Marriott workforce

Posted By Staff Writer On February 24, 2013 @ 5:01 am In Editorial | 

It was the PPP’s premier spokesperson Ms Gail Teixeira who decided to take on the media last Monday, by accusing them of facilitating criticism of a racist and xenophobic character in relation to the employment of an all-Chinese workforce to construct the Marriott Hotel. Well racism is a word which gets bandied about with great recklessness in this society, and it seems where that is concerned nothing has changed.

What seems to have happened is that the government and party found themselves cornered without even a rationalization to offer that made sense to the public, let alone the unions and opposition politicians. As is their wont in such situations, therefore, they decided that a frontal assault on the motives of those asking the questions was the appropriate tactic. That it was utterly misconceived certainly does not appear to have given them pause for thought.

In a Gina press release the contents of which we had published on February 9, the CEO of Atlantic Hotels Inc (AHI) Winston Brassington, had been quoted as saying that the use of a mostly Chinese labour force to build the Marriott was just one of several conditionalities designed to achieve efficient and speedy construction. He was reported as saying too that the contractor, the Shanghai Construction Group, had said they could lower their contract cost provided they supplied their own labour. He appended to this the tendentious comment that the issue of productivity would be a cause for concern, as well as that of communication, and said that the lack of specialized skills required for the contract needed to be recognized.

All of this was given short shrift by the critics, who pointed out that in a country like this there should be no shortage of those who could serve as translators on the site, and who hammered the implication that Guyanese did not work. As it is, it hardly needs a response, given the innumerable complex – and durable − structures of all kinds built courtesy of Guyanese workers.

A rather lame, somewhat tangential attempt at defence of the allegation (pointed out by Mr Sam Barakat in a letter to this newspaper on Wednesday) emanated from the Manager of an entirely different project – that of the fibre optic cable. Head of the project, Mr Alexei Ramotar, is now blaming the Guyanese workforce for the current delays in the laying of the cable.  Presumably we were supposed to extrapolate from this that the same would happen in the case of the Marriott Hotel were Guyanese to be employed there. However, as Mr Barakat observed, despite earlier hold-ups no mention was previously made by Mr Ramotar of the dilatoriness of the Guyanese workforce until now.

The real problem for Mr Brassington’s comments, however, came in a story published by Stabroek News on February 18,where we reported that a concession to the contractor over the hiring of Chinese workers for a lower cost was not reflected in the contract between AHI and Shanghai Construction Group. Mr Brassington has not explained this.

After Mr Brassington, it was the turn of Minister of Labour Nanda Gopaul to see if he could retrieve anything from the situation. We had reported him in our February 14 edition as saying that at this stage the contractor was using highly technical and advanced construction methods, and it would be some time before the Guyanese workers acquired the competencies to use the technology. Among other things, he said, the contractor’s technology obviated the need for spirit levels. This communication, it might be mentioned, had followed an impromptu visit the Minister had made to the building site, and had this not been explained, the unwary reader might have been forgiven for thinking that he hadn’t been near it.

Be that as it may, Dr Gopaul was followed to the site in a manner of speaking the next day, because a protest was held outside it. Speaking to this newspaper during the picketing exercise, MP and APNU Vice-Chairman Rupert Roopnaraine said, “What we have seen on this site are Chinese workers fetching sand and doing work that is menial. I see nothing technical in what they are doing…”  So instead of the Chinese engineers with their post spirit-level technology − however complex that might or might not be − we have these supposedly highly trained Chinese workers pushing wheelbarrows full of sand.

At the very least, one might have thought, it would seem to be a misuse of their presumably specialised skills, and given the higher remuneration levels usually attendant on these, would hardly be conducive to lower costs. So far the government has made no attempt to explain to the rest of us − uninitiated as we are in the technological complexities of the post spirit-level era − what is so especially technical about moving sand on a construction site. Is there some secret technological advance we are missing here?

