Nagamootoo’s attack “uncouth,  unwarranted”

PPP/C Prime Ministerial Candidate, Elisabeth Harper

…for belittling Harper’s domestic abuse – Minister Webster

The People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) has defended its Prime Ministerial Candidate, Elisabeth Harper against a vicious attack by the PNC-led A Partnership for National Unity- Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) Prime Ministerial Candidate, Moses Nagamootoo at its Whim Rally in Berbice last Sunday.

Speaking at a specially-convened press conference at Freedom House on Thursday, Human Services and Social Security Minister Jenifer Webster and Agriculture Minister, Dr Leslie Ramsammy defended the character and work of the former Director General of the Foreign Service now Prime Ministerial Candidate, while condemning Nagamootoo for attacking her.

According to Webster, Nagamootoo was disrespectful in his attempt to score cheap political points off of the highly-regarded diplomat. She noted that the comments Nagamootoo made regarding Harper being a domestic violence survivor and taking such a stance were “uncouth and unwarranted”.

“The recent attack on the PPP/C Prime Ministerial Candidate, Mrs Elisabeth Harper by the Prime Ministerial Candidate of the APNU/AFC coalition, Moses Nagamootoo where he said at a recent rally in Berbice: ‘this Harper lady wants to be Prime Minister because she was a victim of domestic violence’ is unwarranted. Mr Nagamootoo was facetious in an effort to score political points,” she told media operatives.

She went on to state that such statements did not augur well in a society where all efforts were being made to place more emphasis on women’s rights, more particularly the empowerment of women and the elimination of domestic violence in the country while calling for the respect due to women to be given.

Webster said that any attack on the women of this country meant that the conventions the country had signed on to were being disregarded and broken.

“Women are the backbone of this country. Our men must respect our women. To attack any woman shows disregard for the several United Nations Conventions which Guyana as a country has signed onto including the Convention to Eliminate All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW), which Guyana has ratified… Mrs Harper upon her nomination sought to tell this nation about her life and the abuse she suffered as a young woman. She sought to share her experiences about how women abused by their partners could overcome…To score cheap political points against someone else’s life story is uncouth. We must respect each other…,” Webster expressed.

No comparison

According to the Minister, Nagamootoo can never and must never compare himself to Harper since she was a woman who has served Guyana with the highest level of professionalism and loyalty for the past 40 years. “Ambassador is a true patriot and an outstanding diplomat who has given almost 40 years of her life and service in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and by extension the public service as a whole. And here again, we see her in the high political office as another form of service to the population. She brings confidence to the PPP given her leadership qualities that she has displayed over the past years, representing the country at an international level as an established diplomat with a proven track record.”

Meanwhile, Dr Ramsammy asserted that Harper was a woman who has held the respect of many for the past years and as such, has the Party’s full support in her bid as the PPP/C’s Prime Ministerial Candidate.

Only last week, former APNU MP Africo Selman harshly criticised Nagamootoo’s running mate David Granger for his alleged “anti-woman” stance. Selman has accused Granger of using the hardworking women within his party as a front to give the impression that the party respects women and has a plan for their overall development and upward mobility. But, she said, in reality, Granger wanted to relegate them to subservient roles.

Selman, who threw her support behind the ruling PPP/C back in January after claiming she experienced the worst forms of emotional, verbal and psychological abuse within the Opposition camp, spoke at several political public meetings for the ruling party over the past few weeks. She addressed crowds gathered at Soesdyke, East Bank Demerara and Yarrowkabra, located on the Linden Highway, telling them that the coalition and some of its male members, including those at its helm, were sidelining women and young ladies who have dissenting, independent views and wanted to be promoted to senior postings on the basis of meritocracy.

Selman condemned what she called the “sheer hypocrisy” and “window dressing” occurring with the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR) and APNU as she called on Guyanese present at the PPP/C’s meetings to take a stance against the abuse, misuse and maltreatment of women in politics. “They are saying one thing and doing another. They are using women as a front and they are ill-treating and sidelining them behind the scenes,” she said as she shared her own experiences with the crowd. “They want to just keep us ‘barefoot and pregnant’.”

In an invited comment, Housing and Water Minister Irfaan Ali said, “Nagamootoo has finally found an environment in which he can finally express all his misogynistic and self-abasing sentiments. He would have been severely reprimanded and disciplined for such statements if he were still in the PPP/C.”

