New Chinese vessel makes first commercial trip

MV Kanawan’

The new Roll-on/Roll-off Ferry Vessel ‘MV Kanawan’ today made its first commercial trip from Parika to Supenaam, with a total of 46 passengers, 9 trucks, 3 canters and 2 cars.

General Manager Transport and Harbours Department of the Public Works Ministry, Marclene Merchant said that today’s voyage was long outstanding.

“A lot of commuters were awaiting the operation of the two new ferries…these boats will be making initially one trip each per day…this will significantly improve the traffic destined to and from Wakenaam, Supenaam and Parika,” Merchant said.

Whilst the maiden voyage did not see the boat utilizing its full capacity, Merchant believes that by Wednesday this will be realized.

“Kanawan will provide a straight shuttle from Parika to Supenaam…MV Malali will be making one return trip from Parika-Wakenaam-Supenaam per day,” Merchant said.

The Sabanto and Kanawan were added to the fleet of vessels used by the Ministry of Public Works to boost its water transportation services as each has a seating capacity of 800 and a decking capacity of 20 Lorries or 44 cars, along with a modern VIP lounge.

Government invested $240.1M and $138M for the construction of docking facilities at Parika and Supenaam respectively, to accommodate the vessels.

The Governments of Guyana and China entered into an agreement to provide Guyana with two roll-on/roll-off ferries- which China supplied as a gift- valued at US$14.4M

Recently crew members embarked upon navigational training exercise to acquaint themselves with the on and off loading of the new vessels.

On Saturday last the crew made a test run with 52 passengers and a total of 24 vehicles, ranging from trucks to cars.

its about time i hope next week they will not pull it to dry dock for repair and check back the cost for the stelling and add in the extra for all the bad work that brokeup ben do

stop being a pessimist "warrior"...the new ferry is of great assistance to the residents of the essequibo coast.

“A lot of commuters were awaiting the operation of the two new ferries…these boats will be making initially one trip each per day…this will significantly improve the traffic destined to and from Wakenaam, Supenaam and Parika,”

As much as I'd like to say this is great for the Guyanese people, I'd also like to say that anything Made In China..is crap.

90% of what you wear and 50% of what you drive was made in China. So stop yuh crap!

As much as I'd like to say this is great for the Guyanese people, I'd also like to say that anything Made In China..is crap.

Yo Cain, So that mean you were made in China since everytime you open your mouth CRAP comes out. Ever saw Shangai, Beijing, The Great Wall??????

90% of what you wear and 50% of what you drive was made in China. So stop yuh crap!

Not true, you perhaps but your truly tries his best to stay away from anything made from that place. Dem people used to say,

Cheap ting..no good.

No good ting, cheap.

Yo Cain, So that mean you were made in China since everytime you open your mouth CRAP comes out. Ever saw Shangai, Beijing, The Great Wall??????

Banna, back in the days they may have made things properly, but it seems as though anything made nowadays by China, especially when it's for export, is cheap crap.

They does shaft us good.

You know I was goin to tell you to shut yo rass but, nahhhh.

By the way, is probably cheap chinee beer you rass had during Pangalang nite that gave you the hangover

or was it a cheap Chinese ting that did it?

Originally Posted by Conscience:

stop being a pessimist "warrior"...the new ferry is of great assistance to the residents of the essequibo coast.

“A lot of commuters were awaiting the operation of the two new ferries…these boats will be making initially one trip each per day…this will significantly improve the traffic destined to and from Wakenaam, Supenaam and Parika,”

Where did the gentleman say the ferry were not a necessity for the People? His apprehensions are to the purchase of expensive decommissioned Chinese vessels when you could do far better by buying two for one from say washington state where they have very good crafts meeting the need of the people for swift, efficient, easily maintained crafts. These monstrosities are a resource leeches to this point since they demand too be put into use.

The Sabanto and Kanawan were added to the fleet of vessels used by the Ministry of Public Works to boost its water transportation services as each has a seating capacity of 800 and a decking capacity of 20 Lorries or 44 cars, along with a modern VIP lounge.