After that fiasco, it was then the turn of the heavy artillery in the form of Ms Teixeira to train her sights on the phalanx of critics. She belaboured the media with the anti-discrimination clauses of the constitution, strangely oblivious to the fact that the discrimination is directed against Guyanese workers and in favour of the Chinese, not the other way around. So any sentiments of “anti-nationality,” as she called it, are not on the side of the critics. She followed this with a ramble about Guyana being a signatory to the convention on migrant workers, as though the Chinese workers on the Marriott who have been deliberately recruited in China by the Chinese contractor are normal migrant workers. But even if they do fall technically into the category, what steps is the Government of Guyana taking to ensure that it – not its critics – is in compliance with the convention? Does it know anything about the Chinese workers’ recruitment, the conditions under which they live and work, what they are being paid, etc, etc?

Ms Teixeira did give a recitation of all the previous projects where foreign workers had been brought into the country, including the stadium and the Skeldon Sugar Factory, where she said no objections had been raised, from which premise she jumped to the conclusion that present complaints smelt of “racism” and “anti-nationality.” Just why it was “racism” now, if there had been no earlier complaints from the critics was not elucidated. Similarly, with xenophobia. The point is that it doesn’t matter at what stage the issue is raised, there are still questions to answer.

In the piecemeal defence being advanced by the government, Gina recently cited Omai as having brought in about 300 Canadians in the first phase of their mining operation, continuing on with the inevitable remark that there was no complaint at that time. However, Mr Christopher Ram in today’s Business Page, took the agency to task on this blatant inaccuracy, saying that Cambior had nothing like that number of Canadians on the site. With regard to the building of the US Embassy too, he said, a mostly Guyanese workforce had been employed.

Even the government’s technological arguments have a certain hollow sound given that some of the Chinese projects here have been less than a resounding success; perhaps they could have benefited from a Guyanese engineering input − other categories of workers apart. The problematic Skeldon factory is still not functioning as it was designed to do, and the Chinese contractors have not been held to account, while Ms Teixeira maybe forgot the catastrophe that was the Region Nine hydropower facility, where there was a landslide after completion. It will most likely never work again. And we are being told that Guyanese do not have the skills?

This is not to denigrate Chinese skills or technology; a nation which can send a man into space is certainly not lacking in that department. However, given the anxiety of the government to secure funding for any number of projects in a hurry at the lowest possible price, are we the recipients of China’s best quality expertise, of which there is ample evidence outside this country? Most of all, does the government have at its disposal the kind of professional advice it needs to scrutinise these project proposals to ensure they meet the standards we should be demanding?

Finally, as we reported yesterday, Minister Gopaul came back into the fray to tell the public that it is sometimes necessary to make concessions in order to achieve development. The Marriott? Development? Only the government knows how those two words link up.

The regime playbook on racial politics is a diversion from their Unrighteous act on the Marriott issue  

FEBRUARY 24, 2013 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

Dear Editor,

Just as Lenin’s body remains on public display in Russia to rally the faithful when the Stalinists deemed it necessary, so too is one Presidential Advisor, Ms. Teixeira who has resurrected the PPP play book on racial politics in Guyana. We want to inform Gail Teixeira that this has worked in the past as a symbol for their rapidly dwindling supporters but it will not work today because Guyanese are aware of their scheme of deception.  Unfortunately, too many people “belly ah bun” in Guyana today for that kind of “jumbie politics” to take effect and become successful.

All over Guyana the East Indians “belly ah bun” and the Afro-Guyanese “belly ah bun” even more.  But worst of all, what the Jagdeo/Ramotar cabal has put the Amerindians through in the last 20 years will not only cause their “belly to bun” but it has stifled their productivity, destroyed their dignity and created conflicts among the groups with the intent to make them life-long paupers.
Let it be known that the poverty rate in Guyana is now past 40% of the population and no amount of racial propaganda, distortions and untruths from the Jagdeo/Ramotar cabal can save them. The people of Guyana have lost confidence in this corrupt, greedy, uncaring and heartless regime whose time is coming to an end sooner rather than later.

As Frank Sanatra said “And now the end is near and so (they) face the final curtain”! Such a statement from that Presidential Advisor is unpatriotic, idiotic and most reprehensible. We call on all Guyanese, irrespective of their ethnicity and political persuasion to condemn it. It is high time for the PPP to stop this nonsense.

