The discussion is timely maintenance of the existing road. This would indicate a caring for the working class you speak of.
Of course, the new road would be a most welcome development, and one that has been spoken of for 19 years now. But this is no justification to keep the people suffering in the meantime. Or is it?
As you tap the keyword in your bosses office...the road is being graded...
Now? In the rain? What about three months ago? Why has Correia ceased the bus service? Isn't it after years of frustration, that each year, maintenance is too little, too late? Answers please.quote:Originally posted by albert:
As you tap the keyword in your bosses office...the road is being graded...
Hey GR, How have you been. How is the family doing especially your sonny?
Hey ksaz We are good, son's growing quickly Hope all is well on your endquote:Originally posted by ksazma:
Hey GR, How have you been. How is the family doing especially your sonny?
young man you have to understand the administration can't do everything at once....(there's a old saying...Rome wasn't build in a day) the residents had a dust problem in Mahaica you goons went and organize a protest.....a workers was sacked for leaking information from place of work you goons protest.....It would surprise me if you goons and hold you a placard in the trail....instead of assist residents from the natural disaster....Would Boyo be proud of his little puddle???
For 19 years, it is known what the rainy season will bring to the road. You are not denying that the resources to fix it are there, are you now? So the question is timing...why not do it in time? Please, it is a very simple question.quote:Originally posted by albert:
young man you have to understand the administration can't do everything at once....(there's a old saying...Rome wasn't build in a day) the residents had a dust problem in Mahaica you goons went and organize a protest.....a workers was sacked for leaking information from place of work you goons protest.....It would surprise me if you goons and hold you a placard in the trail....instead of assist residents from the natural disaster....Would Boyo be proud of his little puddle???
And on the question of assistance, who has access to state resources and proclaims itself a working class party? And if you are such a working class party why are you making demands of "a cake shop" party to assist?
quote:Originally posted by albert:
...a workers was sacked for leaking information from place of.....
Are employers this vindictive in Guyana? Why do you feel the need to call GR a goon? I call Baseman a jackass because I believe he is. Do you believe that GR is a goon?
quote:Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
Hey ksaz We are good, son's growing quickly Hope all is well on your end
We are doing as well as we could. Nephew still in hospital and needs blodd today. Getting up to 8 months since he has been there but nothing anyone can do about that except hope for some good news soon.
Oh no man, that's rough - sorry for not asking Hope he improves, and I can only imagine the toll it is taking on the family...quote:Originally posted by ksazma:quote:Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
Hey ksaz We are good, son's growing quickly Hope all is well on your end
We are doing as well as we could. Nephew still in hospital and needs blodd today. Getting up to 8 months since he has been there but nothing anyone can do about that except hope for some good news soon.
I am still waiting on your answers, albert.quote:Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:For 19 years, it is known what the rainy season will bring to the road. You are not denying that the resources to fix it are there, are you now? So the question is timing...why not do it in time? Please, it is a very simple question.quote:Originally posted by albert:
And on the question of assistance, who has access to state resources and proclaims itself a working class party? And if you are such a working class party why are you making demands of "a cake shop" party to assist?
Are you saying the "cake shop" AFC is making the mighty PPP dance?quote:Originally posted by albert:
young man you have to understand the administration can't do everything at once....(there's a old saying...Rome wasn't build in a day) the residents had a dust problem in Mahaica you goons went and organize a protest.....a workers was sacked for leaking information from place of work you goons protest.....
albert please don't vex when yuh pay get dock this month - your superiors would be perfectly in order.
Oh no man, that's rough - sorry for not asking Hope he improves, and I can only imagine the toll it is taking on the family...
It is tough but nothing one can do about that. The worse thing to do is give up. Fortunately we are a large closely knitted family to there is always someone to lean on.
