This is what the PNC crew are getting high about? Another foreign retail store that don't produce anything looking to push out the local business people and capitalize on wealth accumulated under the PPP now being slowly siphoned off by the AFC/APNU.  Guyana should be trying to attract businesses that actually make some product rather than those looking to come in like the Chinese and plunder then leave when going gets tough.

You should try reading and understanding what you have read before typing nonsense and we have to pull you up on it.

"The Country Manager also noted that the opening of the supermarket provides the greater opportunity for the company to work closely with local suppliers and local producers, so that the customers could find the widest variety of quality local items in one location.

Guyana desperately needs exports, not cannibalizing the local businesses by forcing out the small vendors with big box stores. How many local vendors will be forced out of business not that Massey has opened the supermarket? Also from the pictures inside the supermarket, less than 10% of the items appear to be local. Notice all the items on the shelves that are packed, indicating foreign imports.

Minister Khemraj Ramjattan and his lovely wife checking out the fresh produce in the supermarket yesterday.

Druggy, that looks like Ramjattan and wife shopping deh. Like Zed said more jobs for the people.

baseman posted:

Drugb is correct, another retail is just another retail though the optics looks good.  However, if it does really lead to increased demand/better prices for farmers, then it's a win.  I doubt though as the market and income is a given, so if export is not the longer-term game plan, this will just be zero-sum!

What happened to the construction company that you and  Anil was planning to start up?

baseman posted:

Drugb is correct, another retail is just another retail though the optics looks good.  However, if it does really lead to increased demand/better prices for farmers, then it's a win.  I doubt though as the market and income is a given, so if export is not the longer-term game plan, this will just be zero-sum!

There is an opening here where farmers can negotiate with Massey to buy their produce for the local market,Massey may even export some of the produce to their Caribbean supermarkets.

This is what the PNC crew are getting high about? Another foreign retail store that don't produce anything looking to push out the local business people and capitalize on wealth accumulated under the PPP now being slowly siphoned off by the AFC/APNU.  Guyana should be trying to attract businesses that actually make some product rather than those looking to come in like the Chinese and plunder then leave when going gets tough.

You should try reading and understanding what you have read before typing nonsense and we have to pull you up on it.

"The Country Manager also noted that the opening of the supermarket provides the greater opportunity for the company to work closely with local suppliers and local producers, so that the customers could find the widest variety of quality local items in one location.

Guyana desperately needs exports, not cannibalizing the local businesses by forcing out the small vendors with big box stores. How many local vendors will be forced out of business not that Massey has opened the supermarket? Also from the pictures inside the supermarket, less than 10% of the items appear to be local. Notice all the items on the shelves that are packed, indicating foreign imports.

Minister Khemraj Ramjattan and his lovely wife checking out the fresh produce in the supermarket yesterday.

Druggy, that looks like Ramjattan and wife shopping deh. Like Zed said more jobs for the people.

I hope the people check the expiration dates on the products.

baseman posted:

What happened to the construction company that you and  Anil was planning to start up?

This you have the wrong guy!  I am not into construction!!

Tell him, base. You are into destruction

baseman posted:

Tell him, base. You are into destruction

And you are into instigation!!!

baseman posted:

There is an opening here where farmers can negotiate with Massey to buy their produce for the local market,Massey may even export some of the produce to their Caribbean supermarkets.

If that is really part of the model for Massey, then it's value added to Guyana as a whole!!

Hopefully it takes that route,i have to talk to my friend[lost touch with him since i migrate,i guh pay him a visit later this year] who is a lil big wan with Massey.

This is what the PNC crew are getting high about? Another foreign retail store

Massy employs Guyanese and does buy Guyanese products. It even has manufacturing operations in Guyana.

Your PPP endorsed Chinese merchants did NOT hire Guyanese and ONLY sold cheap low quality Chinese trash.

I know which type of foreign investor is better for Guyana.

baseman posted:

Drugb is correct, another retail is just another retail though the optics looks good. 

Under the PPP reign only the retail and real estate sectors showed growth, and yet you screamed that they did an excellent job.

So why your rage?  Massy does have manufacturing operations in Guyana.

Yes, this is hugely upsetting for druggie and baseman that a TRINI company might actually use its resources to connect Guyanese to export markets in T&T.

Now opening up a multiplex cinema, or a mall, which happened under the PPP, they think is the best model for economic development.

I remember the share joy from the PPP when a roti shop opened up at the airport!

