PPP wants to tarnish me with its corruption brush

FEBRUARY 7, 2013 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

Dear Editor,
The moribund PPP continues to target me for character assassination. The insane attack on my right to work and earn as a professional is a political response to my exposure of corruption, and the principled stand of the Alliance for Change that the billions being held by NICIL ought to be paid into the Consolidated Fund.
The latest attack is the banner Sunday Chronicle of February 3, headline “Nagamootoo exposed again – receives millions from NICIL”. The rag stated that “for the period January 1, 2007 to December 31, 2008, Mr. Nagamootoo received $6.7M in legal fees from NICIL”.
But from the figures provided by NICIL and published in Chronicle, the alleged $6.7M sum was paid over a six-year period (2006 to 2011) on several contracts for legal service, a couple of which are still to be completed.
We know that the Chronicle has a fatal attraction for lies. But it is pathetic when a liar forgets his own lies.
In a previous front-page banner headline on Sunday, October 7, 2012, this government thing cited a single project (Berbice Bridge) and said that NICIL has paid me “almost $7M for processing of land transports” for relocated D’ Edward residents.
I am an Attorney-at-Law. I am self-employed and independent. Since 2006 I rejected a million-dollar, monthly, sinecure appointment as Political Advisor or Ambassador under the Jagdeo presidency. I instead chose to do legal work for a living.
I was retained by the Guyana Government through NICIL, with full approval of Cabinet, to do specialized legal work. Since 2006, NICIL offered me contracts to:-
1. Draft legal frame-work and negotiate compensation and relocation of D’Edward home-owners for construction of the Berbice River Bridge.
2. Negotiate and settle compensation with Sheet Anchor-Palmyra land owners for acquisition of the pasture east of the Berbice Bridge.
3. Negotiate compensation package and re-location of homeowners, farmers and occupiers in Dochfour-Hope for the digging of the Hope Canal.
4. Arbitrate as a quasi judge in a $600 million claim by NICIL against GNIC together with Messrs. Robin Stoby and Stephen Fraser.
The Arbitration Tribunal held over 50 sittings, but I get only a contract fee since 2009 and not a per diem.
With these vulgar public attacks and earlier release of cheques paid to me, in breach of all ethical and professional conduct, it seems that the PPP-NICIL want to run me off the Arbitration Tribunal. They want to take away my right to work, which is my right to life.
I am proud of the legal work I have done over several years. I am satisfied that D’Edward Villagers received in excess of $90 million in compensation, for which they know I had demanded that they pay no fees, and a package that included:-
• A house-lot for every home-owner who was removed from D’Edward;
• Payment of $1.00 (yes, one Guyana dollar) for a house-lot in Ketting (Cotton Tree);
• Streets plus water, electricity and telephone services for the re-location area;
• Extended time for affected residents to re-locate;
• Assistance to remove their houses and structures.
On 16th October, 2012 PPP side-kick, Manzoor Nadir, “live” on state-owned National Communications Network (NCN), said that I was paid “$10 million, maybe $20 million fees” by the Chinese company that is involved in expansion work at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport.
On 17th October, 2012, the Guyana Chronicle reported the lie.
The truth is I have NOT worked for the Chinese airport company. I did assist another Chinese company that wanted to invest in Guyana. But I have NOT charged that Chinese company any fees.
The PPP is turning its guns on me for exposing the obscene $3 million a month in pension, benefits and other facilities package for past presidents. They are mad that I exposed the billions that NICIL, the government’s fat milking cow, rakes in that should go into the Treasury.
Let me say this: As a lawyer, I have helped many poor people as well as this blighted PPP government. For example, I prepared conveyance documents for government at a nominal fee of $2,500 for each transport passed to people on the Corentyne and in West Berbice. I helped a few NDCs to recover arrears in rates and taxes at a nominal fee of $500 for each legal notice, hardly enough to cover paper, ink and stamps!.
For several years, whilst I worked as a journalist, I donated the bulk of my salary to the PPP. I was never and I am not infected with the greed for money. My hands are clean!
And yes, I bitterly opposed in 2009 the vulgar move to pass the President Pension Package (with benefits and facilities) when it was rammed through the PPP as a Cabinet decision. I was not allowed a conscience vote on it in parliament. I had to vote along “party line”.
On this issue, Nandlall reportedly “nailed” me. That claim was made by Judas when Jesus was nailed to the cross!
The truth is, I opposed the 2009 bill. I gave so-called PPP leaders hell for it, and accused them of betraying principles of “revolutionary morality”. On November 4, 2011, Kaieteur News quoted me as saying “Jagdeo’s pension plan rattled my soul”.
I explained then: “To my utter shame and regret I voted for it, because I was required to do so as a PPP MP”.
I have not lied on this issue. The PPP realized it was caught with its pants down, so it back-tracked and now try to discredit me in my profession.
But these attacks are not simply about my earnings. They are small potatoes compared to what government is paying their lawyer friends.
What PPP wants is to tarnish me with their corruption brush. They want to buy my conscience, to silence me with their filthy money. No way, Jose!
Moses V. Nagamootoo
AFC Parliamentarian