Praise be to our Guyanese roots...I will keep him in my thoughts and prayer...quote:Originally posted by ksazma: It is tough but nothing one can do about that. The worse thing to do is give up. Fortunately we are a large closely knitted family to there is always someone to lean on.
quote:Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:Praise be to our Guyanese roots...I will keep him in my thoughts and prayer...quote:Originally posted by ksazma: It is tough but nothing one can do about that. The worse thing to do is give up. Fortunately we are a large closely knitted family to there is always someone to lean on.
Thanks again. And sorry for diverting your topic.
Not at all my brother It's always good to talk to you.quote:Originally posted by ksazma: Thanks again. And sorry for diverting your topic.
It's always good to talk to you.
Same here. I appreciate decent people.
quote:Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:Are you saying the "cake shop" AFC is making the mighty PPP dance?quote:Originally posted by albert:
young man you have to understand the administration can't do everything at once....(there's a old saying...Rome wasn't build in a day) the residents had a dust problem in Mahaica you goons went and organize a protest.....a workers was sacked for leaking information from place of work you goons protest.....
albert please don't vex when yuh pay get dock this month - your superiors would be perfectly in order.
With good reason one can suspect that in his heart Albert is really supporting the AFC.
Albert is a closet AFC!!!
quote:Originally posted by ksazma:quote:Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
It's always good to talk to you.
Same here. I appreciate decent people.
Good one squingy - albert certainly makes it easier for us!quote:Originally posted by squingy:quote:Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:Are you saying the "cake shop" AFC is making the mighty PPP dance?quote:Originally posted by albert:
With good reason one can suspect that in his heart Albert is really supporting the AFC.
Albert is a closet AFC!!!
Intraserv scraps GT to Lethem bus route
Written by Kwesi Isles
Tuesday, 31 May 2011 15:16
Intraserv will no longer be plying the Georgetown to Lethem bus route, the company has revealed, just days after the service was suspended as a result of the bad state of the trail. Intraserv Inc., which has been operating since February 2003, is part of the Correia Group of Companies. Director of Business Development Chris Correia on Tuesday informed demwaves.com that the decision, which will see some 18 persons being laid off, was taken after much âdeliberation and soul searching.â
It was the failure of the long-promised all weather road to materialize that crystallized the decision, he said. âBear in mind we have been deliberating this matter since 2008, when we realized any commitment to an all weather road would not be forthcoming anytime soon. We consider many sections of the road and bridges to be unsafe, and worsening by the day and the toll it was taking on the buses was making it impossible for us to maintain them in a manner we were comfortable with. There was only one decision to make.â
In addition to the staff who will be out of jobs, Correia said there are many other individuals who depend on the bus service to make a living by supplying one service or another, both in Lethem and Georgetown. âWe outsourced as much of our work as possible. Many small people, like the wash man who cleans the outside of the buses, the cleaners who cleaned the inside of the buses and offices, the welding shop in Industry who did a lot of steel fabrication of bumpers et cetera the upholsterer at Mon Repos who did 48 seats at a time, the tailor who sewed for us âĶâ Correiaâs list included ticket agents, a city hotel, restaurant and bar which passengers patronized, a pastor in Lethem who provided washing services, the trucks stops along Mabura Road and at Annai and âthe poor lady in Lethem who rented us her house to accommodate our driversâ âDonât get me wrong, they are all strong enough to survive, but they will be sad to see us go.â
According to Correia, they have decided to watch how things develop from the sidelines. âIf conditions ever improve to the point where we feel we can offer the kind of service we set out to offer in the first place, then we may consider re-entering the business,â he said.
Intraserv ran a fleet of five 44-seater buses daily during the dry season and three to five trips per week during the rainy season. The May/June rains have started and this has contributed to the state of the trail with Transport Minister Robeson Benn this week dispatching contractors to carry out emergency works at different parts.