This is an outcome of their desperation and crooked behavior as they try to hide their financial shenanigans and white collar gangsterism on the Marriot Project, the Treasury, NICIL and the Contingency Funds. Contrary to Ms. Teixeira’s lame duck accusation that the opposition protest on the Marriott Hotel issue is “stink of racism” the issue is never about the race of the workers on the project, rather the real issue is clear to all Guyanese.

How could the Jagdeo/Ramotar regime craft a contract with the Chinese to import labour from China when there is such a high unemployment rate in Guyana (reported at some 40% for the youths aged 18-35 and 18% overall)? This is what Ms. Teixeira must address and not start to preach racism.

To have the Chinese discriminate against Guyanese workers is one thing but to have your own government chose foreign workers over its own is not only disrespectful, insulting and contemptuous but also they are taking bread out of the mouths of Guyanese. The Jagdeo/Ramotar cabal has no shame whatsoever! How can they live with themselves?

So our dear Guyanese, please ignore these sustained acts of naked and cheap propaganda and gutter politics from the Freedom House operatives.  It is all designed to pull wool over your eyes while they push their hands into the Treasury like common pickpockets, stealing the destiny of the Guyanese children.
From our analysis of the socio-economic and political situation in Guyana, we expect no better from the Jagdeo/Ramotar cabal.  Persons like the Presidential Advisor should justify her salary of G$1 million a month paid from the sweat of the poor and the working class.

Twenty-one men will have to toil in the cane-fields every month so that one person can talk spume; that is the aggregate of the number of sugar workers it will take to earn what Gail Texeira takes home from one of her jobs. We want the people to know that she wears many hats that pay additional wages.
It takes a political flea to say these untruths in order to serve their political masters and economic sponsors whose only objective is to plunder the Treasury and financially rape the poor and the working class.

There was a time when racist overtones from the PPP would stick with the people in Guyana. That time was during the “apan jhat”  and the Jagdeo period but that was then.

For the PPP to throw a red herring into the debate to distract, distort and confuse the people on the real issue is ridiculous. The people are fully aware that while their “belly ah bun” the fat cats in the PPP are drinking out all the MILK and HONEY from the country.

Today, the shoe is on the other foot and now we have a PPP poodle claiming that the TUC and other protestors are anti-Chinese and racist.  That is furthest from the truth. It is quite an abomination that some 65,000 Guyanese are on the bread line; willing to work but there are not jobs available for them because the Jagdeo/Ramotar cabal has given the jobs to the Chinese.

Yet, to add salt to the Guyanese workers’ wound, we were advised that some 600 plus Chinese are working in Guyana on jobs that many unemployed and skilled Guyanese are qualified to do.

These Chinese are not nano-technologists or nuclear-technologists; they are “run of the mill” masons, carpenters and steel benders.  But to justify a mysterious G$2 billion discount, Guyanese are denied jobs even though His Excellency, the President Mr. Ramotar had promised to create jobs for the people during the 2011 election campaign.

This was the biggest con game on the Guyanese people since the Jagdeo/Ramotar cabal has revealed that it is unable to create the hundreds of new jobs as promised.

In addition, what remains a big question mark to us is whether we are really benefiting from a discount of G$2 billion or is this a political kick-back into the pockets of leading politicians in the Jagdeo/Ramotar cabal.

We call on the majority opposition-AFC/APNU to file an injunction against the Marriott Hotel Project and to use the opportunity to interrogate Mr. Brassington and others until the fraudulent money trail is found. This nation cannot afford for G$2 billion to be taken from the taxpayers by corrupt politicians.
We demand that the Jagdeo/Ramotar cabal release to the public a copy of the feasibility study and signed contract on this Marriott Hotel Project?  After all, these civil works are being paid for with taxpayers’ funds?

This fishy business from the Jagdeo/Ramotar cabal must be stopped by whatever peaceful means necessary and we call on the private sector business community which continue to lose new wealth because of this invasion of Chinese contractors and their workers into Guyana to support and fund these protest actions.
It is time for the TUC to join force with the opposition and intensify their mobilization in the villages and in the towns in order to wake up this Jagdeo/Ramotar cabal.  Their squander mania and reckless ways of governance must be stopped.

The rights of Guyanese to work on projects paid for by Guyanese taxpayers must be respected and those who are opposed to these unrighteous acts must let their voices be heard by joining the picket line every day until they secure the required solution – jobs for Guyanese on projects funded with taxpayers money.

