Greenwich Park woman, mother chopped by former partner

A fisherman seriously wounded his former partner and her mother with a knife and cutlass around 10:40 pm on Wednesday at Greenwich Park, East Bank Essequibo before consuming a poisonous substance.

Bibi Shereema, 26, underwent surgery yesterday at the Georgetown Public Hospital and is reportedly in a critical condition. Her mother, Bibi Shameela, 50, is a patient at the West Demerara Regional Hospital.

Shereema suffered injuries to the region of her heart and lungs. She also sustained open wounds to her wrist and elbow, as well as to her leg and her mother was chopped about her hand.

Police went in search of their attacker, known as ‘Moon,’ a fisherman of Parika, East Bank Essequibo and discovered that he had attempted suicide. He is also hospitalized.

Mohamed Ibrahim showing the window through which the attacker entered.

Mohamed Ibrahim, a watchman at Ruby, told Stabroek News that he was at work when his 15-year-old daughter called him while crying frantically and told him “mommy and Reema bleeding to death.”

He did not understand what she meant and called her back and she explained what had happened. He could also hear his wife and daughter screaming in pain.

He left his workplace immediately but called out on other relatives for help, saying “something serious happen at home.”

His son-in-law broke the gate to enter the yard and they took them to the hospital.

Ibrahim said the man must have jumped into the yard and entered the house by removing three louvre panes from a window in the kitchen.

He then ran up the stairs and went into the bedroom where Shereema was sleeping with her three children, ages, 2, 4 and 5 and attacked her.

Her mother heard her screaming and ran to her assistance and the man, who was dressed only in shorts, attacked her as well and escaped. Police later found his slippers, cap and a half-bottle rum in the yard.

Ibrahim said Shareema shared a one-year relationship with the man about fours ago and left when she became pregnant. He constantly accused her of infidelity. Her two older children are from a previous marriage.

He would visit the child when he came from sea but Shareema would have to beg him for money for the child. He would give it hesitantly and later cursed her on the phone about it.

Her father said he became angry and tried to kill her because she refused to rekindle the relationship with him.

Welcome to the new reality under the PNC. Domestic abuse, chop up and otherwise. No wonder Amnesty International put Guyana on the shyte list. 

You are blinded due to not liking the the current gov't.

Domestic abuse is nothing new,what people need to do is report to the authorities when threats are made,Indians are always ashamed to make these issues known,the outcome are death and brutality to their family.

Welcome to the new reality under the PNC. Domestic abuse, chop up and otherwise. No wonder Amnesty International put Guyana on the shyte list. 

This is simply cultural. It is not the PPP or the PNC but the idea of ownership of a woman by guyanese men. That a woman can make up her mind to do as is her choice is alien to most guyanese. The reality is seen in that most of you idiots would not even go in the kitchen and think it is an insult to help with the children. It is a Guyanese disease.

Husband charged over chopping spouse

A few days after he allegedly chopped his wife about her body, 38-year-old Ishwar Heeralall was

CHARGED: Ishwar Heeralall

yesterday charged with attempted murder, after he was arraigned in the Georgetown Magistrates’ Courts.

It is alleged that on July 31, at La Penitence, Ruimveldt, Georgetown, Heeralall, of Anna Regina New Housing Scheme, Essequibo, unlawfully and maliciously wounded Wanita Heeralall with intent to commit murder.
The accused who did not plead to the indictable charge was released on $600,000 bail. He was ordered to stay away from the virtual complainant and report to the Officer in Charge of the Criminal Investigation Department (CID) Ruimveldt Police Station.

Heeralall was also instructed to lodge his passport with the court.
Police Prosecutor Vishnu Hunt had no objections to the accused being granted pre-trial liberty. According to Hunt, Wanita Heeralall is hospitalized in a stable condition.

Ishwar Heeralall, a father of five, told the court that he has no pending matters or previous convictions.

Magistrate Judy Latchman adjourned the matter to August 24, for reports.
It was reported that Heeralall chopped his estranged wife while she was shopping in the La Penitence Market.
Wanita Heeralall, 31, of Laing Avenue was rushed to the Georgetown Public Hospital with a fractured

Wanita Heeralall

Rosignol Chinese Restaurant fatal stabbing…“Rabbit” guilty of murder

– to be sentenced following probation
“Guilty of murder,” was the reply of the forewoman when asked for the decision by the Registrar in the

Shazam Khalil

Murder accuse: Shazam Khalil

Rosignol Chinese Restaurant murder.
Twenty-three year-old murder accused Shazam Khalil called “Rabbit”, a cane harvester, of 53 Shieldstown, West Bank Berbice, was on trial for the capitol offence before Justice Jo Ann Barlow and a mixed jury. Khalil seemed tense as he awaited the verdict and seemed lost when it was handed down.

