PM’s former assistant gets jail sentence

Abel Seetaram, a former special assistant to Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo, was involved in a

Abel Seetaram

vehicular accident on May 8, last. Yesterday, he was found guilty of three charges in relation to the accident.
Seetaram, of Woodley Park, West Coast Berbice, was on trial before Magistrate Rhondell Weever at the Blairmont Magistrate’s court. He was charged with driving in a dangerous manner. He was also charged with being an unlicensed driver and with breach of insurance.
Seetaram failed to appear in court and was sentenced in his absence.
On the dangerous driving charge he was fined $30,000 with an alternative of 32 days in jail. On the unlicenced driver charge he was fined $25,000 or 21 days in jail; and on the charge of breach of insurance he was fined $15,000 or 21 days in jail.
A committal order was issued for his arrest.
The prosecution’s case is that on the day in question, Seetaram was driving a government SUV on the Bath Public Road at a fast rate of speed when he lost control and crashed into a fence, knocking out some of the uprights and damaging several structures at the Bath Market. He subsequently crashed into a fence. The impact caused considerable damage.
Seetaram was taken to the Fort Wellington Hospital and subsequently the New Amsterdam Hospital.
He was also absent when the case was first called and the Magistrate ordered that a summons be served on him
Seetaram was subsequently dismissed from the Office of The Prime Minister.

This is a friggin Joke right???  So if he pays the fine, which he will, there is no Jail time. Only in PNC Guyana.

Did you complain when Romatar's son cripple a poor man? There are a couple of others who skated after serious accidents.

This is a friggin Joke right???  So if he pays the fine, which he will, there is no Jail time. Only in PNC Guyana.

Did you complain when Romatar's son cripple a poor man? There are a couple of others who skated after serious accidents.

You always deflect and and defend?  Is it an art you have mastered?

Ramotar's drunk finance minister Ashni Singh crashed his SUV against a man's car on Campbell Avenue, damaging it and injuring the man's wife. Ashni walked away literally and figuratively.

Abel Seetaram committed a traffic offence and the court has ruled accordingly. Justice is served.

What is there to deflect? If that fellow above was careless the ought to face the full extent of the law. I am reminding you of so many ministers sons from the previous regime who skated from serious crimes. Hinds son is convicted and still waiting to be sentenced! Benn's son brutalized a woman and he also seemed to have skated. Then there is Gopaul's kid and the other rapist from GRB whose case hopefully has not fallen through the cracks like so many others.

The Police and Courts deal with such matters. Unless, you are a staunch Communists and want a Dictator to tell the Courts what to do and how to rule on cases.

"Seetaram failed to appear in court and was sentenced in his absence."

"He was also absent when the case was first called and the Magistrate ordered that a summons be served on him"

Why Abel didn't show up in court?? He too big or wha.

"Seetaram failed to appear in court and was sentenced in his absence."

"He was also absent when the case was first called and the Magistrate ordered that a summons be served on him"

Why Abel didn't show up in court?? He too big or wha.

Uncle Tom told him not to bada wid dem stupid Magistrate, he gun thief money from the PM Office and pay the Fine.

Gil,

Are you sure Abel did not drink out Naga's whiskey that was in his vehicle???

Highly unlikely. Naga's whiskey is whisked directly to his château from the distillery. No need for Abel or Seetaram.

Gil,

Are you sure Abel did not drink out Naga's whiskey that was in his vehicle???

Highly unlikely. Naga's whiskey is whisked directly to his château from the distillery. No need for Abel or Seetaram.

Demerara Distillery.  

The Police and Courts deal with such matters. Unless, you are a staunch Communists and want a Dictator to tell the Courts what to do and how to rule on cases.

On this site you so often comment on the intellect of others and here you are being a veritable ass. The point is these fellows skated. The courts did not function. And the closest anyone here is to communism are the former communists who made a mockery of our democracy.

Ramotar's drunk finance minister Ashni Singh crashed his SUV against a man's car on Campbell Avenue, damaging it and injuring the man's wife. Ashni walked away literally and figuratively.

Abel Seetaram committed a traffic offence and the court has ruled accordingly. Justice is served.

Seetaram also totaled a State owned vehicle and was driving without a license.  Can that fine pay back for the vehicle? Ow Massa you always gat you spin pan the story!