Originally Posted by alena06:

His entire conduct is unprofessional and unfit for a leader.  People have zero RESPECT for him.

What do you expect from a domestic abuser? You remember when people use to look at somebody's face and say "da man look ignarant"? I see that in Moses.

Nagamootoo's comments regarding Ms. Harper were extremely appropriate.

If you want to see inappropriate treatment of women talk to JAgdeo and ask him if he find dem marrid papers yet..........

Ask him if he did indeed put the woman to sleep wid a security guard outside at state house.

If you want to see inappropriate treatment of women talk to JAgdeo and ask him if he find dem marrid papers yet..........

Ask him if he did indeed put the woman to sleep wid a security guard outside at state house.

You jealous. The man ignored and dumped you. You wanted Prime Ministerial lolo and "you nah get am"?

Stop brushin yuh teeth wid jagdeo lolo man quit dat nastiness.

I am personally sorry for him as he deserves better.

Look ...like a Convict Drop someone pants here and finger them up good & Prapa.

He does not have to sell his dignity to be accepted.

Pandit Ramlall ask the Perfect Question....Why would anyone leave their sick mother in Hospital.....and run to a Rumshop...at the Invitation of Baldeo. FUH FREE-RUM

As you get older, you need to know when to quit

Then tell Albert .....Na worry...U finger de Best.....

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

What level of comments?

Try to raise the level of discussion.

Who would expect this comment from......

a chap that Baldeo had running around Bare-Batty ......

after they crank him up with their fingers.

Pandit Ramlall....say when yuh run fuh free rum.....

na complain wha catch yuh.

Pandit Gee say.....

Vishnu must Stop lying and respect Real Leaders.....

"U and Kwame bring Shame & Disgrace to Indians"

AH DE SAME RUM-SUCKER VISHNU......

TALKING ABOUT MOSES.....

AFTER TEKING FINGER AT DE RUMSHOP DA DAY.....

VISHNU GO BACK AGAIN FYH MO FINGER FROM BALDEO....

HE MUST BE IN DE BACK DAM FUH CANE RIGHT NOW.....

https://youtu.be/HkNnp7-umKI

Baldeo say .......Vishnu is a Top Cane Cutter....

AYA WATCH DE CANE CUTTER CRY NOW....

Vishnu & Rama from de Back Dam......

and Dem claiming.....

Moses come fron the Gutter....

Come May 11th...

Dem gon still be in De Back Dam....

Fuh Cane Again.....

Originally Posted by Vish M:

Aleem,

You belong to the cesspool, it is a quote from your former wife.

She is a classy lady.

Get a life or a wife.

Shanty Amar , still wants payment for her rental.

There is no need to refer to a poster by his real name. This is an online forum where we all subscribe to assumed anonymity regardless of if that person is known to some or all of us.

Whether or not his ex wife said that is not your business. Don't be an antiman by getting between people and their exes. I'm sure if I asked your ex wife, she'd say she screwed around on you justifiably since you couldn't lay down the pipe as it were. But you see that would be unfair. And I wouldn't go there.

As for the rest, if Shanty Amar has an issue with him she knows where to find him. Unless you are Aleem's wannabe wife who people contact instinctively when he's unavailable.

And FYI....you were never above taking a few bucks from Baldeo and to be at his beck and call even after the infamous Pony Tail Decapitation Incident. That I will vouch for based on personal knowledge. Your involvement with him was no secret. You even offered your services to attempt to entrap me in breaking the law or at least appear to break the law. It only failed because you two wrongly assumed I like all coolie man is moved by money. Although I will say Albert at least started the bidding with me in the tens of thousands. Shows he still at least had some iota of respect for me. With you, he just tossed a few hundred bucks your way and you were bought.

Aleem,

She is a classy lady.

Get a life or a wife.

Vishnu you can talk about past, present or future wife....

that's ok....

I respect them all....and

I respect other peoples wife too.

but I hope when I things are said about yours

yuh can take it...

mine are Classy and Decent

and you are correct....

They never made the Marriage a Spectator Sport

for me...

YUh upset because you say Moses from De Gutta....

And I just repeating what Pandit Gee say about you....

If Pandit Gee Wrong...... leh abee know.......

Na Jump pon Wife Story....

Yuh know yuh cant Blame De Lady....

after Dem Bhai Finger yuh....

Originally Posted by Mars:

Vish went to Nareesa Hall looking for some soup but the Coalition Soup Nazi said "No Soup for You."  

