Shot-in-the-mouth teen awaiting corrective surgery

MAY 3, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

Alex Griffith, the 15-year-old who was shot in the mouth by a policeman Wednesday night, remains a patient at the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation (GPHC), awaiting corrective surgery.
Griffith, of North East La Penitence was shot a stone’s throw away from his home around 22:30 hrs by a cadet officer attached to C-Division. The bullet exited just under the teen’s left ear.

Shot: Alex Griffith

According to information, the policeman who has since been arrested was with three other ranks who had gone to the area to investigate a robbery committed on a female relative of the very policeman.
In a statement the police said that the teen was shot during the response to a report of a robbery with aggravation committed on a relative of the rank earlier in the evening.
Kaieteur News was reliably informed that the rank in question was drinking at an East Coast Demerara bar earlier that day.
Marcel Griffith, the injured teen’s mother explained that she was at home when the police dragged her son out of her home.
“Four policemen beat him and were kicking him. He fall down and they keep dragging and kicking him in his belly. When we asked what happen they say that he knows about a robbery,” the woman recounted.
Kaieteur News was told that around 20:00hrs, a young woman, while making her way home, was robbed by two teenagers. At the time, Griffith was reportedly watching television at the home nearby where he had gone to purchase plantain chips.
“My son keep telling them that he ain’t do anything and that he went looking at TV and that they can go ask the girl. They dragged him there and although the girl tell them my son was by her, they still beat he,” the older Griffith lamented.
According to the mother, the woman whose home her son was at when the robbery took place, told the four ranks that the 15-year-old was at her place.
“The lady say he (Griffith) was looking at the TV and she hear a scream. When she run out, she see a girl screaming. The lady say that the girl who was robbed ran to her and asked if she see two boys and she told her that she saw two boys run into some alleyway,” the mother said, adding that the woman related to the ranks that Griffith was still in her house while this was taking place.
Kaieteur News was told that even after the ranks were told that the teenager was looking at the television, they dragged and dumped him into their vehicle.
“I ask them where they taking my son and they tell me to go to Brickdam and they drive off,” the mother related.
She said that as she was walking into her house to get ready to go to the station she heard a gunshot.
“I say to myself that that can’t be my son…because since them police went here, they wanted to shoot he since in my yard. When I do find out, it was he.”
When contacted yesterday, Commander of ‘A’ Division Clifton Hicken said that the matter is currently being investigated.

Since when the police force belong to the PPP? Would it be right for me to say that the PNC thief strike again and get shot in the mouth?

Isn't the PPP responsible for the security of the citizens of Guyana? Isn't Rohee the Minister of Home Affairs? Isn't Seelall the Commissioner of Police?Knucklehead!!

Marcel Griffith, the injured teen’s mother explained that she was at home when the police dragged her son out of her home.
“Four policemen beat him and were kicking him. He fall down and they keep dragging and kicking him in his belly. When we asked what happen they say that he knows about a robbery,” the woman recounted.
Kaieteur News was told that around 20:00hrs, a young woman, while making her way home, was robbed by two teenagers. At the time, Griffith was reportedly watching television at the home nearby where he had gone to purchase plantain chips.
“My son keep telling them that he ain’t do anything and that he went looking at TV and that they can go ask the girl. They dragged him there and although the girl tell them my son was by her, they still beat he,” the older Griffith lamented.

Why is PPP/C not pressing charges on the cop?

Originally Posted by Mars:

Since when the police force belong to the PPP? Would it be right for me to say that the PNC thief strike again and get shot in the mouth?

Isn't the PPP responsible for the security of the citizens of Guyana? Isn't Rohee the Minister of Home Affairs? Isn't Seelall the Commissioner of Police?Knucklehead!!

So, the police were supposed to protect thieves too? 

Isn't there a court/justice system for alleged thieves or do you believe in just shooting them without a trial? 

What happen to due process? Only thieves have the right to due process?

Isn't there a court/justice system for alleged thieves or do you believe in just shooting them without a trial? 

Police are only human and they too make mistakes at time. Why not wait till the investigation is over before commenting. This is another anti-PPP rant from you.

I comment now because the young man is in pain now. If I find that the PPP is at fault for anything I will comment as I see fit. 

Why would you call the young man a thief instead of waiting for an investigation?

He shot a kid he arrested and who was already in custody in the mouth.Due process would mean his evil backsides should be in the confines of a cell awaiting trial.

The police office is also going through mental pain at the moment.

He deserves to feel more than mental pain for unlawfully shooting the young man. 

One other kid died after he was shot by the police, He died during his treatment at the GPC. This is police brutality to the core under the PPP/C regime. What happened to cops who were involved with beating the Amerind woman and her child during a peaceful protest?

Mitwah, you and I are big men, and we must act like adults. Police incidents happen at different time and places based on different situation. Let's focus on the incident before us. Let me correct you that the police force does not belong to the PPP, they are there to protect the people and politicians of Guyana. Granger and Ramjattan, they all have police guards at their disposal.

