Jun 07, 2017 Source

Following a recent exposé by this newspaper over the utilisation of taxpayers’ monies to construct

PS, Vibert Welch

more than a half-million-dollar guard hut at the residence of a Permanent Secretary (PS), questions were raised over the official’s entitlement to security allowances.
The PS of Education, Vibert Welch, found himself at the end of the barrel this week when documents were submitted to this publication showing that he would have given approval for the construction of the hut at his Bent Street, Georgetown residence.
The receipt showed that an amount of $540,470 was spent to construct the guard hut.
Several eyebrows were raised over the size of the structure, and the amount of money that was spent to carry out the project.
The structure is approximately five feet in width, five feet in length and about eight feet high. And judging from its appearance, the structure had recently been painted with the electrical components already in place.
The contract was awarded to Linden Ogle, who was listed among the contractors that submitted proposals for the construction of the hut.
Quizzed on whether Permanent Secretaries are entitled to security allowances, the PS  of the Department of Public Service, Reginald Brotherson, responded in the affirmative.
He noted that this provision is included in contracts that permanent secretaries sign on to.
Brotherson said that Permanent Secretaries “work real hard” and are not home often.
“So they need security guards or services to look over because Permanent Secretaries are

$540,700 was spent to construct this guard hut at the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Education’s residence at Bent Street, Georgetown.

mostly out and about,” Brotherson said.
Quizzed on whether there was a conflict of interest when PS Welch signed off, giving approval for the construction of the hut for himself, Brotherson said no.
“The hut is the property of the State. (Although) he will be using it, it belongs to the State” he said.
Brotherson was asked if due-diligence is carried out when a document regarding the disbursements of funds is presented to permanent secretaries.
He explained that as long as the signatures of the relevant technical officers are affixed to the document – granting their approval or blessing – then the PS does not “have to take a calculator” and recheck. Rather, the PS signs off giving his or her approval.
Meanwhile, additional alarming information has made its way to the fore.
Apart from expending $540,470 of taxpayers’ dollars to construct the hut, an additional $20,000 is being paid monthly, for the rental of a portable toilet for the security guard stationed at the PS’ residence.
Rental of the facility – which is about the same size of the guard hut – comes with a fresh water flushing system, a hand wash sink, soap and toilet paper dispenser, and a mirror along with the necessary chemicals.
PS Welch on Tuesday, was asked if he thought that there was value for money with the hut.
He had responded: “Is greenheart they use. But I don’t know about prices and materials. The senior works officer; he will know about that. I really don’t get involved in them kinds of things. I’m just the Head of Budget and the finance people they will deal with that with engineers and the

An additional $20,000 is being paid monthly, for the rental of a portable toilet for the security guard stationed at the PS’ residence. (File Photo)

works people.”
After the minister, the PS is the most powerful person in the ministries. He or she is the accounting officer who controls the purse strings.
In the past, several Permanent Secretaries were fired or transferred for wrongdoing.
With billions of dollars at stake in each ministry, it was not unusual in the past for auditors to red-flag transactions because of overpayments and other deliberate manipulations.

This looks like a systemic problem, not one engineered by Welch. I didn't know that Permanent Secretaries are entitled to big security allowances. Now I want to know who started that practice. Dem seh the guard hut is State property. I hope it's mobile/movable.

You will see the real thing when oil revenues start to flow in. 

What you all would have done if this had happen under the PPP/Civic government?

The whole GNI board woulda light up with cuss for Jagdeo, and he mumma, and he mumma man!!

Corruption was the norm during PPP days on a massive scale and you sycophants condoned it. Even today some of you clowns still have your head up your ass and run around claiming there was no corruption during PPP days.

Does two wrongs make a right???

No they don't, and that's why I'm in favor of this case being investigated and if there is wrongdoing then the guilty parties should be dealt with accordingly. I said that yesterday in reference to this case. As an aside, I'm pointing out the hypocrisy of the Porters who defended corruption on a massive scale during the PPP reign. 

Corruption existed under the PPP/Civic government but not on a massive scale.  APNU/AFC, the then opposition, exaggerated it to get votes. Now that they are in office for the last two years we've seen the levels of corruption increased, mismanagement gotten worse, economy deteriorating,  and the threat to democracy more ominous than any time before.  With the PNC in charge and their little partner, the AFC, terribly short-changed, we can rationally and justifiably view the 2015 elections as a defeat of not only the PPP, but the AFC, and everything positive that has been achieved over the two decades, especially the revival of free elections under an independent election commission.

Keep your head buried up your ass.

How profound is that your best reply.

It's quite appropriate when you clowns are lying through your teeth. You come here pretending there was no corruption during the PPP days when everyone knows what a bunch of tiefmen they were. 

To you it's ok when PNC thief they are the one watching the till they are accountable NOW

To me it's not ok when anyone steals. I've said this many times before. I'm not tied to any party and will not overlook corruption like you clowns do just because you are of the same race as the tiefmen.

