Moutar vs Guitar…

…on salaries

On May 5, 2015 – a rather auspicious day in Guyana, being “Arrival Day” and all, but just as significantly was the week before Election Day – David Granger, then Presidential Candidate for the People’s National Congress-A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance For Change (PNC-APNU/AFC) coalition spoke about wages of the public servants. “Given the present cost of living and the present problems facing the public servants, there will be a minimum of 10 per cent. But we have not set the ceiling and I’m sure that the GPSU is not going to be satisfied with 10 per cent; 10 per cent must be regarded as relief.” Twenty per cent was the most quoted figure for the “significant” raise promised in black and white in their manifesto.

Fast forward to the present. After voting them into office, public servants got a measly five per cent crumb – or $2500 on the most widespread salary ($50,000 monthly) – from the APNU/AFC Government. “What you gon do?” reasoned the loyal foot soldiers. “Deh ain’t got no money in de Treasury.” Forgotten (or forgiven) was Mr Granger’s explanation in the speech quoted above as to where he’d find the money for the public servants’ raise. “From all the money the PPP diverted and siphoned off!!” Duh!

Well, “Duh!” indeed. Finally, Pressie gave his most expansive defence of the 50 per cent or $290,000 increase on the most widespread salary of Ministers of $579,000 monthly. It might be apposite to remember that public servants don’t get the duty-free car allowances, housing allowances, electricity and water allowances, driver, first class airline tickets, etc. These add up to at least another $2 million monthly.

Forced on the back foot after a tsunami of outraged protests from even diehard PNCites, the President moved on from his initial bald explanation for the jaw-dropping raise – that it was just an innocuous “pay grade differentiation”. Seems that “most” of the Ministers were earning mega salaries before they took “Minister wuk”. And why should Guyana follow every other democracy in the world (like America) and accept that “public service” jobs aren’t “Private Sector jobs”. And the aspirants for public service jobs know that.

Well, we won’t be asking if say, Bulkan stopped drawing a salary from his company. All this Eyewitness asks for is Ministers show their income tax return for last year. Not for the past 10 years or so that’s voluntarily done in the US – just one year. Remember when Romney took flak for ONLY releasing the last two years?

Since our election has been endorsed by the US Embassy, and they’ve endorsed the democratic credentials of the government, maybe they can gently suggest that tax returns for one year be submitted. Wasn’t that taught in the LEAD programme?

It’ll just confirm what Pressie’s saying.

…on rice

Well, the other foot dropped in the (messy) rice bed: Venezuela signed the deal officially to source it’s missing 200,000 tonnes of rice from Suriname. Not that anyone should be surprised – Bharrat Jagdeo’s advise that diplomatic channels be kept going on separate parallel tracks from the border controversy was dubbed “unpatriotic”. This Eyewitness wonders what this Government thinks of revelations that the US was talking to Iran all along?

So while the Government just announced plans to plunk another $10 billion (at least) into boosting our Guyana Defence Force to kick Venezuelans’ asses, this Eyewitness is waiting to find out how many billions they’ve spent to find markets for the lost 200,000 tonne rice contract. With all their military be-wigs, they should know “an Army marches on its stomach”.

And if we don’t get foreign currency from exports like rice, it’s back to the days of no flour! (Forget dhall, Bisram!)Then soldiers will have to crawl all the way to the Venezuelan border!

…on mo’ jobs

Rather than just finding more ways to SPEND money, what happened to the manifesto promise to MAKE it?: “Manage the economy in such a way as to produce wider entrepreneurial and job opportunities and more equitable outcomes.”

No understanding of how to translate talk to action, too many ministers with no focus or no understanding of their roles, too many mouths at the trough, missing the fundamental issues that need to be dealt with, selective vision, some relics in key positions, big change for the boys and lil change for the public workers. Not able to "think out of the box", not understanding how an economy works or how to manage it, thinking that they can lie to the people and get away from it, etc. All in less than 6 months.

Z
Originally Posted by Zed:

No understanding of how to translate talk to action, too many ministers with no focus or no understanding of their roles, too many mouths at the trough, missing the fundamental issues that need to be dealt with, selective vision, some relics in key positions, big change for the boys and lil change for the public workers. Not able to "think out of the box", not understanding how an economy works or how to manage it, thinking that they can lie to the people and get away from it, etc. All in less than 6 months.

Excellent compression, good writing, good job, I like it.

But I won't comment on the points you raise.

Very good point. If you can get away with the first 6months, look what to come with the next 6 months. My heart goes out the Guyanese people.

This could be applied squarely in the lap of the PPP whose main objective over their tenure is not to to their optimal best but to steal. The above is abject hypocrisy in response to an article that is agitprop forged in the offices of a news outlet that came into being by the fruits of  corruption. You folks need to leave your prejudices at the door and let your innate talents address the problems at hand.

Imagine the lie you sell us....Granger destroyed the economy in six months...what the hell are the economic fundamentals in the first place?  Surely from the lucidity of your prose one can assume you have the functional wherewithal to get to the meat of what ails us but misses it for the usual reasons

Did you take into account the Venezuelans advised their withdrawal from the petrocarbide deal in January of this year? Why was the money, some 150 million US spent elsewhere it the truly stupid hope canal project and not on marketing rice well ie value added processing, packaging and targeting the diaspora?

