Crime and its contribution to inequitable development

NOVEMBER 7, 2013 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

Dear Editor,

Over the last year one continued to read of the many murders under Home Affairs Minister Mr. Clement Rohee’s watch. A number of businessmen have been crushed by the bullets of criminals while Rohee has occupied the seat. Yet this PPP Government has the audacity to lecture the nation about creating a “robust environment for business”?
In an article out of the World Bank called “Inequality and violent crime”, the authors advanced the position that income inequality has a significant and positive effect on the incidence of crime. Can Mr. Rohee and his colleagues in the PPP expect social harmony in an environment where a handful of PPPites continue to “get richer fast” while the rest of the nation (including former soldiers and policemen) continue to suffer from economic deprivation as a result of poor public polices from the PPP?

How can it be possible that only a handful of people, mostly aligned to the PPP, can leverage the billion-dollar deals, while the rest of the nation have to etch out a living on wages range from G$55,000-G$75,000 a month, sometimes even less, in the case of security guards?
To further compound this economic oppression, a family of four can barely get by on G$80,000 per month according to a survey conducted by Red Thread and the workers union, GPSU.

Now I am not condoning crime, actually I personally reject these criminals who continue to harm our people, but we must all acknowledge that there is a genesis to these conditions of high crime, and much of it has to do with the way the country is being mismanaged.
What is even worse is that crime in Guyana is not only being conducted by the likes of Rondell Rawlins but by some of those same persons who continue to orchestrate these billion-dollar deals that plunder the patrimony of the people.  These white collar criminals commit a crime every day and call it national development.
The taxpayers continue to be saddled with a humongous debt in exchange for pieces of equipment and buildings that are clearly not value for money – case in point the Skeldon Sugar Factory. But these deals are not about value for money.  These deals are about who head to the Bank after the deals.
This is the deeper issue behind why well trained men continue to walk around Guyana with AK-47s believing they are Freedom Fighters and not criminals; robbing and killing our people.  This crime wave will not stop until there is some serious acknowledgement that we have got a social cohesion problem and a competent head to the security sector is appointed to lead on the process to bring this war to a manageable level.  Clearly Minister Rohee is not competent enough to lead this process. A war has to be declared not only against the blue collar criminals but also the white collar criminals.

Criminals are criminals, regardless of whether they are of the white or blue collar variety.
Until the President recognizes that crime is the number one developmental retardant, whether it is blue or white, and then takes the necessary strategic measures, we’ve got a problem. How tough is that for the PPP to understand?

We have two choices; stand with the PPP in defending the white collar criminals, while labeling just the blue collar ones as the problem or launch a national struggle to save the Guyanese nation billions from those crooked deals, so that more money can be pumped into professionalizing a police force to win the war against those who aim to take the lives of innocent citizens.
Sasenarine Singh

In an article out of the World Bank called “Inequality and violent crime”, the authors advanced the position that income inequality has a significant and positive effect on the incidence of crime. Can Mr. Rohee and his colleagues in the PPP expect social harmony in an environment where a handful of PPPites continue to “get richer fast” while the rest of the nation (including former soldiers and policemen) continue to suffer from economic deprivation as a result of poor public polices from the PPP?

This is the deeper issue behind why well trained men continue to walk around Guyana with AK-47s believing they are Freedom Fighters and not criminals; robbing and killing our people.  This crime wave will not stop until there is some serious acknowledgement that we have got a social cohesion problem and a competent head to the security sector is appointed to lead on the process to bring this war to a manageable level.  Clearly Minister Rohee is not competent enough to lead this process. A war has to be declared not only against the blue collar criminals but also the white collar criminals.

Criminals are criminals, regardless of whether they are of the white or blue collar variety. Until the President recognizes that crime is the number one developmental retardant, whether it is blue or white, and then takes the necessary strategic measures, we’ve got a problem. How tough is that for the PPP to understand?

Flour Man gat good talk. Is the Flour Mill bankrupt???

You are so ignorant.

And you are a silly piece of Shit of a Gal.