Moses V. Nagamootoo - "And yes, I bitterly opposed in 2009 the vulgar move to pass the President Pension Package (with benefits and facilities) when it was rammed through the PPP as a Cabinet decision. I was not allowed a conscience vote on it in parliament. I had to vote along “party line”.
On this issue, Nandlall reportedly “nailed” me. That claim was made by Judas when Jesus was nailed to the cross!
The truth is, I opposed the 2009 bill. I gave so-called PPP leaders hell for it, and accused them of betraying principles of “revolutionary morality”. On November 4, 2011, Kaieteur News quoted me as saying “Jagdeo’s pension plan rattled my soul”.
I explained then: “To my utter shame and regret I voted for it, because I was required to do so as a PPP MP”.
I have not lied on this issue. The PPP realized it was caught with its pants down, so it back-tracked and now try to discredit me in my profession."

so who the hell cares he did not steal it he was paid by this company he donot work for the government what you fools have to look at is the people that is stealing the taxpayers money without working for it

The gov't offered to debate the whole issue on national TV. Ramjattan and Moses took up the offer but disappeared when the opportune time came. Both were seen drinking Carib beers nervously at a drinking joint on the day of the debate.

These guys are two good mouthars.

The gov't has never refused to show the books. It's there for all to see. The onus is on the opposition to prove the charges you are making in public. Substantiate or retract.

a picture is worth a thousand words why debate show the books that cannot l

Nagamootoo: The insane attack on my right to work and earn as a professional is a political response to my exposure of corruption, and the principled stand of the Alliance for Change that the billions being held by NICIL ought to be paid into the Consolidated Fund.

It's the same Nagamotoo you people used to cuss and accuse of all sorts of nasty things when he was with the PPP. By joining the AFC he has been cleansed of all of his sins and now ready to enter the kingdom of the heavenly father. AMEN