Please point out the economic fundamentals the PPP bragged about that was in place to secure us against failure of productive capacity or loss of market? You cannot so all of that bullshit above misses the point.

We are a begging bowl economy with no fundamentals to speak of, no innovation in generations away from what the brits left in either our political organizations or our economic model. Granger is not the blame. We are for being distracted by the shenanigans of ignoramuses in office.

This could be applied squarely in the lap of the PPP whose main objective over their tenure is not to to their optimal best but to steal. The above is abject hypocrisy in response to an article that is agitprop forged in the offices of a news outlet that came into being by the fruits of  corruption. You folks need to leave your prejudices at the door and let your innate talents address the problems at hand.

Imagine the lie you sell us....Granger destroyed the economy in six months...what the hell are the economic fundamentals in the first place?  Surely from the lucidity of your prose one can assume you have the functional wherewithal to get to the meat of what ails us but misses it for the usual reasons

Did you take into account the Venezuelans advised their withdrawal from the petrocarbide deal in January of this year? Why was the money, some 150 million US spent elsewhere it the truly stupid hope canal project and not on marketing rice well ie value added processing, packaging and targeting the diaspora?

Please point out the economic fundamentals the PPP bragged about that was in place to secure us against failure of productive capacity or loss of market? You cannot so all of that bullshit above misses the point.

We are a begging bowl economy with no fundamentals to speak of, no innovation in generations away from what the brits left in either our political organizations or our economic model. Granger is not the blame. We are for being distracted by the shenanigans of ignoramuses in office.

please read and comprehend. Where did I state that Granger destroyed the economy. Explain the lie about the massive raise and the stupid self serving explanations, the broken promise of large increase for public sector workers, the minuscule net pension increase, granting raise to public sector workers without going thru the collective bargaining process, the more than 25 ministers and four Vice Presidents for a population of approx 750000, how Hope canal saved East  Coast from major floods during the last rainy season, Hamilton Green as Chairman of Central Housing & Planning, The government washing its hands from the rice industry, holding that it has no involvement in an industry that provides a livelihood for over 39000 families, the loss in foreign exchange if this industry collapses, the minister of Finance not knowing the basic economic concepts regarding foreign debt, Minister Broome being sanctioned for trying to influence the decisions of a constitutional agency, the whole government, including the Minister of Finance forgetting about the agencies that needed to be treated differently in budgetary allocations when they changed tgeir status just a couple of weeks previously, etc. Look, it is Sunday afternoon si I need to spend some time with my family, or I can go on for quite some time.

it is sad that so many people expected things different from the previous one and not find out that nothing has changed, or maybe it is getting worse. I accept that we in Guyana might be part of the problem, but please be certain that there cannot be a solution without us.

you think you are so smart, I invite you to come to Guyana, live here for awhile and then you will find out how smart you are.

Z

please read and comprehend. Where did I state that Granger destroyed the economy. Explain the lie about the massive raise and the stupid self serving explanations, the broken promise of large increase for public sector workers, the minuscule net pension increase, granting raise to public sector workers without going thru the collective bargaining process, the more than 25 ministers and four Vice Presidents for a population of approx 750000, how Hope canal saved East  Coast from major floods during the last rainy season, Hamilton Green as Chairman of Central Housing & Planning, The government washing its hands from the rice industry, holding that it has no involvement in an industry that provides a livelihood for over 39000 families, the loss in foreign exchange if this industry collapses, the minister of Finance not knowing the basic economic concepts regarding foreign debt, Minister Broome being sanctioned for trying to influence the decisions of a constitutional agency, the whole government, including the Minister of Finance forgetting about the agencies that needed to be treated differently in budgetary allocations when they changed tgeir status just a couple of weeks previously, etc. Look, it is Sunday afternoon si I need to spend some time with my family, or I can go on for quite some time.

it is sad that so many people expected things different from the previous one and not find out that nothing has changed, or maybe it is getting worse. I accept that we in Guyana might be part of the problem, but please be certain that there cannot be a solution without us.

you think you are so smart, I invite you to come to Guyana, live here for awhile and then you will find out how smart you are.

I do not know the organizational structure of the ministers and junior ministers etc, Wen someone clarifies the model I will speak to it. Vice presidents is titular, The PM is next in line. Picking a fight with them on account of that and not mentioning the pillage that preceded them Is a waste of time.

I do not think I would have a hard time living in guyana. I was there not two months ago paying respects to my mother and securing authority over her assets. It would not be difficult for me because there are so many things that could be done better around me I would never stop working.

I have a an American wife and three kids who do not even care about their inheritance there. My daughters like their life here and in Europe and I doubt they would ever set foot there. I know definitely my son would not. But who knows, maybe I just might come home one day.

It is not a waste of time, we have to keep trying to achieve better in Guyana. This is the government we now have. Many thought and still hope that things will be different with this government. I know it is still early in their term, but they need to realize that you only get one chance to make a good first impression.

Regarding living in Guyana, I thought as you do  when I Returned to Guyana but found out differently. I was fortunate that my Canadian born wife supported my decision to return to Guyana, which made it a bit easier at a personal level. At a professional level, it has been quite discouraging for us both. My nephew who is building a house here says that he is going to make a t-shirts with "I love Guyana, but nothing is easy there."

Z