But Granger and Ramjattan are not head of the foolice force; It's Ramotar and Rohee. From what is known so far, there is enough evidence to institute what is commonly known as a " Holding Charge " against the shooter.

AFC/APNU hold the majority in parliament, let them pass new laws to deal with police officers appropriately. Do you agree?

No! There are laws under which the cop can be charged. Ramotar is known not to assent to bills initiated by the opposition. I am disappointed with Selall, Ramotar and Rohee inactions on this matter.

AFC/APNU hold the majority in parliament, let them pass new laws to deal with police officers appropriately . . .

drunk and stupid, eh!?

. . . s m f h

The Executive remains the PPP and the executive implement POLICY.  STUPID azz!

The alleged shooter.

He probably didn't finish high school.

How you know that, Mith?

He lacks a lot of skills. He uses brute force to compensate for his smarts. I have experience in police matters and the courts.

The alleged shooter.

How you know that, Mith?

He lacks a lot of skills. He uses brute force to compensate for his smarts. I have experience in police matters and the courts.

Most NY cops are college graduates and they make worst mistakes than our Guyanese cadets. I have hope they will get better after a few mistakes.

The alleged shooter.

How you know that, Mith?

Most NY cops are college graduates and they make worst mistakes than our Guyanese cadets. I have hope they will get better after a few mistakes.

So now you are justifying his actions based on NY cops performance? The comparative is actually of no relevance. This cop did not act in self defence.

He shot a kid he arrested and who was already in custody in the mouth.Due process would mean his evil backsides should be in the confines of a cell awaiting trial.

Classic D2. Due process is not for the Indians in Guyana. They are guilty until proven innocent.

Mothers always know best…really???

I BET the mother of the shot 15-year-old would tell you her baby is not a thief.

But after reading this bit it all gets mixed up, as the following would show.The mother said, “the police cruel my son.” According to her, several persons informed the patrol that her son was at a neighbour’s house in East La Penitence watching television at the time of the robbery.
The home owner confirmed the claims of the child’s mother, but the home owner must confirm because most of them enjoy the loot.

According to residents in the area, after the young lady was robbed, she approached the teenager and asked him which direction the robbers ran since they had sprayed something in her eyes and impaired her vision.

If the teenager was in a house, which is confirmed by the home owner, then how was it possible that the victim approached the teenage criminal?

Was this young terrorist in a house watching TV? Really?? Criminals and their relatives and friends are so quick to use their brains, but it is too bad they cannot use it for productive things to better their lives.
The policeman should have just let the young criminal kill him instead of protecting himself, because for some people only criminals have rights in Guyana. And as the popular saying goes: “What has age got to do with it?”

TED KING  Guyana Chronicle.

. . . Was this young terrorist in a house watching TV? Really?? Criminals and their relatives and friends are so quick to use their brains, but it is too bad they cannot use it for productive things to better their lives.

The policeman should have just let the young criminal kill him . And as the popular saying goes: “What has age got to do with it?”

TED KING  Guyana Chronicle.

taxpayer dollars at work in the pages of the Guyana Chronicle

imagine . . . this PPP 'newspaper' actually pays someone a salary to perform the job of "Editor"

CONTEMPT fuh black people off the chain

people of goodwill need to speak up . . . so far, Freedom House sees nothing but advantage for them in stoking ethnic fires

Classic D2. Due process is not for the Indians in Guyana. They are guilty until proven innocent.

Redux call you morons low functioning and he is being generous. The kid was in custody by all accounts. He was shot in the mouth by that gomer pile looking dimwit. What does that have to do with race?  Justice fool means he should be in close custody with charges of brutality pending

Racist D2. He calls Indo Guyanese dalits and for him, Indo Guyanese are seen as Guilty until proven innocent.

Since Obama was responsible for the black youths being shot in Florida "Stand your ground" rule.

Shitface bugga batty, stop dreaming, why dont you go pimp somewhere else.

Redux call you morons low functioning and he is being generous. The kid was in custody by all accounts. He was shot in the mouth by that gomer pile looking dimwit. What does that have to do with race?  Justice fool means he should be in close custody with charges of brutality pending

Moron, I know you have a big mouth. Was the kid in custody in YOUR mouth?

Racist D2. He calls Indo Guyanese dalits and for him, Indo Guyanese are seen as Guilty until proven innocent.

You mal educated moron, India labels you dalits. I did not invent the name. To the conreary, it is a label, that is self defeating by its denial of an underlying reality. THey should not label the people but the crime, castism, and the perps, Brahimins.

And where in the world did I say anyone is guilty? I aid the fellow should be under close arrest ( to preserve the integrity of t he evidence) pending a clarification of charges. That is what a fair justice system does.

Moron, I know you have a big mouth. Was the kid in custody in YOUR mouth?

Of course you take refuge  in your mind ( and the world) to places you  frequuent.