Dr. Asquith Rose and Harish S. Singh

Did they not use Guyanese to build the Princess?

Guyanese also made the magnificent Caricom building. BTW...the builder was gunned down by the likely candidate the Indo warrior hero. 

Originally Posted by TK:

Guyanese also made the magnificent Caricom building. BTW...the builder was gunned down by the likely candidate the Indo warrior hero. 

Thye Chinese built the Caricom Building, why yuh lying so???

Originally Posted by TK:

The Chinese did not make the Caricom building. It was designed and built by a Guyanese contractor who was gunned down on the back road. The Chinese built the Convention Center next to Caricom. 

Originally Posted by TK:

The Chinese did not make the Caricom building. It was designed and built by a Guyanese contractor who was gunned down on the back road. The Chinese built the Convention Center next to Caricom. 

Thanks for the Info.

Originally Posted by TK:

Thanks for the Info.

Nabi and Sons built the magnificent Caricom building. Your Indo hero most likely gunned him down because his cocaine-financed construction business envied the Caricom contractor. 

Originally Posted by TK:

Thanks for the Info.

Nabi and Sons built the magnificent Caricom building. Your Indo hero most likely gunned him down because his cocaine-financed construction business envied the Caricom contractor. 

DID YOU INFORM THE aUTHORITIES ABOUT THIS???

Landmark event for CARICOM

By Mark Ramotar Guyana Chronicle April 18, 2002

`...I can assure (my staff) that I saw it with my own eyes that the document was signed...You can understand my joy and absolute pleasure at the reaching of this agreement' - CARICOM Secretary-General Edwin Carrington

THE Government yesterday signed the G$1.65 billion contract for the construction of the long-awaited Caribbean Community (CARICOM) headquarters building here with President Bharrat Jagdeo saying it was an important development which emphasised this country's strong commitment to CARICOM.

The historic signing at the Presidential Secretariat in Georgetown followed an agreement reached last year between the Government of Guyana and CARICOM, and ensures this country's fulfillment of a promise made 25 years ago to the grouping for the headquarters to be built here.

The contract has been awarded to local company, S.A Nabi and Sons General Building and Civil Engineering Contractors. The duration of the project is 18 months, and according to Mr. Gazz Sheermohamed, Managing Director of the contracting firm, a preliminary survey will be done on the site at Liliendaal, Greater Georgetown within the next three weeks, after which actual work on the structure will begin.

CARICOM Secretary-General, Mr. Edwin Carrington, said yesterday's signing is an important step forward, not just symbolically for the community, but in maintaining the fact that CARICOM is a "living, active and growing institution".

Carrington, who witnessed the signing ceremony, recalled with a sense of pride the number of years he has spent in Guyana, during which he had visualised Guyana building the CARICOM Secretariat in such close proximity to the University of Guyana, with a municipal airstrip established nearby so that people can fly here in an hour or an hour-and-a-half from places such as Port-of-Spain, Paramaribo and Bridgetown, hold meetings and consultations, and then fly out in the evening.

That "vision is now being fulfilled", he said and thanked President Jagdeo and his Government for having the commitment and will to make this vision a reality.

"My staff is eagerly awaiting the news...and I can assure them that I saw it with my own eyes that the document was signed," a smiling Carrington said, adding, "You can understand my joy and absolute pleasure at the reaching of this agreement."

President Jagdeo thanked the Secretary-General for being at the important occasion and said, "I am very happy that my Government was able to fulfill this commitment."

"It's just another indication of our strong commitment to the future, to Guyana and to CARICOM."

"We are extremely pleased that we can keep a commitment that was made such a long time ago," President Jagdeo said, referring to the commitment by Guyana since 1975 to build the CARICOM Secretariat here.

The Guyanese Head-of-State pointed out that in addition to the CARICOM Headquarters and Convention Centre to be built at Liliendaal, the development of the Ogle Airport into a municipal airport, and building hotels in the area "are all in keeping with that vision".

"We are hoping that the area will be a hub for international activities and we hope that CARICOM will be having more of its meetings right here in Guyana," he said.

