Nehru, even putting your biases aside, you are dead wrong in this thread.

You ASSERTED that a previously incarcerated person, pardoned and released from jail by President David Granger turned around and robbed a businessman from Enterprise.

Your source is an article in the Kaiteur News newspapers which does not state that a Granger-released prisoner committed this crime. I believe that Kaiteur News would have state this explicitly, don't you think?

Nehru, even putting your biases aside, you are dead wrong in this thread.

You ASSERTED that a previously incarcerated person, pardoned and released from jail by President David Granger turned around and robbed a businessman from Enterprise.

Your source is an article in the Kaiteur News newspapers which does not state that a Granger-released prisoner committed this crime. I believe that Kaiteur News would have state this explicitly, don't you think?

Let Granger release the List of HIS CRIMINALS he released and we will not have to debate.  It will be simply yes or no.

I agree that the names should be released unless in his calculation such publicity might put them in harm's way unnecessarily or they would encounter societal biases from those who would feel they did not serve their due time.

And this should be the President's concern as opposed to the law abiding public having proper knowledge of the ex-prisoners dwelling amongst them?

Originally Posted by ksazma:

I agree that the names should be released unless in his calculation such publicity might put them in harm's way unnecessarily or they would encounter societal biases from those who would feel they did not serve their due time.

And this should be the President's concern as opposed to the law abiding public having proper knowledge of the ex-prisoners dwelling amongst them?

HAHAHA I thought about that.  I believe the answer would be yes knowing the CRIMINAL nature of the PNC. I will not be surprised if more than 50% are those locked up at Agricolla and Linden and GT after the Riots..

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Not sure, but they should have been on probation and monitored by the police.  Making it public could caused them to be picked upon and getting in trouble as a result.  These were first-time non-violent offenders.  Granger's foot-lose approach is the problem.

Kinda agree with DaBaseman.

But Base, do you know for sure they are not on probation nor being monitored?

It is this lack of information that is mystifying Cainsta.

You people think the Government don't have more important things to do than to cater to every whim from every wimp out there?

If they had to report on every little thing they would not have made the strides ( would like to say Giant strides) as we've seen in as little as three months.

Well talk man Karista, di-mystify the issue nuh.  And do it without your usual elongated babble.

Youth prisoners pardoned by President released from jail

By Staff Writer On June 17, 2015 In Local News

All of the youth prisoners who were granted presidential pardons by President David Granger have been released from prison, according to Prison Director Welton Trotz who said yesterday that they have since been accepted into the USAID’s Skills and Knowledge for Youth Employment (SKYE) Project.

Stabroek News has been unable to ascertain the exact number of persons released. Trotz said that the number has been further reduced and was in the vicinity of 40. His efforts to get the number from a prison official were futile but he said that one female, not two as he had previously indicated was included in the number.

“All were released on Friday (last), all who were qualified to be released”, he said.

Giving an update he said that all the inmates who were housed at the various prisons across the country were released last Friday. That date was the deadline, Trotz had said in a previous interview.

The government has not announced the names of those pardoned.

Trotz said that initially 60 youth prisoners had been identified but it was later discovered that some did not meet the specified 15-25 age range while some of the offences they were convicted of were serious.

Granger had said that only those convicted of non-violent offences would be considered for presidential pardons.

Stabroek News later learnt that some of those identified were convicted of break and enter, an offence which is classified as serious, robbery and rape.

Asked what has become of the now pardoned prisoners, Trotz said last Friday before being released they were each interviewed individually by SKYE representatives and “they have been identified for certain training programmes which are being done regionally”. He explained that wherever the pardoned prisoners live there are SKYE facilitators there to conduct the required training.

He later said that the training commenced in Region Two on Monday but he could not give an update with respect to the other regions. He said though that all of the training programmes should begin by tomorrow.

USAID had made a proposal to Attorney General Basil Williams by way of a letter to have those pardoned enrolled in the SKYE Project. Williams during an interview with Stabroek News about two weeks ago did not indicate whether the proposal was being considered.

Granger had spoken too about a young prisoner rehabilitation scheme which those to be pardoned would be sent to. However Stabroek News has been unable to obtain details about this project.

The pardons were first mentioned by Granger on May 25.

Presidential pardons will be issued on an annual basis.

Well, the PNC never came forward after some criticism.  If they did, it should have been part of the original communication or subsequent clarification.

The PPP/C should have stayed in Parliament and demanded a list of the names. But the cowards ran out.... like when a tight shit brace yuh.

You people think the Government don't have more important things to do than to cater to every whim from every wimp out there?

If they had to report on every little thing they would not have made the strides ( would like to say Giant strides) as we've seen in as little as three months.

Cainsta, releasing and assuring people it's a controlled release is not "every little thing".  Over here, such release will be a matter of public record.  I am not sure on that for Guyana, but assurance that people are monitored will help mitigate any concerns!  They may have been non-violent first-time offenders.  Well many profis were once a first-time and likely non-violent offender.

Well, the PNC never came forward after some criticism.  If they did, it should have been part of the original communication or subsequent clarification.

The PPP/C should have stayed in Parliament and demanded a list of the names. But the cowards ran out.... like when a tight shit brace yuh.

Hey banna, that is a matter for the people of Guyana, not a parliamentary matter.  I don't remember it being debated.  It's not the PPP who "tight shit bracing", it's alyuh PNC getting belly-wuk.

basement.....we've learnt from redux's posting of the SN June 17th newspaper reporting that:

• the released were youths (18 - 25;
  • they were in for non-violent crimes;
  • they are in a monitored program - part of the USAID program in the region.
  • that this is an annual clemency around this program

Hope this helps de-mystifying the program's aim and execution - and not an elongated bable.....