Home > NEWS > AFC’s Nagamootoo declares…
AFC’s Nagamootoo declares…
AFC Member of Parliament Moses Nagamootoo

Time right for government of national unity

ALLIANCE For Change (AFC) Member of Parliament (MP), Mr. Moses Nagamootoo declared in the National Assembly Monday night, that the time is ripe for a Government of National Unity.

In his contribution to the 2014 National Budget Debate, he said: “We, in Guyana, have tried all kinds of financial medicines but Guyana is still limping. We need a new political and social profile. We must give reconciliation and political unity a chance.”
The former People’s Progressive Party (PPP) Minister suggested: “We can re-invent ourselves and rewind the tape to 1953, when there was racial and political unity. As Antonio Gramsi has said in his Prison Notebook, the old is dying but the new is yet to be born.
“The new is a government of national unity and this Good Parliament could be its midwife.”
Nagamootoo said the 2014 Budget Debate is not unlike those of 2012 and 2013, sadly characterised by a sharp and noisy division of views.
But he said it is regrettable that there has emerged so much friction and fraction over this budget.
“We cannot deny the Government its right to praise its budget, but we abhor condemnation of our criticisms as being negative. Ours is not the job of the loyal choir but we have a duty as elected representatives of the people to guard the public purse,” Nagamootoo argued.

UNEXPLAINED SPENDING
He said the AFC believes that Government must not be paranoid over the role of the National Assembly to interrogate and reduce unnecessary or unexplained spending.
“It must be the duty of this National Assembly, as a whole to lower unjustified spending, lower debt and lower fiscal deficit,” the Opposition Parliamentarian posited.
He commended the Government for continuing to keep afloat social services expenditures and added that AFC proposes that these must be deemed mandatory expenses and as people’s entitlements, which must have a fixed percentage of the National Budget.
“We propose that old age pensions must be linked to the cost of living index to make it not a wage but a living entitlement. It is demeaning to our senior citizens to haggle every year over their needs and over what they justly deserve,” he submitted.
Nagamootoo proposed: “We could help redeem the nation’s self-esteem and integrity if we were to adopt prudent fiscal management of our limited resources. We could rake in all revenue streams; we could demand a fair price for national assets like land, radio frequencies and mineral rights; we could combat corrupt practices that allow good monies to be squandered in poorly executed projects or for expired drugs that we, routinely, dump or fritter away in private purses through bribery and graft, instead of brushing these under the table.”
He emphasised: “We could cut down on sinecure employment for party faithfuls and plumb contracts for favourites; extravaganza, foreign trips with perks, waste and pork barrel projects.”

(By Clifford Stanley)

There is hope for Guyana. We need to have a serious discussion about a Government of National Unity.

What do you say folks ?

Please note that national unity doesnt mean that we should sing the PPP chorus.  The PPP needs to stop having childish tantrums every time some one disagrees with them.  They need also note that other constituencies, apart from theirs, have needs as well.

Moses may be looking to rejoin the PPP. 

Jackass....Moses know it is better

to form a Govt of National Unity...

than run the risk of a Snap Election

which can lead to a PNC Controlled Govt.

NOW...IT IS THE PPP CALL

What is the problem if the Guyanese People want a PNC Govt???  Are they not Guyanese Politicians???   Man must talk sense at least once!!!

NOW...IT IS THE PPP CALL

I like your style of conversing to call people Jackass when you should be discussing Moses who is the bigger self made neemakaram. All his national unity talk is breeze as long as he is with the AFC. Yesterday, you said Sasenarine is not a stooge to join the PNC, but you failed to answer the question about TK and the rest who join the PNC, and you want to call me Jackass.

NOW...IT IS THE PPP CALL

I like your style of conversing to call people Jackass when you should be discussing Moses who is the bigger self made neemakaram. All his national unity talk is breeze as long as he is with the AFC. Yesterday, you said Sasenarine is not a stooge to join the PNC, but you failed to answer the question about TK and the rest who join the PNC, and you want to call me Jackass.

