– international hospitality institute to be established with free services
According to Presidential Candidate of the PPP/C, Dr Irfaan Ali, his party had known that such an investment would not only reap financial gains for the country but also provide jobs for many while aiding in Guyana’s tourism industry.
Free training and certification
Educational investments to boost communities’ economies
Care facilities for the elderly
In the meanwhile, PNC cannot even build a toilet.
Sean posted:In the meanwhile, PNC cannot even build a toilet.
They build then like this ...
They can't even build one like that. They will call that first a class toilet.
Granger and his team have been studying that model for three years now.
This is all that they have to show for in three years:
May the great Jah bless Granger and APNU, making them stronger and giving them the ability to leave the PPP in the dust as they head for the finish.
cain posted:May the great Jah bless Granger and APNU, making them stronger and giving them the ability to leave the PPP in the dust as they head for the finish.
Cain, calling on religious intervention to save them?
Witch Doctor
The Hotel Industry should be in the hands of the Private Sector.
Django posted:The Hotel Industry should be in the hands of the Private Sector.
I agree. Unfortunately Guyanese love handouts.
The government should focus on Criminal Justice system ,Health Services,Education,Public Service and Infrastructure. Industries should be in the hands of the Private sector . The windfall from the new found wealth can boost the country population ,which is just below three quarter million. Privatize the dead weights the Government subsidizes.
Django posted:The government should focus on Criminal Justice system ,Health Services,Education,Public Service and Infrastructure. Industries should be in the hands of the Private sector.
I have to agree. Prior to oil I saw the need, but no longer.
Baseman posted:Django posted:The government should focus on Criminal Justice system ,Health Services,Education,Public Service and Infrastructure. Industries should be in the hands of the Private sector.
I have to agree. Prior to oil I saw the need, but no longer.
Jobs will also be created ,within the gov't sectors and the private sector.
Django posted:The government should focus on Criminal Justice system ,Health Services,Education,Public Service and Infrastructure. Industries should be in the hands of the Private sector . The windfall from the new found wealth can boost the country population ,which is just below three quarter million. Privatize the dead weights the Government subsidizes.
Poor ppl needs government involvement in starting businesses.
seignet posted:Django posted:The government should focus on Criminal Justice system ,Health Services,Education,Public Service and Infrastructure. Industries should be in the hands of the Private sector . The windfall from the new found wealth can boost the country population ,which is just below three quarter million. Privatize the dead weights the Government subsidizes.
Poor ppl needs government involvement in starting businesses.
Government creates the environment for the people to invest .Let the banks deal with financing. Create Small Business Loans like what we have in USA.
Django posted:The government should focus on Criminal Justice system ,Health Services,Education,Public Service and Infrastructure. Industries should be in the hands of the Private sector . The windfall from the new found wealth can boost the country population ,which is just below three quarter million. Privatize the dead weights the Government subsidizes.
Bai, all dem things yuh listed deh, de PPP have committed tuh duh. Time fuh free yuhself from all dat PNC dead weight and get aboard de PPP team fuh progress. 😀
People needs to be educated on finance management. The banks are skeptical of sharing out their money.
To begin with, infrastructure is needed and a cost effective reliable power supply. APNY - AFC started on the wrong foot, by promising US 5000, oil profit. So who will work these factories if created. Land is in abundance, young people do not want to hear about agriculture.
ksazma posted:Django posted:The government should focus on Criminal Justice system ,Health Services,Education,Public Service and Infrastructure. Industries should be in the hands of the Private sector . The windfall from the new found wealth can boost the country population ,which is just below three quarter million. Privatize the dead weights the Government subsidizes.
Bai, all dem things yuh listed deh, de PPP have committed tuh duh.
Time fuh free yuhself from all dat PNC dead weight and get aboard de PPP team fuh progress. 😀
Committed to what ? who you all really fooling ?
Dave posted:People needs to be educated on finance management. The banks are skeptical of sharing out their money.
To begin with, infrastructure is needed and a cost effective reliable power supply.
APNY - AFC started on the wrong foot, by promising US 5000, oil profit. So who will work these factories if created. Land is in abundance, young people do not want to hear about agriculture.
Education and Infrastructure already mentioned ?regarding reliable power generation ,that should be in the hands of Private Company.
“As such, the PPP/C has committed to invest heavily and provide incentives to have at least four more “new first-class hotels” in Guyana once the party returns to power after the March 2, 2020 elections.”
Read the full PPP manifesto.
Sean posted:“As such, the PPP/C has committed to invest heavily and provide incentives to have at least four more “new first-class hotels” in Guyana once the party returns to power after the March 2, 2020 elections.”