Meanwhile, Chairman of the Rupununi Chamber of Commerce Alfred Ramsarran expressed regret at Intraservâs pullout saying that he preferred travelling with them for the comfort instead of the minibuses. However, he opined that he did not believe the service was doing well lately given the prevalence of the minibuses which ran throughout the dry and rainy seasons. Ramsarran added that travelers were also not happy with delays in some instances due to the buses breaking down along the trail. One advantage of the bus, he noted, was that they operated during the day which enabled villagers to utilise them to get to work in other parts of the region. The chairman said businesses in the region would not be affected by Intraservâs closure since most of them brought their goods in by truck.
Efforts to reach tourism officials from the private and public sectors were not immediately successful.
Written by Kwesi Isles
Tuesday, 31 May 2011 15:16
Intraserv will no longer be plying the Georgetown to Lethem bus route, the company has revealed, just days after the service was suspended as a result of the bad state of the trail. Intraserv Inc., which has been operating since February 2003, is part of the Correia Group of Companies. Director of Business Development Chris Correia on Tuesday informed demwaves.com that the decision, which will see some 18 persons being laid off, was taken after much âdeliberation and soul searching.â
It was the failure of the long-promised all weather road to materialize that crystallized the decision, he said. âBear in mind we have been deliberating this matter since 2008, when we realized any commitment to an all weather road would not be forthcoming anytime soon. We consider many sections of the road and bridges to be unsafe, and worsening by the day and the toll it was taking on the buses was making it impossible for us to maintain them in a manner we were comfortable with. There was only one decision to make.â
In addition to the staff who will be out of jobs, Correia said there are many other individuals who depend on the bus service to make a living by supplying one service or another, both in Lethem and Georgetown. âWe outsourced as much of our work as possible. Many small people, like the wash man who cleans the outside of the buses, the cleaners who cleaned the inside of the buses and offices, the welding shop in Industry who did a lot of steel fabrication of bumpers et cetera the upholsterer at Mon Repos who did 48 seats at a time, the tailor who sewed for us âĶâ Correiaâs list included ticket agents, a city hotel, restaurant and bar which passengers patronized, a pastor in Lethem who provided washing services, the trucks stops along Mabura Road and at Annai and âthe poor lady in Lethem who rented us her house to accommodate our driversâ âDonât get me wrong, they are all strong enough to survive, but they will be sad to see us go.â
According to Correia, they have decided to watch how things develop from the sidelines. âIf conditions ever improve to the point where we feel we can offer the kind of service we set out to offer in the first place, then we may consider re-entering the business,â he said.
Intraserv ran a fleet of five 44-seater buses daily during the dry season and three to five trips per week during the rainy season. The May/June rains have started and this has contributed to the state of the trail with Transport Minister Robeson Benn this week dispatching contractors to carry out emergency works at different parts.
Meanwhile, Chairman of the Rupununi Chamber of Commerce Alfred Ramsarran expressed regret at Intraservâs pullout saying that he preferred travelling with them for the comfort instead of the minibuses. However, he opined that he did not believe the service was doing well lately given the prevalence of the minibuses which ran throughout the dry and rainy seasons. Ramsarran added that travelers were also not happy with delays in some instances due to the buses breaking down along the trail. One advantage of the bus, he noted, was that they operated during the day which enabled villagers to utilise them to get to work in other parts of the region. The chairman said businesses in the region would not be affected by Intraservâs closure since most of them brought their goods in by truck.
Efforts to reach tourism officials from the private and public sectors were not immediately successful.
High fuel prices rock Lethem
JUNE 22, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS
Frustrated motorists parked their vehicles in protest of the high cost of fuel.
- bad road leads to increased acquisition costs
While the flood waters have receded and life is slowly getting back to normal in the Rupununi, the people of Lethem and surrounding communities are faced with a new problem â the rising cost of fuel. In what is being seen as direct fallout from the recent floods, fuel prices have skyrocketed due to the high cost of bringing it to the fuel pumps at Lethem.
