Muslim Public School Holidays Will Be Observed In New York City, Says Mayor de Blasio On The Brian Lehrer Show

Posted: 02/04/2014 11:43 am EST Updated: 02/04/2014 11:59 am EST
Print Article
Main Entry Image

Muslim families in New York City have been requesting official recognition for Islamic holidays in public schools for years now, but they may finally see some changes under new Mayor Bill de Blasio.

On Monday he discussed the issue on the Brian Lehrer Show, declaring that he planned to move forward with closing schools for Eid al-Fitr and Eid al-Adha, as well as for the Lunar New Year.

“It is complicated in terms of logistics and school calendar and budget. But it’s something I want to get done in a reasonable time frame,” he said, according to the New York Daily News.

Though Muslims appreciate his efforts, another community is feeling stiffed. De Blasio said on Monday that he hadn't yet taken a position on whether Diwali should be officially recognized with a day off for public schools. The festival of lights is celebrated in the Hindu, Jain, and Sikh communities and is an important holiday. Dr. Shashi Shah of the Association of Indians in America told the Daily News, "We are disappointed. We’ve been trying for a long time … It’s very important for the community."

Chief, I will congratulate you when the bill is approved. However, This will open the door for other religious faith to demand the Mayor for the same benefit that the city many not be able to accommodate. NYC will have religious crises on hand. BTW, I am happy if the two school holidays approved.

I am not against anyone's religion but I think we have enough religious holidays in the country. Why should I have to stay home during a Muslim Holiday and be in school taking a test on Diwali or Phagwah. Bill DeBlasion is a blasted ....

The bill was approved by the City Council some time back but  Mayor Bloomberg vetoed it.

I do notice that others are asking for holidays as well.

I am not against religious holidays, I am against what will happen on the aftermath of the approval. I am even against given Diwali and Pagwah to the Hindu as well. The new Mayor will become very unpopular when he can't fulfill the same request for other religious faiths.

This is yet another attempt by Muslim radicals to force their religion on the rest of us.

This is a Christian country, and who doan like it can get the hell back to Saudi Arabia

Originally Posted by JoKer:

This is yet another attempt by Muslim radicals to force their religion on the rest of us.

This is a Christian country, and who doan like it can get the hell back to Saudi Arabia

That is cheap talk from a very IGNORANT and ILLITERATE person. Where in the American Constitution it is stated that America is a Christian Nation??  Not because God gave you mouth you feel you have to spew GARBAGE!!!

WE ARE HERE TO STAY!!!

Who ain't like it can always move to a country of their choice.

The bill was approved by the City Council some time back but  Mayor Bloomberg vetoed it.

I am not against religious holidays, I am against what will happen on the aftermath of the approval. I am even against given Diwali and Pagwah to the Hindu as well. The new Mayor will become very unpopular when he can't fulfill the same request for other religious faiths.

It is more of setting school tests on religious holidays, that is why Muslims requested a holiday.

WE ARE HERE TO STAY!!!

You tell him Bhai. He claim he loves America but is very IGNORANT of the Laws of this GREAT Nation. The American Constitution guanantees the RIGHT of EVERY REligion.  I hope one day he will be able to pass the Bar Exam!!!

WE ARE HERE TO STAY!!!

You tell him Bhai. He claim he loves America but is very IGNORANT of the Laws of this GREAT Nation. The American Constitution guanantees the RIGHT of EVERY REligion.  I hope one day he will be able to pass the Bar Exam!!!

I wish him well, hopefully he  will come to his senses once he  gets there. 

Some things are not joke,especially with any thing negative about JEWS. Muslims are not far behind so one has to be careful what they say.

Last edited by Chief

Good move on part of the Mayor. More curses befall America will force idol worshipping ppl to flee to better pastures. Perhaps, Saudie Arabia is in for a multitude of muslims. Let c if dey tek dem in.

It is more of setting school tests on religious holidays, that is why Muslims requested a holiday.

Allah would not allow for the incidental times a student has to forgo religious duties for civic responsibility to others in the pursuit of a common good, education? I remember Jesus and his response to the Pharisees who accused his disciples of disobeying the sabbath by plucking grains in the field. Muslims need that Jesus to inform them on what it means to be respectful of religious duties. I am completely against religious holidays. Christians get a few grandfathered in because they founded this nation.

Originally Posted by Danyael:
I am completely against religious holidays. Christians get a few grandfathered in because they founded this nation.

.and Jews get a few since they own the world!

I keep telling you folks that this guy is a fraud, I don't even know how he graduated Howard. Depending on the demographics of an area, they will have the Jewish holiday off. 

go sit on a spike scumbag.. or whatever bag u are carrying.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

go sit on a spike scumbag.. or whatever bag u are carrying.

the fool will be more happy if you say go sit on kwame dick

That is cheap talk from a very IGNORANT and ILLITERATE person. Where in the American Constitution it is stated that America is a Christian Nation??  Not because God gave you mouth you feel you have to spew GARBAGE!!!

Pavi, don't you know satire when you see one?

WE ARE HERE TO STAY!!!

Chief...yuh an-all fallin fuh this? Don't yuh know a good joke when yuh run into one?

Pavi, don't you know satire when you see one?

Bannas Satire???  You have to be very naïve. Dat FOOL claims to be studying Law. I say no more but you are entitled to your moral standing.

Pavi, yuh mek meh haan fall. Yuh more daft than I  think. This is a beautiful piece of satirical ranting by Joker.

So you are saying his entire life is a satirical ranting, some friend you have.

Kudos to the Islamic community for achieving this. They have proven that unity, brotherhood and determination works.

The Hindu community is too fragmented and may not be able to emulate what the Islamic community has achieved.

Pavi, yuh mek meh haan fall. Yuh more daft than I  think. This is a beautiful piece of satirical ranting by Joker.

Kari, you are calling Nehru PAVI??? WHY???