You Carib, D2, Django, FC, and the rest of the PNC diehards see the PNC as a community of saints, even if they commit murder. THEY CAN DO NO WRONG!!!!!!!!!

Oh Please, since when have I become a "PNC Diehard"? You clowns make up all kinds of labels if someone does not support your murderous and corrupt PPP. 

I remember Malcolm Harripaul writing about this trait developed since the early days of the PPP. You would ostracize even your Mattie Indians if they did not support the PPP. Throw bricks on their houses at night and harass them just because they didn't drink from your Piss Pot.

Oh Please, since when have I become a "PNC Diehard"? You clowns make up all kinds of labels if someone does not support your murderous and corrupt PPP. 

I remember Malcolm Harripaul writing about this trait developed since the early days of the PPP. You would ostracize even your Mattie Indians if they did not support the PPP. Throw bricks on their houses at night and harass them just because they didn't drink from your Piss Pot.

You like CaribJ do not think there are any evil black people.

I'm sure CaribJ can speak for himself but you're basically making shit up about me. It's quite obvious that there are good and bad people in every race and I've never given anyone the reason to believe that your stupid remarks are true. 

Bullshit SK and you know it.

I never thought that truth equates with bullshit. Hypocrisy always shows its color when it's the other party.

That is called covering up bullshit with more bullshit. Most if not all who tend to lean toward the present govt do speak out when injustice is done and I say again, when we do speak out, instead of standing together, we are then called assinine names by you PPP apologists.

You must take your blows, you supported this crooked adminstration into power with the full understanding that once in control, like a cancer, they will not let go and will circumvent the electorial process and become a dictatorship. You folks used to call the PPP elected dictatorship, what are you calling the pnc now?

My head is above my shoulders.  Your mouth speaks directly from Granger's ass which tells a familiar story of people's hypocrisy in our country. 

You must take your blows, you supported this crooked adminstration into power with the full understanding that once in control, like a cancer, they will not let go and will circumvent the electorial process and become a dictatorship. You folks used to call the PPP elected dictatorship, what are you calling the pnc now?

What blows? You love to live in a delusional state I guess. Sure I preferred this coalition government being elected over the PPP in 2015. So did the people of Guyana and that's where it matters, not from me sitting in my armchair in another country and commenting on what is good for those who live there. At that time the PPP needed to go. They had worn out their welcome and the Guyanese people felt the same way and kicked them out on their buttocks. At one time, I was also happy with the PPP replacing the PNC until the PPP unleashed their corrupt and murderous ways on the Guyanese people. Until this current coalition government becomes a dictatorship and acts in that manner, I cannot assume that they "will circumvent the electoral process and become a dictatorship". That is crap. You cannot prosecute someone for believing that they will commit a crime. They actually adhered to the electoral process and held local government as required by the constitution, something the PPP refused to do for many years in violation of the constitutional requirements. It was more profitable for them to appoint their cronies to take over the local governments and run their scams unabated.

My head is above my shoulders.  Your mouth speaks directly from Granger's ass which tells a familiar story of people's hypocrisy in our country. 

Then, you must be up to your shoulders in your behind. The biggest hypocrite here is you pretending that there was no corruption during the PPP years when it was totally out of control.  

What blows? You love to live in a delusional state I guess. Sure I preferred this coalition government being elected over the PPP in 2015. So did the people of Guyana and that's where it matters, not from me sitting in my armchair in another country and commenting on what is good for those who live there. At that time the PPP needed to go. They had worn out their welcome and the Guyanese people felt the same way and kicked them out on their buttocks. At one time, I was also happy with the PPP replacing the PNC until the PPP unleashed their corrupt and murderous ways on the Guyanese people. Until this current coalition government becomes a dictatorship and acts in that manner, I cannot assume that they "will circumvent the electoral process and become a dictatorship". That is crap. You cannot prosecute someone for believing that they will commit a crime. They actually adhered to the electoral process and held local government as required by the constitution, something the PPP refused to do for many years in violation of the constitutional requirements. It was more profitable for them to appoint their cronies to take over the local governments and run their scams unabated.

You stuck your nose up Grangers ass expecting to smell perfume but instead he dropped a yule log on yuh rass. 

Your preference for old pnc henchmen is unexcusable, but I suppose your hatred of the PPP trumped good sense. 

Now your jackass PNC plummet the country into irreversable damage, you still hold on to hope that they will turn the country around. But understand that there is no coalition,  only PNC with lap dogs from afc in tow. 

You stuck your nose up Grangers ass expecting to smell perfume but instead he dropped a yule log on yuh rass. 

Your preference for old pnc henchmen is unexcusable, but I suppose your hatred of the PPP trumped good sense. 