Reports reaching this newspaper are that the main reason for the high transshipment cost is the state of the Linden to Lethem road. Transporters of fuel have indicated that while the situation of the road was bad as at the beginning of the year, the recent flood has rendered the road almost impassable. In some areas, trucks transporting the fuel have stopped traversing in as much as 18 miles of slush during their back and forth journey from Lethem. This has definitely forced them to increase the price they charge to transport fuel, as it now takes operators as much as 17 hours per trip. It was reported that many truck drivers are reluctant to undertake the trip to transport fuel.
Prior to the flood gasoline was being retailed around $270 per litre. However yesterday it was being sold as high as $400 per litre at a privately owned filing station. Kaieteur News was told that to cushion the impact, the GuyOil station at Lethem had stabilized its price for gasoline at $300 per litre. It is hoped that the state-owned fuel company will maintain a steady supply of the precious commodity so as to minimise the suffering that appears imminent.
The sharp hike in fuel prices angered vehicle owners, many of whom parked their vehicles in protest. And with the fuel price as high as it is presently, the cost of transportation is expected to rise also. While operators of the main bus service from Lethem to Georgetown declined to comment on the issue, it is widely anticipated that the fare will see a significant increase from the current $10,000 per passenger.
JUNE 22, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS
Frustrated motorists parked their vehicles in protest of the high cost of fuel.
- bad road leads to increased acquisition costs
While the flood waters have receded and life is slowly getting back to normal in the Rupununi, the people of Lethem and surrounding communities are faced with a new problem â the rising cost of fuel. In what is being seen as direct fallout from the recent floods, fuel prices have skyrocketed due to the high cost of bringing it to the fuel pumps at Lethem.
Reports reaching this newspaper are that the main reason for the high transshipment cost is the state of the Linden to Lethem road. Transporters of fuel have indicated that while the situation of the road was bad as at the beginning of the year, the recent flood has rendered the road almost impassable. In some areas, trucks transporting the fuel have stopped traversing in as much as 18 miles of slush during their back and forth journey from Lethem. This has definitely forced them to increase the price they charge to transport fuel, as it now takes operators as much as 17 hours per trip. It was reported that many truck drivers are reluctant to undertake the trip to transport fuel.
Prior to the flood gasoline was being retailed around $270 per litre. However yesterday it was being sold as high as $400 per litre at a privately owned filing station. Kaieteur News was told that to cushion the impact, the GuyOil station at Lethem had stabilized its price for gasoline at $300 per litre. It is hoped that the state-owned fuel company will maintain a steady supply of the precious commodity so as to minimise the suffering that appears imminent.
The sharp hike in fuel prices angered vehicle owners, many of whom parked their vehicles in protest. And with the fuel price as high as it is presently, the cost of transportation is expected to rise also. While operators of the main bus service from Lethem to Georgetown declined to comment on the issue, it is widely anticipated that the fare will see a significant increase from the current $10,000 per passenger.
270 - 400 per litre is European prices who have per-capita GDP of $45k - $60k PA. Unsustainable for Guyana.
albert, I am still awaiting your answers to the following questions:
1. For 19 years, it is known what the rainy season will bring to the road. You are not denying that the resources to fix it are there, are you now? So the question is timing...why not do it in time? Please, it is a very simple question.
2. And on the question of assistance, who has access to state resources and proclaims itself a working class party? And if you are such a working class party why are you making demands of "a cake shop" party to assist?
1. For 19 years, it is known what the rainy season will bring to the road. You are not denying that the resources to fix it are there, are you now? So the question is timing...why not do it in time? Please, it is a very simple question.
2. And on the question of assistance, who has access to state resources and proclaims itself a working class party? And if you are such a working class party why are you making demands of "a cake shop" party to assist?
albert, I am still awaiting your answers to the following questions:
Patience bai, A-butty still in da dutty haus.
quote:Originally posted by baseman: Patience bai, A-butty still in da dutty haus.
Still waiting, albert
He gatt mega runnings.