From today's Kaieteur News

MARCH 16, 2015 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

Dear Editor,
I am extremely disappointed that Bharrat Jagdeo would try to compare his lifestyle to that of my parents, former Presidents Dr. Cheddi Jagan and Mrs. Janet Jagan, and defend his opulent lifestyle by pathetically claiming that my parents also lived in a large house in an affluent community. Nothing could be further from the truth.

I would like to thank Ralph Ramkarran for writing about the matter in his recent article “Discordant Notes”. What Ralph wrotea bout my parent’s lifestyle and their house is all true and to the point. He wrote “In the 1960s, Plantation Bel Air, as it was then known, where Cheddi Jagan’s house is located and where my parents were born, was a poor community of mainly small artisans, farm and city labourers and subsistence cattle and vegetable farmers. Cheddi Jagan’s land, next door to where I was born, grew up and still live, was acquired for $2,000 in the early 1960s. Around that time Belvoir Court was empty land in the 1960s when Cheddi Jagan got his land… In any event, the house that he constructed consisted of only an upper flat of three bedrooms, a tiny study, a small living room and kitchen, modest by the standards of that time or any standards. It is there for anyone to see. The impression given by Dr. Jagdeo that Cheddi Jagan built a mansion, at the time comparable to his own, in an existing exclusive area is completely false and disingenuous.”

This simple, modest but comfortable house was designed by my father and built in 1966. You can visit and see for yourself. At that time there were only a few houses in this area. All the homes that were built much later in this area were much larger and more elaborate, so that the current area is now considered an affluent neighborhood.

My parents, as is well known, devoted and sacrificed their lives for the betterment of the people of Guyana. They did not use their position for personal gains, which would have been very easy to do. Instead, due primarily to their high moral and ethical standards, they chose to live a very simple and comfortable lifestyle. They did not lead an extravagant life. Even when they were both Presidents of Guyana they maintained the same simple lifestyle they had always lived before.

It is sad that no one, especially in the PPP leadership has come forward to challenge these false and misleading claims that Bharrat Jagdeo has made against my parents, except for an old and dear comrade and friend of my parents’– Ralph Ramkarran.

Nadira Jagan-Brancier

Jagdeo is blinded by Power and wealth.  SHAME on him!!!!

How yuh a badmouth de Dactor suh...wha happen he didn't give yuh no injection dis visit....

Last edited by sachin_05
Originally Posted by sachin_05:

Jagdeo is blinded by Power and wealth.  SHAME on him!!!!

How yuh a badmouth de Dactor suh...wha happen he didn't give yuh no injection dis visit....

No but I inject one close to you!!!

Originally Posted by Amral:
That is a bullet to the heart of the PPP party

It may be but will be viewed as an internal party issue.

A lil family disagreement happens all of the time.

The important thing is the PPP is the only Party to deliver real PROGRESS.

Nadira Jagan-Brancier and her brother are individuals expressing their personal views on issues in Guyana.

DG

I agree with your statement 100 Percent.

I would love to hear Nadira's opinion on Moses and Ramjattan working 24x7 to destroy their parents party.

Nadira Jagan-Brancier and her brother are individuals expressing their personal views on issues in Guyana.

DG

I would love to hear Nadira's opinion on Moses and Ramjattan working 24x7 to destroy their parents party.

With all fairness, she does not usually make political statements. This time her beloved father was mentioned so she did the right thing.

And we must respect their rights.

Correct, and that goes for all individuals.

ABSOLUTELY!!!

DG

With all fairness, she does not usually make political statements. This time her beloved father was mentioned so she did the right thing.

Her statement is Very political.

DG

Perhaps, the newspapers will be flooded with her letters, as Dr. Cheddi Jagan's name is mentioned ofter in the news.

yeh...like a dispute on one branch thieving millions and equating themselves with pristine reputation of the  the poorer branch 

DG

Bull... she responded quite eloquently to a grievous mis-statement by someone from whom we expect better. This is not an expression of personal views on "issues in Guyana."

DG

Her statement is Very political.

a stupid comment by a stupid man,i want you to call her a traitor in fact go to babu john and call her that   

DG

yuji, it's not Moses and Ramjattan who destroyed Nadira's parents party. Jagdeo and Rohee and compeers did that. And Nadira Jagan-Brancier knows it. Three years ago, at Babu John, Nadira said her parents had built a working-class party with values of honesty and integrity but some current PPP leaders have “moved away from these very, very important values that held the party together and that makes the PPP what it is.”

Nadira added: “So all I want to say is if the PPP is saying that they are following Cheddi Jagan and Janet Jagan as a living guide, the only way they could follow Cheddi Jagan and Janet Jagan as a living guide is to return to basics, return to who this party is, which is a working class party. Obviously you have to support other people, but the base of the party is a working class party; get back to being a non-corruptible party so that people can’t point a finger and say there is so much corruption.”

Calm down Sister Nadira. You should have stayed home and continue the legacy. But you chose to roll in gold...... with the enemy. You trying to destroy his legacy or what. Its election time. I agree with the corruption thing. Frontier/fourth world countries go through these growing pains. We can always go back to to 1964 - 1992 PNC "honesty" history or we can stay in North America and continue to live out our Gilded Age 2.0.

