Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo

Ramkarran accuses Jagdeo of hypocrisy –says former President is epitome of arrogance, fostered complacency

FORMER Speaker of the House and former PPP Executive member, Ralph Ramkarran, has accused Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo of hypocrisy, and has contended that the now Opposition Leader has no justification to talk about “arrogance” and “complacency” in the PPP.At his end-of-year press briefing, the former president had said “there was a severe disconnect between the party and its supporters on the ground”, and he had this was responsible for the APNU and AFC “gaining footholds among PPP supporters”.

Former PPP Executive member Ralph Ramkarran

Mr Jagdeo had attributed this state of affairs to the PPP’s “complacency” and “arrogance”, and had vowed to work hard to strengthen the party by going “house to house to people right across this country and rebuilding a connection between them and the party”.

He had also spoken about the youth being enticed by the coalition because they lacked knowledge of the PNC’s past, and he had said there was need for the party to work “vigorously to incubate a new generation of youthful leaders”.

But writing in his weekly column, “Conversation Tree”, Mr Ramkarran pointed out that it was Jagdeo who had single-mindedly supported Mr Donald Ramotar as the PPP/C presidential candidate in 2011 in an act that was the epitome of the “worst displays of contempt and political arrogance in Guyana’s political history”.

“The compelling obsession to continue to exercise governmental authority and control was the sole motivating factor. The PPP leadership, in thrall to Mr Jagdeo, mistakenly felt that its supporters would accept anything thrown at them. It is not that the PPP leadership did not know, or could not have known, what were the possible consequences of its decision,” Ramkarran said.

According to the former Speaker, during 2010, he was in New Amsterdam to attend to a matter in the New Amsterdam High Court, but met with Messrs Zulfikar Mustapha, then Regional Chairman, and Faizal Jaffarally, an adviser — the two main PPP operatives in Berbice.
The purpose of the meeting was to solicit the support of two influential local leaders in the PPP’s heartland of Berbice for his campaign for the nomination. But they both told him that they would support him only if there was a secret ballot, as in that way Mr Jagdeo would not know whom they had supported.

The senior PPP operatives also used the opportunity to inform Mr Ramkarran that if Mr Ramotar, who had already been in semi-official campaign mode, were chosen, they would have great difficulty in mobilising PPP supporters to turn out to vote.

OVERPOWERING
“The leadership was unaware of this dire possibility because the arrogance at the top was so overpowering that Messrs Mustapha and Jaffarally, and many others of the same view, dared not express their fears.

Just as Mustapha and Jaffarally predicted, thousands of Berbicians and others stayed home, and the PPP lost its majority in 2011 and in the elections in 2015.

“The entire problem of arrogance arose because of the leadership’s belief that it knew what was best; failed to advance and develop party democracy; abused and threatened all those who raised questions; and felt that the PPP would rule forever.

“The party metamorphosed into an instrument for accumulation, which became progressively worse. Disgusted and silenced, party stalwarts, young and old, dropped out.

“Arrogance led to the belief that these developments would not be noticed by supporters, or that junior leaders would not mimic the behaviour of senior leaders,” Ramkarran contended.

Mr Ramkarran has posited that, in order to repair the PPP, reforms have to start at the top. He said
Mr Jagdeo has repeatedly mentioned the need to motivate young people and to encourage young leaders in the PPP.

TRUST
“But what about Frank Anthony, Anil Nandlall, Irfan Ally, Priya Manickchand, Dharamkumar Seeraj, Pauline Sukhai, Neil Kumar; and rising ones such as Charles Ramson (Jr), Nigel Dharamlall, Collin Croal, and others? Is it that Mr Jagdeo doesn’t trust them because some of these ‘young’ leaders and a few ‘old’ ones disapproved (of) his election as Leader of the Opposition?” Ramkarran asks?

The former House Speaker pointed out that young people are being wildly motivated by politicians like Jeremy Corbyn, 66, of the UK and Bernie Sanders, 74, of the US, whom Mr Jagdeo would refer to as ‘very old’ (as he did to President Granger) or “fossils”.

Ramkarran contends that these leaders are inspiring young people by progressive policies, democratic behaviour and humility.

“We have to wait and see whether blood will flow at and after the PPP Congress later this year, and if the unwanted ‘young’ and ‘old’ leaders will be made to move on.

“Both Mr Ramotar and Mr Rohee are over 65, and ‘old’ in Mr Jagdeo’s eyes. The problem for Mr Jagdeo is that these same ‘old’ leaders have helped him to influence the post-Congress vote for the male- dominated Executive Committee in recent years, so that ‘undesirable elements’ like the popular Hydar Ally and Indra Chandarpal, or the ambitious but hitherto out of favour Anil Nandlall do not sneak in,” Mr Ramkarran said.

