Marriott will be full. The other hotels will be empty.   Marriott will cater to business people.  Pegasus and Cara will suffer.  But then that is the PPPs intent.

Worldwide, there are competitions between hotels to cater to the people.

Guyana is no different as competition for guests and pertinent occasions have always existed.

No net benefit to Guyana if 3 hotels close.  Marriott is a strong brand so will clearly attract the business crowd, but the notion that tourist arrivals will increase is nonsense.

1. Marriott doesnt cater to the eco adventure market.  No US corporation is going to host conventions in Guyana as they do at the other Marriott properties in the Caribbean.  Guyana lacks attractions of interest to those who organize conventions, and we aren't a major business center as is Trinidad, Puerto Rico, the DR, Jamaica, Cayman or the Bahamas.

Conventioneers arent interested in stepping over garbage, smelling stink drains, or swimming on muddy beaches.

2.  Most overseas Guyanese stay with their relatives and are not interested in spending huge amounts of money on a hotel.  Rather spend it on entertaining the folks instead.

3.  Because the PPP is backward and knows nothing about tourism, aside from overseas Guyanese, Caribbean people, and business people we only attract low end "adventurers" who certainly are not going to spend lavish amounts in a hotel, when they would rather spend that on going into the interior.

Who are the investors?  This hotel was premised on private investors and these are still to be named.

Marriott will be full. The other hotels will be empty.   Marriott will cater to business people.  Pegasus and Cara will suffer.  But then that is the PPPs intent.

Guyana is no different as competition for guests and pertinent occasions have always existed.

No net benefit to Guyana if 3 hotels close.  Marriott is a strong brand so will clearly attract the business crowd, but the notion that tourist arrivals will increase is nonsense.

1. Marriott doesnt cater to the eco adventure market.  No US corporation is going to host conventions in Guyana as they do at the other Marriott properties in the Caribbean.  Guyana lacks attractions of interest to those who organize conventions, and we aren't a major business center as is Trinidad, Puerto Rico, the DR, Jamaica, Cayman or the Bahamas.

Conventioneers arent interested in stepping over garbage, smelling stink drains, or swimming on muddy beaches.

2.  Most overseas Guyanese stay with their relatives and are not interested in spending huge amounts of money on a hotel.  Rather spend it on entertaining the folks instead.

3.  Because the PPP is backward and knows nothing about tourism, aside from overseas Guyanese, Caribbean people, and business people we only attract low end "adventurers" who certainly are not going to spend lavish amounts in a hotel, when they would rather spend that on going into the interior.

Who are the investors?  This hotel was premised on private investors and these are still to be named.

Irrelevant.

Originally Posted by TK:

Except in Guyana govt uses taxpayers money to compete with private business in a sector with 50 to 55% occupancy.

Governments' involvement with these developments are in various parts of the world.

Not when there is excess capacity.

Excess capacity is unrelated to the developments.

indeed with your unrelated issues.

Irrelevant.

Care to disclose why it is irrelevant?  That is assuming that you have the ABILITY do do so!

Irrelevant.

Care to disclose why it is irrelevant?  That is assuming that you have the ABILITY do do so!

Bet he has no opinion on the status of the historical Tower Hotel.

Irrelevant.

Compare your views regarding worldwide competition,

Originally Posted by TK:

Irrelevant.

Bet he has no opinion on the status of the historical Tower Hotel.

Though the issues of the Tower Hotel are known, they are irrelevant to the topic.

Georgetown isnt a major center of tourism or commerce.  So of what relevance is comparing it to San Juan, Port of Spain, Kingston, or Santo Domingo.

Indeed mention Georgetown to most people and they will think that you refer to George Town, Grand Cayman.

Now focus on answering questions SPECIFIC to Guyana!

D_G, Check out the beach sand.

Excellent Cobra.

Try that and Marriott will get sued.  At the edge of the beach is muddy water.  Some American will sue if they arrive and do not see blue seas and they will go viral on tripadvisor and other sites.

Who do these people think that they are fooling?

The damn hotel open already. Stop bad mouthing the place. Burhman, Hoyte and Granger are not use to fancy hotel. They use to logie and straw hut. 

Irrelevant.

