Florida Muslims making a difference in the vote
MUSTAFA DANDASHLY
 By MUSTAFA DANDASHLY
mdandashly@gmail.com
The words weren’t uttered by an angry protestor or on some right-wing blog. They were uttered by U.S. Rep. Allen West in response to a Muslim man’s questions — at a town hall meeting, of all places: “Don’t try to blow sunshine up my butt . . . put the microphone down and go home.”
On Election Day, Rep. West, a tea-party favorite, suffered a devastating loss to Democratic challenger Patrick Murphy in Florida’s 18th congressional district. West built his political career by defaming and insulting Muslims in America and, this month, American Muslims and their neighbors kicked West out of office. The Muslim community and its allies overwhelmingly supported Murphy with their votes and contributions.
West did not lose because the majority of the people in his congressional district are Muslim. West lost because the American Muslim vote made an unprecedented showing in South Florida. With Murphy’s margin of victory less than 2,000 votes, Muslim community engagement helped other fed-up citizenry stand up against bigotry and hatred. Ironically, the hatred espoused by the likes of West has helped these communities realize the importance of civic engagement. Civic participation through voting has helped the Muslim community put action to the urgency felt by the growing tide of anti-Islamic sentiment.
American Muslims finally have a seat at the table, and they have the numbers to prove it. As a relatively new minority community in the United States, American Muslims have struggled to find their voice and in making that voice heard in the political fray. However, in recent years, this community has seen enormous growth in several swing states, most notably in Florida.
American Muslims have voted both Democratic and Republican in the past, making them a large and important group in the courtship of minority voters around election time.
Florida was a key state in the 2012 presidential elections, with President Obama edging out a win over Gov. Mitt Romney by less than 75,000 votes. Emerge USA, a civic engagement nonprofit organization that focuses on engaging minority communities, specifically the Muslim, Arab and Southeast Asian communities, maintains a database of over 150,000 registered Muslim voters in Florida, with exit polls showing 120,000 of them voted in November. Of these 120,000 votes, an overwhelming 80 percent went to Obama. Sadly, neither party courted the Muslim vote this year, yet the presidential race could have turned out dramatically different without the Muslim American vote.
Stories like West’s are taking place across the country as American Muslims become engaged in the political process with help from organizations like Emerge USA. Many in the community come from backgrounds of political dictatorship and oppression, where voting may not be commonplace and speaking out against the government is particularly dangerous. Civic engagement organizations are serving a largely educational role as the community develops into the political powerhouse it can become.
As newcomers on the scene, Muslims have made great strides in the realization that voting is the simplest, most effective way to influence change in their own lives and in the lives of others.
Contrary to what West believes, American Muslims are indeed Americans. They care about the Constitution, they care about society and they care about domestic issues. A recent poll by Emerge USA shows that 47 percent of Muslim voters polled in Florida believe the economy was the most important issue. Foreign policy garnered a measly 8 percent.
This data shows that American Muslims are here for the same reasons as everyone else — to raise a family, to establish economic stability, and to gain a higher standard of living.
What presidential candidate can afford to lose 150,000 votes in a state as crucial as Florida?
American Muslims, welcome to the table.
Mustafa Dandashly is a student at the FIU College of Law and an advisor to Emerge USA

Read more here: http://www.miamiherald.com/201...e.html#storylink=cpy

Nehru had you read you would have learn. This article was published in the Miamai Herald and has nothing to do with the victory of Barack Hussain Obama. 

Anything to do with muslims is shit for some of you.

What is the point of your Post????   Garbage as usual. This GREAt Country dont evaluate Votes in religious terms. Dat is for Pakistan and other Countries. You want people to believe Muslims elected Barak Obama. You are delusional

Where are you living? Have you not heard over and over about the christian belt and the Jewish votes?

The point of my post is to inform folks like you that yes one day the Muslim votes will mean something .

