implying that the PPP reaspind the debt that they found in 1992.  That debt was written off, giving the govt more space to do other things.  Better run CARICOM countries have to repay what they borrow with no excusesd accepted.

The Govt has to be pragnatic but also must push there agenda and fight for their space. 

Which is why they must build only what Guyana needs and use the remaining funds more beneficially.

If they continue to build white elephants they will once again leave Guyana indebted.

Btw you need to stop implying that the PPP reaspind the debt that they found in 1992.  That debt was written off, giving the govt more space to do other things.  Better run CARICOM countries have to repay what they borrow with no excusesd accepted.

They have to improve the arrival image of the nation.  Timehri airport does not reflect a vibrant forward thinking nation.

I congratulate the govt for persevering to move the country forward despite the sabotage tactics employed by the disgruntled opposition. The Marriott will attract a new 5 star clientele, not the garmont low class crowd that the Pegasus would serve. You fools underestimate the spending power and sophistication of the successful overseas Guyanese. Many of the affluent Guyanese want top notch accommodations, the Marriott will partly satisfy this need. In fact Marriott is towards the bottom of the barrel when it comes to 5 Star, I would prefer to see a Ritz Carlton, Hilton or Crown Plaza instead. But Marriott will suffice for now. 

more pretending @ knowledge from u . . . sometimes it's better to swallow deeply before pulling bits & pieces of smelly shit from ur ass and waving stupidly.

Don't make me embarrass you again

Notice that the 3 AFC musketeers, Cain, Mitwah and Redux had nothing constructive to say about the issue they raised and which I commented. Instead the fools once again chose the path of least resistance by engaging in personal attacks. These lower primates have no brain, in fact one poster stated that one of them have applied for a brain transplant in India from a donkey. They are a discredit to the AFC as they lack the ability to formulate an opinion and engage in constructive discussion.

more pretending @ knowledge from u . . . sometimes it's better to swallow deeply before pulling bits & pieces of smelly shit from ur ass and waving stupidly.

Don't make me embarrass you again

When you have nothing to say, better you shut your dutty clapper.

They have to improve the arrival image of the nation.  Timehri airport does not reflect a vibrant forward thinking nation.

Baseman, yuh recall how many time they rebuild the airport. It begin to lokk like a milking cow.

Many of the affluent Guyanese want top notch accommodations, the Marriott will partly satisfy this need. . 

So why dont some of these affluent Guyanese not build this hotel if its future is so guaranteed?  As some one who advocates that governments should not be involved in ventures better served by the private sector isnt it odd that you advocate a govt owned hotel?

Clearly this great potential doesnt exist or else private investors would not need govt backing.

Building an airport sufficient to service the current and anticipated needs of people traveling into and out of Guyana is very different from building ahuge white elephant in a foolish gamble that Guyana can become a big hub as Panama now is.

Idea for you/ Let the govt spend less on a white elephant and use the difference to work with the private sector to develop a proper tourism product and promoting Guyana to the eco/adventure markets overseas.  That way CBJIA will indeed benefit from increased traffic and will not be an albatross around taxpayers' necks the way that the Providence Stadium and the Skeldon factor are.  We heard all about how those two white elephants were going to "transform" Guyana and we know that this is clearly a joke.

Guyana does have potential to attract at least 50k eco/adventure tourists which would entice either BA or Virgin to begin service from the UK.  But they will not do this if they see GEO as only attracting a trickle of visitors out of the UK who will be best served by transiting thru Trinidad or Barbados.

So why not spend $$$ instead to ensure that Guyana does develop a viable tourism industry in addition to visits by its diaspora?

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Poke cuttahs will be on the Marriott's Bar Menu.

Chinese Love Poke. So do we.

Oh rass, dem go bring Chinee poke from China?

Chinese and chinese poke is already in Guyana. I have to admit that the artist's impression of the new Marriott is quite an attraction for Guyana. I only hope that the project can complete without further hindrance for the opposition.

 PDF Prin|

WE all heard that Guyana is a hub, forgot already banna?

Many of the affluent Guyanese want top notch accommodations, the Marriott will partly satisfy this need. . 

So why dont some of these affluent Guyanese not build this hotel if its future is so guaranteed?  As some one who advocates that governments should not be involved in ventures better served by the private sector isnt it odd that you advocate a govt owned hotel?

Clearly this great potential doesnt exist or else private investors would not need govt backing.

Whattack!

See Gurdsta, this is only one reason we love ya, there's lots more.