Mr Neroo is it true you can only get sex if you pay at Gaumont? You must be very bad looking and low self esteem. 

Flour Man gat good talk. Is the Flour Mill bankrupt???

You are so ignorant.

And you are a silly piece of Shit of a Gal.

Mr Neroo is it true you can only get sex if you pay at Gaumont? You must be very bad looking and low self esteem. 

As long as you are around I will be fine.

What is even worse is that crime in Guyana is not only being conducted by the likes of Rondell Rawlins but by some of those same persons who continue to orchestrate these billion-dollar deals that plunder the patrimony of the people.  These white collar criminals commit a crime every day and call it national development.
The taxpayers continue to be saddled with a humongous debt in exchange for pieces of equipment and buildings that are clearly not value for money – case in point the Skeldon Sugar Factory. But these deals are not about value for money.  These deals are about who head to the Bank after the deals.

Mits Bhai, I have to agree with you that something went terribly WRONG with the Skeldon Factory Deal but it will be more beneficial to the Guyanese People if you find out what went wrong instead of talking about it daily.

Nehru bhai, this was covered here by many threads.

Check this one: https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/so...vage-skeldon-factory

Or read this:

Mere two years after commissioning…US$200M Skeldon factory set for major overhaul

April 3, 2012 | By | Filed Under News 

Just two years after launching the country’s most expensive project to date, the government yesterday announced plans to begin a major overhaul of the Skeldon factory. The US$200M factory, on which Guyana has been pinning its hopes to revive a struggling industry which is the country’s biggest employer, has been plagued with problems. These problems were there since the sugar factory was commissioned in August 2009, raising questions whether Guyana had received its value for money. Government has been blaming the “hiccups” on teething problems with accusations that the Chinese contractor had failed to deliver. Even former President Bharrat Jagdeo had promised to “personally” intervene in a project that went wrong in the construction phase. According to the Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo) yesterday, it will now be gearing to re-engineer the bagasse feed system, re-design the cane conveyors, drill a new well and replace a five-megawatt alternator to a power engine. These were all handed over and suppose to have been fully working within months of the August 2009 commissioning, plus or minus a few defects. It will also be modifying the problematic punt dumpers, build a section of all-weather road, upgrade the drainage and water management system and convert additional lands for mechanized harvesting. Financing? While the GuySuCo statement yesterday did not immediately say where the money will be coming from to carry out the “major rehabilitation” as the works were described, last week’s National Budget of $192.8B had earmarked a $4B allocation for the sugar industry. It is unclear whether that $4B will be used to facilitate these works but Agriculture Minister, Dr. Leslie Ramsammy, is yesterday quoted as telling the government’s NCN that GuySuCo faced a deficit of $2M last year. To meet the 265,000 tonnes of sugar target for this year, it is more than likely much more than the allotted $4B would be needed, NCN reported. According to GuySuCo yesterday, in keeping with a plan approved by its Board of Directors, GuySuCo has begun to implement plans to undertake several major rehabilitation projects at Skeldon Estate during the upcoming out of crop period -June 2012 to August 2012- as part of its efforts to “turn the industry around”. “Working wíth reputable international engineering experts and technical professionals in the area of diffusion technology together with agricultural specialists, GuySuCo identified the major factors that are preventing the estate from reaching its full potential and design capacity. As such, it will undertake several major projects in both the factory and cultivation at Skeldon Estate,” the Corporation said in the statement. GuySuCo disclosed that in an effort to enhance the cooperation and communication among the major stakeholders in the industry, it’s Board, management and the unions (GAWU and NAACIE) and workers’ representatives recently met and discussed a number of issues including bolstering production and the rehabilitation projects at Skeldon estate. Production increase “GuySuCo anticipates that additional projects will be undertaken during 2013 resulting in a significant increase of production.” The construction of the Skeldon factory was part of a modernisation plan by GuySuCo that involved expanded cane cultivations, the establishment of a refinery, and the co-generation of electricity for the national grid. Guyana had lost the preferential prices offered by its biggest customer in Europe, losing around $10B annually in revenues. In 2008, the sugar industry directly sustained some 18,000 jobs. Sugar exports account for as much as 20 percent of the country’s annual revenue. Therefore, the survival of the industry is seen as crucial to the country’s economic and social stability. The new factory was intended to increase national production to more than 450,000 tonnes. It was to be the most modern sugar factory in the Caribbean. The factory also uses bagasse (the waste of the sugar cane) as fuel part of the co-generation power section of the factory that would have provided most of the daily base load power requirement for Berbice. The factory was constructed with a combination of self-generated funds and loans from the Caribbean Development Bank, the People’s Republic of China and the Government of Guyana. The Project Engineer was Booker Tate, UK Ltd and the Contractor was CNTIC Ltd, the Chinese company. Government fired Booker Tate saying it failed to supervise the construction of the factory properly. Several millions of US dollars were reportedly withheld. The Chinese contractor, CNTIC was supposed to fix several defects plaguing the factory and while some were fixed, many of them were still outstanding. That amount is unclear. It is also unclear how many still have to be fixed as the defects liability period- the time in which the contractor has to fix problems- has already elapsed. GuySuCo’s officials remained unavailable for comments yesterday. Skeldon factory has been failing to meet its production targets since the commissioning two and a half years ago.