"But you chose to roll in gold...... with the enemy."

Don't understand what you mean by that.

Two years ago I met Nadira at Babu John.

She was so bitter at what the PPP had become.  They did not invite her; she went on her own.

I remember the Bible story where Jesus took a whip and started beating the hypocrites, saying, " You have made my father's house into a den of thieves." Nadira should do that to them.

Lacking in credibility and morality, the PPP Jagdeoite/Kleptos want to attach themselves to the Jagan brand.

The only Jaganites left are Moses and Ramjattan.  That's why Berbice needs to give them full support.

Originally Posted by Honest:

Calm down Sister Nadira. You should have stayed home and continue the legacy. But you chose to roll in gold...... with the enemy. You trying to destroy his legacy or what. Its election time. I agree with the corruption thing. Frontier/fourth world countries go through these growing pains. We can always go back to to 1964 - 1992 PNC "honesty" history or we can stay in North America and continue to live out our Gilded Age 2.0.

Welcome back. The lady has a right do do what she chooses according to how she perceives the world. I think she see it fine and you need to check yours for glaucoma..age does that.

The idea of going back to te PNC era is ludicrous as expecting the PPP to be as the post '64 communist PPP. The Present ones are a breed unto themselves and they are giving Indians a bad headache.

Note, they do all of their dastardly deeds with the backing of Indians ruining their brand as honest people.

Hi Jay,
The Brancier's have gold investments in Guyana. I was at B John 2 years ago
also.

Reg.
LM

On Mon, Mar 16, 2015 at 5:37 PM, Guyana News and Information Community <
alerts@hoop.la> wrote:

Are you suggesting the woman has no right to reproach such idiotic comments? People anywhere in the world comment on any event anywhere else in the world. Why is there the idea that Guyanese in NA should not comment on issues in Guyana?

Hi Jay,
also.

Reg.
LM

alerts@hoop.la> wrote:

Ramotar sat on OMAI's board. The AG sits on Goldfields investments so if the lady is into the precious stuff that is her business.

Hi Jay,
also.

Reg.
LM

alerts@hoop.la> wrote:

Latchman bhai, what's your point? Many of us here have investment interests in Guyana.

D-G, have you read Nadira's piece? She's talking about Dr. Jagan and his residence and lifestyle.

How does the article jive with your retort - "individuals expressing their personal views on issues in Guyana."?

how do you expect readers here to take you seriously when you are3 incapable of digesting simple English comprehension?

D-G, have you read Nadira's piece? She's talking about Dr. Jagan and his residence and lifestyle.

How does the article jive with your retort - "individuals expressing their personal views on issues in Guyana."?

how do you expect readers here to take you seriously when you are3 incapable of digesting simple English comprehension?

That is what the beef is about. Jagdeo's comment on CBJ living quarters. I see nothing wrong with Jagdeo's comment. The Jagans did not live in a logie as at the time many impoverished Indians were living in logies or mud walled houses. If the PPP was a working class party, then it represented the sugar belt Indoes. Urban Indoes were basically self-employed.

Times have changed. The leadership of the party has changed. They are still the Stalinist-which suits the heirs. Incidentally, the party is now dominated by the families of previous stalwarts.

DG

yuji, it's not Moses and Ramjattan who destroyed Nadira's parents party. Jagdeo and Rohee and compeers did that. And Nadira Jagan-Brancier knows it. Three years ago, at Babu John, Nadira said her parents had built a working-class party with values of honesty and integrity but some current PPP leaders have “moved away from these very, very important values that held the party together and that makes the PPP what it is.”

Nadira added: “So all I want to say is if the PPP is saying that they are following Cheddi Jagan and Janet Jagan as a living guide, the only way they could follow Cheddi Jagan and Janet Jagan as a living guide is to return to basics, return to who this party is, which is a working class party. Obviously you have to support other people, but the base of the party is a working class party; get back to being a non-corruptible party so that people can’t point a finger and say there is so much corruption.”

Who is fighting toe to toe against the PPP ? Last time I checked it was Moses and Ramjattan.

They will eventually become the most scorned politicians in Guyana.

Moses and Ramjattan, the real PPP Jaganites, are fighting the PPP Jagdeoites/Kleptocrats.  I hope they win!

The PPP has disgraced and demonized Indians as thieves in the eyes of others. Fortunately, the working poor Indians and Blacks do not condone the stealing of state resources.  Every race punishing.

I was at Babu John last year and she edited The West on Trial and added her name and sold it to Indians. The money was converted to Canadian $ .....

The Jagan family has the copyright to The West on Trial.

Nadira adapted and updated it while her mother Janet Jagan was alive. Nothing illegal. Regardless of whether the proceeds were converted to Canadian dollars to cover costs, the fact is that Nadira Jagan has been contributing her time, money and other resources to the Cheddi Jagan Research Centre since its inception.

ABSOLUTELY!!!

Quite an exchange here...did anyone learn anything from this?

Oi Kari hope you see there was some discussion on this post, hehehe...there are buttheads in every group..we're seeing it on GNI with these fellas.