Now your jackass PNC plummet the country into irreversable damage, you still hold on to hope that they will turn the country around. But understand that there is no coalition,  only PNC with lap dogs from afc in tow. 

I've never met Granger or even as much as seen the man in person. I don't belong to any political party in Guyana or give them financial or any other means of support. I'm simply someone who comments on this site on the political scene in Guyana.

I voiced my opinion about where the PPP should be in 2015 and the Guyanese voters agreed with me and kicked out the corrupt and murderous PPP regime. Too bad you picked the runner up in a two horse race and now you're crying like the loser you are.

When gold was flying high in PPP days at $1800.00 and cocaine was being shipped in everything from pepper sauce to rice, the economy was doing a lot better. Gold tanked, the PPP destroyed the sugar industry and the economy started to falter long before the PPP left office. In the first quarter of 2015, it screeched to a halt at GDP growth of 0.7% and has since rebounded from that low point. Guyana is a commodity based economy and will be at the mercy of fluctuating commodity prices regardless of who's in power. The prices for commodities on the world market is very low now with the strong US dollar. Every country in the region that has a commodities based economy is hurting. Venezuela, Surinam, T&T and others are all feeling the squeeze. The Canadian dollar was on par with the US a few years ago and now they can barely get .75 cents for a loonie. 

For someone who was swimming in the outflows from the Georgetown sewer system, it's quite ironic that you would mention yule logs since you're the only one on this site with such intimate knowledge of GT's yule logs. Guyanese are nicknamed mud heads but you're literally a shit head. 

I've never met Granger or even as much as seen the man in person. I don't belong to any political party in Guyana or give them financial or any other means of support. I'm simply someone who comments on this site on the political scene in Guyana.

I voiced my opinion about where the PPP should be in 2015 and the Guyanese voters agreed with me and kicked out the corrupt and murderous PPP regime. Too bad you picked the runner up in a two horse race and now you're crying like the loser you are.

When gold was flying high in PPP days at $1800.00 and cocaine was being shipped in everything from pepper sauce to rice, the economy was doing a lot better. Gold tanked, the PPP destroyed the sugar industry and the economy started to falter long before the PPP left office. In the first quarter of 2015, it screeched to a halt at GDP growth of 0.7% and has since rebounded from that low point. Guyana is a commodity based economy and will be at the mercy of fluctuating commodity prices regardless of who's in power. The prices for commodities on the world market is very low now with the strong US dollar. Every country in the region that has a commodities based economy is hurting. Venezuela, Surinam, T&T and others are all feeling the squeeze. The Canadian dollar was on par with the US a few years ago and now they can barely get .75 cents for a loonie. 

For someone who was swimming in the outflows from the Georgetown sewer system, it's quite ironic that you would mention yule logs since you're the only one on this site with such intimate knowledge of GT's yule logs. Guyanese are nicknamed mud heads but you're literally a shit head. 

You should go one step further and blame all of Guyana's current and future problems on the PPP and all the coolies. Don't even think that niggroes are the source of all Guyana's problems.

I'm not a vile racist like you who blames all of society's ills on one race, "niggroes" as you call them.

There is no guilty race - Eusi Kwayana

Many were fooled to go back to the devils, just like you. The pnc/afc camp ran a very good smear campaign promising the ppp head on a stake for corruption, guaranteeing collection of money allegedly stolen. 2 years later and they have yet to deliver 1 ppp in jail or 1 dollar back to the nations coffers, as DG, he has a thread that tracks this.  Instead your jackasses delivered billions of dollars to SARU and associates, Chris Ram and other "auditors/investigators" with zero return on the dollar.  They proceeded to drive out investors and the Guyanese felt the squeeze. Now you come here with excuses citing neighboring countries and braying about recovery,  only you know about this recovery and the proof is in the pudding. The Guyanese public who are facing hard guava season don't share your sentiment as they try to smell the roses you are selling but are instead hit with the nauseating stench of the slop can, which you and djangy have come to consider perfume. 

I didn't go back anywhere. I merely comment on the political scene in Guyana as an observer. I don't vote for any party, support them financially or control them in any way. My comments were in line with the Guyanese people who were tired of the PPP's corrupt and murderous ways and kicked them to the curb. Too bad you were high from years of being addicted to sniffing the piss pot which led you to pick the losers. 

Gold price came down, yes but not tanked.  It was still at good levels.  However, the PNC commissioned two new mines initiated under the PPP so volume offset price decline.

The PNC lost the Petro-Caribe deal which dried up a great source of Forex savings.  We can say this or that, but it happened under the PNC!

Crum Ewing did say one of his QC classmates working for CANU told him how he helped organize planting drugs on planes bound for the USA!  I don't think Crum Ewing's friends were PPP boys!

Overall, PNC's opaque policy stance has placed a chill in domestic investment confidence and contributed to the downturn.  Businesses are hording cash which has put the brakes on the economy!