Nehru Bhai

Dont waste you time with this man. He used to report Indo Guyanese who brought in food from Surinam and he drank liquor and ate Pork. Yet he shows up here speaking about Islam.

He has ZERO credibility. Na waste your time wid him.

Nehru bhai, pay respect and show love for Chief and our Muslim brothers and sisters.

mEH WIFE PACK MEH BAG DIS mARNIN AND LEFT OUT THE cOCONUT cHOKA, now meh rass gat to eat bare Dhal and Rice!!!!

Bhai

You have a kind wife. She packed your lunch for you, she is a woman of true dharma. Today, the young generation fails to adhere to those principles. Look at the positive side, the choka will taste a lot better when you get home. Hopefully, no one else eats it out before you get home. Then you will be really mad.

Bhai, Me nah upset. Meh just dont think the Universe revolves around any ONE Society, Group, Religion .

I just came back from a weekend trip. I feel well relaxed. You need a little outing yourself and stop playing wutlis.

Where are you living? Have you not heard over and over about the christian belt and the Jewish votes?

The point of my post is to inform folks like you that yes one day the Muslim votes will mean something .

Chief,

Be serious. Are you insulting your own intelligence and the intelligence of all muslims in America? Muslims and Hindus in America will not be a factor in the elections for a long time; maybe never. This country will never be an Islamic dictatorship like your brethrens in the ME. Please don't say this around non Guyanese; they will ridicule you.

Nehru Bhai

Dont waste you time with this man. He used to report Indo Guyanese who brought in food from Surinam and he drank liquor and ate Pork. Yet he shows up here speaking about Islam.

My brothers got caught a few times. The police(PNC terrorists) asked for a raise each time and they were released. So maybe it was Chief who reported them? Nice to know. Me tink me bruddas dem no dis bai. Abie ah 5 bruddas yu no. Dem ada 4 prabably no am. Abie na vialent now. So chief can breathe easy.

This GREAT Counter will NEVER become an Islamic State so you better learn to Assimilate.

Calling America a counter is not nice.

Not that I want America to become an Islamic state however Never say never, remember right here on GNI, how many of you were saying that Ameica will never get a black President.

Not only did we get a black President but he was elected for a second term.

Nehru Bhai

Little you know of Chief!!

If you think the PPP old thing of smearing people name will work with me  you are just fooling yourself.

This GREAT Counter will NEVER become an Islamic State so you better learn to Assimilate.

Calling America a counter is not nice.

Not that I want America to become an Islamic state however Never say never, remember right here on GNI, how many of you were saying that Ameica will never get a black President.

Not only did we get a black President but he was elected for a second term.

Chief,

Be serious now. What word is associated with all muslims? Does jihad or martyrdom ring a bell? I supported the black president both times; I also supported a black muslim congressman from Minnesota.

Nehru Bhai

If you think the PPP old thing of smearing people name will work with me  you are just fooling yourself.

We know you hold your head high; no shame. Typical of the PNC, you supported them rigging elections and robbing the people of their rights and livelihoods for 28 years. What else is left?

Chief,

Be serious. Are you insulting your own intelligence and the intelligence of all muslims in America? Muslims and Hindus in America will not be a factor in the elections for a long time; maybe never. This country will never be an Islamic dictatorship like your brethrens in the ME. Please don't say this around non Guyanese; they will ridicule you.

Muslims and Islam is repeated on the media more than any other religious group during and after the elections and you are saying that we will not be a factor.

This article was published in a non Guyanese newspaper, have you ever travelled to Miami, if not ask about the Miami Herald.

I know some of you bigots will find it hard to accept but Muslims are slowly  getting there, currently there are two elected muslim members of Congress.

Nehru Bhai

We know you hold your head high; no shame. Typical of the PNC, you supported them rigging elections and robbing the people of their rights and livelihoods for 28 years. What else is left?

Isn't it a shame that you do not know who Iam and all you are doing is pissing in the wind.

