Its 5 months now since they took over and already the damage is for all to see as UG medical school loses accreditation. These jokers are twiddling their thumbs and giving themselves 50% raises while the nation's university goes to the crapper.

Home > TOP STORY > UG medical school loses accreditation
Entrance_to_UG campus

UG medical school loses accreditation

STUDENTS of the University of Guyana School of Medicine (UGSM), faced with the institution’s loss of accreditation, are worried sick that their certificates may not be recognised in other regional jurisdictions.The accreditation was lost in July 2015, following the university’s delay in submitting a report on the school’s progress to the Caribbean Accreditation Authority for Education in Medicine and other Health Professions (CAAM-HP).
The regional body reportedly grants temporary accreditation under certain conditions to medical schools in the Caribbean. UGSM was granted short-term accreditation for the periods 2008 to 2009; 2009 to 2012; and 2013 to 2015. These were followed by visits by the authority in 2012 and 2013.
The Guyana Chronicle has learnt that during its last visit, the authority found that some of the issues that were highlighted on its previous visit had not been addressed.
The issues at reference primarily had to do with infrastructural improvements; a review of curriculum; and the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) among the Ministry of Public Health, UGSM, and the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation (GPHC) for funding of the school.
UGSM was reportedly advised at the time to address the issues and submit a progress report, so that the authority could return this year to review its accreditation status.

Originally Posted by TK:

A trend that started under PPP. The other academic programs lost accreditation under Jagdeo. Can the new govt turn it around?

They would cancel the programs like Burnham did.  They would prefer to paint the buildings instead and fire all Indian professors. They will merge with the west Indies.

Originally Posted by TK:

A trend that started under PPP. The other academic programs lost accreditation under Jagdeo. Can the new govt turn it around?

They would cancel the programs like Burnham did.  They would prefer to paint the buildings instead and fire all Indian professors. They will merge with the west Indies.

I have said 1000 times merge with UWI.

Originally Posted by TK:

Do you really think that the UWI will want to merge with  UG?

Originally Posted by TK:

That's the better question.

Originally Posted by TK:

I would hope by now that you can give us the benefit of your intellectual capacity of how UG can become better in the future.

Originally Posted by TK:

I would hope by now that you can give us the benefit of your intellectual capacity of how UG can become better in the future.

I have already done that in various pieces.

Originally Posted by TK:

I must have missed the boat.

Originally Posted by TK:

Of course you missed the boat. Your world view is very similar to Baseman's. Not surprised you missed it...you guys see the world through the lens of a curbside hustler and pushers. This UG thing is only relevant to balahoo Brahmin Yuji because he seizes an opportunity to rubbish the new govt...the balahoo Brahmin forgot UG declined most under Jagdeo. Not that I believe the new govt can turn it around.

Originally Posted by TK:

Of course you missed the boat. Your world view is very similar to Baseman's. Not surprised you missed it...you guys see the world through the lens of a curbside hustler and pushers. This UG thing is only relevant to balahoo Brahmin Yuji because he seizes an opportunity to rubbish the new govt...the balahoo Brahmin forgot UG declined most under Jagdeo. Not that I believe the new govt can turn it around.

UG was  already in decline when the PPP took it over in 1992. The treasury was bankrupt and there was no money to upgrade the institution.  The PNC reduce the university to Grade 14 status.  Isn't that so? eh!

Originally Posted by TK:

UG was  already in decline when the PPP took it over in 1992. The treasury was bankrupt and there was no money to upgrade the institution.  The PNC reduce the university to Grade 14 status.  Isn't that so? eh!

and after 23 years, most of those with that 'titan' jagabat at the helm . . . what do we have again?

Originally Posted by TK:

UG was no world class university in 1992. It was no Mona, Cave Hill, St Augustine, Uni of Mauritius or Uni of Botswana in 1992. I was a freshman in 1992. I tell you UG was 200% better in 1992 (in spite of the bankrupt treasury) than when PPP left in May 2015. The PPP had more money to improve the place. But they allowed it to disintegrate because the Central and Executive Committees are essentially populated hustlers and people with a screwed up worldview. The few who went to university did so on communist scholarships or for status instead of the pure joy and merit of learning and scientific inquiry. It is an uncivilized party of mainly Indo hustlers...put dat in yuh hawan kun and burn it!!! Happy Navratri...BTW.

Originally Posted by TK:

Yuh Rass Mad, Dis Chap single-handedly cause American Education Standards to DROP significantly, especially in Florida, so please be careful who you asking for advise.

Originally Posted by TK:

Here is druggie demanding that Guyana recognize sub standard doctors.  You know the hypocrite will never allow any doctor from an uncredentialed school to treat his kids.

Druggie UG collapsed under the PPP.  It couldnt have moved from excellence to  disgrace in a few months. 