He added: “Publicly contradicted by Mr Jagdeo, Mr Rohee, now chief cook and bottle washer, must be struggling with humiliation. It is not known if Mr Donald Ramotar will be invited this time around, and would be still willing to toe the Jagdeo line. He is struggling hard to recover from the shame of losing the elections, and is still bitter from being unceremoniously dumped by his mentor, Mr Jagdeo, in the choice of Leader of the Opposition.”

He pointed out that Dr Cheddi Jagan and Janet Jagan bequeathed a thriving, humming and democratic party in office, but for its loss, Mr Jagdeo is blaming everyone, except himself and his choice of presidential candidate.

http://guyanachronicle.com/ram...ostered-complacency/

Moses always wanted to be President so this comment is not surprising.  Granger will sink his ass even further when he gets back.  BUT he gonna "tek it and don't retaliate" as he once famously said.

Maybe it is highly possible that Dr. Jagan saw Moses lust for power and prestige that caused him not to name a successor.

VVP posted:

Moses always wanted to be President so this comment is not surprising.  Granger will sink his ass even further when he gets back.  BUT he gonna "tek it and don't retaliate" as he once famously said.

Maybe it is highly possible that Dr. Jagan saw Moses lust for power and prestige that caused him not to name a successor.

He is a typical "Coolie" Crabdaaaaaaaaaaaag!!!!!!!!!!

VVP posted:

VVP..i gat respect fuh you bhai,Naga said Guyana will be better if there is even a one term President me na gat to tell you why.

Where should I start: Independent, Stand up for rights, Donr spend like the PPP, live like I am PM of a poor country, No salary increase for me, Sugar will always be King, Rice will be protected, Civil Servants will be protected, Govt officials will be given a fair review, No Military style Govt. You could stop me at any time!!~!

Nehru bhai, Moses was not telling lies. He prefers to label them as "being economical with the truth". In our books, we label them as lies.

VVP posted:

He is a loose cannon loud mouth.  He even threaten Granger in Canada before the election.  This guy has no class, no tact!!  We see why he was likely passed over in the PPP!

As I said, he tekking licks and shriveling up.

VVP posted:

VVP..i gat respect fuh you bhai,Naga said Guyana will be better if there is even a one term President me na gat to tell you why.

He should start showing some interest in job creation. AS a leader in the the government, it is his duty to investigate the Ministry of Business. Follow up on jobs. Instead, he sits around idly. Be useful Moses, show ur leadership.

baseman posted:
VVP posted:

He is a loose cannon loud mouth.  He even threaten Granger in Canada before the election.  This guy has no class, no tact!!  We see why he was likely passed over in the PPP!

I was at an event when Moses boasted that if the AFC didn't like what APNU was doing that they could take away their seats in parliament, forcing an election.

Granger smirked when he said that, and probably thought "Hmmm, this Indo man thinks that black people stupid".   As a result Granger and Trotman got together to ensure that Moses and Ramjattan would lack the power to do this.

I just couldn't understand why Moses was dumb enough to disrespect Granger by saying this in front of his face.  What was clear is that, even though the audience was mixed Indo and Afro, he was addressing only the Indo element. I tell you, these people cannot help themselves.

In the view of some close to APNU leadership Moses is seen as wanting to be president, and given that he is already 70, can only become this if he is the candidate in 2020.   They also see Ramjattan as a "PPP racist", but that's another story.

I said it before.  The Trotman faction of the AFC always had issues with the Berbice crowd, and resented their "take over" of the AFC.  This faction have NO interest in the return of the PPP, and don't trust the AFC Indo elements to share this sentiment. 

If Nagamootoo and/or Ramjattan decide to leave to attempt to force an election, they will be moved off the AFC list, and another candidate more to Trotman's liking will be the replacement.

In Jan/Feb all the AFC Moses worshippers were screaming "Moses, Moses, Moses".  I told them that they will not win friends with the APNU. 

Some even continued to murmur anti PNC talk, or to talk stupidness about the PNC having to apologize to Indians, as if the PPP didn't also have some apologizing to do.

So the AFC Indians were/are seen as a Trojan Horse using blacks in an intra Indo battle.  Had they taken the time to understand the African ethnic dilemma they would have played a smarter game, and would be better off today.

Ok Folks,

This man is losing his marbles. His lack of class and his arrogance is one thing but proposing a one term Presidency is another.

Will Granger accept ?

