Govt plugs $29M into PM’s residence

… to go with $20M salary and $100M SUV

The Government has approved in excess of $29 million towards renovation works to be done at the residence of the

The residence of the Prime Minister, Main Street, Georgetown

Prime Minister.
Shortly after election into office, Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo had refused to move into the State residence, saying that it was unfit for inhabitance and would only move in after it is upgraded. Government had initially estimated the total cost of the rehabilitation works to be some $18 million.
However, at the post Cabinet briefing on Friday, Minister of State Joseph Harmon, disclosed that Cabinet has given its no objection to the award of a contract for renovations works at the Prime Ministers’ residence. The contact was approved to the value of $29,328,078 and was awarded to contractor, Ivor Allen.
This figure has raised eyebrows as persons continue to take note of the lavish spending by the A Partnership for National Unity/Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC) Administration. This $29 million will be added to the $20 million for to the Office of the Prime Minister, a $22 million on a duty-free land cruiser, over $10 million in furniture for his residence, salaries over $1.7 million retrospective to July, 2015 and a pension, even if he is to retire tomorrow, that will be higher than the pension enjoyed by any former Presidents, muchless past Prime Ministers.
As it relates to the works to be done at his residence,  Guyana Times understands that the scope of the works to be done include roofing and sheeting, external and internal carpentry works, tiling, plumping, electrical and painting and lacquering, as well as other preliminary works.
A source close to the project told this newspaper that the works listed to be done are only to fix basic damages to the building and that additional works will be done under Capital Expenses.
According to the source, the Public Infrastructure Ministry was working closely with the National Trust of Guyana to

Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo

Prime Minister
Moses Nagamootoo

carry out the works, since the residence is a national heritage building. He explained that the organisation raised several concerns about the design of the heritage building and is monitoring the repair works to ensure that this is not destroyed. But he has assured that all procedures will be followed so that the architecture of the building is maintained.
The Engineer explained that external carpentry works on the building include extensive repairs to the northern side of the building and on the tower, which leaks, as well as the shutters around the building. He noted that the building has Demerara shutters and they have difficulties scouring new ones so they will replace those that need to be changed.
As it relates to the internal works, the specialist pointed out that because the building is old, there are a lot of repairs to be done, especially to the walls. “The internal walls are made of pitch pine wood so we will have to do some changes to that because we see a lot of ‘granny sugar’ in the walls and other issues. So we will definitely be reconfiguring internally and definitely do some changes to those walls that are defective,” he stated.
Other internal works includes tiling in the bathroom area as well as plumbing. He stated that there was some seepage in the bathrooms that caused damages to the tiles. The engineer added that repairs will have to be done in the main bathroom which had leakage problems while the galvanised piping from the other bathrooms will be replaced.
Since Government had published the invitation for tender inviting firms to bid for the project, over 20 companies have applied for the contact to carry out works on the official residence of the Prime Minister.

These folks like Naga and Granger have no intention to move the nation forward, their goal is to squat in office and increase their wealth at the expense of the Guyanese taxpayers. I warned of this prior to the elections, now it has come to fruition, and their excuse is that if the PPP can do it so can we. 

It is not his house that he is repairing. It belong to the citizens of Guyana. So. if the building is falling apart, I say repair it. Just make sure that the People are not over-charged by rip-off contractors, like those in the last government.

Originally Posted by Bibi Haniffa:

I wonder if he has a gold toilet like Idi Amin.

Why don't you haul your arse Alexei Rumtar.

You know that all Prime Minister who occupy the office have to live in some dignity.  Why your wild comment?

Originally Posted by Bourdaboy:

It is not his house that he is repairing. It belong to the citizens of Guyana. So. if the building is falling apart, I say repair it. Just make sure that the People are not over-charged by rip-off contractors, like those in the last government.

Nonsense, he will squat in this house for years. Meanwhile the hospitals, police, schools and more needy institutions suffer from lack of funding while one man gets 29 million for his sole comfort. Do you see anything wrong with this picture?

You know that all Prime Minister who occupy the office have to live in some dignity.  Why your wild comment?

This is no excuse, not because the PPP allegedly misused public fund justifies the pillaging of the nation's coffers by this new bunch of crooks.

I was talking about all PM around the world.  

Nonsense, he will squat in this house for years. Meanwhile the hospitals, police, schools and more needy institutions suffer from lack of funding while one man gets 29 million for his sole comfort. Do you see anything wrong with this picture?

Good point.

Good point.

PNC is governing with their fat Pigs who are sucking the blood of Guyanese taxpayers.