Affluent people looking to have a good time at top notch accommodations don't necessarily want to be bogged down with building such accommodations.  They want to have a good time, not become hotel owners.  

As you will know, the govt is the biggest private investor through NICIL which was set up by your brothers in the PNC. They are judiciously using the funds in NICIL to bet on Guyana. Private investors are scared away by mo fiah slow fiah so govt is the only game in town. 

Affluent people looking to have a good time at top notch accommodations don't necessarily want to be bogged down with building such accommodations.  They want to have a good time, not become hotel owners.  

Who do you think owns hotels? The maids and the taxi drivers.

Druggie investors who own hotels are usually affluent people.

So druggie why dont the most affluent of these affluent people not invest in what you think is a very profitable venture?

Clearly the Marriott in Guyana is seen as too high risk a project for private investors to feel that they can have a reasonable expectation of good returns.  SWo the govt is forced to assume the potential for suboptimal returns.  Therefore the notion that Marriott has the potential that you think it does is not widely shared by the private sector.

.My question to you will be why should the govt get into the hotel business when private investors are always more successful.  Govt owned hotels almost always fail as do many other state owned enterprises.

Who do you think owns hotels? The maids and the taxi drivers.

Druggie investors who own hotels are usually affluent people.

So druggie why dont the most affluent of these affluent people not invest in what you think is a very profitable venture?

Clearly the Marriott in Guyana is seen as too high risk a project for private investors to feel that they can have a reasonable expectation of good returns.  SWo the govt is forced to assume the potential for suboptimal returns.  Therefore the notion that Marriott has the potential that you think it does is not widely shared by the private sector.

.My question to you will be why should the govt get into the hotel business when private investors are always more successful.  Govt owned hotels almost always fail as do many other state owned enterprises.

The affluent Guyanese are not hotel owners or builders, they affluence comes from other sources. So your idiotic remark that the people looking to visit a 5 star hotel should build it first, is the height of foolishness. 

All things being equal, the ideal preference is for private investors to be the risk takers. However in a small economy like Guyana where mo fiah slow fiah has driven away investors, govt has to take the lead and bet that Guyana will prevail despite the destructive opposition trying to stymie progress.   

Point and case, when the Bbice bridge and Providence stadium were undertaken, you naysayers cried day and night that these projects would fail. Today they stand out as beacons of success despite your tears. I just heard that Cece Winans will be performing at providence and don't forget Chris Brown. Your tears on Guyana has failed to stop progress. Keep hoping that the nation will fall and the PPP will continue to disappoint you. hahahahah 

.sector.

The affluent Guyanese are not hotel owners or builders, they affluence comes from other sources. So your idiotic remark that the people looking to visit a 5 star hotel should build it first, is the height of foolishness. 

Druggie tell me in your own words why you think that govt should own a hotel when you always scream that they should not own business entities?

Also tell me if you really think that those UPPER MIDDLE CLASS (not affluent) Guyanese, who love to pretend to be rich, will really not visit Guyana if there wasnt a Marriott.  They have a need to fly first class, get drunk and harrass the cabin attendants and show off when they get down to Guyana.

The reality druggie is that no one, foreign nor Guyanese, thinks that the Marriott is a good ides, which is why the govt is getting involved.  If it fails only taxpayers lose.  If its potential was so good surely PRIVATE investors would invest to benefit from this return of which you boast.

Point and case, when the Bbice bridge and Providence stadium were undertaken, you naysayers cried day and night that these projects would fail. .

Indeed they have failed.  NIS is near bankruptcy because Jagdeo forced them to invest in the Berbic Bridge.

And what makes Providence stadium successful.  I note you didnt mention the other white elephant, Skeldon, as even you know the problems with that one.

Just because CeCe Wyans is going there?  Well she has been to loads of places where the massive expenditures that Providence incurred.  Places where VISITORS from neighboring islands will actually come bringing in more purchasing power.  Not encouraging Guyanese to spend money that they dont have.

And sinec January how many stars who would not otherwise visit Guyana have been there.  How many hotel stays did their concerts generate?

Listen Guyana will never have a festival equivalent to St Lucia's Jazz festival and unless one is operating at that level international concerts arent beneficial.

Druggie tell me in your own words why you think that govt should own a hotel when you always scream that they should not own business entities?

Also tell me if you really think that those UPPER MIDDLE CLASS (not affluent) Guyanese, who love to pretend to be rich, will really not visit Guyana if there wasnt a Marriott.  They have a need to fly first class, get drunk and harrass the cabin attendants and show off when they get down to Guyana.