Ow Missy, if you want to walk down that dam, I can tell you that Ashni had no court fine to pay, nor did he fork out money from his deep pocket to repair the state-owned SUV which he drove drunkenly. I repeat, Ashni walked away from the accident scene literally and figuratively. 

Gil,

If an APNU supporter question the charges and the penalties applied would you give the same answers?

Under the PPP if he was a PPP boy he would have gotten off scot free and there many accidents to prove that

Pointblank
Pointblank posted:

Under the PPP if he was a PPP boy he would have gotten off scot free and there many accidents to prove that

Imam, Your PNC government is in power and your nerves still grating on the PPP.  You have bigger things to worry about now.

Pointblank posted:

Imam, Your PNC government is in power and your nerves still grating on the PPP.  You have bigger things to worry about now.

Now they are being Punished for their crimes. When dem PPP bais caused any accident they were never held acountable

Pointblank
Pointblank posted:

Now they are being Punished for their crimes. When dem PPP bais caused any accident they were never held acountable

Has anyone ever held you accountable for the hate and maliciousness you are spreading as the head of a religious organization???

Pointblank posted:

Ayatollah, why don't you declare a fatwah on them? I am sure there are some of your PNC idiots who might just take you seriously.

PM’s former assistant gets jail sentence

Abel Seetaram, a former special assistant to Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo, was involved in a

Abel Seetaram

vehicular accident on May 8, last. Yesterday, he was found guilty of three charges in relation to the accident.
Seetaram, of Woodley Park, West Coast Berbice, was on trial before Magistrate Rhondell Weever at the Blairmont Magistrate’s court. He was charged with driving in a dangerous manner. He was also charged with being an unlicensed driver and with breach of insurance.
Seetaram failed to appear in court and was sentenced in his absence.
On the dangerous driving charge he was fined $30,000 with an alternative of 32 days in jail. On the unlicenced driver charge he was fined $25,000 or 21 days in jail; and on the charge of breach of insurance he was fined $15,000 or 21 days in jail.
A committal order was issued for his arrest.
The prosecution’s case is that on the day in question, Seetaram was driving a government SUV on the Bath Public Road at a fast rate of speed when he lost control and crashed into a fence, knocking out some of the uprights and damaging several structures at the Bath Market. He subsequently crashed into a fence. The impact caused considerable damage.
Seetaram was taken to the Fort Wellington Hospital and subsequently the New Amsterdam Hospital.
He was also absent when the case was first called and the Magistrate ordered that a summons be served on him
Seetaram was subsequently dismissed from the Office of The Prime Minister.

He was unlicensed also and did not show up in court.  Only in GY.

Gil,

If an APNU supporter question the charges and the penalties applied would you give the same answers?

My answer is not a function of APNU or PPP question. My answer is exactly how I see the issue. Come on, man, you know that I have criticized APNU+AFC sometimes. 

I asked the question because it has become a bad habit for people to justify the wrong-doings of government and government officials by leveling charges against the previous gov't.  Does two wrongs make one right?  

On this specific topic on Nagamootoo's "Boy", there aren't two wrongs. The boy committed a traffic offence, was charged, convicted, and fined. Nothing wrong there. 

I brought in Ashni's traffic violation because your PPP friends here tried to make a wrong out of the court's correct decision on Naga's boy. My implicit aim was to show double-standards on the part of your PPP friends here who did not condemn the past PPP regime for suppressing police charges against Ashni who was drunk at the time of the accident and who had bottles of hard liquor in an ice cooler in his state-owned SUV. 

Check this STABROEK NEWS report to refresh your memory.

On this specific topic on Nagamootoo's "Boy", there aren't two wrongs. The boy committed a traffic offence, was charged, convicted, and fined. Nothing wrong there. 

I brought in Ashni's traffic violation because your PPP friends here tried to make a wrong out of the court's correct decision on Naga's boy. My implicit aim was to show double-standards on the part of your PPP friends here who did not condemn the past PPP regime for suppressing police charges against Ashni who was drunk at the time of the accident and who had bottles of hard liquor in an ice cooler in his state-owned SUV. 

Check this STABROEK NEWS report to refresh your memory.

In case BRB missed it.