Can you explain the underlined in correlation to the entire statement.
focus on health, education and infrastructure...
Poor people in Guyana don't need new hotels
Dumb fat ass Ali!
Ray posted:focus on health, education and infrastructure...
All you used to call Marriott a white elephant. It's now the best thing since slice bread.
Read the full PPP manifesto.
Granger is the real cancerous dumb ass and constitutional rapist.
PPP/C unveils 2020-2025 manifesto | Guyana Times
…to create 50,000 jobs, distribute 10,000 house lots annually; lower taxes, electricity and water rates
…to independently manage oil revenues to benefit all Guyanese
By Rupa Sewnaraine
The People’s Progress Party/Civic (PPP/C) on Friday unveiled its much-anticipated plans and policies targeting key sectors for the intended benefit of all Guyanese as it prepares for the March 2020 General and Regional Elections.
At Freedom House on Friday afternoon, executives of the Party along with a crowd of supporters converged for the release of excerpts of their manifesto outlining projects for the years 2020 to 2025.
According to PPP/C Presidential Candidate Irfaan Ali, this is a holistic plan which involved the input of thousands of Guyanese in order to find a comprehensive strategy to tackle all sectors.
“This process was quite different than what we’re historically accustomed to. The process was inclusive. It had views from all cross-sections of society, various stakeholders, members of the Diaspora and leaders from all walks of life, farmers, fishermen, students and people in the academic arena. What we’re sharing with you is excerpts from this process, an outline of a strategy, a vision and plan that is holistic, systematic, targeted, result-oriented, people-centred and people-driven,” Ali directed.
According to the Party, its plan is to provide Guyanese with more jobs, particularly jobs for a new generation of Guyanese with higher education, vocational skills, and higher disposable incomes. While the public sector will continue to be a major employer, the private sector will be further incentivised to create more and better-paying jobs.
The PPP/C stated that it will provide the enabling environment and incentives for expansion of existing businesses and emergence of new businesses by removing obstacles to business growth, offering a fiscal regime that encourages investment, providing an empowering regulatory framework in which businesses can operate in a globally competitive manner and promoting skills-training to provide employers with a pool of highly-trained and skilled human resource.
In addition, as part of the Party’s fiscal and monetary policy, there will be a continuous review of taxation to support wealth creation and not serve as a disincentive to the expansion of business opportunities. In addition, the policy will be geared towards accelerating social spending and expanding infrastructure.
Meanwhile, Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo positioned that all aspects of the Party’s plans post-elections are implementable rather than mere promises.
“We had to avoid what parties do, that is, they make all sorts of promises and we, the People’s Progressive Party, decided against that when crafting this manifesto. That we’re not gonna make promises just to garner votes that we’d never be able to implement. You’ve seen the outcome of this with this Government. Every single idea that is in this plan here is implementable, has been costed and will be implemented,” he clarified.
Their plans cover improved healthcare, education, disposable income, utility services, infrastructure, jobs and all other sectors which are considered crucial for social and economic development. Adding to that, it points to smaller communities and sections of the population which are often overlooked.
Infrastructure
Part of the manifesto speaks to the improvement of key infrastructure and the creation of 10,000 house lots every year. The PPP is all set to remove the Value Added Tax (VAT) on building materials, facilitate affordable financing for homeownership and support new housing schemes.
There are plans to improve community and hinterland roads which have been neglected for an extended period of time. Along with that, improvements will be made to the drainage and irrigation system to prevent flooding in communities.
Support will be given from central government for the establishment of a bypass road with connections to Mocha, Eccles and the Demerara Harbour Bridge. For the hinterland thoroughfares, 2000 miles of roadway will be built and maintained.
Projects expected to roll out include a deep-water harbour at the Berbice estuary, the Linden-Lethem roadway, the four-lane highway from Georgetown to Timehri, a high-span bridge across the Demerara River and duty-free zones.
Slashed utility bills
As it relates to power and water woes coupled with higher fees, the Party has assured that cheaper and reliable services will be offered to the common man.
Reinstated water subsidies to pensioners, affordable water rates and widening the distribution of treated water are some of what can be expected.
Along with the resuscitation of the Amaila Falls Hydropower Project, investments will be made in solar and wind-generated power for remote areas. The Hinterland Electrification Programme will be expanded along with the development of microgrids for large areas.
The liberalisation of the telecommunications sector, which was promised but never executed under the coalition, will be completed. This will ensure cheaper access to data and bandwidth. A State-sponsored project will ensure subsidised access to poor households, while the reinstated One Laptop per Family programme will provide the tools for greater learning and connectivity.