The reality druggie is that no one, foreign nor Guyanese, thinks that the Marriott is a good ides, which is why the govt is getting involved.  If it fails only taxpayers lose.  If its potential was so good surely PRIVATE investors would invest to benefit from this return of which you boast.

Firstly you are incorrect in claiming that the govt will own the hotel, it will just be a part owner due to the small investment via NICIL. Just like the Bbice bridge they invested along with private enterprise. Govt investment  will give the other investors a sense of security as they are assured that there is buy in from the taxpayers hence the commitment by govt to ensure the success of the project. 

Next, affluent is a relative term, it does not necessarily mean that people want to invest. You don't buy a bar because you want a drink.

When you no no one thinks its a good idea for a Marriott investment, you mean those who want Guyana to remain a backward 3rd world nation for political gain.  People like yourself and other naysayers whose tears on Guyana seem to be making no difference as progress continues unabated despite mo fiah slow fiah efforts.

Indeed they have failed.  NIS is near bankruptcy because Jagdeo forced them to invest in the Berbic Bridge.

And what makes Providence stadium successful.  I note you didnt mention the other white elephant, Skeldon, as even you know the problems with that one.

Just because CeCe Wyans is going there?  Well she has been to loads of places where the massive expenditures that Providence incurred.  Places where VISITORS from neighboring islands will actually come bringing in more purchasing power.  Not encouraging Guyanese to spend money that they dont have.

And sinec January how many stars who would not otherwise visit Guyana have been there.  How many hotel stays did their concerts generate?

Listen Guyana will never have a festival equivalent to St Lucia's Jazz festival and unless one is operating at that level international concerts arent beneficial.

NIS may be in trouble because folks are not contributing, in the US SSN contributions are automatically taken out of paychecks and is required by law. This is not the same in Guyana as NIS is a voluntary contribution.  Even with the mandatory contribution, SSN is projected to run out of money by 2033.

You are negative about any development in Guyana, if you don't build it, they will not come. Kudos to the govt for forging ahead while you naysayers shed your tears and continue to hope for the worse for Guyana. 

When you no no one thinks its a good idea for a Marriott investment, you mean those who want Guyana to remain a backward 3rd world nation for political gain.  

Druggie those "affluent"  Guyanese of whom you boast return home and indeed many have homes there now.  Just as Provident has generated no benefiots for Guyana I foresee Marriott being the same waste of time.

If those "affluent" Guyanese want a 5 star hotel they need to build it themselves.  There is absolutely no need for the govt to be the MAJORITY owner of a facility which will not generate incremental foreign exchange for Guyana.

NIS may be in trouble

NIS is in trouble in part because its investments are not performing.  The investment most often referenced in the Berbice Bridge.

Then of course we have your rich PPP businessmen who also do not contribute to NIS, while they daily exploit their workers.

Several years back you were among those braying about Buddies, now Princess, and how it will transform Guyana.  You used the same excuse about all these "rich" Guyanese flocking to support it.

Well Princess is near closure and a loss for the guy who owns it.......who knows maybe its a money laundering scheme, an activity that many international casino operators are notorious for.  In addition to human trafficking.

NIS is in trouble in part because its investments are not performing.  The investment most often referenced in the Berbice Bridge.

Then of course we have your rich PPP businessmen who also do not contribute to NIS, while they daily exploit their workers.

Several years back you were among those braying about Buddies, now Princess, and how it will transform Guyana.  You used the same excuse about all these "rich" Guyanese flocking to support it.

Well Princess is near closure and a loss for the guy who owns it.......who knows maybe its a money laundering scheme, an activity that many international casino operators are notorious for.  In addition to human trafficking.

Nonsense, NIS is an insurance company that depends on contributions and less on investments. If the contributions are not coming in then invariably the financial pyramid will not be sustained to dole out payments to retirees. In fact their returns from the Bbice bridge is stellar, one of their more profitable investments. According to Christopher Ram, NIS biggest impairment is the 6billion held up in the Clico failure.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Abidha living in a time warp. Jagdeo has not been president for about a year now. So this story is just a page filler with no useful new information.

Thanks for recognizing that Jagdeo is out of the picture for a year now but you guys still talking about his mansion and blaming Ramotar for woes. BTW, the Marriott and CJIA were unfinished business under Jagdeo administration, and it will be completed by the PPP under Ramorar administration.