He said this very clearly in his speech:

https://www.facebook.com/reggi...eos/531994280305834/

And look out for his laughable Hip Hip Hooray ending. 

yuji, a big portion of that video has been shut down. I watched the start where Moses said it is not discrimination to remove Raj Singh from Guysuco and Bharat Dindyal, then the clip stopped and the following appeared: "Video Unavailable. We are having trouble playing this video." I wonder why. 

For now, I will hold back my comment until I confirm what Moses said about presidential term limit.

Ok Folks,

This man is losing his marbles. His lack of class and his arrogance is one thing but proposing a one term Presidency is another.

Will Granger accept ?

yuji, a big portion of that video has been shut down. I watched the start where Moses said it is not discrimination to remove Raj Singh from Guysuco and Bharat Dindyal, then the clip stopped and the following appeared: "Video Unavailable. We are having trouble playing this video." I wonder why. 

For now, I will hold back my comment until I confirm what Moses said about presidential term limit.

Gill..hold off i will  make a copy of the video tonight and post it.

Reggie is my FB friend i have access to it,there are some more i will also post.

Ok Folks,

Will Granger accept ?

Gill..hold off i will  make a copy of the video tonight and post it.

Reggie is my FB friend i have access to it,there are some more i will also post.

Thanks, D.

Ok Folks,

Will Granger accept ?

Gil,

He said that maybe we should have a one-term presidency because the theifing starts in the second term.

I thought you were going to fly down to help build up the crowd bai, what happened? 

Zed posted:

Mitts, I do not see Jagdeo outside picketing Moses. Like your recent holiday keeping you from staying on the topic of the thread, or is there another reason.

Nice to have you back on the forum.

Thanks for the sentiments.  Like I posted on another thread....

You PPP/C guys are too focused on  Moses, Ramjattan et al... On the other hand it's good that you guys are keeping them in the lime light.

Perhaps you guys would be better of to spend your energy and heed the advice of Mr. Ramkarran and reform the PPP/C from the top down by getting rid of the dinosaurs and losers.

It's the only way the PPP/C can ever dream of winning another election any time soon. One term presidency is better that no term presidency.

Mr Ramkarran pointed out that it was Jagdeo who had single-mindedly supported Mr Donald Ramotar as the PPP/C (1/2 Term) presidential candidate in 2011 in an act that was the epitome of the “worst displays of contempt and political arrogance in Guyana’s political history”.

baseman posted:
VVP posted:

I was at an event when Moses boasted that if the AFC didn't like what APNU was doing that they could take away their seats in parliament, forcing an election.

Granger smirked when he said that, and probably thought "Hmmm, this Indo man thinks that black people stupid".   As a result Granger and Trotman got together to ensure that Moses and Ramjattan would lack the power to do this.

I just couldn't understand why Moses was dumb enough to disrespect Granger by saying this in front of his face.  What was clear is that, even though the audience was mixed Indo and Afro, he was addressing only the Indo element. I tell you, these people cannot help themselves.

In the view of some close to APNU leadership Moses is seen as wanting to be president, and given that he is already 70, can only become this if he is the candidate in 2020.   They also see Ramjattan as a "PPP racist", but that's another story.

I said it before.  The Trotman faction of the AFC always had issues with the Berbice crowd, and resented their "take over" of the AFC.  This faction have NO interest in the return of the PPP, and don't trust the AFC Indo elements to share this sentiment. 

If Nagamootoo and/or Ramjattan decide to leave to attempt to force an election, they will be moved off the AFC list, and another candidate more to Trotman's liking will be the replacement.

In Jan/Feb all the AFC Moses worshippers were screaming "Moses, Moses, Moses".  I told them that they will not win friends with the APNU. 

Some even continued to murmur anti PNC talk, or to talk stupidness about the PNC having to apologize to Indians, as if the PPP didn't also have some apologizing to do.

So the AFC Indians were/are seen as a Trojan Horse using blacks in an intra Indo battle.  Had they taken the time to understand the African ethnic dilemma they would have played a smarter game, and would be better off today.

Hmm! In Guyana everything is a race issue. WE can never live together. Just reading the schemes of Granger and Trotman tells, we are doomed as a country. I am not surprised. I knew it all along. All I can hope for is that dem black schemers kill each other for power. The government has alot of military people, suh dey could fight among themselves. Typical of Africanism. 

Whilst dey fighting, we Indoes MUST steal the country wealth. More worse than Jagdeo. The Doctor must be a visionary.

There is hope if Essequibo is taken over, then the Blacks will have to partition the remaining portion. The Amerinds should go over to Venezuela-simply INdoes and Afroes doan even consider them.

 All I can hope for is that dem black schemers kill each other for power. The government has alot of military people, suh dey could fight among themselves. Typical of Africanism. 