This is what the PNC crew are getting high about? Another foreign retail store

Massy employs Guyanese and does buy Guyanese products. It even has manufacturing operations in Guyana.

Your PPP endorsed Chinese merchants did NOT hire Guyanese and ONLY sold cheap low quality Chinese trash.

I know which type of foreign investor is better for Guyana.

Lets stick to the supermarket, a negative for Guyana as it pushes the farmers who sell their products outside Bourda market out of business. Hopefully the farmers will undersell the Massey group and drive them out of business. What better charm than to buy products in a farmers market type of atmosphere rather than an air conditioned prison. 

Yes, this is hugely upsetting for druggie and baseman that a TRINI company might actually use its resources to connect Guyanese to export markets in T&T.

Now opening up a multiplex cinema, or a mall, which happened under the PPP, they think is the best model for economic development.

I remember the share joy from the PPP when a roti shop opened up at the airport!

There is no indication in the article or elsewhere that Massey has plans to create an export market for Guyanese produce. You are speculating, let us wait for the facts before hypothesizing. 

Lets stick to the supermarket, a negative for Guyana as it pushes the farmers who sell their products outside Bourda market out of business.

The farmers who sell their products will be put out of business?  If there is a major buyer who will purchase their products at their farms, and then ship it to G/T one would think that the farmers would be happy, as it cuts down costs, and reduces the risk of spoilage.

Folks who buy food in the super markets rarely buy from the vendors, so I don't even see them suffering.

At the end of the day farmers will have a market, not only in Guyana, but to other Massy supermarkets in the Caribbean.  That truly offends you!

Better another shopping mall selling imported products, or another Chinese "99c" store with cheap Chinese trash.  That is your idea of progress.

There is no indication in the article or elsewhere that Massey has plans to create an export market for Guyanese produce. You are speculating, let us wait for the facts before hypothesizing. 

Massy has supermarkets in other countries.  If Guyanese prove to be reliable and competitive then Massy will supply their other stores with Guyanese products.

But you rather another shopping mall selling Chinese products, because that is what "progress" under the PPP was.

Massy has supermarkets in other countries.  If Guyanese prove to be reliable and competitive then Massy will supply their other stores with Guyanese products.

But you rather another shopping mall selling Chinese products, because that is what "progress" under the PPP was.

Again, more speculation. In fact the Massey relationship with Guyana was fostered under the PPP, not the PNC who are now the beneficiary of solid PPP planning. 

Lets stick to the supermarket, a negative for Guyana as it pushes the farmers who sell their products outside Bourda market out of business.

The farmers who sell their products will be put out of business?  If there is a major buyer who will purchase their products at their farms, and then ship it to G/T one would think that the farmers would be happy, as it cuts down costs, and reduces the risk of spoilage.

Folks who buy food in the super markets rarely buy from the vendors, so I don't even see them suffering.

At the end of the day farmers will have a market, not only in Guyana, but to other Massy supermarkets in the Caribbean.  That truly offends you!

Better another shopping mall selling imported products, or another Chinese "99c" store with cheap Chinese trash.  That is your idea of progress.

You think that Massey will pay the proper price to ensure profitability to the farmers? Think again, that is why farmers prefer to sell in farmers market rather than at a reduced starvation price to the big box stores. Only the corporate farms with efficiency of scale can afford cutthroat prices. 

Again, more speculation. In fact the Massey relationship with Guyana was fostered under the PPP, not the PNC who are now the beneficiary of solid PPP planning. 

Massy was in Guyana since the Burnham era, and maybe even before then.

So give Burnham the praises, if you think that a political regime is to be credited.  I am sure that you knew about AINLIM while you were sent outside to boil in that St Stanislaus yard, when the teachers were tired of having such a dunce in their class.

baseman posted:

Drugb is correct, another retail is just another retail though the optics looks good. 

Massy does have manufacturing operations in Guyana.

More lies from king liar, Massay has no manufacturing operations in Guyana, they are a marketing and food distribution company. No manufacturing. 

You think that Massey will pay the proper price to ensure profitability to the farmers?

In Guyana up to 50% of the farmers' produce spoils before it reaches the market.  To get their product to the market, they must pay others to transport their produce, or incur these costs themselves. Some sell to middle men who might stiff them.

They will much prefer to deal with a major company with credibility then your usual Regent St speculator.

