Sleep-In owner accused of harassing elderly blind man for property

SEPTEMBER 21, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

Clifton Bacchus, the owner of Sleep-In Hotel, is being accused of forcing a 91-year-old visually impaired

Home Owner Joshua Hector

Home Owner
Joshua Hector

man to sell his Hadfield Street property for $30M.
According to Joshua Hector, 91, he has lived in the same property since 1974 with his wife and children, but five years ago things took a turn for the worse when Bacchus began actively pressuring him to sell his property.
Hector said that two close relatives tried to sell the property to Bacchus without his knowledge but did not succeed. When contacted, Bacchus, the owner of Sleep-In Hotel, said that ten years ago one of  Hector’s sons did ask him to make an offer which he did.
The offer was for $30 million but the elderly blind father Joshua, said that he was not selling his home so it fell through. Ever since then Hector told Kaieteur News that Bacchus has been trying to get him to sell his property, something he said he would not do as long as he lives.
His property is located directly between two buildings owned by Bacchus.
Hector told Kaieteur News that five years ago when the hotel was being constructed on Brickdam he was approached again but he did not accept the offer. The man alleges that as construction progressed, the hotel began to expand towards his backyard.
Hector said that another son, Calvin, went to the City Engineer’s Department at City Hall to a lodge a complaint but nothing came of the compliant.
Joshua Hector told this publication that an extension to the hotel began about three years ago. He said that as this extension progressed they began to encroach on his fence. He said that the hotel owner along with the contractor eventually broke down the fence and erected a longer concrete one in his yard.
Hector said that the hotel owner also constructed two large sheds at the side of his home. “They built the sheds…so now all the water runs into my yard”.
Also with the construction of the fence, the drainage in his yard became non-existent. After the second construction,

The Property at the center of the dispute, on the building next to it is the Sleep-In Hotel.

Hector said that he and a son went to the City Hall for a second time. This time several surveying officers came to assess the problem. They determined on the spot that Bacchus had encroached onto Hector’s property.
However, even though the surveyors found this out, nothing much was done to have Bacchus reevaluate the property lines. Hector said they never heard back anything from City Hall since January 2013.
Hector said that he has tried numerous times to get the issue highlighted in the press but to avail. “I tried to get everybody to know what’s going on,” Hector told Kaieteur News. Further, Hector said that he has never attempted to get the courts of Guyana involved since he believes it’s a “waste of time”.
“Those matters take time and in most cases they rule in favour for the people with money.”
Bacchus said that the Hector children and his father went to school together and he respects the family. “I don’t interfere with him. The problem is that when guests of the hotel look out of the window they see this old building in which Joshua Hector lives.”
Bacchus said that he has to live with the fact that a man has his home and he has to live with that.

Originally Posted by raymond:

this kind of stuff is not unique to Guyana...I know you have a problem with the Govt, but it seems like you hate the country the way you speak

Stick to banning users and offering general commentary, trying to analyze who I like and hate is beyond your capabilities. You will venture into the land of Serpent piss like cobra.

this kind of stuff is not unique to Guyana...I know you have a problem with the Govt, but it seems like you hate the country the way you speak

Stick to banning users and offering general commentary, trying to analyze who I like and hate is beyond your capabilities. You will venture into the land of Serpent piss like cobra.

all your posts are anti Guyana...like yuh hate your homeland

like the truth hurts

all your posts are anti Guyana...like yuh hate your homeland

yuh sounding like the PPP, pointing out the skull duggery that is going on in GY daily that is being perpetrated by this government on the people can be easily misconstrued as being Anti Guyana. 

The PPP loves to portray anyone who points out their corrupt behavior and destruction of the country as being anti government or Anti Guyana that is quite common. But over the years many have realized that the PPP's propaganda is just that.

If I hated Guyana I wouldn't spend any ounce of energy on Guyana.

This is not fair. I don't understand why rich people are greedy. Why should a rich man covet a poor man's property?

These are the things that make the poor rebel against the rich.

"The thing worse than rebellion is the thing that causes rebellion." -- Frederick Douglass, African-American social reformer

Originally Posted by Mars:

Friends of PPP officials feel that they are above the law in Guyana. A family friend was murdered a couple of years ago by a team of hitmen after she refused to sell her property.

In almost every country, people try to pressurize others to see property when it comes in their path of development.  The victim has the law and courts to protect his interest.  If he is harassed, I'm sure there are many layers who will pick up his cause.  Don't blame everything on the Govt, then you have to blame every Govt on the planet.