YUh Rass lucky he nah draw the Picha of a Jackass. Wonder what his Picha of a Neemakaram would look like.

I think so. It is where he belong. A protege of the Jagans wid no respect for good goverance. He contributed heavily to the kind of PPP that exists today.

Al YUh finally out of a Coma.

NOW...IT IS THE PPP CALL

Cobra....I am sorry you feeling

you are the only Jackass

I can be talking about.

Bhai do not feel

you alone might be de donkey here....

and yes......Sase is not a PNC stooge.

Donkey do not see or understand

when Black House of Israel Thugs Leaving PNC...

other Stooges Joining PNC....

and..yes....Sase is not a PNC stooge.

And I do not believe Nehru is a Donkey

ALLIANCE For Change (AFC) Member of Parliament (MP), Mr. Moses Nagamootoo declared in the National Assembly Monday night, that the time is ripe for a Government of National Unity.

In his contribution to the 2014 National Budget Debate, he said: “We, in Guyana, have tried all kinds of financial medicines but Guyana is still limping. We need a new political and social profile. We must give reconciliation and political unity a chance.”

Correct ... now if all present and past political members in parliament and the political parties should permanently leave the political areas and let the younger people work towards a renewed approach for the betterment of Guyana.

There is hope for Guyana. We need to have a serious discussion about a Government of National Unity.

What do you say folks ?

its about time,let guyana be for all guyanese,let the country develop with out corruption,let fight crime together.one people one nation one destiny 

Man, you're a f**king idiot. Please grow up before I lose my cool.

lose your cool man you never had a cool,you is the biggest nerd on this board

Warrior...yuh pulling eee Big Ears

The former People’s Progressive Party (PPP) Minister suggested: “We can re-invent ourselves and rewind the tape to 1953, when there was racial and political unity. As Antonio Gramsi has said in his Prison Notebook, the old is dying but the new is yet to be born.
“The new is a government of national unity and this Good Parliament could be its midwife.”
Nagamootoo said the 2014 Budget Debate is not unlike those of 2012 and 2013, sadly characterised by a sharp and noisy division of views.
But he said it is regrettable that there has emerged so much friction and fraction over this budget.
“We cannot deny the Government its right to praise its budget, but we abhor condemnation of our criticisms as being negative. Ours is not the job of the loyal choir but we have a duty as elected representatives of the people to guard the public purse,” Nagamootoo argued.

UNEXPLAINED SPENDING
He said the AFC believes that Government must not be paranoid over the role of the National Assembly to interrogate and reduce unnecessary or unexplained spending.
“It must be the duty of this National Assembly, as a whole to lower unjustified spending, lower debt and lower fiscal deficit,” the Opposition Parliamentarian posited.
He commended the Government for continuing to keep afloat social services expenditures and added that AFC proposes that these must be deemed mandatory expenses and as people’s entitlements, which must have a fixed percentage of the National Budget.
“We propose that old age pensions must be linked to the cost of living index to make it not a wage but a living entitlement. It is demeaning to our senior citizens to haggle every year over their needs and over what they justly deserve,” he submitted.
Nagamootoo proposed: “We could help redeem the nation’s self-esteem and integrity if we were to adopt prudent fiscal management of our limited resources. We could rake in all revenue streams; we could demand a fair price for national assets like land, radio frequencies and mineral rights; we could combat corrupt practices that allow good monies to be squandered in poorly executed projects or for expired drugs that we, routinely, dump or fritter away in private purses through bribery and graft, instead of brushing these under the table.”
He emphasised: “We could cut down on sinecure employment for party faithfuls and plumb contracts for favourites; extravaganza, foreign trips with perks, waste and pork barrel projects.”

(By Clifford Stanley)

GOOD CALL!

UNEXPLAINED SPENDING

(By Clifford Stanley)

GOOD CALL!

YEA and yu approach is foh mek sure de blackman na win wan eleckshun. LOL!