Never which way but lose!

Jan 09, 2017 Features / Columnists, Peeping Tom, http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....-which-way-but-lose/

The government finds itself in a bind. It had campaigned on the back of criticisms of the Amalia Falls Hydroelectric Project. It is now faced with a difficult situation. It has to make a decision on a report which while confirming certain problems with the original plan by the PPP/C administration, has found that the project is the quickest path towards sustainable electricity generation.

The government will find it politically unpalatable to support this project. They had sermonized on the project’s development, accusing the project of being technically and financially unsound and enmeshed in a web of corruption.  It is now faced with the prospects of having to accept the project, even in a revised format, as the best route to achieving its sustainable energy needs. An independent report commissioned by the Norwegian government has essentially said to the government of Guyana that notwithstanding all the technical and financial concerns about the project, it still is the best option for Guyana.

The government has tried to downplay the overall thrust of the report.

This has led to uncertainty as to where the government stands on the project. But that uncertainty cannot be resolved by a press conference. It has to be resolved by a decision by the government on the way forward.

The government has clearly found itself without a sustainable energy development plan. It has ideas but no plan. According to the leader of the opposition, the government is only now outsourcing the development of its green agenda.

Once that plan is outsourced to foreign consultants, the draft plans which will be produced are most likely going to endorse that independent review of the Amalia Falls Hydroelectric Project. Foreign consultants do not stray far from each other’s paths and you can bet that there will be some form of qualified endorsement of Amalia Falls Hydroelectric Project when outsourced draft of the green agenda is produced.

Politically, it will be a hard pill for the government to swallow. It will be hard for the government to go to its supporters and to say to them that we were right about Jagdeo’s project, but we have no choice. It will be harder for the government to concede to its supporters that it has no choice but to go ahead with the project.

The financing of any green development agenda for Guyana will be confronted with the need for government to move forward with this plan.

It will be a thorn in the sides of the government. No international firm is going to provide any finance for sustainable energy development, unless it is certain that there is a major hydroelectric project which can come on stream at a short notice. The only such scheme which can materialize, in the short-term, is Amalia Falls Hydroelectric Project.

The problem facing the government is no longer whether to support Jagdeo’s pet project. The government has no choice. It will lose billions of dollars presently held by the IDB for Amalia if it does not go ahead with this project. If the government refuses to continue with Amalia, the Norwegians will most likely ask the bank to return the funds to them.

This is the most likely outcome of government rejecting Jagdeo’s project.

If the government decides that it is politically suicidal to support Amalia, it will lose all multilateral support for its green development agenda. The government can lobby all it wants about other options, but it cannot escape the consequences of the independent review done on Amaila. That report will haunt any plans the government may have about a green agenda.

Granger’s green agenda will be grounded, unless the government comes around to accepting Jagdeo’s plan or some modified version of it. That is not as hard to do as it may seem. When the ruling coalition was campaigning for office, it has been highly critical of the project, launched by the PPPC, to extend the Cheddi Jagan International Airport. It had been critical of the need for that extension and the cost. Within months of taking office, it was forced to go ahead with that project. It lost no political face and support for taking that decision.

But Amaila is a different kettle of fish. That is Jagdeo’s baby and it will be hard for APNU+AFC which seems to be saying that it has no choice but to go ahead with bringing this baby into life. Whichever way the government goes it loses. If it accepts the project, Jagdeo wins. If it rejects it, the green agenda will not materialize.

Jan 09, 2017 Features / Columnists, Peeping Tom, http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....-which-way-but-lose/

It will be a thorn in the sides of the government. No international firm is going to provide any finance for sustainable energy development, unless it is certain that there is a major hydroelectric project which can come on stream at a short notice. The only such scheme which can materialize, in the short-term, is Amalia Falls Hydroelectric Project.

The problem facing the government is no longer whether to support Jagdeo’s pet project. The government has no choice. It will lose billions of dollars presently held by the IDB for Amalia if it does not go ahead with this project. If the government refuses to continue with Amalia, the Norwegians will most likely ask the bank to return the funds to them.

Fundamental issue for the PNC/AFC government.

Did peeping tom read the report???

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....-which-way-but-lose/

"An independent report commissioned by the Norwegian government has essentially said to the government of Guyana that notwithstanding all the technical and financial concerns about the project, it still is the best option for Guyana."

PEEPING TOM DEH PUN HEIGHTS,

which part of the report said??

"An independent report commissioned by the Norwegian government has essentially said to the government of Guyana that notwithstanding all the technical and financial concerns about the project, it still is the best option for Guyana."

I don't think you understand the context of that statement!!

ba$eman posted:

Bruk it up fuh me,

i got the report will attached it when i get home.

ba$eman posted:

Bruk it up fuh me,

i got the report will attached it when i get home.

Figure it out yourself.  The PNC is in a bind as all the Norway funds will be withdrawn and net net, they have no other better option, none!  Lets hope, in the interest of the people of Guyana, Norway offers them some face-saving way to bring back the project!

Guyana needs that project!  Just the imported fuel savings will alone yield a sustainable ROI.

ba$eman posted:

Comprehension is alien to Django. He was probably the kid at the Back Bench in class.

ba$eman posted:

Comprehension is alien to Django. He was probably the kid at the Back Bench in class.

