Neutralize discrimination by enlarging the Guyanese identity

Dear Editor,

One of the most poignant cries heard in Guyana especially around elections, is “Why do we have to call ourselves “Indian” or “African” or “Amerindian” Guyanese? Why can’t we be just Guyanese?”

Following the March 2, 2020 elections the cries have once again proven to be a challenge to the government of the PPP, which has historically been dismissive of ethnicity.

The premise of the question, of course, is that our ethnic identifications are the source of our long-standing electoral-related miseries and shedding our ethnic differences would resolve them.

There are several problems with that view. Firstly, our history has conspired to deliver us to where we are – a society with people of very diverse origins and cultural heritages. And it really, in the main, does not matter as to how deep those differences really are in the present. What matters is the perceptions of those differences. We can’t undo that by mouthing of fine sounding platitudes from political platforms. It is the politicians who claim to be “beyond race or ethnicity” who have created the most problems for us – especially with what are considered token “multiracial” representatives.

Our ethnic identifications in Guyana are a consequence of the universal human need to have a sense of self – an identity.  This is an essential part of every individual becoming a mature person with our self-worth inextricably linked to our group worth. Identities are constituted on the basis of various traits and experiences. For instance, we are all born into a family that itself is part of a particular group. The group’s world view and way of life is consciously and unconsciously transmitted to the child who as he/she grows up that he/she (not surprisingly) has more in common with some individuals than others from different cultural backgrounds.

Unfortunately, physical characteristics that comprise what we are told are “races” are given social significance and influence a person’s identity because of hundreds of years of coloniality’s creation of hierarchies of race, power and knowledge as “modernity”. Nowadays, some insist they are “post racial”. This is wishful thinking at best and pathologically self-delusional at worse. We are locked in western modernity’s “great chain of being” with God on top followed by his angels, man (from White through Black), the animals and finally “nature”. Even naysayers have to respond to Thomas’ Theorem: “If men define situations as real, they are real in their consequences.” Especially if those defining the situation have power – political, or disruptive.

But “identity” is not a unitary construct: each person’s self-conception is a unique combination of many identifications, identifications as broad as woman or man, Hindu, Catholic or Muslim, or as narrow as being a member of one particular family. Although self-identity may seem to coincide with a particular human being, identities are actually much wider than that. They are also collective: identities extend to countries and ethnic communities, so that people feel injured when other persons sharing their identity are injured or killed. The apprehension of “linked fates” facilitates political mobilization.

This exposes the second problem with the Guyanese lament: there should not necessarily be any contradiction between a person’s cultural heritage (ethnicity) and his citizenship in a particular country. In our instance, we are all Guyanese, in addition to being of African, Amerindian, Indian, etc. heritage. The identities are usually compatibly nested within each other as is the case for geographic identities within a country.  For example, I can identity both with Guyana (my country) and the Uitvlugt (my village).

The task for us essentially is twofold. None of our several identities should justify superior claims to the national patrimony because of “greater legitimacy”: we are all citizens of Guyana. The moment that happens – or is thought to happen during the inevitable group comparison process based on relative deprivation- it will precipitate counterreactions, for or against the politics of entitlement which is confronting the PPP. If the power relations among the different groups, as they define themselves, are equal, there will be less reasons for jealously guarding their boundaries. In fact, the reverse will occur as identities become more expansive. Secondly, therefore, the government must pursue policies that support equal treatment with “Ethnic Impact Statements” made mandatory. This will neutralize claims of discrimination and enlarge a more meaningful shared overarching identity of being “Guyanese” for all citizens.

Sincerely
Ravi Dev

I have said, do away with elections.

30 seats for PPP

30 seats for PNC

3 seats Amerindians.

2 seats for the Mixed Races.

Presidential Candidates put up to the parliament.

Parliament votes naming the Presisdent.

A upper house like a senate to ratify the parliament decisions.

Certain ethnic rights are adhered to all poltical parties.

@Prashad posted:

Dev attended and spoke at Waddell's funeral. Waddell was calling for an armed African response openly on TV. It is koolies that would have been responded to.

Please prove what you are saying. I think you are lying.

Let's see if I understand what Ravi is saying.  I could be an Indian from Enmore, a Hindu and Guyanese and Brother Joe could be an African from Ann's Grove, Christian and Guyanese but we are equal with equal claim to whatever Guyana has to offer.  Recognizing this possibility or reality he argues will lead to harmony and make the call of politicians to be Guyanese (and nothing else) trite. Yes, identity is not a unitary construct but the problem in Guyana is that racial identity, a socially, not biologically, determined construct, largely trumps other "identities" and motivates political behaviour.    All the fancy words and fuzzy theories cannot overlook this reality.

Speaking for myself, as a child growing up in GT, I spent my first nineteen years there around every race,religion whether it was in the StMary's Scout troop, Altar boy at the Cathedral, attending East Ruimveldt Sec. I rode what was/is called, upright races, all of this mostly with folk darker than I but I never felt any higher than they nor did I ever feel lower, I felt comfortable in my own skin, I treated everyone the same (still do)

At East Ruimveldt there was an American teacher, white. She was strict and always gave me heck when I did something she thought was out of character for a lil somewhat white boy.(I was the first Portuguese banna there, dunno if there's been another since, dem boys called me Putagee Tarzan) I found that teacher quite condescending especially to the other students.