They had the opportunity to do so under Cheddi, but he screamed that he doesnt want UG to have anything to do with any "black man" university.

Burnham had his own nasty plans to isolate Guyanese from the rest of the world, and again refused to integrate UG into UWI.  Had they done so Guyanese would have had more access to UWI.

Originally Posted by TK:

Here is druggie demanding that Guyana recognize sub standard doctors.  You know the hypocrite will never allow any doctor from an uncredentialed school to treat his kids.

Druggie UG collapsed under the PPP.  It couldnt have moved from excellence to  disgrace in a few months. 

We need to give the apnu/afc a chance to turn UG around, after all they have only been in govt for 5 months and have been preoccupied with bringing the PPP thieves to justice(zero so far) and raising their salary by 50% to ensure that they paid well to do a good job.

They had the opportunity to do so under Cheddi, but hescreamed that he doesnt want UG to have anything to do with any "black man" university.

Burnham had his own nasty plans to isolate Guyanese from the rest of the world, and again refused to integrate UG into UWI.  Had they done so Guyanese would have had more access to UWI.

Incorrect and as usual peddling gross misinformation.

When the PPP were in power the critics were very vocal and held the party accountable for all negativity going on in the nation. Now that the shoe is on the other foot, it appears that they are willing to give the afc/apnu a free pass on the very same things for which they were criticizing the PPP. I notice slowly the Kaieteur news is slowly criticizing govt. 

The PPP was given a honeymoon for five years. I know aluh can't stand blackman...but at least give the new govt some time.

They had the opportunity to do so under Cheddi, but hescreamed that he doesnt want UG to have anything to do with any "black man" university.

Cheddi had a Presidential Commission on UG. It had some sensible recommendations for that time. As an academic I can tell you times have changed rapidly since then. The entire curriculum has to be refashioned - from engineering, natural sciences, social sciences to humanities - to take into consideration the trends of the 21st century.

UG was invited by UWI to join them, which would have allowed campuses in the 4 largest formerly British Caribbean colonies.

Cheddi refused, as part of his panic about joining a majority black union.

, it appears that they are willing to give the afc/apnu a free pass

Quit lying.

The PPP junkies justified every act of the PPP, and became quite vicious against those who dared to criticize them.

APNU/AFC supporters have been quiet vocal when the gov't does things that they dont like.  There has been much criticism about the 50% pay increase.

The PPP owns its supporters and cows them into submission.  In order for them to be critical of the PPP they are forced to leave.

PNC supporters have often been openly critical of their leadership.  AND they do not feel compelled to leave when they do so.

BOTH Corbin and Granger have seen the wrath of PNC supporters.

No PPP supporter would have dared to be as openly critical of Jagdeo, when he was in power.  In fact newbie Clinton Urling discovered that when he blamed the defeat of the PPP on Jagdeo.

Quit lying.

The PPP junkies justified every act of the PPP, and became quite vicious against those who dared to criticize them.

APNU/AFC supporters have been quiet vocal when the gov't does things that they dont like.  There has been much criticism about the 50% pay increase.

The PPP owns its supporters and cows them into submission.  In order for them to be critical of the PPP they are forced to leave.

PNC supporters have often been openly critical of their leadership.  AND they do not feel compelled to leave when they do so.

No PPP supporter would have dared to be as openly critical of Jagdeo, when he was in power.  In fact newbie Clinton Urling discovered that when he blamed the defeat of the PPP on Jagdeo.

Nonsense, most of the those the PPP supporters criticized the govt at the time to the point where many jumped to the AFC.  Now these same folks including yourself stay quiet while the country slide into depression and free for all crime.

Quit lying.

Nonsense, most of the those the PPP supporters criticized the govt at the time to the point where many jumped to the AFC.  Now these same folks including yourself stay quiet while the country slide into depression and free for all crime.

PNC remains a bunch of scums when dealing with crime. They cannot blame PPP for the current crime situation. They ran on a crime fighting campaign and crime has increased by almost TWENTY Percent.

Crime has always been a PNC way of keeping Indos under control.

PNC Part Two is worse than PNC Part One.

While the fat cats collect 50% salary increase the afc/apnu supporters get nothing. Now we see their supporters resorting to suicide.