Absolute corruption empowers absolutely

January 20, 2013 | By | Filed Under AFC Column, Features / Columnists 

By Khemraj Ramjattan

It is not often that you come across a passage which captures exactly what you think of a subject, in this case why so rampant corruption in the Police Force, but you are unable to articulate it in such a manner.
I came across just such a striking articulation and analysis recently in a wonderful book “Why Bad Behaviour is Almost Always Good Politics” by De Mesquita and Alistair Smith (2010 Public Affairs).
Their chapter on “Absolute Corruption Empowers Absolutely” was just brilliant. With minor modifications and abridgement, I wish to convey why so much corruption in our Police Force continues, and why it is allowed to continue.
With all the Recommendations from a variety of Commissions and Reports, political grandstanding by PPP politicos of this and that Strategy document, there is something obscenely deliberate about permitting the occurrences and re-occurrences which have forced the Government to most ridiculously want to just change the name to Police Service.
Here is the reason so brilliantly captured in that passage I read over the holidays.
“Low salaries for police are a common feature of corrupt regimes and Russia is no exception. At first blush this might seem surprising. The police are crucial to a regime’s survival. Police officers are charged with maintaining civil order – which often boils down to crushing anti-government protests and bashing the heads of anti-government activists. Surely inducing such behavior requires either great commitment to the regime or good compensation. But as elsewhere, the logic of corruption takes a more complex turn.
Though private rewards can be provided directly out of the Government’s treasury, the easiest way to compensate the police for their loyalty – including their willingness to oppress their fellow citizens – is to give them free rein to be corrupt. Pay them so little that they can’t help but realize it is not only acceptable but necessary for them to be corrupt.
Then they will be doubly beholden to the regime; first, they will be grateful for the wealth the regime lets them accumulate; second, they will understand that if they waver in loyalty, they are at risk of losing their privileges and being prosecuted.
Remember Mikhail Khodorkovsky? He used to be the richest man in Russia. We do not know whether he was corrupt or not, but we do know that he was not loyal to the Putin government and duly found himself prosecuted for corruption. Police face the same threat.
Consider former police major and whistleblower, Alexei Dymovsky. Mr. Dymovsky, by his own admission, was a corrupt policeman in Novorossiysk, a city of 225,000 people. He noted that on a new recruit’s salary of $413 US a month (12,000 rubles) he could not make ends meet and so had to turn to corruption.
Dymovsky claims he personally only took very small amounts of money. Whether that is true or not, we cannot know. What we do know is what happened next.
In a video he made and sent to Vladimir Putin before it became famous on YouTube, Mr. Dymovsky also described a practice that is considered common in Russia. When officers end their shifts, they have to turn over a portion of their bribes to the so-called cashier, a senior member of the department. Typically, $25 to $100 a day. If officers do not pay up, they are disciplined.”
According to his own account, Mr, Dymovsky eventually grew tired of being corrupt. As the New York Times reported, he inquired of Vladimir Putin, “ How can a police officer accept bribes? …. Do you understand where our society is heading? … You talk about reducing corruption,” he said. “You say that it should not be just a crime, that it should be immoral. But it is not like that. I told my boss that the police are corrupt. And he told me that it cannot be done away with.”
Dymovsky became something of a folk hero in Russia. It seems his whistle-blowing was much appreciated among many ordinary Russians. The official response, however, was quite different. He was shunned, fired, persecuted, prosecuted, and imprisoned.
The public uproar that followed led eventually to his release. No longer a police officer, he established a business guiding tours of the luxurious homes of some of his police colleagues. Most notable among these is the home of Chief Chernositov.
The Chief’s salary is about $25,000 a year. Yet he owns a beachfront home on land estimated to be worth $800,000 US. The chief offers no account of how he could afford his home and, it should be noted, he remains in his position as chief. He certainly has not faced imprisonment for his apparent corruption, but then, unlike Mikhail Khodorkovsky or Aleksei Dymovsky, Novorossiyk’s police chief has remained loyal to the governing regime.
As for Dymovsky’s whistle-blowing, it did prompt a response from the Kremlin. Russia’s central government passed a law imposing tough penalties on police officers who criticize their superiors. As the Times notes, the law has come to be known as “Dymovsky law”
Corruption is a private good of choice for exactly the reasons captured by the Dymovsky Affair. It provides the means to ensure regime loyalty without having to pay good salaries, and it guarantees the prosecutorial means to ferret out any beneficiaries who fail to remain loyal. What could be better from a leader’s perspective?”

nobody never curse NAGA when he was with the ppp i think NAGA could have make a good home affairs minister the ppp chase all the good people from the party so they can enrich themself you guys have joe now big inprovement

Just another lame attempt by KR to scapegoat the PPP/Civic gov't for the corruption in the police force. The force was corrupted from time immemorial and continues to this day. One does not have to be luminary from Wooding law school to understand that the police force in Guyana is till plagued by racial biasness and interference by the Peoples National Congress. The Wismar massacre happened because the police let it happened. The 2001-02 crime wave got out of control because of rogue elements in the force. The Felix era in the police saw crime spiralled out of control and politicians assassinated. Today, that Felix sits on high seat in APNU and enjoy being part of APNU's parliamentary team.

Target for character assassination’

Posted By Staff Writer On February 7, 2013 @ 5:08 am In Letters | No Comments

Dear Editor,

The moribund PPP continues to target me for character assassination. The insane attack on my right to work and earn as a professional is a political response to my exposure of corruption, and the principled stand of the Alliance for Change that the billions being held by NICIL ought to be paid into the Consolidated Fund.

The latest attack is the banner Sunday Chronicle of February 3, headline ‘Nagamootoo exposed again – received millions from NICIL.’ The rag stated that “for the period January 1, 2007 to December 31, 2008, Mr. Nagamootoo received $6.7M in legal fees from NICIL.”

But from the figures provided by NICIL and published in Chronicle, the alleged $6.7M sum was paid over a six-year period (2006 to 2011) on several contracts for legal service, a couple of which are still to be completed.

We know that the Chronicle has a fatal attraction for lies. But it is pathetic when a liar forgets his own lies.

In a previous front-page banner headline on Sunday, October 7, 2012, this government paper cited a single project (Berbice Bridge) and said that NICIL has paid me “almost $7M for processing of land transports” for relocated D’Edward residents.

I am an attorney-at-law. I am self-employed and independent. Since 2006 I rejected a million-dollar, monthly, sinecure appointment as Political Advisor or Ambassador under the Jagdeo presidency. I instead chose to do legal work for a living.