I had lots of Lion brothers that used to live at "down de coast" I hope you are not related to them, they were decent people. Mr Seequar, Doodnauth, Lalman Ragnauth  from N0 70, Black Lion and also some good customers like Moti from No 73 Rice Mill and Marajin from No 69 Ricemill.  

Chief,

Muslims and Islam is repeated on the media more than any other religious group during and after the elections and you are saying that we will not be a factor.

This article was published in a non Guyanese newspaper, have you ever travelled to Miami, if not ask about the Miami Herald.

I know some of you bigots will find it hard to accept but Muslims are slowly  getting there, currently there are two elected muslim members of Congress.

"there are two elected muslim members of Congress."

I don't care what newspaper you obtain your information from. Was it written by a muslim?

These muslims are not from the ME. They have never declared jihad on the US. Hindus should really push Bobby Jindal eh(remember the governor of LA?). Forget it chief. A Muslims cannot even be a VP candidate. The die is cast.

Chief,

I don't care what newspaper you obtain your information from. Was it written by a muslim?

These muslims are not from the ME. They have never declared jihad on the US. Hindus should really push Bobby Jindal eh(remember the governor of LA?). Forget it chief. A Muslims cannot even be a VP candidate. The die is cast.

See unlike some of you who hate other religions Iam happy that Bobby Jindal is a representative of the Hindu community. Iam also delighted that  the first Hindu was elected to Congrees from Hawai this last elections.

Chief,

See unlike some of you who hate other religions Iam happy that Bobby Jindal is a representative of the Hindu community. Iam also delighted that  the first Hindu was elected to Congrees from Hawai this last elections.

I don't care who is elected. Hindu, muslim, buddhist etc. One the person is a democrat. I don't care about Jindal; he is a dull republican(same as Niki Haley) .

I agree 100% they are DULL. Only white ppl have the fire in the bones for change and goes about achieving it. Look at Obama, the man could only TALK, after that, he is like a tube with a hole in it, USELESS.

So Americans voted for a tube with a hole in it?

Nehru Bhai

Your evil deeds as a PNC informer are well known,ask anyone from Skeldon.

Nehru Bhai

My brothers got caught a few times. The police(PNC terrorists) asked for a raise each time and they were released. So maybe it was Chief who reported them? Nice to know. Me tink me bruddas dem no dis bai. Abie ah 5 bruddas yu no. Dem ada 4 prabably no am. Abie na vialent now. So chief can breathe easy.

Nehru Bhai

Chief still in mourning over the execution in India few days ago of a "hero".

Baseman your mind is in the gutter and Iwonder what your children may turn out to be.

Your silly conclusion that a person who slaughtered scores of innocent  people and destroyed the lives of others in India  will be my hero only prove the corrupt state of your mind and your utter hate for muslims.

As the old testament states" Your children's children will inherit what you sow" So  be careful ,that not only your children will be bigots but it pass on to your future generation all because of you.

lET ME ALSO REMIND YOU THAT HATE DESTROY THE CONTAINER THAT'S IT'S IN!!

Chief, Little Heducation, Jindal is NOT HIndu and he is a FOOL. He is also incompetent. Even if he was a Hindu, that would not make him competent. Everything Muslim for you is GOLD. You need to use your brain if you really have one.

Nehru,

Everything muslim is not gold however nothing is wrong for me being a proud muslim. On the other hand if some of you are not proud of your faith then do not blame muslims.

Are you out of mourning?

Baseman your mind is in the gutter and Iwonder what your children may turn out to be.

Your silly conclusion that a person who slaughtered scores of innocent  people and destroyed the lives of others in India  will be my hero only prove the corrupt state of your mind and your utter hate for muslims.

As the old testament states" Your children's children will inherit what you sow" So  be careful ,that not only your children will be bigots but it pass on to your future generation all because of you.

lET ME ALSO REMIND YOU THAT HATE DESTROY THE CONTAINER THAT'S IT'S IN!!

You celebrate anything of harm to non-muslim Indians.