Black "leaders" aren't fighting each other.  Their main concern is to ensure that they steal enough, so that if Indians come back, they will not starve as they did before. 

They learned that from Jagdeo, and his gang, who remain as fat as pigs, even though no longer having the right  to pilfer from the tax payers.

Maybe if APNU/AFC wins in 2020 then the infighting will begin. But the exclusion in the wilderness of the "23 years" is still too raw.

Hmm! In Guyana everything is a race issue. WE can never live together. Just reading the schemes of Granger and Trotman tells, we are doomed as a country. I am not surprised. I knew it all along. All I can hope for is that dem black schemers kill each other for power. The government has alot of military people, suh dey could fight among themselves. Typical of Africanism. 

Whilst dey fighting, we Indoes MUST steal the country wealth. More worse than Jagdeo. The Doctor must be a visionary.

There is hope if Essequibo is taken over, then the Blacks will have to partition the remaining portion. The Amerinds should go over to Venezuela-simply INdoes and Afroes doan even consider them.

Rass banna you're really getting worse, that's a huge crock of shit you posted.

 All I can hope for is that dem black schemers kill each other for power. The government has alot of military people, suh dey could fight among themselves. Typical of Africanism. 

Black "leaders" aren't fighting each other.  Their main concern is to ensure that they steal enough, so that if Indians come back, they will not starve as they did before. 

They learned that from Jagdeo, and his gang, who remain as fat as pigs, even though no longer having the right  to pilfer from the tax payers.

Maybe if APNU/AFC wins in 2020 then the infighting will begin. But the exclusion in the wilderness of the "23 years" is still too raw.

Bro, yuh said coolie people have no role in the governance of Guyana. That is war talk. The cutlass brigade will have to start their assault. U black people have no intention of having Guyana progress. Really, u all holding back progress with tall this racist attitude.

seignet posted

smh

Rass banna you're really getting worse, that's a huge crock of shit you posted.

Fiah fuh fiah.

Did yuh really read what Caribj wrote. As for u, Putagees have always escaped black racism. WE Indoes have to stake out our portion of Guyana. We have to protect our own. Apaan Jhaat is coming back, propelled by Afroism. 

Fiah fuh fiah.

Did yuh really read what Caribj wrote. As for u, Putagees have always escaped black racism. WE Indoes have to stake out our portion of Guyana. We have to protect our own. Apaan Jhaat is coming back, propelled by Afroism. 

" As for u, Putagees have always escaped black racism. "

You ever heard, You receive what you put out?

Bro, yuh said coolie people have no role in the governance of Guyana. That is war talk. The cutlass brigade will have to start their assault. U black people have no intention of having Guyana progress. Really, u all holding back progress with tall this racist attitude.

You ramble as if you are drunk, mentally limited, or high. What is it?

I stated that the black "leaders" will follow Jagdeo and his cronies by stealing, to protect themselves if the Indians come back.  This generates your rambling incoherence.

A big part of why I suspect APNU/AFC cannot move against PPP corruption is that their poverty during the "23 years" forced many of them to grab a droplet of soup which Jagdeo made them beg him for.  So as Jagdeo will have to explain his billions, some might by forced to explain their GY$ thousands.

They don't want this to happen again.

A more reasoned answer would have been to suggest that the self serving dwarfs that populate Guyana's political leadership have collectively ensured that Guyana remains backward.

But your Indo KKK tendencies ensure that you must always portray the black as the demon harassing poor innocent Indians.

baseman posted:

A House Slave is expected not to be classy or brainy BUT this one wins the GOLD!!!   What an ASS!!!

He is truly a clown to believe much of what he himself saying.  The only people smiling are his Govt cronies with the 50% salary increase and the criminals being let out of prisons.

Correct Baseman.

Ok Folks,

Will Granger accept ?

Gilly, I saw the Video myself where Moses spoke of a one term Presidency. He continued by saying that it is the  second term Presidency "dem does start tief".

VVP posted:

Gil,

He said that maybe we should have a one-term presidency because the theifing starts in the second term.

I thought you were going to fly down to help build up the crowd bai, what happened? 

Since I passed 60 years I've been keeping far from political and social crowds, no matter who is there. And dem village reunion tings wuss. 

baseman posted:
VVP posted:

Firstly, I don't agree with his statement to Granger, it sets a bad taste, it's impolite and lacking tact.  Is like planning your wedding and also planning who gets what if the marriage fails.  The more I see and hear this banna, the more I understand why he was passed over.  You expect these mistakes from a young green politician, not a old hardback on [possibly] his last erection!