Nagamootoo gets only information portfolio

Cummingsburg Accord violations

…returns to where he was in 1992 with PPP/C

Promised a range of high-profile cabinet responsibilities as per the Cummingsburg Accord between the APNU/AFC, Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo has only been handed the portfolio of information now that the dust has been settled on the division of responsibilities following the coalition’s victory at the May 11 polls.

According to his gazetted appointment Nagamootoo as Minister of Information will oversee the Government Information Agency; National Communicat

Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo

Prime Minister
Moses Nagamootoo

ions Network, Guyana Chronicle, National Frequency Management Unit and the Guyana National Broadcasting Authority. This is the identically portfolio he was handed in1992 when as a member of the PPP/C government that was just installed.
However, he was promised under the Cummingsburg Accord responsibilities for domestic national affairs and chairing the cabinet; recommending ministerial appointments and providing the organisational structures of ministries for the appointment of the president.” None of these is listed in Nagamootoo’s gazetted appointment. Only last former Foreign Affairs Minister and political commentator, Dr Henry Jeffrey and social activist Ramon Gaskin called on the new Government to offer an explanation to the Guyanese people on the breaches of the Accord. Dr Jeffrey, in an invited comment related that despite the fact that the Prime Minister has indicated that he was not bothered by the deviation, the fact of the matter was that there were changes from the agreement which was penned by the two parties. He explained that the AFC must now go to the people and explain why it is that there is a deviation.
The political commentator further pointed out that while the Constitution requires that the President chair Cabinet, the Accord had stated that such a task will be delegated to the Prime Minister and as such, the legal minds in the coalition should have known that this could not be. “They should have known this before. They cannot say they did not know this before,” Jeffrey intoned. According to Jeffrey, a deviation is a violation of the agreement and as such, there is now a need for the parties to sit down and explain to the Guyanese society why it is so since Guyanese would have judged them and voted for the coalition based on what the document was premised.
“People voted for them based on the agreement so they really need to explain that. Also, from my point of view, I understand that conditions can change, but they cannot unilaterally change. We need to have an explanation,” he opined.
President David Granger for his part when asked to comment on the deviation expressed that the coalition was presently working on a review of the document. He admitted that to effectuate some of the stipulations of the Accord will be unconstitutional and as such, he will be awaiting the constitutional reform so that the agreement can be followed. “To the extent that some things are in collision with the Constitution they will await constitutional change…we cannot be expected to do unconstitutional things,” Granger told reporters. However at the time the Cummingsburg Accord had been announced Mr Granger had confirmed he would follow the agreement while AFC leader boasted that he was a tough negotiator.
Nagamootoo has now nonchalantly said he was not bothered or in any way affected by President Granger reneging on the agreement and chairing the proceedings of the Cabinet. Nagamootoo had further put a bold face on and stated that the Accord was not worth more than the country and, as such, those were minor things. “We have an active President and we have to make this Accord work; make this coalition work; and for me the things that are minor irritancies I won’t elevate to any importance,” he had said.

President David Granger

Meantime, while Nagamootoo’s promised responsibilities have been reduced, Minister of State, Joseph Harmon has been tasked with a number of responsibilities including Cabinet matters, defence and territorial integrity; Civil Defence, emergency, disaster response; national security; land titling; forestry policy; national energy policy; bauxite development; organisation and administration of the public service; public service personnel management; public service training; administrative matters other than those for which the Public Service Commission is responsible. This according to reports would include appointment of agency heads; scholarships; citizenship issues; registrar and births and deaths; climate change; sustainable development and science and technology.

Harmon gets to oversee Nagamootoo's ministries.   What is that?  A coolieman can't be trusted to do his job.   I wonder how long will it take him to explode.

He burned the bridge that he crossed to over to the PNC.

Last edited by Ramakant-P

Harmon gets to oversee Nagamootoo's ministries.   What is that?  A coolieman can't be trusted to do his job.   I wonder how long will it take him to explode.

He only Friggin gat big mouth when speaking to Indians.  The man is a REAL DISGRACE!!!!!!

You all think Moses really care what PPP supporters say about him. He is now the Prime Minister of Guyana. The PPP party never gave the opportunity him to be in such a prestigious position.

He only Friggin gat big mouth when speaking to Indians.  The man is a REAL DISGRACE!!!!!!

Just like every other PPP/Cumrag.

Originally Posted by Gupta:

You all think Moses really care what PPP supporters say about him. He is now the Prime Minister of Guyana. The PPP party never gave the opportunity him to be in such a prestigious position.

Why should he care, personal POWER is what he wanted and now he feels good as a house slave!!!!!!!!!!!!

Nehru, if Pres. Granger dies, Moses becomes President.   

Originally Posted by Observer:

Really??? You really naive Bhai.

That's not going to happen.  Moses will end up like Vincent Teekah..

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

Check the Guyana Gazette.  Interesting the size of each person's portfolio.

http://officialgazette.gov.gy/...-gazette1_6jun15.pdf

Check Harmon - that man is the real Boss.

Interesting.

You remember whah meh been seh from Day 1 of Harmon's appointment as "Minister of State"??

Moses is nothing more than Minista ah Propaganda. I can't imagine that you Jaganites got F-ed. Just like your god Cheddi.

Interesting.

You remember whah meh been seh from Day 1 of Harmon's appointment as "Minister of State"??

Moses is nothing more than Minista ah Propaganda. I can't imagine that you Jaganites got F-ed. Just like your god Cheddi.

Boy - Joker (shyster), I just come back from a sea trip on my catamaran and enjoying a beer and watching GNI and smiling.

Nah bother me, Guyana is a discussion point for me, I do not live there and the value of the Guyana currency has little relevance to me. Tourist and yankee dollar is all that matters right now.

Me watch and musing.  I am not emotionally invested in Guyana like jokers like Mr. Joker on this Board who has nothing else to do but waste their life on GNI.

Good luck, when you get the first angina stressing out about Guyana, call me.

http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/healt...topics/topics/angina

My number is 242-365-xxxx.  Nah me nah want no Katahar near my hut or on my catamaran.  You might cross it with your negativity. 

Nehru, so educate me. If Pres. Granger dies, who takes over his duties? 

Based on the constitution, it will be Moses Nagamootoo.

However it will change quickly for a PNC individual to be the President.

The most likely candidate will be Joseph Harmon.

Partnership among political parties needed – APNU MP Joe Harmon

Joseph Harmon

Interesting.

Boy - Joker (shyster), I just come back from a sea trip on my catamaran and enjoying a beer and watching GNI and smiling.

Nah bother me, Guyana is a discussion point for me, I do not live there and the value of the Guyana currency has little relevance to me. Tourist and yankee dollar is all that matters right now.

Me watch and musing.  I am not emotionally invested in Guyana like jokers like Mr. Joker on this Board who has nothing else to do but waste their life on GNI.

Good luck, when you get the first angina stressing out about Guyana, call me.

http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/healt...topics/topics/angina

My number is 242-365-xxxx.  Nah me nah want no Katahar near my hut or on my catamaran.  You might cross it with your negativity. 

What passes for a point from low class coolies.

Interesting.

with your kind of 'reasoning,' David Granger is responsible for nothing

smfh at PPP antiman