"How can it be possible that only a handful of people, mostly aligned to the PPP, can leverage the billion-dollar deals, while the rest of the nation have to etch out a living on wages range from G$55,000-G$75,000 a month, sometimes even less, in the case of security guards?" Sasenarine Singh

Try living on a salary like this when the rent on a rink dinky apartment is $50,000 a month. Then you will understand why cops are collecting bribes every day to supplement their income.

Mr Conscience of OP/MOF/NICIL is inventing lies about Mr Singh. Mr Conscience is the real thieve. 

Gal yuh suh STUPID you cant even see and hear properly.

Have you recovered from overdose of alcohol? 

The AFC are made up of a bunch of thieves.  Sase Singh the flour thief is now said to have switched to the PNC after the pickings were slim in the AFC, Ramjattan and Nigel tek it all and the leff leff was too small for Singh who accustomed to big takings.

Corruption in the PPP is a hundred times worse than by any other party.

Underground economy may now come under attack

Posted By Staff Writer On November 11, 2013 @ 5:01 am In Letters | 

Dear Editor,

So we have finally crossed the bridge on the money laundering amendment bill and it is quite interesting to see the PPP propaganda machinery on display as they try their very best to save their money laundering buddies from the scrutiny of CFATF.  It is true that all international financial transactions will require greater scrutiny and record keeping by the financial institutions and money transfer agencies but that can be a very good thing since the underground economy in Guyana will be under attack.

Those who are engaged in legitimate transactions have little to worry about and thus the PPP propaganda that international banks will terminate their relationships with Guyana is really a stretch of the truth.  International correspondent banks will require more verification information and will interrogate transactions more aggressively and that is not such a bad thing if the end game will result in more of the local money launderers being called out.

As the PPP’s poor leadership caused a very simple situation to become so complex we must expose the PPP for failing to use the golden opportunity that 2011 presented to healing the nation by consensus.

In this environment, political brinksmanship will not survive and the PPP has to open the door on the Public Procurement Commission and the Local Government Elections or else they will be further exposed.

It is the PPP who are putting the people’s welfare at risk by conducting political sabotage on the people as they try to impose their way on all of Guyana by brutal acts of economic bullyism.  Why could the PPP not establish the Procurement Commission as sanctioned by law and implement all the local government bills as instructed by the National Assembly?  Then if they have issues with the views of the majority, they then bring further legislation to amend these laws.  Why hold up the process at the pleasure of the President at great distress to the people?  Why does it always have to be the PPP’s way?

Well thank you Mr. Granger and Mr. Ramjattan.  Your parties have finally taken something from the PPP; their ability to bully the Guyanese nation and for that the Guyanese people will be eternally grateful.  The results of the Local Government Elections will speak for itself.  And if the PPP “got balangee more than they think”, let them bring on the General Elections and then we will see what the people really want.  Propaganda will never succeed in an environment when people’s “belly ah bun”.  As Walter Rodney once said, when “people belly ah bun, the brain ah think”.

