NBC/WSJ Poll: 57 percent oppose Trump's Muslim proposal: 25 percent agree

Like This TopicFollowing This Topic

NBC/WSJ Poll: 57 percent oppose Trump's Muslim proposal

Nearly six-in-10 Americans oppose Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump's proposal to bar Muslims from entering the United States, but Republicans are evenly divided, according to a new national NBC News/Wall Street Journal poll.

SEE ALSO: White House press secretary slams 'disqualifying' Trump comments

Fifty-seven percent of all adults disagree with Trump's proposal, versus 25 percent who agree.

But views are mixed among Republicans: 42 percent of GOP respondents support Trump's proposal to ban Muslims from entering the U.S., while 36 percent oppose it.

See some of the 2016 U.S. presidential candidates react to Trump's proposal

And among Republican primary voters, it's 38 percent support, 39 percent oppose.

By comparison, 75 percent of Democrats and 55 percent of independents disagree with Trump's proposal.

There's an urban-rural divide, too: Just 13 percent of urban respondents and 27 percent of suburban respondents back Trump's plan, compared with 41 percent of rural Americans.

The NBC/WSJ poll also finds a plurality of Americans - 41 percent - believing that Trump's general campaign statements are frequently insulting and have the wrong approach.

SEE ALSO: Donald Trump calls for 'closing that Internet up'

By contrast, 24 percent say that Trump's manner and language might be problematic, but think he's raising important issues. And 22 percent say that Trump is telling it like it is and has the right approach.

But among Republicans, only 16 percent find him insulting; 37 percent believe he's raising important issues despite his language; and 40 percent say he's telling it like it is.

There's an urban-rural divide, too: Just 13 percent of urban respondents and 27 percent of suburban respondents back Trump's plan, compared with 41 percent of rural Americans.

The NBC/WSJ poll also finds a plurality of Americans - 41 percent - believing that Trump's general campaign statements are frequently insulting and have the wrong approach.

By contrast, 24 percent say that Trump's manner and language might be problematic, but think he's raising important issues. And 22 percent say that Trump is telling it like it is and has the right approach.

But among Republicans, only 16 percent find him insulting; 37 percent believe he's raising important issues despite his language; and 40 percent say he's telling it like it is.

Finally, the poll shows that Americans, by a 2-to-1 margin, have a favorable opinion of Muslims -- 59 percent positive to 29 percent negative - which is relatively stable on a question dating back to 2002.

But attitudes among Republicans are more negative: 43 percent hold a favorable view of Muslims, versus 48 percent who hold an unfavorable view.

That compared with 75 percent favorable/14 percent unfavorable among Democrats, and 59 percent favorable/25 percent unfavorable among independents.

warrior posted:

When yuh gat money like Trump, yuh can talk as much SHIT as you like.

So you want to tell me that warria gat plenty money?

He said he rich.

how can i be rich the ppp refuse to give me a job

Bai dem neva gat wan jaab fuh people who ah milk bull.

you had a hard life no wonder u so dumb,first u had to swim in a shit trench and drink bull milk poor chap

I think our actions encourage the terrorists. They seem to enjoy the attention we give them. The people who were killed at the planned parenthood office did not get a memorial like the victims of San Bernardino and Paris. I believe the terrorists see us being more emotionally affected by their actions and that encourages them to continue their evil acts. I will never understand why we treat the loss of a life to the act of a terrorist more important than one lost to any other criminal act.

Most terrorists are organized and from a group, the every day criminals are acting alone. The man from the Planned Parent hood Office incident was a nut, he acted alone, in court he shouted over and over that he killed, does not need a lawyer.Terrorists is like cancer, it spreads and is difficult to detect who is the next one.

But by definition, he is a terrorist, alone or in group don't matter.

If there is another mass shooting in the US amd muslims are found to be at blame, you can bet that the percentage in favor will go up.

Trump is saying what many are afraid to come out in the open and say. Ask anyone who has lost family in 911 or any other bombing where muslims were at fault and the majority will agree with Trump.

Donald does have a point and to an extent I do agree with him, but I will call for tougher screening.  With the refugees coming into to Cda, who knows if some bad apples will slip through the cracks.

Amral

Trump is dead wrong. The greatness of America is being diluted by Trump's bigoted remarks. Keeping out Muslims will in fact make it worst.  Are you aware how many Muslims FBI, CIA and other Operatives there are in America.  Without their services it will be 1000 times more difficult to stop the Terrorists.

Suh wah yuh saying is there are plenty plenty more American Muslims who are involved in planning demise in the USA. And the Muslims in the CIA and FBI are preventing them from carrying out jihad. How come I doan see any of them on TV giving press conferences? Just asking. Yuh tink dey scared ?

Trump is dead wrong. The greatness of America is being diluted by Trump's bigoted remarks. Keeping out Muslims will in fact make it worst.  Are you aware how many Muslims FBI, CIA and other Operatives there are in America.  Without their services it will be 1000 times more difficult to stop the Terrorists.

A quarantine on certain types of visas for a limited time is reasonable given they nature of the threat we are facing.  The US should also do what the French is proposing.  Anyone who travels to these conflict zone without just cause and prior permission will be stripped of citizenship is naturalized.  If born in the US, it's off to an internment came for a few years.

Banna, many silently support or sympathize with ISIS.  Bear in mind, many cheered the destruction of those Budha statues by the Taliban.  Also, the US has to face the fact that the House of Saud is the greatest sponsor of terrorism.  This is the head of the real snake!

baseman posted:

A quarantine on certain types of visas for a limited time is reasonable given they nature of the threat we are facing.  The US should also do what the French is proposing.  Anyone who travels to these conflict zone without just cause and prior permission will be stripped of citizenship is naturalized.  If born in the US, it's off to an internment came for a few years.

Banna, many silently support or sympathize with ISIS.  Bear in mind, many cheered the destruction of those Budha statues by the Taliban.  Also, the US has to face the fact that the House of Saud is the greatest sponsor of terrorism.  This is the head of the real snake!

Some who have silently rejoiced at the bombing of the Trade Centre and offered Allah uh Akbar have later openly expressed their joys of the attacks. Ofcourse, the ones who have expressed their thoughts have come to the realization that Islam has a bad component. They have changed their ways. 

Suh wah yuh saying is there are plenty plenty more American Muslims who are involved in planning demise in the USA. And the Muslims in the CIA and FBI are preventing them from carrying out jihad. How come I doan see any of them on TV giving press conferences? Just asking. Yuh tink dey scared ?

So you expect Muslim operatives from CIA and FBI to go on TV to give press conferences? 

Sometimes I wonder about the mental capacity of some GNI posters