HE IS IN THE GUINNESS BOOK OF RECORDS AS THE BEST HOUSE SLAVE EVER.  THIS SHAMEFUL MAN WENT TO BERBICE AND LIED TO THE PEOPLE THAT HIS COALITION WITH PNC WOULD BRING CHANGE, AND HE WAS RIGHT, CHANGE RESOURCES FROM THE HARK WORKING CITIZENS TO HIW WALLET!!!  SWINES I TELL YOU, SWINES WILL CLEAN UP EVERYTHING!!!

We must not forget that he told Indo Rice Farmers that he will get them $ 9000 per bag.

Moses give them an empty rice bag. What a scumbag !

True, and he will employ more toilet cleaners, garbage collectors and couple Dhobi Wallahs, not sure what the fuss is all about.  The banna is going to provide some employment and provide bread and water for some families.  It is what it's all about, good old capitalist trickle-down theory.  The old Commie learning fast!

We must not forget that he told Indo Rice Farmers that he will get them $ 9000 per bag.

They will vote his arse out next elections. 

What was "Jags -de-hoe" doing at State House with Kwame?  Not squatting, bgurding.

nannie whine, nannie whine down low.

What was "Jags -de-hoe" doing at State House with Kwame?  Not squatting, bgurding.

What does Jagdeo's activity with Kwame have to do with Nagamootoo raking in top dollars from one of the poorest economies in the world? The man has no shame. He living the high life while police, teachers, nurses and sugar workers barely subsist on their salary.

That existed under the PPP/C for the past 23 years under the PPP/C whilst they bloodsuckers built up Pradoville 1, 2 & 3.

Two wrongs don't make a right. The coalition was supposed to be a party of changes, putting the people of Guyana over personal gain. You were one of their most vocal supporter, now you settle for the status quo and mediocrity as you condone glaring acts of excess by this administration. 

images

This is Krishna's creation and He once took this form on earth.  

MR.NAGAMOOTOO,...THANKS EVER SO MUCH FOR JOINING TOGETHER YOU HAVE STUCK IT OUT, WE PLAYED THE TAPES OF YOUR MEETINGS OFTEN, TO GET SOME LAUGHS,..

MR. GRANGER, now MR. PRESIDENT, WAS ALWAYS TO THE POINT, BUT SIMPLE ON THOSE PLATFORMS, You were Honest.....

you cut down the mighty PPP with the Help from

Moses our Prime Minister

BUT OUR HERO IS MOSES, YOU HAD SOME FIRE WHEN YOU WERE SPEAKING, SEEMED, PEOPLE WERE GOING TO THOSE MEETINGS NOT ONLY TO HEAR WHAT THE APNU/AFC WOULD ACCOMPLISHED FOR THEM, BUT ALSO TO HAVE SOME LAUGHS (you have a way with words).   congrats for your for being the BEST PRIME MINISTER of Guyana, we are depending upon you.

TO THE FIRST LADY OF GUYANA, MRS. DAVID GRANGER, WELCOME, IT'S A PRIVILEGE TO HAVE YOU,

We know our President will never lock the First Lady out the Room ....

for any other Lady, Man or Anti-man....

We know our President will not put you thru

what Sister Varshni was forced to live with....

Bharat have no respect for Hindus or Indians.

A WELCOME ALSO TO MRS. MOSES NAGAMOOTOO, NOW GUYANESE HAS TWO EXTRA SISTERS. BOTH OF YOU HAVE BEEN SIDE BY SIDE WITH YOUR SPOUSES AT THOSE MEETINGS, GUYANESE DO APPRECIATE IT. 

We now can sleep better, knowing that God has heard and answered Guyanese citizens prayers.  God bless you all.

And we Understand...

The Funny Fellas & Crab Louse..

who Supported the Previous Thieves

will attack you Daily....

Until they Run Mad.....

We know they cannot thief anymore....

and look....da ah hut dem bad....

Let us see ...

Dem Gal will Cry till 2020....

SO THE PNC WILL CONTINUE DOING THE SAME, RIGHT.

images

This is Krishna's creation and He once took this form on earth.  

MR.NAGAMOOTOO,...THANKS EVER SO MUCH FOR JOINING TOGETHER YOU HAVE STUCK IT OUT, WE PLAYED THE TAPES OF YOUR MEETINGS OFTEN, TO GET SOME LAUGHS,..

MR. GRANGER, now MR. PRESIDENT, WAS ALWAYS TO THE POINT, BUT SIMPLE ON THOSE PLATFORMS, You were Honest.....

you cut down the mighty PPP with the Help from

Moses our Prime Minister

BUT OUR HERO IS MOSES, YOU HAD SOME FIRE WHEN YOU WERE SPEAKING, SEEMED, PEOPLE WERE GOING TO THOSE MEETINGS NOT ONLY TO HEAR WHAT THE APNU/AFC WOULD ACCOMPLISHED FOR THEM, BUT ALSO TO HAVE SOME LAUGHS (you have a way with words).   congrats for your for being the BEST PRIME MINISTER of Guyana, we are depending upon you.