Now cease revealing what a dunce you are!

baseman posted:

Massy does have manufacturing operations in Guyana.

More lies from king liar, Massay has no manufacturing operations in Guyana, they are a marketing and food distribution company. No manufacturing. 

They had manufacturing in the Burnham era. Paper and metal products (including corrugated sheets). Even yesterday some one was showing pics of vehicles that they used to make then.

If they don't manufacture in Guyana now then that is the fault of the PPP which thinks that a roti shop at timehri, or another multiplex mall spoiling Guyanese with more exposure to US media junk, is a sign of progress.

You think that Massey will pay the proper price to ensure profitability to the farmers?

In Guyana up to 50% of the farmers' produce spoils before it reaches the market.  To get their product to the market, they must pay others to transport their produce, or incur these costs themselves. Some sell to middle men who might stiff them.

They will much prefer to deal with a major company with credibility then your usual Regent St speculator.

Like white man d2, you know nothing about Guyana and even less about farming. Where is it stated that Massay is going to buy wholesale from farmers and end their need to market on their own?

.. Where is it stated that Massay is going to buy wholesale from farmers and end their need to market on their own?

One must feel sorry for the illiterate.  It is stated that they will DIRECTLY with local producers and suppliers...Now to most this will suggest that they aren't going to deal with middle men.  Only you, who have no ability to comprehend basic English, does this become a cognitive problem.

Druggie this is a sign of progress.  Get over your rage that you cannot scream "black man never gun rule Guyana again".  Because THAT is really what this tantrum of yours was about. 

Had this occurred before May last year, you would have been loudly screaming how progressive this is.

.. Where is it stated that Massay is going to buy wholesale from farmers and end their need to market on their own?

One must feel sorry for the illiterate.  It is stated that they will DIRECTLY with local producers and suppliers...Now to most this will suggest that they aren't going to deal with middle men.  Only you, who have no ability to comprehend basic English, does this become a cognitive problem.

Druggie this is a sign of progress.  Get over your rage that you cannot scream "black man never gun rule Guyana again".  Because THAT is really what this tantrum of yours was about. 

Had this occurred before May last year, you would have been loudly screaming how progressive this is.

One super market will not save the Guyanese farmers. My opinion is that they should have locate in Georgetown. People will not drive all the way out to Providence to buy product that they can easily get at Stabroek and Bourda market. 

I am glad that you recognize progress under the PPP that the PNC are now beneficiaries. 

baseman posted:

So, PPP people get all sorts of work they are not trained in...remember Fip for one?

This is great! I heard it is spacious,  well stocked, and provides a pleasant grocery shopping experience. Nice investment by this fairly big company. 

I agree that it will not displace the market vendors. Might even be more hygienic to buy produce from places like these. Like  Bounty supermarkets which package and sell produce (some of which is grown on their farms) that look cleaner and better.  

Why does everything here turns into a political discussion? I mean one would have thought opening of a high end supermarket would be applauded. No opportunity is missed to introduce race and politics in the conversation. 

Like white man d2, you know nothing about Guyana and even less about farming. Where is it stated that Massay is going to buy wholesale from farmers and end their need to market on their own?

Glad to know you designate me honorary white...if it pleases you. Sorry, I would not call you a honorary black person even though you are as black as coal. That  would lower the intelligence quotient of the group.

I saw a blurb that they are sourcing products as can be supplied locally. I am not for mega stores but this offers up to specialty farmers an avenue to concentrate of doing a few things well. Their presentation looks well and I would if I used meat products buy them here rather than from open air markets where they do not even have the products on ice.

I am glad that you recognize progress under the PPP that the PNC are now beneficiaries. 

So a foreign super market, that has outlets in 7 other Caribbean islands, at least two (Bdos and Antigua) import almost all food, is a bad thing.  But another multiplex showing US mediocrity is good.  Because that is what PPP development was.

We are still waiting for the thousands of casino gamblers who you predicted would descend into Guyana with the opening of Buddy's.  And the millions of dollars that the Provident stadium was going to bring in.

Oh and BTW you know full well that there is a large population on the EBD, and many others just over the bridge on the WBD.  These are going to use the supermarket.  Willing to bet that the new populations in these areas lack adequate supermarkets.

That store looks like a North American Grocery store like Safeway or Sobeys. I hope it does not kill Guyanese mom and pop businesses.

The Chinese already killed off the mom and pops.  The Trinis employ Guyanese, while the Chinese only employ other Chinese.