I was retained by the Guyana Government through NICIL, with full approval of Cabinet, to do specialized legal work. Since 2006, NICIL offered me contracts to:-

1.  Draft legal framework and negotiate compensation and relocation of D’Edward home-owners for construction of the Berbice River Bridge.
2.  Negotiate and settle compensation with Sheet Anchor-Palmyra land owners for acquisition of the pasture east of the Berbice Bridge.
3.  Negotiate compensation package and re-location of homeowners, farmers and occupiers in Dochfour-Hope for the digging of the Hope Canal.

4.  Arbitrate as a quasi judge in a $600 million claim by NICIL against GNIC together with Messrs Robin Stoby and Stephen Fraser.
The Arbitration Tribunal held over 50 sittings, but I get only a contract fee since 2009 and not a per diem.

With these vulgar public attacks and earlier release of cheques paid to me, in breach of all ethical and professional conduct, it seems that the PPP-NICIL want to run me off the Arbitration Tribunal. They want to take away my right to work, which is my right to life.

I am proud of the legal work I have done over several years. I am satisfied that D’Edward villagers received in excess of $90 million in compensation, for which I had demanded that they pay no fees, and a  package that included:-

●  a house-lot for every home-owner who was removed from D’Edward;
● payment of $1.00 (yes, one Guyana dollar) for a house-lot in Ketting (Cotton Tree);
●  streets plus water, electricity and telephone services for the re-location area;
● extended time for affected residents to re-locate;
● assistance to remove their houses and structures.

On 16th October, 2012  Manzoor Nadir, “live” on state-owned National Communications Network (NCN), said that I was paid “$10 million, maybe $20 million fees” by the Chinese company that is involved in expansion work at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport.

On 17th October, 2012, the Guyana Chronicle reported the lie.

The truth is I have not worked for the Chinese airport company. I did assist another Chinese company that wanted to invest in Guyana. But I have not charged that Chinese company any fees.

The PPP is turning its guns on me for exposing the obscene $3 million a month pension, benefits and other facilities package for past presidents. They are mad that I exposed the billions that NICIL, the government’s fat milking cow, rakes in that should go into the Treasury.

Let me say this: As a lawyer, I have helped many poor people as well as this blighted PPP government. For example, I prepared conveyance documents for government at a nominal fee of $2,500 for each transport passed to people on the Corentyne and in West Berbice. I helped a few NDCs to recover arrears in rates and taxes at a nominal fee of $500 for each legal notice, hardly enough to cover paper, ink and stamps!

For several years, whilst I worked as a journalist, I donated the bulk of my salary to the PPP. I was never and I am not infected with the greed for money. My hands are clean!

And yes, I bitterly opposed in 2009 the vulgar move to pass the president’s pension package (benefits and facilities) when it was rammed through the PPP as a Cabinet decision. I was not allowed a conscience vote on it in parliament. I had to vote along party lines.

On this issue, Nandlall reportedly “nailed” me.

The truth is, I opposed the 2009 bill. I gave so-called PPP leaders hell for it, and accused them of betraying principles of “revolutionary morality.” On November 4, 2011, Kaieteur News quoted me as saying “Jagdeo’s pension plan rattled my soul.”

I explained then: “To my utter shame and regret I voted for it, because I was required to do so as a PPP MP.”

I have not lied on this issue. The PPP realized it was caught with its pants down, so it back-tracked and now tries to discredit me in my profession.

But these attacks are not simply about my earnings. They are small potatoes compared to what government is paying their lawyer friends.
What the PPP wants is to tarnish me with their corruption brush. They want to buy my conscience, to silence me with their filthy money. No way, Jose!

Yours faithfully,

Moses V Nagamootoo

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

It's the same Nagamotoo you people used to cuss and accuse of all sorts of nasty things when he was with the PPP. By joining the AFC he has been cleansed of all of his sins and now ready to enter the kingdom of the heavenly father. AMEN

Even if true, so what?  The man is being accepted by the side of rightousness because he was a big man, he apologized to the people and for that he is being called names by dirty vulgar people.

The man is a pimple on their asses and they are trying to shake him but he ain't budging and they mad like rass.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Just another lame attempt by KR to scapegoat the PPP/Civic gov't for the corruption in the police force. The force was corrupted from time immemorial and continues to this day. One does not have to be luminary from Wooding law school to understand that the police force in Guyana is till plagued by racial biasness and interference by the Peoples National Congress. The Wismar massacre happened because the police let it happened. The 2001-02 crime wave got out of control because of rogue elements in the force. The Felix era in the police saw crime spiralled out of control and politicians assassinated. Today, that Felix sits on high seat in APNU and enjoy being part of APNU's parliamentary team.

suh Felix responsible fuh alyuh favorite drug lord murdering de PPP minister and his family

ah see where u goin with dis bai . . . sheer antiman genius