Today we have seen a PPP who does not know how to engage a majority opposition in a constructive manner and thus the nation continues to suffer because the PPP wants to continue to be bullies rather than nation builders.

Yours faithfully,
Sasenarine Singh

Mr Sasenarine Singh must know that legal and hard working businesses will also suffer. Not only the launderers and drug dealers. My mamoo said so. And he is expert businessman. 

sase musty come clean of the back door deals he did at lake mainstay back in 2003. He knows exactly what I'm talking about, if he's using one of this handlers, let him respond.....come clean sase....come clean

Originally Posted by Conscience:

"Mitwah" I have a task for you, call Sase and ask him about the deals he had at Lake Mainstay in October 2003.....Its not a fabricated story, let him come clean...for once.

Kwame sent you to dish out more dirt again. Don't you have no bloody shame doing this for a living?

The AFC goons are at full throttle throwing a school of red herring into every discussion that shades light on the dark deals on the AFC..........awaiting a response from the handler "Mitwah".

AFC's poster Mitwah, is at his best, one has to excuse him, without any material given to him by GR he/she resorts to a cuss-out and exposes his very limited IQ. pity on his soul...#word of advice....Mitwah go off the computer and go read a book.

Knowledge is Power, Mitwah on a serious note you need to increase you knowledge I've been observing your post of recent (except those that you've copy and paste) and is of the strong belief, you're being used by the AFC, you are a mature person( at least by age) in your quiet moments reflect on your role on GNI and see if its worth it.....let you conscience be your guide....

you've became so predictable, I'm sure in your response you will resort to name calling and wanna engage in a cuss-out, consider what I'm telling you, from today don't allow the AFC to control you, post from you conscience.....

sase musty come clean of the back door deals he did at lake mainstay back in 2003. He knows exactly what I'm talking about, if he's using one of this handlers, let him respond.....come clean sase....come clean

We simply do not believe you. You are the one at OP/MOF/NICIL taking bribes. 

If you don't wanna take my word for it, ask sase, I dare you, ask him about the deals he made at the lake mainstay resort in October 2003.....

Are his deals better than Jagdeo's secret deals?  Thanks for following my posts.

It is time to put a cap on the PPP gravy train

NOVEMBER 18, 2013 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

Dear Editor,

That video from Channel 8 News, Berbice with the voice of a sugar worker explaining the plight of the people clearly highlights why many of us are in politics; notwithstanding we suffer personal attack quite illegitimately by the compromised forces in the PPP.  This video can be found at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...klK_MmXI—JZqrg and the real message starts at about four minutes into the video.

In the past decade, technology has reshaped so many economies, yet the sugar belt seems to be stuck in pre-historic days. As the global market takes shape, Guyana always seem to have too little money for critical valued-added items such as wages for its workers, the re-shaping of the planting beds to adopt new technologies and research into scientific techniques to make the industry more efficient.  But As Mr. Paulton Austin, the GAWU Rose Hall representative highlighted, they have millions for the likes of Raj Singh who manages Guysuco by remote control from New Jersey, USA.
If these trends persist, Guysuco will have far too few workers on their payroll to meet production targets and the industry will suffer even more, all because the PPP just does not get the basics as outlined by Mr. Austin,  “the roots of the sugar industry, just like a tree, is what holds the sugar industry up; trim the top!”

I have been writing on this message for years and thus it is not that the PPP is ignorant of the facts; they are just plain wicked as they remain committed to compromise vested interest, political friends and business interests.  Real Guyana is the least of their concern.  It was in service to those vested interests, political friends and business interests that a Chinese firm was commissioned to spend some G$44 billion to build a white elephant at Skeldon, when an Indian, Brazilian or South African firm would have done a much better job for less money.

That is why the majority opposition has to remain firm and unyielding on the Public Procurement Commission; it is time to put a cap on the PPP gravy train and all those billion dollar beach front properties owned and controlled by the white collar criminals who stole them from the people.
 Sasenarine Singh