Men dressed as cops abduct teacher, husband on way to airport

August 4, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

- victims dumped at Soesdyke, robbed of millions  

A planned vacation by private school teacher Latchmin Gopaul and her husband began with a nightmare experience last Saturday, when two men in police uniforms abducted them while they were on their way to the Cheddi Jagan Airport. Mrs. Gopaul, her husband, Lekraj Gopaul, and a taxi driver were held at gunpoint near Land of Canaan, East Bank Demerara, in broad daylight, by the two uniformed men, who claimed they were police ranks investigating an accident. The victims were then driven to a desolate spot at Yarrowkabra, off the Soesdyke/Linden Highway, where they were bound and relieved of millions in local and foreign currency, jewellery and other valuables. Kaieteur News understands that Mr. Gopaul, 59, was relieved of US $14,000, 400 pounds Sterling, a watch valued at $180,000, a gold chain valued at $180,000, a $71,000 watch, a camera worth US 1,200, a ring valued at $70,000 and his spectacles. His wife, Latchmin Gopaul, who runs the Academy of Excellence Private School at Cornelia Ida, West Coast Demerara, was relieved of US $4,000, 500 pounds Sterling, $400 Can., a $500,000 gold band and a diamond-encrusted ring worth $300,000. The bandits also relieved the driver, Parmanand Teekaram, of Cornelia Ida, West Coast Demerara, of $60,000 and a cell phone before reportedly escaping in a blue car. Teekaram told Kaieteur News that he was heading to the airport at around 11.00 hrs on Saturday with the Gopauls, who reside at Hague, West Coast Demerara, when two men in police uniforms stopped him in the vicinity of Land of Canaan. He said that one of the men was dressed in blue police attire and was carrying a handgun, while his companion was dressed like a ‘black clothes’ rank and had a ‘long gun’. According to Teekaram, the ‘policemen’ informed him that they were investigating a hit-and-run accident at Garden of Eden and asked to look at his driver’s licence and other documents. According to Teekaram, the two ‘policemen’ then entered his car and the one in the ‘black clothes’ took the wheel. They then informed the occupants that they were taking them to the Timehri Police Station. But the ‘cops’ then turned up the Soesdyke/Linden highway, while telling the trio that they were heading for Madewini Police Outpost instead. Kaieteur News understands that during the journey, the ‘policemen’ asked Mr. Gopaul about ‘the cocaine’, and he responded that he and his wife ran a private school and knew nothing about ‘cocaine.’ The ‘policemen’ then took the Gopauls and Teekaram to a secluded spot near the abandoned glass factory at Yarrowkabra. There the ‘ranks’ tied up their three captives and relieved them of their valuables. However, Kaieteur News understands that the Gopauls were allowed to keep their travel documents. Teekaram said that he saw a blue car in the area and it is believed that the robbers fled in that vehicle. The victims were eventually rescued by the occupants of a passing vehicle. According to reports, the Gopauls flew out of the country immediately after their ordeal. Kaieteur News was unable to ascertain whether police have made any arrests. There has been an apparent upsurge in persons being robbed while heading to the Cheddi Jagan Airport or returning from overseas. Just last Wednesday, Pastor Sewnauth Poonalall of the Good Hope Missionary Baptist Church was gun-butted and robbed shortly after returning from the airport with some overseas guests.

Bandits will learn every tricks of the trade to rob people these days. Some of these guys get tipped off from neighbors on overseas guests going in and out of Guyana. This is sad.

This is so BLOODY pathetic.  These SCUMBAGS are FREE to ROB the Citizens of Guyana.  The MOH MUST track these DOGS and send them to HELL NOW.

why you and cobra do not go down there and kill the scumbags,and kill rohee too and if that doesn't work take your ppp people to the mountain top

......to the mountain top.......sweet likka sumatoo........

We are getting there.  We all said Crime is hampering the Journey to the Mountain Top BUT we still tasting the SWEET, SWEET, Sumutoo.

the teacher and his wife fly out on the flight right after the robbery,why not tell them the sumutoo is sweet,and they should have do the right thing and stay to give statement.you collie people is selfish  

Ahh yes, once again another set of souls learnt the hard way and live to at least make it out of the country. They should thank god they're alive.
Before, these criminal would tackle people coming from the airport in the wee hours of the morning. Now they're tackling people going to the airport in broad daylight.

