Can someone elaborate on the origin of this word and the original spelling? I have seen different spelling: Kuli, Coolie, Koolie....
When I got some time I'll introduce you to a banna named Google, he knows lots of stuff. Or you rass run outta stuff to talk 'bout?
@cain posted:When I got some time I'll introduce you to a banna named Google, he knows lots of stuff. Or you rass run outta stuff to talk 'bout?
Too much confusing information out there. I think its used differently in Guyana as a derogatory term. In India its been used to denote a group of lower caste people (porters, etc), which is not the same as the way its used in some other places to refer to poor Indian immigrants. I have heard some people used the term "Cooliness" when they get angry.
I was just wondering what exactly people mean when they use the term in Guyana or if it has multiple meanings.
https://moonsammy.wordpress.co...guyanese-dictionary/
Look at the definition of Coolie.
@VishMahabir posted:Too much confusing information out there. I think its used differently in Guyana as a derogatory term. In India its been used to denote a group of lower caste people (porters, etc), which is not the same as the way its used in some other places to refer to poor Indian immigrants. I have heard some people used the term "Cooliness" when they get angry.
I was just wondering what exactly people mean when they use the term in Guyana or if it has multiple meanings.
https://cla.umn.edu/ihrc/news-...e-trade-19th-century
https://www.journals.uchicago....6112?journalCode=jmh
https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/coolie
Links will give information.
@Former Member posted:https://moonsammy.wordpress.co...guyanese-dictionary/
Look at the definition of Coolie.
WTF!
"coolie (cuh-lee): da very best type of ppl"
That does not fit the description of Mitwah.
@Django posted:
Thank you will check it out
@VishMahabir posted:Can someone elaborate on the origin of this word and the original spelling? I have seen different spelling: Kuli, Coolie, Koolie....
Coolie is an unskilled labourer in India and China. They were sent to Guyana as indentured labourers. After that, all those who came from India were called coolies.
A labourer as a porter, carrying or fetching items on their heads. The British confused as always, thought a farmer was a coolie labourer. Failure to recognize in the Indian society each cast has specific task associated with them. They sent ppl to Mauritius with that label and continued it to Demerara. Famers came to the West Indies. The Dhangars were not Coolies.
@VishMahabir posted:Can someone elaborate on the origin of this word and the original spelling? I have seen different spelling: Kuli, Coolie, Koolie....
Google it. Let your fingers do the work.
@Viper posted:Google it. Let your fingers do the work.
He doesn't know about Google.
@Mitwah posted:He doesn't know about Google.
I thought he was the brightest one on GNI. He meck meh hand fall.
@Viper posted:I thought he was the brightest one on GNI. He meck meh hand fall.
Let's see if VishM can explain the similarities and/or differences re: Coolie vs Porter vs Stevedore.
@Mitwah posted:Let's see if VishM can explain the similarities and/or differences re: Coolie vs Porter vs Stevedore.
Careful with VishM and VishMahabir. But you gun hurt de bhai head too much wid dat big question.
@Mitwah posted:Let's see if VishM can explain the similarities and/or differences re: Coolie vs Porter vs Stevedore.
Knucklehead...you already confused...you confusing 2 people.
Like the cold winter freezing up you brain up north eh?