TO THE FIRST LADY OF GUYANA, MRS. DAVID GRANGER, WELCOME, IT'S A PRIVILEGE TO HAVE YOU,

We know our President will never lock the First Lady out the Room ....

for any other Lady, Man or Anti-man....

We know our President will not put you thru

what Sister Varshni was forced to live with....

Bharat have no respect for Hindus or Indians.

A WELCOME ALSO TO MRS. MOSES NAGAMOOTOO, NOW GUYANESE HAS TWO EXTRA SISTERS. BOTH OF YOU HAVE BEEN SIDE BY SIDE WITH YOUR SPOUSES AT THOSE MEETINGS, GUYANESE DO APPRECIATE IT. 

We now can sleep better, knowing that God has heard and answered Guyanese citizens prayers.  God bless you all.

And we Understand...

will attack you Daily....

Until they Run Mad.....

and look....da ah hut dem bad....

Let us see ...

Young Man, your post bears no relevance to the TOPIC, try stay on course for a change.

And we Understand...

will attack Moses Daily....

Until they Run Mad.....

and look....

da ah hut dem bad....

Let us see ...

Young Man, your post bears no relevance to the TOPIC, try stay on course for a change.

Originally Posted by alena06:

They will vote his arse out next elections. 

eh, eh....alena06 using some un-lady-like language deh....tarass...

Two wrongs don't make a right.

Thanks for admitting to the wrongs of the PPP/C for the past 23 years. Would you agree to Taxing all of them and retroactively?

Two wrongs don't make a right.

Thanks for admitting to the wrongs of the PPP/C for the past 23 years. Would you agree to Taxing all of them and retroactively?

You can hang Jagdeo for all I care if you see fit. So far your party has failed to jail one PPPite who robbed the nation's coffers.  But yet you condone the opulent spending on lifestyle and comfort for these new breed of crooks. 

Was this building occupied prior to the new government? If so, by who?

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Was this building occupied prior to the new government? If so, by who?

Kaz, Sam Hinds and his family occupied that same building until a few days after May 11. They had occupied it for 23 years. Before them, the then pre-1992 Prime Minister Hamilton Green and his wife Dr Jennifer Basdeo-Green had occupied it. In the colonial days the Financial Secretary lived there.

The building is a national heritage site. It is not Nagamootoo's private property. He will live there as long as he hold's the Prime Minister's post. Whether he occupies it or not, the building needs upgrading.

Kaz, Sam Hinds and his family occupied that same building until a few days after May 11. They had occupied it for 23 years. Before them, the then pre-1992 Prime Minister Hamilton Green and his wife Dr Jennifer Basdeo-Green had occupied it. In the colonial days the Financial Secretary lived there.

The building is a national heritage site. It is not Nagamootoo's private property. He will live there as long as he hold's the Prime Minister's post. Whether he occupies it or not, the building needs upgrading.

Exactly my point Gilly. If Hinds occupied it just before the change of government, why would the AFC which claims to pride itself on commonsense governance need to spend that much to make it habitable for the new Prime Minister? Seems like a contradiction.

becazz ah we dayzz now!

The AFC was not supposed to let power get to their head though. That is the kind of thing we only expect from the PPP and PNC.

Kaz, as the responsible owner of any house knows, you have to repair and renovate and repaint periodically or else your house will deteriorate. The official Prime Minister's residence has not been repaired for about 30 years. Sam Hinds could have requested some renovation; only he knows why he failed to do so.

The furniture in the building are old too. Sam and Yvonne wuk down the bed fo 23 years and bruk up de bed-spring and stain up de mattress. Yuh want Moses and Sita lie down pon da same bed?

Kaz, as the responsible owner of any house knows, you have to repair and renovate and repaint periodically or else your house will deteriorate. The official Prime Minister's residence has not been repaired for about 30 years. Sam Hinds could have requested some renovation; only he knows why he failed to do so.

The furniture in the building are old too. Sam and Yvonne wuk down the bed fo 23 years and bruk up de bed-spring and stain up de mattress. Yuh want Moses and Sita lie down pon da same bed?

I don't see a problem with a change of furniture. I just can't see how the residence was a pig pen before May 11th.

Moses is on record as saying he found dead rats in the oven when he visited the house in June.

That would be a bad situation. Rats give me the heebeejeebees. My ranting about rats in New York is not pretense.

The leader of the opposition is a rat.

Maybe that was what Moses saw in the oven.