LMAO

Didn't anyone in the Guyana delegation have a spare $500 Guyana dollars lying around somewhere they coulda gee dis hungry belly daag?

His entire conduct is unprofessional and unfit for a leader.  People have zero RESPECT for him.

A very appropriate comment with respect to Jagdeo !...

I guess his approach of its all fair in politics does not seems to work here with Harper.

She is a seasoned diplomat not a political hack!

Seasoned diplomats do not become political hacks...Ms. Harper is being used by the Jagdeo/Ramouthar cabal to present an untainted face as the prime ministerial candidate....she allowed herself to be used as

window dressing....

Aleem,

She is a classy lady.

Get a life or a wife.

There is no need to refer to a poster by his real name. This is an online forum where we all subscribe to assumed anonymity regardless of if that person is known to some or all of us.

Whether or not his ex wife said that is not your business. Don't be an antiman by getting between people and their exes. I'm sure if I asked your ex wife, she'd say she screwed around on you justifiably since you couldn't lay down the pipe as it were. But you see that would be unfair. And I wouldn't go there.

As for the rest, if Shanty Amar has an issue with him she knows where to find him. Unless you are Aleem's wannabe wife who people contact instinctively when he's unavailable.

And FYI....you were never above taking a few bucks from Baldeo and to be at his beck and call even after the infamous Pony Tail Decapitation Incident. That I will vouch for based on personal knowledge. Your involvement with him was no secret. You even offered your services to attempt to entrap me in breaking the law or at least appear to break the law. It only failed because you two wrongly assumed I like all coolie man is moved by money. Although I will say Albert at least started the bidding with me in the tens of thousands. Shows he still at least had some iota of respect for me. With you, he just tossed a few hundred bucks your way and you were bought.

Shaitan .....Salty think everybody stupid.....

Pandit put he to his place....

Pandit from Skeldon....Pandit know da boy history good....

that's why Pandit tell him on a Sunday u (Vishnu) should be in the Mandir praying before running fuh free rum and finger.

I know you are not a Mandir or Masjid regular.

But I know ....also....you do not chase after lil free Rum.

And Further....Shaitan na gon tek Fingering.

So Vishnu can say what he want....

Da do not make him different from Kwame

Both ah dem saying Moses from de gutta

Originally Posted by Mars:

Vish went to Nareesa Hall looking for some soup but the Coalition Soup Nazi said "No Soup for You."  

LMAO

Didn't anyone in the Guyana delegation have a spare $500 Guyana dollars lying around somewhere they coulda gee dis hungry belly daag?

Bhai Baldeo use to pitch in a small piece now and them.

Why yuh think Baldeo can mek de banna

lef he sick mother in hospital

and come fuh pull off De Bukta....

and catch lil feel.... freely.

Free Rum got strings attached...

Bukta String so Baldeo can play with de merchandise

and give all ee Drunk friend dem a free feel.

Na me talk da.....

Official Court Records.

"Free Rum....Free Feel"

Now....Let Salty tell us 

Who come from De Gutta?

Bare Batty Vishnu....

or Prime Minister Moses

Dont waste your time with these people on this matter. It is a non issue. The gentleman said nothing.

All yuh should have has the same disdain when anil "blankman" Nandlall de chat3 was carrying on about wanting to know who de lil female reporter was.

Should have had the same disdain or more when the pedophile was put on the rights of a child commission until you get there haul all yuh ***** one side.

This election is not about Jagdeo.  It is about Moses, a racist,  who hates women.

Elizabeth Karper is more qualified than Nagamootoo to be Prime Minister. 

Ironic for a party whose whole structure is infected with people who genuinely dislike Black people is now hiding behind a Black woman's skirt now that they're being called to account for their misrule even by their one time Indian supporters.

God (if indeed he exists) must have a great sense of humor.

This election is not about Jagdeo.  It is about Moses, a racist,  who hates women.

You forget Moses cannot match your pitiful old behind with racism. You matriculated from the school  of the dumb cast conscious loogieites. The lady's name is Harper not Karper. And she has nothing in her provenance that she ever fought for any issue in her life. She was a loyal PPP grunt trudging in their token Neg.roes backroom. Moses on the other hand was out there in the trenches fighting for breed and butter issues that the PPP in their quest to steal more than Markos, has forgotten

Moses was always a racist in the PPP.  He still is.  he cannot fool the PNC. They are only using his to get a few votes.   Listen to his speeches and you will know what kind of person Moses is.  That frog face is pathetic.