Georgetown isnt a major center of tourism or commerce.  So of what relevance is comparing it to San Juan, Port of Spain, Kingston, or Santo Domingo.

Indeed mention Georgetown to most people and they will think that you refer to George Town, Grand Cayman.

Continued irrelevance.

I see.  Your usual dementia response when confronted with a question that you cannot answer.

So why are my questions irrelevant?  Clearly comparing the hotel sector in Georgetown to even Port of Spain is nonsense. In fact P-o-S has a SHORTAGE of hotel rooms, and is a major regional business center.

G/town has EXCESS hotel rooms and attracts no one aside from Guyanese, and others forced to visit.

Marriott will NOT bring any net new benefit to Guyana. 

Now go and let the nurses clean you up!

Continued irrelevance.

I see.  Your usual dementia response when confronted with a question that you cannot answer.

So why are my questions irrelevant?  Clearly comparing the hotel sector in Georgetown to even Port of Spain is nonsense. In fact P-o-S has a SHORTAGE of hotel rooms, and is a major regional business center.

G/town has EXCESS hotel rooms and attracts no one aside from Guyanese, and others forced to visit.

Yest again with irrelevant issues.

Continued irrelevance.

OK DG is dribbling, incoherent, and probably doesnt even know his name. So obviously he cannot craft a proper response.

BTW DG your babble about competition is relevant when privately owned hotels compete with each other.  Marriott is NOT privately owned, and as such has received many incentives not available to the competition.

Continued irrelevance.

Now go and let the nurses clean you up! -- You do believe that others are in the same unfortunate situation like yourself.

Continued irrelevance.

OK DG is dribbling, incoherent, and probably doesnt even know his name. So obviously he cannot craft a proper response.

BTW DG your babble about competition is relevant when privately owned hotels compete with each other.  Marriott is NOT privately owned, and as such has received many incentives not available to the competition.

Immaterial whether a hotel is privately or publicly owner.

Also on your statement ---

[[QUOTE]]

[[UNQUOTE]]

Your usual nonsensical expressions.

Originally Posted by Mars:

A friend describing some of the proceedings at the Marriot today "Now the PPP bring down some American strategist as I told y'all and paying he with allyuh money. Now I hear today they at the New Mariott hobnobbing with them crooks, the man siddung by heself and take out he laptop and ask for a drink. The man ask for a Jack Daniels and the waiter say she don't know who that is, they have no guest here by that name...waaaaah lol."  

HEEEEE HEEEEEEEEEEEEE HEE  Ayu Laff nah Bhai.

Wah you guh do bhai? Dem peeple mouth like battie. All dem cyan taak ah shit and fart.

seeing your mouth like battie,i guess you suck a lot of dicks 

WE now have the Bharriott a five star hotel, at a time when:

- we have a 1 star electricity supply

- 1 star undrinkable red water system

- a 1/2 star sanitation system

- a 1/4 star garbage pick up system

- a 1/4 star hospital system with people sharing beds 

- 1 star university

- 1/2 star education system

- 1/2 star road system

- a 5-star corrupt cabinet

- sugar industry at 1/2 star

- rice at 2 stars

-crime at 5+ stars

Add to this list ....

Originally Posted by Jay Bharrat:

WE now have the Bharriott a five star hotel, at a time when:

- we have a 1 star electricity supply

- 1 star undrinkable red water system

- a 1/2 star sanitation system

- a 1/4 star garbage pick up system

- a 1/4 star hospital system with people sharing beds 

- 1 star university

- 1/2 star education system

- 1/2 star road system

- a 5-star corrupt cabinet

- sugar industry at 1/2 star

- rice at 2 stars

-crime at 5+ stars

Add to this list ....

Demented Guy will tell you that's all irrelevant.

Immaterial whether a hotel is privately or publicly owner.

Also on your statement ---

[[QUOTE]]

[[UNQUOTE]]

Your usual nonsensical expressions.

If you behave like a resident of a nursing home then you will be treated like one.

You cannot answer my questions, and maybe lack the cognitive skills to even comprehend.  In fact this is typical of you. I only asked those questions for rhetorical purposes. The ageing process has long since rendered you unability to answer coherently.  Or maybe too much time around FreeDUMB House.