My Gov’t will deliver Amaila Falls Hydro Project to Guyanese - President restates

Written by , Published in News, Georgetown, GINA, December 31, 2014, Source - GINA

Described as Guyana’s largest and most ambitious project to date, the Amaila Falls Hydro Power (AFHP) Project is closer to becoming a reality. This was revealed on December 31, when President Donald Ramotar gave his annual New Year’s Address to the nation.

He announced that, “Norway has transferred earnings from our partnership of approximately US$80 million to the Inter-American Development Bank to fund part of Guyana’s equity share in the project. This is a significant accomplishment.”

The president who described the AFHP as the flagship of the Low Carbon Development Strategy (LCDS), and emphasised that government will continue to invest heavily in the physical infrastructure, “that is so critical to creating jobs and improving livelihoods.”

The realisation of the transformational project, he said, is high amongst government’s priorities, “to ensure the achievement of more affordable and more reliable energy.”  President Ramotar said that for too long, Guyanese have looked forward to harnessing the country’s vast hydropower potential, “The time for realising this dream is long overdue”.

Unreliable and unaffordable electricity, he explained, continues to be the biggest impediment to investment and job creation in Guyana

The Head of State said firmly, “My Government will deliver the Amaila Falls Hydropower Project to the Guyanese people, along with all its attendant benefits.  Within months, we expect to achieve financial close and commence construction, and this project will come into operation during our new term in office”.

The project involves the construction of a hydropower plant in the area of west-central Guyana, where the Amaila and Kuribrong rivers meet. Electricity produced at the plant will be delivered to Guyana's capital, Georgetown, and its second largest town, Linden, by an electric transmission line. Once operational, approximately $9 billion will be saved annually from fuel import.

Only Georgetown and Linden are the projected beneficiary from this massive white PPP elephant. And the Linden connection is primarily designed to offer the Chinese cheap electricity for their bauxite plant. However, bauxite usage has declined in recent years, 

So that brings us to the question about who is going to get access to the electricity and pay the price? As the financial figures now stand, the alleged savings of $9Billion annually will be replaced by interest payments that exceeds that saved amount. So the net effect is that it will cost more to have Amilia falls.

Hydroelectric power projects, in all parts of the world, indeed provide resources to selected areas. No project in the world provides the resources to benefit the entire country.

Hydroelectric power project in Guyana will provide resources primarily to MacKenzie and areas, the route up to Georgetown and beyond.

Also, there are hardly any hydroelectric power projects to benefit Essequibo coast lands, Wakenaam and Leguan.

The expenditures and recovery of costs are independent of savings that will benefit the development of the Amaila Falls hydroelectric power project.

Hydroelectric power projects, in all parts of the world, indeed provide resources to selected areas. No project in the world provides the resources to benefit the entire country.

Hydroelectric power project in Guyana will provide resources primarily to MacKenzie and areas, the route up to Georgetown and beyond.

Also, there are hardly any hydroelectric power projects to benefit Essequibo coast lands, Wakenaam and Leguan.

The expenditures and recovery of costs are independent of savings that will benefit the development of the Amaila Falls hydroelectric power project.

Hey hey hey...wah pussent cut yuh gettin? Hey hey hey...

If you want something of quality, then you have to prepared to spend money.

Hey Hey hey.... Skeldon factory.

Skelldan is wan good wan bai. Is whey we bai Sketel_dan man dey BTW? 

Originally Posted by Prashad:
Burnham hydro man here was also suppose to deliver. What did he deliver?

Then PPP bwoys dreaming, PREZ Ramu will deliver NOTHING, it is just not within his intellectual and managerial remit.

Pending elections and the development of the hydroelectric power project are separate and distinct items.

Let us be serious. And please have respect for YOUR KNOWLEDGE. Do you really believe the PPP has or willing to engage knowledgeable people for such a project?

Hydroelectric power output will be realised under the PPP/C government.

Ramotar going to accomplish this by slapping voters like Jagdeo.

The PPP mus think Guyanese voters stupid like dem.

What is the cut for another PPP mansion. 

There are knowledgeable, experienced and capable individuals with practical experience in the planning / development, construction, supervision and management of hydroelectric power projects.

And how u know that? Name them.

These PPP subcontractors can't even build a road or a bridge without it collapsing in a matter of weeks. Imagine the destruction that a failed water dam would cause. Guyana does not have the know how. The Chinese had to hire foreign engineers to help with their Three Gorges dam. So we wan say with 1000% certainty that the Amelia falls project will result in failure and send Guyana back to the dark ages.

He talking about himself, now we know why the Skeldon factory and fibre network was engineered with failure. The PPP take  was too big...

one fa project ...two fa PPP...

Yea DG abe see knowledge and experience in de Mariott, fiber optic and de Skeldon factry. Hey hey hey...Juss lika da aluh goh gee dem de Amaila na. Hey hey hey...

If knowledgeable in these developments, you would know of many conglomerates engeged with these projects.

As stated on selected topics on GNI, as an Executive Officer and Coordinator for hydroelectric power developments my experience are on projects in Canada, US_of_A, Europe, Africa, South America, etc.

If knowledgeable in these developments, you would know of many conglomerates engeged with these projects.

As stated on selected topics on GNI, as an Executive Officer and Coordinator for hydroelectric power developments my experience are on projects in Canada, US_of_A, Europe, Africa, South America, etc.

You enlighten the unaware ones.

We know you were also the "Coordinator for hydroelectric power" for the PNC...we also know like the PPP, after millions was siphon off to cronys you are still here repeating "Hydro electricity will become a reality"

You enlighten the unaware ones.

Keera mout wah happen bai.

We can't even solve the flooding of GT, let alone build a dam to hold back the water at Amilia.

Whatever DG experience is with projects in the past, they are irrelevant when compared to the size of the projected task. Knowing how to boil water don't make you a chef.

Originally Posted by Prashad:
Burnham hydro man here was also suppose to deliver. What did he deliver?

LOL.

Bunrham hydro man Demerara Guy.  LOL

Hydro what he deliver Prashad?