He was before the court for the murder of 19-year-old Shazina Mohamed, of Edinburgh Housing Scheme, East Bank Berbice.

The young woman was brutally stabbed about her body around 19:00 hours on January 17, last year, in front of the Yang Yi Chinese Restaurant, at Rosignol, West Bank Berbice.

Both the prosecution and defence had closed their cases and presented arguments to the jury. State Prosecutor Stacy Goodings had urged the jury to believe the state’s case which had two eyewitnesses and the doctor’s testimony.

Defence lawyer Tajenarine Ramroop in his presentation pointed to some inconsistencies in the prosecution’s case, and urged the jury to believe the defence’s case of self defence and accident.

Justice Barlow subsequently summed up the evidence to the jury and directed the panel on the law. After retiring, the jury returned just under two hours with a unanimous verdict of guilty of murder.

Shazina Mohamed

Victim: Shazina Mohamed

http://s1.stabroeknews.com/images/2016/08/sheniza-197x160.jpg

Unburquaized

Before asking for the benefit of a probation report for his client, Ramroop told the court that his client is just 23 years old, is not married, has no children, and lives with his parents. It was the first time he was charged for any offence.

Khalil told the court that he was never expecting to be found guilty.
Prosecutor Goodings had told the court that on the day in question, in a fit of rage, the accused knifed the teen, who was his ex-lover. The woman was at the Yang Yi Chinese Restaurant when she was ambushed and stabbed by the accused, who then fled the scene.

The woman was picked up and rushed to the Fort Wellington Hospital, and subsequently transferred to the New Amsterdam Hospital where she succumbed. The matter was subsequently reported and Khalil was arrested and charged.

During the trial, the Prosecution called a number of witnesses including Dr. Vivekanand Brijmohan who gave the cause of death as shock and haemorrhage due to multiple stab wounds. He testified that Shazina Mohamed had a lot of clot blood and her right lung had collapsed. The wounds, he had told the court, were mostly stab wounds and were not self-inflicted , but caused mainly by an attack.

Also testifying was detective Constable Andel Doris, main prosecution witness Vishwa Sukhdeo, his sister Latchmi Sukhdeo, Detective Corporal Kofi Robinson and Constable Orwin Barton.

Khalil had given an unsworn statement from the docks.
The court also applied section 95 of the Evidence Act to have the deposition of Shafique Mohamed – which was taken in the Magistrate’s Court – admitted in evidence.

The state called a number of witnesses to support its application, including Police Sergeant Alexis Adams of the Central Immigration and Passport Office in Georgetown, Fazia Mohamed, daughter of Shafique and sister of Shazina, and Legal Clerk attached to the Fort Wellington Magistrate’s Court, Ophelia Marques. The statement was read into evidence by Marques.

The accused had given an unsworn statement from the dock. He said that he was called by the deceased on his phone. He claimed that when he arrived she was with a male individual and told him that this is her “new man”. Khalil said that he was about to walk away when Shazina Mohamed grabbed him back.

“She was bigger and stronger than me. She cuff me in my left eye. I beg she to loose me, she nah loose me. She brace me up to a white car and call the boy to come with a beer bottle to kill me. After I see the boy coming with the beer bottle, I tek de knife and cut she so that she can loose me. After she did not loose me I cut she harder. I then loose she and run away.”

“I never want to hurt Shazina because of the feeling I had for her.”

Domestic abuse is nothing new,what people need to do is report to the authorities when threats are made,Indians are always ashamed to make these issues known,the outcome are death and brutality to their family.

You people got no shame. You try to ignore a heinous crime. Grow a pair of balls. How come it's nothing new. When people report it, it's nothing new? Lawd gaad, help these blind folks.

Where in my statement I ignored the crime,apparently you didn't understand my response to Drugb,seh suh nah.

Nonsense, it is due to a lack of enforcement by the PNC police, 99.9% PNC/AFC operatives. They sit back and gaff in the station instead of doing their jobs of arresting perpetrators. They let the small stuff go and eventually the big stuff happens. How come they don't try that shyte in America? 

