Since when he has a doctorate? 

Bisram is no Indian triumphalist

JANUARY 24, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

Dear Editor,

Instead of focusing on Alexei Ramotar’s performance and qualification, M. Maxwell delved into personality and character assassination in his usual self denigrating of peoples’ academic qualifications as though academic achievements are meaningless.

He must be suffering from some inferiority complex hence his name-calling tirade. Maxwell, not me, fits the definition of an ethnic supremacist and triumphalist; I fought against ethnic triumphalism during the dictatorship. It is Maxwell who did not oppose the dictatorship and has been consistently attacking Indians.
Sociologists define ethnic triumphalism or “supremacism” as an attitude or belief that one’s ethnicity is superior to all others and or when one’s ethnic party triumphs over others. I certainly don’t subscribe to such a belief and since I don’t belong to any political organization in Guyana , I don’t gloat in their victory.
Thus, the description of being an ethnic triumphalist does not apply to me but it does apply to Maxwell who has been involved in excessive demonstrative glee at the combined PNC-AFC victory in November 2011.
I do not support the idea of one ethnic group governing Guyana as happened between 1966 and 1992 or in South Africa or Zimbabwe or Fiji. I consistently penned there must be multi-ethnic governance.
If fighting prejudice and racism against Indians, Amerindians, Portuguese, etc. by Maxwell’s former party is “supremacism” or triumphalism, then I have no problem with being described as an “Indian triumphalist”. I plead guilty noting that I am in good company with Dr. Jagan, Nelson Mandela, Martin Luther King, etc. all of whom were also labeled ethnic triumphalists (for fighting racism).
Ethnic triumphalism is predicated on a foolish assumption that one’s ethnic group is superior than another. Europeans had practiced that policy in Guyana and after that the PNC.

The PPP and its supporters could not practise that policy because it was in office, never in government, as Dr. Jagan wrote. And since 1992, Guyana has been a full fledged democracy. No one has been celebrating an ethnic victory except the opposition over the last two years – blocking one policy after another.
Maxwell’s party, AFC, in coalition with the PNC (APNU), practices triumphalism dictating the directions of government policies. Such triumphalism is dangerous to the society.
There must be no triumphalism for anyone. We need a constitution that assiduously offers the strongest protection of individual rights and that allows all ethnic groups a meaningful say in how the country is governed; let us go back to the 1961 consitution!

With regards to Alexei Ramotar. Maxwell has not stated anything new. I reiterate that he should not be disqualified from heading the e-governance department simply because he is the son of the President. There are several people whose family are in government employ, including the daughter of my friend Moses Nagamootoo.
I have no evidence on which to judge or evaluate his competence or the completion of the job for which he is assigned – if Maxwell has evidence, then present it to the appropriate authority for expedited action. I do not dispute Maxwell that people with doctorates and Masters Degrees at times have failed in their business or other endeavours.

For goodness sake,I have countless masters and a doctorate and I myself have not succeeded in all of my tasks and responsibilities. There are reasons other than just academic qualifications, that account for failures or even successes. Degrees alone don’t bring success or failures. But one should not derogate the academic achievements of people.
Degrees are requisite qualifications for certain assignments. Would Maxwell allow a cane cutter (no disrespect intended) to perform surgery on his heart?
So it will be wrong for Maxwell to conclude that Alexei’s Masters in Computer Science is not an asset in his position as head of e-governance.
Should the government hire someone without the appropriate qualification (Maxwell perhaps) to do the job?
Maxwell should stick to issues and stop the name calling and unjust attacks on peoples characters.
Vishnu Bisram

Alexie is a Russian name, I believe. Was he born while his father was studying in Russia? (I assume he studied in Russia back in the days)

Kari, as a former PPP member, let me explain.

There was a longstanding culture within the PPP for the leadership and membership to name their offspring after Russian and Cuban fictional and real characters.

Dr Cheddi Jagan started the practice, as he explained in the first edition of "The West on Trial," by naming his only son Joey after Josef Stalin.

Ranji Chandisingh named his only son Yuri after the Russian cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin.

Vincent Teekah named his first son Raul after Raul Castro.

Moses Nagamootoo named his only son Ernesto after Che Guevara who started his guerrilla career in Cuba.

Other PPP officials have named their children Dimitri, Maxim, Alexei, etc.

Ramotar named one of his two sons Alexei and his only daughter Lisaveta after a character in one of the Russian Alexender Pushkin's stories.

When my only son was born in 1991, I was just about to walk away from the PPP so I named him Yasser, after the Palestinian leader Arafat. Otherwise, I was tempted to name him Boris, after the Russian writer Pasternak of "Doctor Zhivago" fame.

Can we find Mr Jagdeo or Mr Bisram's PHD thesis online?

Come on, JB, you're bright enough to know that Dr Jagdeo's honorary doctorates weren't the rewards for theses, but gifts for promises and deals.

Well at least Mr Bisram can present us with his thesis? My mamoo and father want to take a read. My family are avid readers. 

Surindra got 4.5 million acres to loot after one degree. His friends from the Indian Technical Institute got hefty fees to consult on the use of the nonexistent cash flow from Norway on the fictional LCDS strategy.

Where did Vishnu acquired his degrees?

A wha dis, Vish Mahadeo?  Tell us the story nah man?

Did he buy it from a paper MILL?

watch yuhself chap, abee Vish is a UGee & Surrey grad

Let us got to the bottom of this once and for all.  Mike Persaud ar u on this blog.  Vish Mahadeo are you on this blog.

DOES THE MAN HAVE A PHD AND FROM WHICH UNIVERSITY?

Let's ask Yugi22!

Let us got to the bottom of this once and for all.  Mike Persaud ar u on this blog.  Vish Mahadeo are you on this blog.

DOES THE MAN HAVE A PHD AND FROM WHICH UNIVERSITY?

Let's ask Yugi22!

Mits, you not nice you know!

Not UG but from Surrey University and MSc credits from Polytechnic University (NY)

Originally Posted by Stinger:

Vish M
Originally Posted by Vish M:
Not UG but from Surrey University and MSc credits from Polytechnic University (NY)

Originally Posted by Stinger:

So he lied when he said: For goodness sake, I have countless masters and a doctorate and I myself have not succeeded in all of my tasks and responsibilities.