We know, you like the PNC, you cuddle up with them.

Friends of PPP officials feel that they are above the law in Guyana. A family friend was murdered a couple of years ago by a team of hitmen after she refused to sell her property.

In almost every country, people try to pressurize others to see property when it comes in their path of development.  The victim has the law and courts to protect his interest.  If he is harassed, I'm sure there are many layers who will pick up his cause.  Don't blame everything on the Govt, then you have to blame every Govt on the planet.

You are funny. Property courts in Guyana are experiencing backlogs of ten years and more. There is no legal recourse for the small man when the friends of the PPP intimidate them. They are above the law.

You have selective amnesia on some high-profile cases over the last few years.  This is not your PNC Guyana when LFSB could take property like Sankar estate and make it his own.  Massa day done bai.

It happened under the PNC and it is happening today under the PPP but stooges of the current administration turn a blind eye to it.

Example?

Example?

Did you read the article above? Go and read the case of Clementine Fiedtkou who was murdered by a team of hitmen after she refused to sell her house to a PPP connected businessman. 

We know, you like the PNC, you cuddle up with them.

I keep telling you over and over again if you focus on yourself rather than other people you will grow up to be a decent pandit. But you are obsessed with others. 

This particular problem you have can be cured you should seek some assistance with this "issue" you have. Even Obama care covers it nowadays so you have no excuse to get help.

Example?

Did you read the article above? Go and read the case of Clementine Fiedtkou who was murdered by a team of hitmen after she refused to sell her house to a PPP connected businessman. 

Where was the courts of law used to take property?

Example?

Did I say that the courts were used to take property? There are no functioning land courts. The system has collapsed and the ones with the biggest PPP connections intimidate poor people and sometimes even killing them as in the case of Ms. Fiedtkou.

Example?

Did I say that the courts were used to take property? There are no functioning land courts. The system has collapsed and the ones with the biggest PPP connections intimidate poor people and sometimes even killing them as in the case of Ms. Fiedtkou.

This is where you lose it.  No functioning courts, banna you are a crack-head.

Example?

This is where you lose it.  No functioning courts, banna you are a crack-head.

I'm talking about land courts. There are backlogs of cases ten years and more. I guess that since you applaud PPP mediocrity then that is functioning fine for you.

The courts in Guyana are all kangaroo courts, just take a look at the Jagdeo vs Kissoon case how long has that been going on now?

The backlog of court cases in GY are insane.

Quite often witnesses do not show up for murder cases and even when the murder is captured on video tape the perp walks. So much for PPP justice. You want to see how the people feel about justice go and speak to the parents of Sheema Mangar or Alicea Foster.

The courts in Guyana are all kangaroo courts, just take a look at the Jagdeo vs Kissoon case how long has that been going on now?

The backlog of court cases in GY are insane.

Quite often witnesses do not show up for murder cases and even when the murder is captured on video tape the perp walks. So much for PPP justice. You want to see how the people feel about justice go and speak to the parents of Sheema Mangar or Alicea Foster.

The poor old lady I referred to before, they bumped her off because she wouldn't sell her house. Then they arrested the hitmen and charged them but the businessman with the PPP connections who hired them was never arrested. That is PPP justice for you. 

Even AG Nandlall recently admitted that there are serious problems with the Land Courts/Registry in Guyana. Note that he referred to the Land Registry as a "beleaguered institution".

Prolonged absence of land court judge is appalling and unacceptable – Harmon

SEPTEMBER 16, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

By Kiana Wilburg
Unresolved cases of land disputes have been sitting on the shelves of the judiciary for nearly a year. The absence of a