Read the report you fool,before holding on to some one shirt tail thinking you are scoring points,

You are the biggest dunce on this forum.

Django, I think that you have a serious problem with comprehension or you need to carefully reread it. Having the report and/or reading the report does not mean that you have understood it. A quick look at the summary says it all. The main body of the report solidifies its conclusions which you do not want to accept - that Amalia is  the best way forward. 

Z
Zed posted:

Django, I think that you have a serious problem with comprehension or you need to carefully reread it. Having the report and/or reading the report does not mean that you have understood it. A quick look at the summary says it all. The main body of the report solidifies its conclusions which you do not want to accept - that Amalia is  the best way forward. 

Amalia is the best way forward with a cost of US$801 million,the question to be asked,can Guyana afford it,also other alternative power generation sources will be needed during dry spell,from since the 70's the site was looked at for hydro power potential and still it's not materialized,i guess caution have to be taken for such huge investment.

By the way the current gov't is working with the IDB on an energy policy which should be available by the end of 2017.

So let wait and see,

I have noticed you hurriedly shook Yugi hand,regarding my comprehension skills.

No Django, I am myself, no ones surrogate. Quit being so paranoid. At times you come across as "hard ears" when you are trying to defend the undefendable. You continually say that you support no political party  but it does not come across as such to me. This is a good example. The report was conclusive. 

Just to note, the consultants advised another hydro project among the mix of electricity producing methods and that the present government adopted the previous ones LCDS. The project is costly, but think about it . How many of us went into debts to purchase a house, with the hefty monthly mortgages. Or the car loan, or the university fees and lost income. It is an investment into the future.

Z
Zed posted:

Amalia is the best way forward with a cost of US$801 million,the question to be asked,can Guyana afford it,also other alternative power generation sources will be needed during dry spell,from since the 70's the site was looked at for hydro power potential and still it's not materialized,i guess caution have to be taken for such huge investment.

By the way the current gov't is working with the IDB on an energy policy which should be available by the end of 2017.

So let wait and see,

I have noticed you hurriedly shook Yugi hand,regarding my comprehension skills.

How much does Guyana spend on imported fuel for power generation annually?

Zed posted:

No Django, I am myself, no ones surrogate. Quit being so paranoid. At times you come across as "hard ears" when you are trying to defend the undefendable. You continually say that you support no political party  but it does not come across as such to me. This is a good example. The report was conclusive. 

Just to note, the consultants advised another hydro project among the mix of electricity producing methods and that the present government adopted the previous ones LCDS. The project is costly, but think about it . How many of us went into debts to purchase a house, with the hefty monthly mortgages. Or the car loan, or the university fees and lost income. It is an investment into the future.

Zed,

I am not hard ears,you got to look at the whole picture,and be cautious.

I feel that project is overpriced,just my two cents.

Nah.... truthfully i am not affiliated to any party.

Talking about mortgage,paid off for one property in 15 yrs without refinance,by just looking at amortization.

Zed posted:

Zed,

Talking about mortgage,paid off for one property in 15 yrs without refinance,by just looking at amortization.

What is your basis for saying it's overpriced?

ba$eman posted:

Read the report you fool,before holding on to some one shirt tail thinking you are scoring points,

You are the biggest dunce on this forum.

It used to be Rev shirt tail, now it's Base shirt tail

Zed posted:

Zed,

Sometimes, people get trapped by and in their own rhetorics.

like you, paid off my mortgage in less than 15 years.

Z
Zed posted:
Zed posted:

Zed,

Sometimes, people get trapped by and in their own rhetorics.

Zed posted:

2 more to go purchased in 2008,one commercial lil pricy,for my retirement,

everything work out as planned,done in a next 10 yrs,me thinks the pickney will inherit,I man planned to live more moderate in my old age,still clinging to my humble beginnings.

ba$eman posted:

Looking at similar plant size built in other countries.

Provide the details!  Plant, supporting infrastructure, transmission, etc.

In the Guyana context, I ask, what is the import fuel bill for power-gen in Guyana annually?  How does this stack up against the capital outlay for Amelia?

And please explain why the PNC/AFC cabal have not yet provided these benchmark comparisons as support for their position?  Why don't they challenge the Norwegian findings when they concluded Amelia is the best way forward?  They had over two years to come up with something to support their position!

All we getting is crap from air-heads saying it's not good but cannot step one inch further to substantiate your position!

ba$eman posted:

Looking at similar plant size built in other countries.

Provide the details!  Plant, supporting infrastructure, transmission, etc.

In the Guyana context, I ask, what is the import fuel bill for power-gen in Guyana annually?  How does this stack up against the capital outlay for Amelia?

And please explain why the PNC/AFC cabal have not yet provided these benchmark comparisons as support for their position?  Why don't they challenge the Norwegian findings when they concluded Amelia is the best way forward?  They had over two years to come up with something to support their position!

All we getting is crap from air-heads saying it's not good but cannot step one inch further to substantiate your position!

I guh pull a DG pun you,

do your own research.

Looks like you are not following the news,the gov't said they will provide their position.

I got another piece of paper i am digging into for some more details.

Bear in mind i am not advising any one,i am doing this on my own to gather some information.