Man jumps off Harbour Bridge, lands on pontoon

OCTOBER 16, 2015 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 
Man rescued after jumping from Harbour Bridge Civilians yesterday rescued a man, who plunged off the Demerara Habour Bridge around 09:10 hrs. The man has been identified as 20-year-old Joshua Jackson, of Pouderoyen, West Bank Demerara [WBD). Jackson, who jumped from the northern side of the bridge, landed on a pontoon. He was later taken to the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation (GPHC)’s Psychiatric Ward for observation. A police source yesterday told this newspaper that when ranks contacted Jackson’s relatives, they related that the young man tried to commit suicide six times in the past. According to the source, Jackson’s relatives claimed that the 20-year-old was working for his uncle and when he was told that he cannot spend so much time on his phone, he threw away the mobile device and left his worksite, claiming that he was going to end his life. He then rode to the Harbour Bridge and jumped, leaving his bicycle and slippers on the bridge. Pic in Friday as jumper 1 to 4 Caption: Ranks escorting Jackson to the hospital yesterday

Ranks escorting Jackson to the hospital yesterday

Civilians yesterday rescued a man, who plunged off the Demerara Habour Bridge around 09:10 hrs.
The man has been identified as 20-year-old Joshua Jackson, of Pouderoyen, West Bank Demerara (WBD).
Jackson, who jumped from the northern side of the bridge, landed on a pontoon.
He was later taken to the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation (GPHC)’s Psychiatric Ward for observation.
A police source yesterday told this newspaper that when ranks contacted Jackson’s relatives, they related that the young man tried to commit suicide six times in the past.
According to the source, Jackson’s relatives claimed that the 20-year-old was working for his uncle and when he was told that he cannot spend so much time on his phone, he threw away the mobile device and left his worksite, claiming that he was going to end his life.
He then rode to the Harbour Bridge and jumped, leaving his bicycle and slippers on the bridge.

Guyanese are now becoming hopeless under the AFC/PNC

While the fat cats collect 50% salary increase the afc/apnu supporters get nothing. Now we see their supporters resorting to suicide.

Man rescued after jumping from Harbour Bridge Civilians yesterday rescued a man, who plunged off the Demerara Habour Bridge around 09:10 hrs. The man has been identified as 20-year-old Joshua Jackson, of Pouderoyen, West Bank Demerara [WBD). Jackson, who jumped from the northern side of the bridge, landed on a pontoon. He was later taken to the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation [GPHC)’s Psychiatric Ward for observation. A police source yesterday told this newspaper that when ranks contacted Jackson’s relatives, they related that the young man tried to commit suicide six times in the past. According to the source, Jackson’s relatives claimed that the 20-year-old was working for his uncle and when he was told that he cannot spend so much time on his phone, he threw away the mobile device and left his worksite, claiming that he was going to end his life. He then rode to the Harbour Bridge and jumped, leaving his bicycle and slippers on the bridge. Pic in Friday as jumper 1 to 4 Caption: Ranks escorting Jackson to the hospital yesterday

Nonsense, most of the those the PPP supporters criticized the govt at the time to the point where many jumped to the AFC.

druggie you are a lying fraud. Why don't you check my posts and stop living in your racist swamp.  I have had lots of criticisms against APNU/AFC.

You also make my point.  An APNU supporter can criticize APNU WITHOUT having to leave it.  A PPP supporter can ONLY criticize the PPP BY LEAVING IT.

Why did those who moved to the AFC have to leave?  They had to because it is totally impossible for a PPP person to criticize the leadership and remain.  The PNC had had much internal turmoil and NOT ONE of them have left it.  In fact some who despise Granger have declared that he is NOT going to run them out of the PNC. 

I suggest that you research the conflict involving Solomon and Vanessa Kissoon. They are still with the PNC.  Solomon remaining quite vocal.

Guyanese are now becoming hopeless under the AFC/PNC

Man rescued after jumping from Harbour Bridge Civilians yesterday rescued a man, who plunged off the Demerara Habour Bridge around 09:10 hrs. The man has been identified as 20-year-old Joshua Jackson, of Pouderoyen, West Bank Demerara [WBD). Jackson, who jumped from the northern side of the bridge, landed on a pontoon. He was later taken to the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation [GPHC)’s Psychiatric Ward for observation. A police source yesterday told this newspaper that when ranks contacted Jackson’s relatives, they related that the young man tried to commit suicide six times in the past. According to the source, Jackson’s relatives claimed that the 20-year-old was working for his uncle and when he was told that he cannot spend so much time on his phone, he threw away the mobile device and left his worksite, claiming that he was going to end his life. He then rode to the Harbour Bridge and jumped, leaving his bicycle and slippers on the bridge. Pic in Friday as jumper 1 to 4 Caption: Ranks escorting Jackson to the hospital yesterday

yugi, why do you insist on being the board's ignorant arse-hole?

Is this true, that man is trying to commit suicide because of the Govt? You are a real fkin LIAR.