Joseph Harmon, Attorney at law

judge at the Land Court in the Demerara district for nearly a year is primarily responsible for this. And while the adverse effects have been spoken about at length by several litigants, the Guyana Bar Association and even prominent lawyers, the matter is yet to be properly addressed. According to several lawyers, this has been further complicated by the “unprincipled behaviour” of the land registrar.
Just recently, a letter writer, S. Mohamed, wrote this newspaper expressing concern for the need for a judge at the Land Court. The worried citizen said that based on his latest feedback, the court has not been functioning since last year when incumbent Commissioner of Titles Rabindra Rooplall retired.
Mohamed said that many, including him, have been waiting for more than a year to have their matters heard. He remains troubled as to why there has been no update on when this key Court would resume sittings. He posited that one is left to conclude that the matters of the Land Court do not subscribe to the importance of the judicial system.
“Isn’t the Land Court a source of revenue for the people of Guyana more than any other aspect of the Judiciary? Why is it treated with the least importance and regard? Many private people are now on the hook with regards to sale of properties including transfers of ownership. This obviously will lead to a multitude of other problems other than loss of revenues and opportunities,” Mohamed noted in his letter.
The Guyana Bar Association had expressed alarm over the absence of a Judge at the Demerara Land Court and the backlog of cases. The Association said that while Rooplall functioned effectively as a judicial officer, it is unfortunate that arrangements could not be made to possibly have him remain in office until a replacement could be found.
Several lawyers who spoke with this publication lamented that the nonfunctioning Court is affecting some aspects of their practice. One such attorney was Joseph Harmon of the A Partnership for National Unity (APNU).
Harmon said that he strongly supports the calls by citizens to have this “serious matter” be in the spotlight once more.
The lawyer said that it is appalling that it is close to a year and there is no Land Court judge. As for the land matters that have been left languishing for over a year, the attorney added that the situation is an unacceptable one and by now, a Land Court judge should have been appointed or at least another judge should have been assigned to it to deal with such matters until one can be officially appointed to fill the position.
“It is too important an issue in the life of the Guyanese citizens; particularly those who have land matters which need to be settled. This is of major concern not only to me but to other lawyers and it is something that needs to be dealt with,” the lawyer contended.
In conjunction with that matter, Harmon cited the “unscrupulous” behaviour of the land registrar, Miss Juliet Sattaur whom he said is an “irritant” to the judicial system.
He said, “Miss Sattaur arbitrarily deals with matters as she sees fit. She deals with it outside of the law. I and other lawyers have written about the manner in which she deals with certain cases, and it seems that the administration is incapable of handling this matter or it is complicit in their attempt to frustrate people in the acquisition of land titles. So you have the issue of the land court not functioning and Sattaur, the land registrar that is basically a pinprick to the system.”
Harmon said that he had written the Attorney General (AG), Anil Nandlall and President Donald Ramotar about Miss Sattaur and her behaviour but nothing seems to have been done. He believes that it may be for several reasons. He concluded that she is “being protected by Freedom House while she sits there and gives the bulk of the legal profession a hard time.”
The Attorney at law said that the current state of affairs at the Land Court is having a number of adverse effects,  two of which he noted, are that citizens eventually lose confidence in the attorney and in the justice system.
He said too that when policy makers speak about eliminating those factors that pose challenges to conducting business in Guyana effectively, such levels of frustrations with the non functioning court and a land registrar “who believes she is judge, lawyer , and jury” needs  to be addressed.
Nandlall, after being apprised with Harmon’s comments said that it is a fact, unfortunately, that there has been no one performing the function of Commissioner of Title/Land Court Judge for the County of Demerara. He noted that the last person to have held that position retired several months ago. However, Nandlall said that the tenure of the Judicial Service Commission came to an end and there was a delay in reconstituting that Commission.
The Minister of Legal Affairs explained that it is this body from which appointments to the position of Commissioner of Title and Land Court Judge emanate. The persons to sit on this Commission he said, comes from a Parliamentary process as well as a consultative engagement between the Leader of the Opposition and the President.
“The truth is that there was delay in relation to both processes despite my and the government’s best efforts to expedite same,” the AG admitted.
He reminded that on September 11, the Judicial Service Commission members were sworn in at the Office of the President. The Minister said that he is hoping that this Commission will view such appointments as a priority.
As regards the Land Registry, Nandlall said that he agrees that there are serious problems affecting the efficient functioning of the Land Registry.
He said, “The Land Registry falls under the supervision of the Office of the President and I have appraised the Office of the President of these problems.
“I am aware that there are several initiatives which are being pursued which are designed to bring greater efficiency to that beleaguered institution. The letter which I received from Mr. Harmon was transmitted to the Office of the President and Mr. Harmon was so duly informed,” the AG concluded.

Back down, base. You will lose this particular argument. The evidence and facts weigh heavily in Mars' favour.

Land courts in Guyana are a joke. Thousands of families/property owners are pissed of with the sluggishness and deviousness of land courts cases.

Originally Posted by ball:

The harse is out of the paddock and is heading for the long stretch

Kapa dem PPP mare dis want de Harse.....what can i say......even one and two of de PPP mule dem want meh.