Productive sectors
Within the PPP/C’s tenure in office, they have promised to restore the 30,000 jobs which have been lost in recent years, along with diversifying the economy to offer more employment with higher wages.
In the draft manifesto document, rescuing the productive sector is an important aspect on their agenda to benefit the agriculture, mining and other industries.
In agriculture, the sugar estates are to be reopened and re-energise the local economy in sugar communities by providing support and partnerships with the private sector. An expansion of the rice industry can be expected by securing new markets for the produce. Farmers will benefit from a reverse in the increase in land rents and drainage charges.
For mining, the VAT on machinery will be reversed with revert on the two per cent royalty rate. Roads leading to mining communities are to be upgraded and the working conditions of workers will be improved.
The Party has documented a reverse in VAT also for forestry equipment, re-tooling the industry and maintaining primary roads.
For cattle and livestock, grants and concessions for these farmers will be given. Those involved in fisheries will see a reverse in the increase of licensing fees and taxes on equipment. Anti-piracy efforts will be undertaken by utilising GPS systems and drone monitoring.
Managing oil revenues
The Presidential Candidate sought to vocalise that his Party will ensure that the oil revenues are managed independently without any political interference.
While Guyana has been blessed with the boom of oil, Ali asserted that all other sectors will be developed equally and the benefits will be tenfold for the Guyanese people.
“It is not the only saving grace. Oil and gas, yes, is a blessing. It will help us to get there faster but we must address three important issues – the issue of proper management, the issue of transparency and accountability and the issue of benefits for all Guyana. We have to free the oil and gas sector of political control. We have to make it independent, technically sound, locally driven in the sustainable pathway”.
Education
Free tertiary education can be expected under the leadership of the PPP/C within five years along with the provision of 20,000 online scholarships. Generous tax incentives will be offered for private institutions to create a ripple effect and pave the way for affordability.
The Opposition Leader detailed, “All private educational institutions, a corporate tax waiver on income arising from fees and any earnings in the sector, from nursery to university. So if you establish a nursery school or a university in Guyana, you don’t have to pay corporate tax on income arising from time”.
E-learning for hinterland students, expansion of Information Communication Technology (ICT), incentives for teachers, enhancement of services for children with special education needs and the reinstatement of the $10,000 cash grant is promised. This grant was piloted under the last PPP administration, cushioning the expenses for students in the public education system.
After graduating, stable employment will be easily achieved as jobs will be created in various new segments of the economy. The expansion of business opportunities and newer avenues will present thousands of openings for youths.
Ray posted:focus on health, education and infrastructure...
Bai Ray, think big. You are asking for everything that is already promised. Don’t limit your scope. The PPP aren’t interested in limited scope. 😀
Django posted:ksazma posted:Django posted:The government should focus on Criminal Justice system ,Health Services,Education,Public Service and Infrastructure. Industries should be in the hands of the Private sector . The windfall from the new found wealth can boost the country population ,which is just below three quarter million. Privatize the dead weights the Government subsidizes.
Time fuh free yuhself from all dat PNC dead weight and get aboard de PPP team fuh progress. 😀
Bai, we ain’t fooling anyone. Fooling people is what the PNC does best. Try to free yourself from your shackles. You will tire yourself out trying to believe your own lies. 😀
ksazma posted:Django posted:ksazma posted:Django posted:The government should focus on Criminal Justice system ,Health Services,Education,Public Service and Infrastructure. Industries should be in the hands of the Private sector . The windfall from the new found wealth can boost the country population ,which is just below three quarter million. Privatize the dead weights the Government subsidizes.
Bai, we ain’t fooling anyone. Fooling people is what the PNC does best. Try to free yourself from your shackles. You will tire yourself out trying to believe your own lies. 😀
Shackles !!! free from that for years .I am capable enough to know what to believe in. I can spot cons from a distance ,they come in all shades of color.
Why Government should be involved in Housing ? private developers should handle that. Well how will they get to thief , so they want government involvement.
The PPP as usual are populated by people with no creative visions. Hotels will inevitable come if there are people coming.First they need to tell us of t heir vision for the simple things; crime, garbage collection and recycling, Domestic violence, protection of our children; boosting our education so in the first 10 years we have enough of students through university who can come back hope with skills to fill niche sectors that would inevitably be dominated by foreigners if these needs are not met, soup in poor peoples pot.
Then there are the even more simple things, making government service delivery work from post office to traffic lights to trust in the security services. How about a proposal to make sure every new mother leaving the hospital is able to provide for all t he care of her child over the first two months wih baby baskets like they do in Finland. How about pre and post natal care with via visiting nurses? Would not every one of you like to hear of these things than stupid proposals to resurrect sugar 9 knowing they killed it) or building more hotels ( obvious graft schemes)?
