Nagamootoo’s pension outstrips Jagdeo’s

– “If you think the salaries are bad, the pensions are worse” – Former AG

By Michael Younge

Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo

Former Attorney General and Legal Affairs Minister Anil Nandlall says that Guyanese will have to carry the burden of Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo’s multimillion-dollar salary and intended pension package for decades to come because of the recent increased announced by the new Government, which it said it deserved after just four months in office.

While in Opposition, Prime Minister Nagamootoo had berated the former People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Government for raping the treasury and placing an undue burden on the shoulders of Guyanese, given the alleged quantum of Jagdeo’s pension package and benefits.

Despite the fact that the Government and former President himself clarified on many occasions that there was nothing special about Jagdeo’s pension or benefits, the Prime Minister and his colleagues while in Opposition campaigned heavily on the issue.

As they accessed Government, they used their majority in Parliament to cap and reduce the benefits and conditions under which former Presidents could access their pensions and full benefits.

But Nandlall, speaking with Guyana Times International on Wednesday, said that Guyanese will also have to bare the burdens of paying the pensions of all of the other office holders who will take home super salaries retroactive to July 1, 2015.

“By virtue of the humongous increases in salary, the Prime Minister, and I am sure the President, when his increase is disclosed, will now enjoy a higher rate of pension than Former Presidents, Sam Hinds, Bharrat Jagdeo and Donald Ramotar, since pensions for these office holders and indeed, Ministers and Vice Presidents are pegged by statute to 7/8 of their highest paid salary”, he said during the interview.

He said that after four months in office and for doing almost nothing, the Prime Minister has “chalked up a 22 million dollar land cruiser, 20 million dollar renovations to the Office of the Prime Minister, about 15 million dollars in renovation to the Prime Minister’s residence, over 10 million dollars in furniture for the residence, salaries over 1.7 million dollars retroactive to July, 2015 and a pension, even if he is to retire tomorrow, that will be higher than the pension enjoyed by former Presidents, Hinds, Jagdeo and Ramotar”.

The former Attorney General maintained that from all indications, this will not be the only salary increase over the next few years. “If in four months salaries were increased… it is frightening to project what it will be by the end of five years”, he related.

“In relation to each increase, there will be a corresponding increase in pension’s payable at a rate of 7/8 of the highest salary. So the nation is not only fetching the burden of these salary increases but these increases are attached to the pension of each of the recipients at a rate of 7/8 of the salary of each of them. The cumulative amount will run into billions as pensions are payable until death. This is a burden that our children and future generation will have to fetch at their backs”, the former AG who is now a front bencher for the PPP in the National Assembly contended.

He reminded that while in Opposition, the new Government and now the Prime Minister, ranted and rave about presidential pensions saying “that we cannot live a Cadillac lifestyle in a donkey cart economy”.

“This is the worst political fraud so far perpetrated against the Guyanese electorate. I know that even their staunchest supporter is absolutely embarrassed and aghast”, Nandlall posited.

“This is the worst political fraud so far perpetrated against the Guyanese electorate. I know that even their staunchest supporter is absolutely embarrassed and aghast”, Nandlall posited."

“By virtue of the humongous increases in salary, the Prime Minister, and I am sure the President, when his increase is disclosed, will now enjoy a higher rate of pension than Former Presidents, Sam Hinds, Bharrat Jagdeo and Donald Ramotar, since pensions for these office holders and indeed, Ministers and Vice Presidents are pegged by statute to 7/8 of their highest paid salary”, he said during the interview."

MOSES NAGAMOOTOO IS THE BIGGEST SCAMP TO EVER HIT GUYANA after Jagdeo.  I HAVE BEEN SAYING THIS FOR YEARS.  He tries to pass himself off like a Jaganite but he is a bloody scamp.  I know his followers on this site will be upset, but you people have been fooled badly.  

Originally Posted by VVP:

MOSES NAGAMOOTOO IS THE BIGGEST SCAMP TO EVER HIT GUYANA after Jagdeo.  I HAVE BEEN SAYING THIS FOR YEARS.  He tries to pass himself off like a Jaganite but he is a bloody scamp.  I know his followers on this site will be upset, but you people have been fooled badly.  

In all fairness, Gil is the only AFC supporter who has spoken out on the AFC. The title of Judas accurately identifies this betrayer who conned the AFC grassroots supporters.

Gil is not a card-carrying member.  I was also a big time supporter even though I never trusted Moses.  I was hoping that Ramjattan and the rest of the AFC would have kept things right but power seems to get to their heads.

Something is wrong with Guyanese.  I do not understand what they see as being so powerful in Guyana other than being able to feast themselves off the people.  My brother was one of them who wanted to be President, but I knew he was all about power and prestige so I never supported him politically even though I knew he was a smart person.

QUOTE: "Former Attorney General and Legal Affairs Minister Anil Nandlall says that Guyanese will have to carry the burden of Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo’s multimillion-dollar salary and intended pension package for decades to come because of the recent increased announced by the new Government, which it said it deserved after just four months in office."

yuji, pick sense from nonsense. Naga is 69 years old next month, November 30. Da man is overweight. Yuh really think he will live "for decades to come?" Bai, I personally believe that by 2020 Naga will not be physically fit to stay in office and/or will not live long after that. Don't worry wid wha Nandlall seh; baseman does advise he.