"It's very important for us to keep this commitment and in spite of what we've heard and from time to time we ourselves have been critical of some issues in the region, we are strongly committed to CARICOM and to our region and I want to make sure that there is no doubt about that (and) criticisms from time to time should not be interpreted as a lack of commitment to this region," the President pointed out.

Mr. Jagdeo also believes that the regional bodies have played an important role, especially in Guyana's lobbying efforts and functional cooperation.

He, however, noted that "there are many things that we need to build and improve on but there is no doubt that there is a place for the region within the new global dispensation."

The President was also optimistic that, based on an agreement with Barbados, the headquarters of the CARICOM Single Market and Economy will be housed in the CARICOM Secretariat building when it is completed.

"So we will not just manage CARICOM from here but the administration of the Single Market and Economy will also be done from within that same building and Guyana could become the Brussels of the Caribbean; that's what I am hoping to happen too."

Through a Non-Project Grant, the Japanese Government is helping Guyana in meeting the cost of the project by making 500 million Japanese yen available.

Given the nature of the agreement between Guyana and Japan, the Japanese contribution adds up to about US$4.2M, officials said. The Guyana Government will provide the rest of the funds from mainly the National Insurance Scheme, which will be to the tune of US$4M.

The CARICOM Headquarters will essentially be a two-story building, built structurally of steel, and curtain-walled with aluminum and glass.

Apart from setting up the main building, with size specifications of 317 by 157 feet, the project will include the construction of two "service" buildings that will each measure 98 by 21 feet.

The construction company is no stranger to such large-scale projects, having worked on bigger projects in Barbados, Company Secretary, Mr. Shir A. Nabi told the Chronicle.

Locally, the firm's recent project has been the construction of the new National Bank of Industry and Commerce (NBIC) building in Georgetown. Past projects include Takuba Lodge, the National Cultural Centre and the Bank of Baroda, also in the city.

The firm is also engaged in the construction of the Rose Hall, Berbice water treatment plant to the tune of almost G$1 billion.

On February 25, 1998, then President Janet Jagan joined four CARICOM Prime Ministers and Carrington for the sod-turning ceremony at the site.

The CARICOM Secretariat is currently housed on the top floors of the Bank of Guyana building and has offices scattered around the city.

The late President Cheddi Jagan was instrumental in seeing that the plot of land for the headquarters building was allocated.

The Guyana Sugar Corporation gave the Government a 40-acre plot of land, 14 of which will be used for the construction of the secretariat, officials said.

Originally Posted by Freaky:
Lmfao dis daag don't kno one skunnnnnttt bout GY yet he's here braying daily

A Mumma stray DAAAG like you know Diddly. What I know you still trying to learn and will be trying for the next Century.

They got the benefit of the doubt. But now we know how poorly their workmanship has been in Guyana. That Marriott hotel will collapse. It's a certainty. But worse of all is that Hadgeo PROMISED that jobs would be available during the construction. Work yes, but not for Guyanese. So what is the unemployed supposed to do? Rob the Chinese workers?

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

They got the benefit of the doubt. But now we know how poorly their workmanship has been in Guyana. That Marriott hotel will collapse. It's a certainty. But worse of all is that Hadgeo PROMISED that jobs would be available during the construction. Work yes, but not for Guyanese. So what is the unemployed supposed to do? Rob the Chinese workers?

Could you list the problems with the Convention Center, please.

Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Secretariat

STATEMENT BY H.E. EDWIN W. CARRINGTON, SECRETARY-GENERAL, CARIBBEAN COMMUNITY (CARICOM) AT THE INAUGURATION CEREMONY OF THE CARICOM SECRETARIAT HEADQUARTERS BUILDING, 19 FEBRUARY 2005, LILIENDAAL, GREATER GEORGETOWN, GUYANA 

Press release  48/2005
(19 February 2005)