Bandits will learn every tricks of the trade to rob people these days. Some of these guys get tipped off from neighbors on overseas guests going in and out of Guyana. This is sad.

The Gopauls are lucky to be alive to tell of their experience. I can see why you don't want to go back.

Nehru has no shame!!!

The real scumbags are Rohee and the pack of thieves at Freedom House.

I hjave said it over and over , in any other country the Minister of Home Affairs would have been history for so many deaths and unsolved murders.

The Gopauls are lucky to be alive to tell of their experience. I can see why you don't want to go back.

Criminals in Guyana are taking lessons from American imposters. With social media like Facebook, television, hi-tech cell phones and the internet are making life easy for criminals. The GPF need to be two steps ahead of the criminals. Unfortunately, they're way behind.

Nehru has no shame!!!

I hjave said it over and over , in any other country the Minister of Home Affairs would have been history for so many deaths and unsolved murders.

Nehru busy pickin sumatoo at Smoky Park

-Originally Posted by warrior:

the teacher and his wife fly out on the flight right after the robbery,why not tell them the sumutoo is sweet,and they should have do the right thing and stay to give statement.you collie people is selfish  

It is nice to see how your racism (against Indians) is like cancer spreading everywhere in your brains. Soon it will spread all over your body like a rash.

Originally Posted by ball:

That is over 4 million $$ them thief haul pon this one robbery Guyanese haul in around a lot of dunzai $$$  

Kaieteur News understands that:

Mr. Gopaul, 59, was relieved of US $14,000,

400 pounds Sterling,

a watch valued at $180,000,

a gold chain valued at $180,000,

a $71,000 watch,

a camera worth US 1,200,

a ring valued at $70,000 and his spectacles.

His wife, Latchmin Gopaul, who runs the Academy of Excellence Private School at Cornelia Ida, West Coast Demerara,

was relieved of US $4,000,

500 pounds Sterling,

$400 Can.,

a $500,000 gold band

and a diamond-encrusted ring worth $300,000.

The bandits also relieved the driver, Parmanand Teekaram, of Cornelia Ida, West Coast Demerara, of $60,000 and a cell phone before reportedly escaping in a blue car.

Originally Posted by raymond:

Nehru has no shame!!!

Nehru busy pickin sumatoo at Smoky Park

Then he climbed the slide and said "to the mountain top".

Guyana is a failed state.  There is moral decay everywhere you look.  The defenders of the current administration are occupied with "collie on top".  I bet they scared to visit but prefer to do their barking behind a computer under the cloak of anonymity.

Why are the Gopauls moving out that much liquid cash in person?

Mits they were seniors. My Mother used to sign for her bank transaction with her thumb print.

My FIL, after repairs was done to his single room 1950s  house, used to sign a cheque with failing eyes and tell the contractors, you can fill in the amount we agree on.

TRUST, that was how the old folks lived.

An old  woman died in our town, after I installed a larger ringer for her telephone.

She was robbery and injured.  Before she died she had difficulty understand someone knocking at  her door, kicking her down and taking all her possessions.

According to her doctor, what killed her was not her injury, but not being able to understand the kick  down and robbery.

TRUST...was why the Gopauls had so much cash.

BUT, Guyana is far from trusting place.    

Last edited by Tola
Originally Posted by Tola:

Mits they were seniors. My Mother used to sign for her bank transaction with her thumb print.

My FIL, after repairs was done to his single room 1950s  house, used to sign a cheque with failing eyes and tell the contractors, you can fill in the amount we agree on.

An old  woman died in our town, after I installed a larger ringer for her telephone.

She was robbery and injured.  Before she died she had difficulty understand someone knocking at  her door, kicking her down and taking all her possessions.

According to her doctor, what killed her was not her injury, but not being able to understand the kick  down and robbery.

Tola, there is too much info given by the article. It makes these hold ups seems very lucrative and very encouraging for the professionals and novice Copy Cats. I wonder why the papers don't just say an " undisclosed amount" ?

Originally Posted by Tola:

Tola, there is too much info given by the article. It makes these hold ups seems very lucrative and very encouraging for the professionals and novice Copy Cats. I wonder why the papers don't just say an " undisclosed amount" ?

Mits, you are right about the papers.

One of our school dropout youth is now a teacher.

A while ago the papers reported that the HT goes to the bank and take cash to pay the teachers.

I felt this was irresponsible reporting, because it tells the public who is moving large amounts of cash.

The scary part is, there is little security at this place.