One day after I was caught passing a steamy note across the classroom in the form of a plane she pulled me aside after class and told me to stop acting like the others. I told her that I am part of the others and when she goes back from whence she came, I still have to live among, the others. That was from a 14 year old. She didn't like me after that but looking back maybe she was ashamed of herself.

My point is, I did it, so can everyone if they really tried.

@cain posted:

Speaking for myself, as a child growing up in GT, I spent my first nineteen years there around every race,religion whether it was in the StMary's Scout troop, Altar boy at the Cathedral, attending East Ruimveldt Sec. I rode what was/is called, upright races, all of this mostly with folk darker than I but I never felt any higher than they nor did I ever feel lower, I felt comfortable in my own skin, I treated everyone the same (still do)

At East Ruimveldt there was an American teacher, white. She was strict and always gave me heck when I did something she thought was out of character for a lil somewhat white boy.(I was the first Portuguese banna there, dunno if there's been another since, dem boys called me Putagee Tarzan) I found that teacher quite condescending especially to the other students.

One day after I was caught passing a steamy note across the classroom in the form of a plane she pulled me aside after class and told me to stop acting like the others. I told her that I am part of the others and when she goes back from whence she came, I still have to live among, the others. That was from a 14 year old. She didn't like me after that but looking back maybe she was ashamed of herself.

My point is, I did it, so can everyone if they really tried.

The perception for Black ppl in Guyana, an Indian is a PPPite and empowers elite Indians in power politically and economically. The lowly indian is the target, they are the touchables. The PPP associiates are the untouchables-they escape all the perils of the lowly indian.

Black ppl needs to have a different outlook for their fellow citizens. I believe the Indian could sway the political divide. From time to time they do side with Black political voices and vote to bring about a change. But what does a Black does with that power is beyond reasoning. Study Granger.

Putagees have alot more in common with Blacks than with Indians. If you be honest, you accept the racial divisions is an age old idea in Guyana promoted for whatever reason I do not know.

It took Ravi Dev, who advocated (may still do) for separating Guyana based on race this long to figure out there is a Guyanese identity? Does that mean he now denounces the Indian bigots he hung around with? LMFAO.

Someone needs to ask him if he still wants to bruk up Guyana based on race. And after all his mumbo jumbo, he still openly supported a PPP party with known racists at the helm. He's just another shit talker seeking relevance. Ignore.

It took Ravi Dev, who advocated (may still do) for separating Guyana based on race this long to figure out there is a Guyanese identity? Does that mean he now denounces the Indian bigots he hung around with? LMFAO.

Someone needs to ask him if he still wants to bruk up Guyana based on race. And after all his mumbo jumbo, he still openly supported a PPP party with known racists at the helm. He's just another shit talker seeking relevance. Ignore.

prashad is his disciple

jagdoe didn't give dev a job, so dev seeking relevance writing up a storm

@seignet posted:

The perception for Black ppl in Guyana, an Indian is a PPPite and empowers elite Indians in power politically and economically. The lowly indian is the target, they are the touchables. The PPP associiates are the untouchables-they escape all the perils of the lowly indian.

Black ppl needs to have a different outlook for their fellow citizens. I believe the Indian could sway the political divide. From time to time they do side with Black political voices and vote to bring about a change. But what does a Black does with that power is beyond reasoning. Study Granger.

Putagees have alot more in common with Blacks than with Indians. If you be honest, you accept the racial divisions is an age old idea in Guyana promoted for whatever reason I do not know.

...ahmmmmmm....the lowly Indian, is the one who is the most racist and bred to be so from birth. It is in their areas that black people cannot dare venture. It is why a racist PPP has been able to manipulate them for 5 decades. Remember Ratman jumping pon he podium and screaming what black man gon do to them if the PPP lose!

Nex time yuh hang out at the backdam, look around. They are all of the type I describe. Racist, braddar Indians who grew up in racist enclaves, nurtured by aga and agee to hate black man.

The so called "elite" Indians that were from Georgetown etc. didn't practice overt racism for the most part. They hung out with blacks and portugese much to the chagrin of people like you (note your frequent cussing of the "putagee"). Indians from Georgetown, tolerant Indians, were seen as traitors by the likes of you. I know this from Indian school mates who were from Georgetown.

There may be racial divisions and people having opinions on race, but as a society we cannot tolerate one race exerting their "superiority" over another. And that is what used to go on here when the Indian bigots posted here, postulating that black people must be content with the scraps that fell from the table!

One of them loves to chant "one people, one nation...". Right before he lets loose with some of the nastiest racist shit, extolling the virtues of Indians over black people. THAT, is the very definition of racism.

On another note, I welcome these chats on race, as heated as they may get. I wish they were held in the public domain by our politicians. Anyone who says we should ignore talking about race is a FOOL. It is at the center of Guyanese society's problems.

If we cannot learn to respect each other then the greatest intentions and plans go nowhere.

@seignet posted:

you ought respect the racists regardless of which race he may be. that would be a start for you.

I respect no racist. They are worthy only of my scorn. You, on the other hand, tolerate and nurture them in your circle.

when we get together we talk bout alyuh ALL the time.

prashad is his disciple

jagdoe didn't give dev a job, so dev seeking relevance writing up a storm

Don't compare me to Dev. We are splitting to prevent a genocide not splitting for split sake

Good. Just mek sure when he start talk about "probing" by aliens that you quietly slip away, arite? Iz not what you think it is.

as long as he is not possessed. any shit like dat, i running.