His Excellency Bharrat Jagdeo, President of the Republic of Guyana
His Excellency, Runaldo R. Venetiaan President of the Republic of Suriname and Chairman of the Caribbean Community
Other Heads of State and Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community
His Excellency Ricardo Lagos Escobar, President of the Republic of Chile
Prime Minister Samuel Hinds Ministers of Government Mr Speaker and Members of Parliament Ambassador Tatsuo Arima, Special Envoy of the Government of Japan
Other members of the Diplomatic Corps 
Madame Chancellor and Members of the Judiciary 
The Mayor of Georgetown 
Heads of Regional and International Organisations 
Former & present colleagues of the CARICOM Secretariat 
Distinguished Guests 
Residents of Liliendal - our neighbours 
Representatives of the Media Ladies & Gentlemen

This is surely a day of rejoicing. Come join one and all in the celebrations and be glad in it. For on this day, the Government of Guyana has delivered in full on its promise, and the Caribbean Community has acquired a home - indeed a splendid home - for its Secretariat. This day, which will certainly go down in the annals of the history of our Community, is certainly a red-letter day!

As Secretary-General of the Community, I perceive myself as having a special and historical responsibility, to convey to His Excellency the President of Guyana, his government and the entire Guyanese nation, the grateful thanks and appreciation of the Caribbean Community. For me personally, I feel a particular sense of responsibility so to do. For, as fate would have it, not only was I present in 1976, when the original promise was made to provide the Secretariat with its own custom-built headquarters; but it is also well-known that throughout my entire mandate as Secretary-General of the Community, I have sought to pursue this goal as one of my highest priorities.

Now, I know not what goes on within the Councils of the Nation but in the pursuit of this priority objective, I must today publicly acknowledge, the unfailing sympathetic support I received from former Foreign Minister of Guyana, Hon. Clement Rohee, in helping to move this subject to the top of the national agenda and to keep it on the front burner as it were. We thank you Minister Rohee; the Community owes you a great debt of gratitude.

Others have made special contributions as well. I certainly cannot forget the contribution of former President Janet Jagan leading to the final decision to initiate the project, and the ceremony for the turning of the sod in February 1998. Recalling that ceremony, I am particularly pleased that the distinguished Prime Minister of Barbados, the Rt. Hon. Owen Arthur, who is present with us today, then skillfully shovelled his share of the sod. Prime Minister Arthur continues to contribute significantly to the completion of this historic project.

On the occasion of the ceremony for the turning of the sod, I did indicate my reticence to rejoice, expressing then my preference to await the turning of the key. Today, I have no such reticence and I again thank former President Jagan, for without that turning of the sod then, there would be no turning of the key today.

It is an open secret, that I have always seen the new secretariat building as being the centre of a new development thrust in the environs of Greater Georgetown. Thanks to the Government's far-sightedness in recognising the synergies which can flow from the proximity of the Secretariat to the University of Guyana as well as the potential of the nearby Ogle Airstrip, today we have the nucleus of a major development centre - not just for Liliendaal, our new community; not just for Guyana, our home country; not even just for the Caribbean Community; but for the entire region of the shoulder of South America and the Caribbean Islands.

Think, for example, of the prospect of a quick one hour or so flight from Port-of Spain, Caracas, Paramaribo, Bridgetown and northern Brazil, into and out of Georgetown, through an enhanced Ogle Airstrip; of the scope for holding conferences, meetings, business and other interactions using the new conference centre; the national University and our International Secretariat, and you will see the tremendous potential it gives to Guyana to be central to the next wave of hemispheric economic development in this Region. But these are serious thoughts, more appropriate for another time. Today is a day for rejoicing. In doing so, there are many to whom I must convey our deep thanks and gratitude:

· Again, to the Government and People of Guyana for today's history making progress in the development of our Community; and through the Government of Guyana, our thanks to the Government and People of Japan for their decisive contribution to the financing of this magnificent edifice;

· The early deliberations regarding the location of the headquarters was only successfully concluded through the generosity of GUYSUCO, which provided the land and literally and otherwise laid the foundation of the project. Our appreciation goes to them for another "sweet" contribution;

· A special expression of thanks must also go to the Prime Minister of Barbados for the vital provision of a lift to enhance the utility and accessibility of the building;

· Sincere appreciation to the Most Honourable P.J. Patterson, Prime Minister of Jamaica for his leadership role over the life of the Community and for his inspiration which has served to bring us to this happy moment.

· Thanks to the indefatigable Sir Shridath Ramphal particularly for his contribution in those early and formative years of Community building and for his continuing service to the Region.