QUOTE: "Former Attorney General and Legal Affairs Minister Anil Nandlall says that Guyanese will have to carry the burden of Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo’s multimillion-dollar salary and intended pension package for decades to come because of the recent increased announced by the new Government, which it said it deserved after just four months in office."

yuji, pick sense from nonsense. Naga is 69 years old next month, November 30. Da man is overweight. Yuh really think he will live "for decades to come?" Bai, I personally believe that by 2020 Naga will not be physically fit to stay in office and/or will not live long after that. Don't worry wid wha Nandlall seh; baseman does advise he.

Done put it beyond Moses to charge the people of Guyana for liposuction or gastric bypass surgery.  The man now has cause for iving.

Yuh mean he gon do a Donald? Me hear Ramo had somekindasuction but me ent know who pay de bill.

Never heard about this here in Guyana. Saw him many mornings walking in the national park so I attributed his weight loss to exercise, better eating.

Z

Even his supporters here will be SHAMELESS to dispute your FACTS on this BLOODY HOUSE SLAVE!!!!!!!!!!

Last edited by Nehru

the question is now whether Anil can't count or is simply a barefaced liar!

we know yugee is a mathematical illiterate . . . but that's OK

Originally Posted by Vish M:

Why is this conversation about Moses?

Is this a National issue?

Did he design the system so he can benefit?

The whole system of presidential pension is flawed 

Vish, Because the shameless house Slave was hollering for over a decdae that Guyana cannot afford such Cadillac style, that Politicians should not be concerned with wealth but to serve the people and many other Bull Shit he fed the Guyanese People.

Originally Posted by Vish M:

the pension is 7/8 of the salary

CALCULATE IT FOR THE DUNCE REDUX.  IF THEY INCREAS THEIR SALARY AFYER 4 MONTHS BY 60% IN 5 YEARS THE INCREASE MAY REACK 300%.  NOW CALCULATE FOR DUNCIFIED GOAT REDUX 7/8 OF THAT!!

Originally Posted by Zed:

Never heard about this here in Guyana. Saw him many mornings walking in the national park so I attributed his weight loss to exercise, better eating.

Okay, Zed. My remark was meant to be a joke, partly evident from my use of creolese. Instead of "Me hear Ramo..." I could have written "Dem boys seh...".

Zed, if you take this forum too seriously and don't push some humour into it, however corny, yuh go end up in BMH. Yuh know wheh da place deh?

Today I am observing Thanksgiving Day in Canada. You guys in Guyana have to wuk like rass.

Okay, Zed. My remark was meant to be a joke, partly evident from my use of creolese. Instead of "Me hear Ramo..." I could have written "Dem boys seh...".

Zed, if you take this forum too seriously and don't push some humour into it, however corny, yuh go end up in BMH. Yuh know wheh da place deh?

Today I am observing Thanksgiving Day in Canada. You guys in Guyana have to wuk like rass.

We are celebrating that Columbus never discovered the new world in NY   Some states like Maryland don't celebrate it.

Where are all the AFC and APNU supporters Now?  If they do not speak out against this kind of fraud, then they are encouraging it.  The Unity Government makes Jagdeo looks like a saint.  The salary increased were approved by the cabinet so no one can throw blame on the other.

Bhai, They are SHAMELESS ROBBER BARONS!!!!!!!!!!

Where are all the AFC and APNU supporters Now?  If they do not speak out against this kind of fraud, then they are encouraging it. 

Here, sir! I spoke out, sir!

Yeh Gilly. Looks like Moses do the suction on Ramo and get all the fat. No wanda de man tun like tun tun already. So nobady na pay de bill. Naga do am fuh free.

“By virtue of the humongous increases in salary, the Prime Minister, and I am sure the President, when his increase is disclosed, will now enjoy a higher rate of pension than Former Presidents, Sam Hinds, Bharrat Jagdeo and Donald Ramotar, since pensions for these office holders and indeed, Ministers and Vice Presidents are pegged by statute to 7/8 of their highest paid salary”, he said during the interview."

I have not heard the details of the president's salary, increase and future pension. Is that a secret???

Originally Posted by kp:

I have not heard the details of the president's salary, increase and future pension. Is that a secret???

Maybe he is working for free. Remember the PPP stole all the money and the treasury was empty when they took office.

do not worry bai the collie will rule in the next election nehru will go back and vote

Thanks for the reminder. I really need to develop a sense of humour. Yes, I know where the BMH is. I go to Berbice often, using the BRIDGE, all the way to Crabwood Creek and back in a day. Sometimes, I think that the way they do things here will drive me there. At this point, it just drives me to drink some good El Dorado and coconut water. Not doing much today. In the hammock reading, enjoying the breeze and spending a few minutes finding out what is being posted on GNI. Have a good Thanksgiving Day and be reminded that snow is just around the corner.

Z

We are celebrating that Columbus never discovered the new world in NY   Some states like Maryland don't celebrate it.

This discussion is most important.

How de rass Columbus can 'discover' a people who been living dea for hundreds of years. And the people have not been the same ever since, due to colonialism.

Hundreds of years after Columbus 'discovery', de people are still struggling to survive and the Catholic Knights of Columbus is hypocritical to raise

Columbus as the 'saviour' of the people, when they say, they honour the poor.     

All you rass hiding from the truth. 

Show the figures of the President and Prime Minister salary, while you are it tell which is taxable.

Look at this thing. Since its publication APNU+AFC slashed Jagdeo's pension. I don't know his current salary.

https://www.google.ca/amp/s/ww...e-salaries-govt/amp/

All you rass hiding from the truth. 

Show the figures of the President and Prime Minister salary, while you are it tell which is taxable.

You prappa dunce like a goat.  I am specifically referring to pension. Don’t try to divert.