Rohee can speak but we’re not acting on anything he says

January 13, 2013 | By | Filed Under Letters 

Dear Editor,
The ruling by Chief Justice Chang affirms that as an elected MP, Rohee could not be gagged. I share this opinion and, indeed, no one objected or protested when Rohee voted on issues, which is a form of speech in Parliament.
Whether he could speak as Home Affairs Minister in the face of the no-confidence motion touching and concerning his discharge of that portfolio is another matter. He may speak but we will not hear him or act upon any thing he may say, which is a political risk for the  government.
When Rohee was not in play, we saw less rancour and greater cooperation amongst the parties. He could aid these positive vibes by staying under wraps until the Privileges Committee disposes of the contention.
As for the APNU motion for an inquiry into violence during 2004 and 2010, we feel that though it focuses on a period when Guyana experienced the greatest danger of becoming a narco-state, any meaningful probe must be wider and ought to begin from the immediate post independence period. It must include rigged elections, attacks on press freedom, political violence and House of Israel thuggery, etc.
Most of all a comprehensive inquiry must help to bring healing, after the example of South Africa. It is late in the day but we need light to shine on our divisive past of almost 50 years of PNC-PPP rule, and our version with a Truth Commission may help.
Moses V. Nagamootoo
AFC Vice-Chairman

Originally Posted by JoKer:

Hog wash, he knows the perpetrators, instigators and the foot soldiers are likely dead or cannot be found from the PNC era.  I think it's time this guy rides off into the sunset before he loses more credibility.

You mean Corbin, Green, Lumumba, etc are dead?

Their foot soldiers are dead or MIA and who knows where the witnesses are.  They could hardly pin the 1973 Atkinson rigging on the chief culprit Granger.

Hog wash, he knows the perpetrators, instigators and the foot soldiers are likely dead or cannot be found from the PNC era.  I think it's time this guy rides off into the sunset before he loses more credibility.

Their foot soldiers are dead or MIA and who knows where the witnesses are.  They could hardly pin the 1973 Atkinson rigging on the chief culprit Granger.

You're so stupid, its not even funny.

So unless the PPP can gain some cheap political points, the historical suffering of the Indian people is of no consequence, eh mudhead?

You're so stupid, its not even funny.

So unless the PPP can gain some cheap political points, the historical suffering of the Indian people is of no consequence, eh mudhead?

No goose dung, the time for that has passed and would be a distraction.  The nation has to move on and move forward but never forget those dastardly acts.  It will bring little to nothing.

Originally Posted by TK:

You really do need a Truth Commission in that God forsaken place. 

Too late, your hero Jagan screwed that up royally and left the shyte to the young BJ to mop up.  It will take some carrots from the PNC who committed decades of crimes beginning in the early 60's all the way to 2007 with Lusignan/Bartica.

Until they come clean, accept responsibility and offer substantive game rule changes to virtually guarantee they will no longer be who they were/are, then the PPP is the only choice.

Originally Posted by TK:

Too late, your hero Jagan screwed that up royally and left the shyte to the young BJ to mop up.  It will take some carrots from the PNC who committed decades of crimes beginning in the early 60's all the way to 2007 with Lusignan/Bartica.

Until they come clean, accept responsibility and offer substantive game rule changes to virtually guarantee they will no longer be who they were/are, then the PPP is the only choice.

Bartica could have been some gold smuggling dispute. Doubt the PNC will be that stupid. 

Originally Posted by TK:

Bartica could have been some gold smuggling dispute. Doubt the PNC will be that stupid. 

Wow, so Finemen was multitasking and hit some DIH guys in the process.  You guy have no end to your stupidity.

Originally Posted by TK:

Too late, your hero Jagan screwed that up royally and left the shyte to the young BJ to mop up. .......Baseman yuh need to get out of Jagdeo Poom Poom Cheese

It will take some carrots from the PNC who committed decades of crimes beginning in the early 60's all the way to 2007 with Lusignan/Bartica........If Ramotar is serious.....Moses is showing him how easily it can be done....The PPP can Join AFC immediately in Parliament......and Demand a full inquery into everything from back in the 60's.

Until they come clean, accept responsibility and offer substantive game rule changes to virtually guarantee they will no longer be who they were/are, then the PPP is the only choice........Oh yeh....yuh think so....

Indians are no longer following them BLINDLY AS IN THE PAST......

THE PPP is loosing their support base daily.