This is simply cultural. It is not the PPP or the PNC but the idea of ownership of a woman by guyanese men. That a woman can make up her mind to do as is her choice is alien to most guyanese. The reality is seen in that most of you idiots would not even go in the kitchen and think it is an insult to help with the children. It is a Guyanese disease.

When whites pretend to be Buck they end up calling a sakiwinki a bird. Little do you know of Guyana, now you declare the abuse cultural. In fact, like any crime, it is due to the lack of enforcement by the lazy PNC police enforcement.  A man slap his wife and the police look the other way, this gives mixed messages to the abusers and eventually leads to murder. The PNC must own this one. AI is correct, the PNC are not doing a good job enforcing the laws and sending the message that wife abuse is a crime. But then you would not know this as you are famous for women abuse on this site. 

As I said, I am as white as you are black....but then you are black. Guyana has from its earliest incarnation in the era of indenture-ship been a place where women were brutalized and killed. This was epidemic beginning in the middle of the 19th century.

Every year we get close to 40 women being killed without failure. Every day the tale of men against women violence is an unfolding story. That the police traditionally do not care is because the society does not care to focus on this epidemic.

You are off your rockers if you think I abuse women here. Not one woman on this site can say that I have ever made an overt or covert sexual remark to them. That I do not care if a writer is a man or a woman in their presenting of an argument is a different matter. Everyone has a right to defend their position.

Nonsense, it is due to a lack of enforcement by the PNC police, 99.9% PNC/AFC operatives. They sit back and gaff in the station instead of doing their jobs of arresting perpetrators. They let the small stuff go and eventually the big stuff happens. How come they don't try that shyte in America? 

I predicted your response,the blame will be shifted to law enforcement,due the fact majority are Africans and your dislike for that ethnicity.

Cobra posted:

The racist regime is putting severe strain on people of Indian origin to kill their family and commit suicide. This is an ongoing trend since May 11, 2015.

This has nothing whatsoever with the government ! The idiots who resort to this type of behavior are mostly uneducated and believe wisdom and salvation comes from alcohol.   

Keffer posted:
Cobra posted:

The racist regime is putting severe strain on people of Indian origin to kill their family and commit suicide. This is an ongoing trend since May 11, 2015.

This has nothing whatsoever with the government ! The idiots who resort to this type of behavior are mostly uneducated and believe wisdom and salvation comes from alcohol.   

What is surprising is that folks who claim that this happens all the time and is not being reported or families are ashamed to report it to the police. I want to ask these folks "if this was their sister or daughter, would they write the same crap here"? The government has nothing to do with this, it's the community elders(priests, imams etc.) who should be doing more to stop it.

Cobra posted:

I have a plan in place fuh all them chap man. Use the cutlass to liberate yourself from government oppression.

Sheik said the last time you chased him with a cutlass he took it away from you and gave you some good broad side.

You can't even handle dem super-cyat black women. How you gon able with black man when you used to hide from them under your bed. 

Cobra posted:

I have a plan in place fuh all them chap man. Use the cutlass to liberate yourself from government oppression.

Sheik said the last time you chased him with a cutlass he took it away from you and gave you some good broad side.

You can't even handle dem super-cyat black women. How you gon able with black man when you used to hide from them under your bed. 

Mars, back in 1985 I was crossing the ferry to Na. This blackman tried to push his car infront of the coolieman's car in line. The coolie man from #79 village pulled out a cutlass from his car trunk, the blackman left his car and ran asking the coolie man to move it. The traffic police just stood there looking in surprise. Coolie man wid wan cutlass nah frikken blackman. Blackman frikken any coolie man wid even wan palin in dem hand. Nah fool youseff.

Cobra posted:

Mars, back in 1985 I was crossing the ferry to Na. This blackman tried to push his car infront of the coolieman's car in line. The coolie man from #79 village pulled out a cutlass from his car trunk, the blackman left his car and ran asking the coolie man to move it. The traffic police just stood there looking in surprise. Coolie man wid wan cutlass nah frikken blackman. Blackman frikken any coolie man wid even wan palin in dem hand. Nah fool youseff.

These are the worse possible methods being offered to effect change. Looks like the Taliban ideology is spreading. The snake seems to be forgetting that two people already were brought before the courts because of the nonsense they post on the internet. I would advise everyone to avoid having him help them with their taxes.

Cobra posted:

I would be careful with any bad man wielding a cutlass. Prince Cobra is all fat talk though. The only thing bad about him is his B.O.