Vish, you should pay attention to Shaits. There's wisdom in his words to stay out of other people's marriage history. If you are described in unflattering terms because of support for a political party (PPP) or you disparaging remarks against a politician (Moses Nagamootoo), then respond with appropriateness. Do not invite the retorts from Jalil in digging up unsavory events of the past. Jalil's reference to your estrangement with Pandit Ramlall has been worked out in other threads before without resort to the stuff Shaitaan addressed. It's not Jalil's past relationship with females that is in question, it's his associating you with the likes of former PNC thugs now in favored positions in the PPP that I see him throwing at you, given your public postings on the Hut incident involving Baldeo. That's what you need to respond to; not Jalil's ex- relationships.

Moses was always a racist in the PPP.  He still is.  he cannot fool the PNC. They are only using his to get a few votes.   Listen to his speeches and you will know what kind of person Moses is.  That frog face is pathetic.

Rama, we understand your emotional state, and do sympathize with your worried engagement with the personna of Moses Nagamootoo. We do expect wide variances of the truth you espouse regarding Moses. Nagamootoo too will consider care as a response to your unstable rantings about untruths you hold to be gospel.

Vish, you should pay attention to Shaits. There's wisdom in his words to stay out of other people's marriage history. If you are described in unflattering terms because of support for a political party (PPP) or you disparaging remarks against a politician (Moses Nagamootoo), then respond with appropriateness. Do not invite the retorts from Jalil in digging up unsavory events of the past. Jalil's reference to your estrangement with Pandit Ramlall has been worked out in other threads before without resort to the stuff Shaitaan addressed. It's not Jalil's past relationship with females that is in question, it's his associating you with the likes of former PNC thugs now in favored positions in the PPP that I see him throwing at you, given your public postings on the Hut incident involving Baldeo. That's what you need to respond to; not Jalil's ex- relationships.

I doan think Salty understands that disagreements on politics does not mean one then attacks the man who holds the offending opinions.

It's time Indian people grow up. If an Indian wants to support a certain party or candidate then that is his business and right which we should not only respect but defend. This is why good educated brilliant people avoid politics like the plague among Indians. They cannot handle this nonsense. And I doan blame them.

This Jaganite shyte must stop. If we engage each other on political discussions, let's do so based on argument. Let's not cuss down and demonize each other. This is why only the last class of Indian is attracted to politics. Those who have no shame or conscience and truly don't care what the public says or thinks. The thickest skinned Indians are not always best.

thank god you are not people and do not count,no body in the ppp government serve with honer and distinction 

he is a true guyanese you remember that he will go down in the history books

So when are you going to start writing these history books?

Alena06, that Guyana Times (sic!) article has one theme among the many words of distraction - to wit Moses Nagamootoo simply states an attribute that the PPP has been selling about Harper's Prime Ministerial suitability - a domestic abuse survivor.

Not sure what this post is intended to be other than to provide a platform for a political attack with words strung together that don't make sense. It's laughable! Really!

what you accomplished Alena is for someone to respond with brushing teeth with lolo, followed by Vish's entry into a distracting commentary that elicited Jalil's painting of  Vishnu into a corner using Pandit Ramlall's characterizations about him; then Shaitaan's words of advise, etc. Are you happy about what you've authored with this useless thread?

Kari - the article surely has portrayed it's message that certainly angered you.  Your idol Naga opens his mouth from time to time to spew garbage.

Just SHUT the hell up and get off my thread.

Kari - the article surely has portrayed it's message that certainly angered you.  Your idol Naga opens his mouth from time to time to spew garbage.

No body owns the thread. It is a discussion board and once your thread is posted it is a free for all. You have to defend the position you chose and not get angry and fume. Moses spoke the truth. This lady has as much credibility on domestic violence as jagdeo when he said he had a wife

Alena, go easy on Kari.

Next thing you know, they will run to admin and whine and complain like a bunch of cry babies.

PNC has become a party of Cry Babies.

Alena, go easy on Kari.

Next thing you know, they will run to admin and whine and complain like a bunch of cry babies.

PNC has become a party of Cry Babies.

Hay puss.y, your mama sold kisses to sailors and more. Ever wondered why you look like you have many fathers? You do! Now run to the admin!