· Few can lay claim to the construction of such magnificence, we wish therefore to convey our special appreciation to the architects, the principal constructing firm of Nabi and Sons and all the workers involved. This building is a proud advertisement of their collective skill and competence. They must have heeded the injunction of the psalmist that "except the Lord build the house, they labour in vain that build it". They certainly did not labour in vain and I am sure that whatever remains to be done, they will see to it; They must have been working hand in hand with the Lord.

· Our grateful thanks to the Bank of Guyana for its generosity, having provided our headquarters over the first generation of the life of the Secretariat. Without this generosity, the Secretariat and the Community would have had a much more difficult beginning;

· Finally, a special thanks is also due to the media for helping to keep this vital project on the national front burner.

Turning to the future, I extend in advance on behalf of the staff of the Secretariat, thanks to the People of the Caribbean, for the contribution we know they will be making to ensure that this home of the secretariat is made "culturally homely". Its extensive walls anxiously await - and can more than adequately accommodate - their gifts of cultural artifacts reflective of the rich diversity of our Community's cultural heritage.

In similar futuristic vein, our thanks go to the Government of India which, as we speak, is in the process of providing assistance in equipping our Secretariat with very modern e-capabilities.

I cannot conclude my expressions of thanks, without addressing a special word of gratitude to the staff of the Secretariat, who over the years have with admirable selflessness and forbearance, adjusted themselves to many physical inconveniences to serve our Community. Staff, your patience, commitment and perseverance have today paid off and should serve as a lesson for the future progress we must achieve in this new more salubrious environment. No progress without sacrifice.

Ladies and Gentlemen, as we put today's development in the context of our Community's progress, we can all be proud that the year 2005 will see as well, not only the onset of the Single Market and Economy, but also the establishment of the Caribbean Court of Justice, and who knows what else.

To you Heads of Government - fresh from your labours in Suriname or perhaps weary there from - and setting your sights on Saint Lucia in July, you can therefore feel a sense of justification that your labours over the years have not been without fruit.

In closing, on behalf of my predecessors and indeed on my own behalf as Secretary-General of the Caribbean Community, the honour has fallen to me and it is with a special sense of pride and joy that I welcome you all, Distinguished Ladies and Gentleman, to the Permanent headquarters of the Caribbean Community Secretariat.

As Secretary-General of the Community, I perceive myself as having a special and historical responsibility, to convey to His Excellency the President of Guyana, his government and the entire Guyanese nation, the grateful thanks and appreciation of the Caribbean Community. For me personally, I feel a particular

Was he talkin bout Jaggy????

Originally Posted by TK:

Thanks for the Info.

Don't have to...the authorities know it but they have to turn a blind eye. Do you remember the full pay add by your Indo hero in the papers saying he was fighting crimes for the authorities

Originally Posted by TK:

Thanks for the Info.

Don't have to...the authorities know it but they have to turn a blind eye. Do you remember the full pay add by your Indo hero in the papers saying he was fighting crimes for the authorities

And he DID. We thank him for saving Guyana from destruction. But when he started to harm innocent Citizens, we ended his Contract.

NEHRU i hope you thank him for killing Sawh

He killed Sawh?? WOW I did not know that. You are in Canada right? The Canadian Govt is looking, begging, asking, Rewarding for ANY Info on this matter. You know that, right????

NEHRU i hope you thank him for killing Sawh

He killed Sawh?? WOW I did not know that. You are in Canada right? The Canadian Govt is looking, begging, asking, Rewarding for ANY Info on this matter. You know that, right????

He had the motive.

. . . when he started to harm innocent Citizens, we ended his Contract.

hmmm . . . ahmmm . . . OK

Like shit hold yuh or what. Yuh constipated or latrine in the Bush???

. . . when he started to harm innocent Citizens, we ended his Contract.

hmmm . . . ahmmm . . . OK

Like shit hold yuh or what. Yuh constipated or latrine in the Bush???

what you're really saying is that u post shyte fuh shyte sake . . . just another Klown

the canadian government know he kill SAWH but his godfathers the ppp is too shame to lay charges and then again too much secrets but do not worry what goes around comes around the ppp will have to kill him when he is deported if he do not strick a deal with the feds