@DJ
Shut you rass. Poor people need housing and house lots.
Look at the homelessness in America today in Democrat controlled states. Should the government continue to allow homelessness to grow ? It's disgraceful.
Bai, you does talk nonsense sometimes.
Yes, this is happening in Democrat controlled states.
Sean posted:@DJ
The poor people have to pay for the house lots and houses ,they can get the same from private developers , for you it's nonsense . Did you purchase your house and land from the Government of Canada ?
The topic is about Guyana , why bring in the USA with pictures to prove what ?
You talking nonsense again. Governments have an obligation to assist with affordable housing. You want Guyana to become like what is happening in democrat controlled states ?
Schiff's congressional challenger: He's wasting taxpayer money on impeachment, ignoring homeless crisis
House Intelligence Committee Chairman Adam Schiff, D-Calif., is wasting federal funds trying to impeach President Trump, while his state continues to suffer from an unprecedented homelessness crisis, said his congressional challenger Jennifer Barbosa, on "Fox & Friends" Monday.
Barbosa, an independent, claimed Schiff has not passed any legislation since 2012 and said his only contribution to fighting homelessness has been to sign on with his fellow Democrat, Rep. Maxine Waters, D-Calif., rather than offer an original idea.
"Adam Schiff has been my congressman since 2012. He became my congressman through the redistricting process," she said. "Since he became my congressman he has not presented any legislation that's become law. In terms of homelessness, what he's done is he's basically rubber-stamped Maxine Waters' bill to deal with homelessness, and her bill essentially replicated the same failed policies that [L.A.] Mayor [Eric] Garcetti has implemented in our city over the past few years.
"We know they're not working," Barbosa continued. "So, what we need to do in terms of homelessness... we need to stop allocating federal funds for affordable housing which costs $500,000-700,000 per unit and really focus on mental health services for the people who are living on the street."
PEOPLE WHO INTERFERE WITH HOMELESSMENTAL HEALTH TREATMENT ARE 'MURDERERS,' SAYS DR. DREW PINSKY
Schiff's 28th congressional district has seen a 12 percent spike in homelessness over the last year, with 59,000 homeless people now living in Los Angeles County, according to the Department of Housing and Urban Development. And 75.2 percent of those homeless citizens are unsheltered and without refuge.
Barbosa said Schiff should be using his time and resources to help his home district, rather than trying to settle an old political score with Trump and the GOP.
When in U.S. Congress in @AdamSchiff’s place, I promise to NOT commence $70 million doomed-to-fail Impeachment Hearings less than 1 year before a Presidential Election or 3 weeks before a November 21 government shutdown.
That’s not what representatives are elected or paid to do.
"Seeing the impeachment inquiry, when he's wasting all these resources — we know that Ken Starr's impeachment cost about $70 million," she said. "That's $70 million that really could be spent on much better things in our district."
More from Media
During a Sunday interview on CNN, Schiff claimed that Democrats have an "ironclad" case against the president on impeachment, but refused to say if they would actually impeach him, after being asked point-blank. He said he still has to confer with his congressional colleagues and home state constituents before rendering a final verdict.
CLICK HERE TO GET THE FOX NEWS APP
"I want to discuss this with my constituents and my colleagues before I make a final judgment on it," he told host Jake Tapper. "But there are a couple of really important things we need to think about."
Sean posted:@DJ
Look at the homelessness in America today in Democrat controlled states. Should the government continue to allow homelessness to grow ? It's disgraceful.
Yes, this is happening in Democrat controlled states.
Which democratic controlled states you are talking about... The republicans dominate states containing the nations poorest. Take Oklahoma for example, it cannot pay its teachers yet it is the 5 largest oil producer. Most of the Poor People are in the fly over zones and the South. Homelessness, is more than a government problem. It is an institutional problem that failed to take care of the mentally ill, allowed health care to ruin families financially and not take care of the terrible burdens heaped on the poor by neglect and abuse through predation by certain business sector.
Here it goes, thread divert from Guyana to USA .
Backward thinking PPP and their supporters...maybe they should all drink the oil and get fat like Big Belly Ali
no use educating the stupid...
back to work for me
Ray, you are a typical PNC idiot. Short term thinking NO BLOODY VISION! And why you think the PPP cant build Hotel, do Education , Housing and Health at the same time? Are you basing this on your PNC experiences( No intelligence, vision or basic common sense)??? Just asking!!
Django posted:Here it goes, thread divert from Guyana to USA .
Then kill posts that stray off course and tell untruths in the process. Americas Poor are all in red states.Tell that to the dunce Ugli who is declaring poverty is a democrat problem. It is an American problem.