THe US is a federal republic. There is a whole layer of government that is responsible for the local police before Obama gets in the mix. Stand your ground policies are  condemned by the Justice department, It is a states right question.

According to reports, Alex was forced to open his mouth and was shot while in the custody of the police ranks, who told his mother they were taking him to the Brickdam Police Station.

They had earlier inflicted a severe beating on the teen in effort to retrieve information about a robbery committed against a relative of the rank who allegedly pulled the trigger.

http://www.caribnewsdesk.com/n...oliceman-s-ettlement

Teen shot in mouth refuses policeman's $ettlement

• Tuesday, 06 May 2014 14:29

The 15-year old boy, who was shot in his mouth by a policeman, refused private compensation on Tuesday and insisted the lawman be charged.

Alex Griffith was discharged from hospital at noon Tuesday, six days after a Cadet Officer put a gun in his mouth and discharged a round during an interrogation into an alleged robbery at East La Penitence.

“ I would like the police to get jail.. He shoot me in my mouth,” said Griffith who was still complaining of pains in his neck.

Griffith accused the policemen of stamping him on his head, taking him in a van and then played Russian Roulette. “When they came out (of yard), the Indian police put me to lie down, take the gun, take out all the bullets, put in back one, spin it, ain the gun at my mouth and tell me biy you suyre you don’t know who is rob that girl?’

He pull the trigger, the gun go ‘crix’ one time then he shoot again and the gun go off, taste one set of gunpowder in my mouth, ears all start ringing, ringing… then they picke me up and put me in a van and they drive me to the hospital and they go away and left me at the hospital,” he said.

Chief of Criminal Investigations, Senior Superintendent Leslie James said the Cadet Officer was no longer under close arrest and was reporting to the Guyana Police Force but “not on active duty.”

“He is just within reach in case he has to be taken to court,” James told Demerara Waves Online News.

Political and Social Activist, Mark Benschop told reiterated that no compensation would be accepted unless provided through a private lawsuit. “No form of compensation will be accepted. Officer Paul’s lawyer or someone claiming to be his lawyer has called and has offered a one million dollar settlement.

“There will be no settlement. What the parent wants. What this youngster wants is for the officer to be charged and jailed and any form of civil action will be done via the court against the police force and a lawsuit against the officer in question,” he said.

Police brutality again: The policy of “Silent Concurrence”

MAY 6, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

DEAR EDITOR,
This time it’s a fifteen-year-old shot in the mouth in the open space. Another poor African-Guyanese youth. The numbers swell. Again we mourn, bemoan, condemn. Some of us will picket and hold another forum. Police brutality will again be on the lips of those who are not muzzled by fear or accommodation.  But will it make a difference?  The evidence shows it has not over the last two decades. Why?
The police force is an institution of the state. It is part of the coercive arm of the state. Its violence against the citizenry is institutional. However much we’re tempted to think otherwise, members of the police force do not act as individuals. Without that uniform and the authority that comes with it, policemen and women would engage others differently.
Like other armed forces of the state, the police force is civilian-directed. The police force in Guyana has always been loyal to the government of the day, even when individually some or most of its members vote for the opposition party. Another state institution—the executive arm of the government—directs the police force. That executive arm of government determines police policy, decides how much police personnel are paid and who gets promoted or demoted or goes on scholarships or gets other privileges and perks. Although there is no hard evidence, it is well known that many people go into the police force primarily for economic reasons.
The executive arm of government in post-colonial Guyana is a creature of the ruling party. The ruling party has interests and uses the arms of the state to promote its interests. Those interests are driven by ethnic and class or ideological concerns. It’s economic, political, and cultural and security (police) policies flow from these concerns. Note the Head of State and Government, in his recent address to the Police Conference, did not highlight police brutality as a serious problem to be addressed by the touted police reforms.
I call it the policy of “Silent Concurrence,” whereby the party-government of the day turns a blind eye to official excesses in exchange for political loyalty. On the other hand, the government/state institutions, conscious of official expectations and fearful of official retaliation, develop a culture of accommodation and appeasement. The culture of brutality in the police force to which the Stabroek News Editorial (May 5, 2014) refers to is an incomplete thesis unless it is situated within the above context.
The last time I sought to draw the nexus between party-government interest and policy and police brutality, one major independent newspaper to which it was sent refused to carry the letter. A faceless nameless writer and a well-known race-man writing under a pen-name screamed that I was racist or something to that effect—the old story of those who expose racism being accused of racism.
Those who silence or downplay the fact that the victims of police institutional violence are disproportionately of one ethnic group, one social class and one party constituency are as guilty as the policemen who pull the triggers and the policymakers whose active policy of silent concurrence encourages such action.
The current Walter Rodney Commission of Inquiry highlights the nexus between party-government policy and police brutality and other forms of state and para-state violence is hypocritical. To see the nexus because it was executed by another party and the victims were the celebrated Walter Rodney and the WPA, and not see it now because it’s the other party and another uncelebrated class of citizens, is the height of racial and class bias and perhaps bigotry.
David Hinds