You ignorant sow, did you even read the article? The man tried this in the past ( remember the PPP were in Govt...in the past)

"Civilians yesterday rescued a man, who plunged off the Demerara Habour Bridge around 09:10 hrs.
The man has been identified as 20-year-old Joshua Jackson, of Pouderoyen, West Bank Demerara (WBD).
Jackson, who jumped from the northern side of the bridge, landed on a pontoon.
He was later taken to the Georgetown Public Hospital Corporation (GPHC)’s Psychiatric Ward for observation.
A police source yesterday told this newspaper that when ranks contacted Jackson’s relatives, they related that the young man tried to commit suicide six times in the past.
According to the source, Jackson’s relatives claimed that the 20-year-old was working for his uncle and when he was told that he cannot spend so much time on his phone, he threw away the mobile device and left his worksite, claiming that he was going to end his life.
He then rode to the Harbour Bridge and jumped, leaving his bicycle and slippers on the bridge."

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

We need to look at how much was budgeted for UG in the years prior to 1992 and afterwards to determine if there was indeed neglect by the PPP gov't. No sense debating without factual information.

The place is crap. It has no library, labs, crappy instructors and the roof leaks so what good was the PPP to it except using it to fatten its patrons from gail to misir to even a sex crazed nutcase professor.  That place was just wired for the internet and the bandwidth is at crawl pace

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

We need to look at how much was budgeted for UG in the years prior to 1992 and afterwards to determine if there was indeed neglect by the PPP gov't. No sense debating without factual information.

The place is crap. It has no library, labs, crappy instructors and the roof leaks so what good was the PPP to it except using it to fatten its patrons from gail to misir to even a sex crazed nutcase professor.  That place was just wired for the internet and the bandwidth is at crawl pace

The PPP had wanted the Turkeyen campus to collapse, and that is evident in the neglect.

Nonsense, most of the those the PPP supporters criticized the govt at the time to the point where many jumped to the AFC.

druggie you are a lying fraud. Why don't you check my posts and stop living in your racist swamp.  I have had lots of criticisms against APNU/AFC.

You also make my point.  An APNU supporter can criticize APNU WITHOUT having to leave it.  A PPP supporter can ONLY criticize the PPP BY LEAVING IT.

Why did those who moved to the AFC have to leave?  They had to because it is totally impossible for a PPP person to criticize the leadership and remain.  The PNC had had much internal turmoil and NOT ONE of them have left it.  In fact some who despise Granger have declared that he is NOT going to run them out of the PNC. 

I suggest that you research the conflict involving Solomon and Vanessa Kissoon. They are still with the PNC.  Solomon remaining quite vocal.

Many PPP supporters also criticized the party while in power but now they are no longer in power so you and your ilk are responsible for all ills in Guyana as you are now running the show. Take your licks and stop complaining as the shoe is now on the other foot. 

Many PPP supporters also criticized the party while in

How many PPP members told off Jagdeo, and still remain in the PPP?

Many PNC members cussed down Granger and still remain in the PNC.

In fact the GT Mosquito blog is controlled by people who staunchly supported the coalition during the campaign.  They are now openly critical.  David Hinds, is similarly openly critical.

List the PPP members who cussed down Jagdeo, and still remain in the PPP.

Many PPP supporters also criticized the party while in

How many PPP members told off Jagdeo, and still remain in the PPP?

Many PNC members cussed down Granger and still remain in the PNC.

In fact the GT Mosquito blog is controlled by people who staunchly supported the coalition during the campaign.  They are now openly critical.  David Hinds, is similarly openly critical.

List the PPP members who cussed down Jagdeo, and still remain in the PPP.

Too many, look how long Nagamootoo stayed before jumping to the afc. Staying in a party when the fundamentals are wrong is not a good trait. This what we are seeing now with the afc/apnu supporters, they are putting on rose colored glasses to allow them to see past the incompetence. 

So tell us about the remaining PPP supporters.  Word is that many were against Jagdeo resuming leadership as they felt that he was the reason why the PPP failed to gain the majority of the votes in 2011 and again last May.

They will NEVER make their views public.

TUC and others who are in the APNU base have spoken out AGAINST the pay increase.  David Hinds has been quite vocal, and he is a leading member of APNU.  GT Mosquito, a vocal APNU/AFC supporter have been quite vocal of late.

Now tell us about the lively discussions that are PUBLICLY occurring within the PPP about whether Jagdeo should have been allowed back in.  Clinton Urling (the soup man) offered his piece, and had to beat a hasty retreat, no longer publicly connected to the PPP.  He didn't understand that PPP leadership aren't allowed to publicly critique their leaders. 

In fact PPP party members CANNOT even select who leads the PPP, unlike the PNC where the membership does, and with lively PUBLIC debate.  Down to PUBLIC accusations of irregularities.

And druggie if all who disagree with the leadership of a party leave, hw does a party transforms itself?

Nagamootoo and many left, and the PPP remains a fiefdom of Jagdeo and his cronies.