New govt needed to advance security, prosperity for Guyana

– says Chair of US Senate Foreign Relations Subcommittee on Western Hemisphere

United States (US) Senator and one-time Republican Presidential Candidate, Marco Rubio has urged that the US stand in support of Guyana as it heads to election and seeks to elect a new Government.

Bank of Guyana

President David Granger
US Senator, Marco Rubio

The Senator made this call in a tweet from one of his official accounts on Monday. According to the Senator, he is looking forward to the democratic electoral process in Guyana, which he referred to as the US’ “important regional ally”.
“It’s in our strong interest to stand in support of the Guyanese people, as they seek to elect a new Government that can advance their security and prosperity,” the US Senator also said in his tweet.
In a message on his social media account referring to Rubio, Private Sector Commission (PSC) Chairman, retired Captain Gerry Gouveia echoed the calls for free and fair elections. He noted that this, together with respect for the rule of law and the Constitution, is what matters.
“What matters to us in the Private Sector is that Guyanese are afforded a fair and free elections free from violence that we suffered in 1992,1997 and 2001. What matters to us in the Private Sector is that whichever party wins the elections reach across the political divide and truly find a way to work together for the children of Guyana’s Future.
“What matters to us in the Private Sector is that the New Government rationalised our tax systems while creating the enabling environment to foster and enhance investors’ confidence. What matters to us in the Private Sector is that job creation must be the daily [priority] of our country leaders,” Gouveia added.
On Monday the President issued two proclamations officially declaring March 2, 2020, as elections day. The declaration, which is dated October 1, 2019, was issued in accordance with Article 61 of the Guyana Constitution, which states that the President shall by proclamation appoint a day for an election under Article 60 (2), and that an election of members of the National Assembly shall be held under Article 60 (2).
To this end, the President proclaimed that “…in pursuance of the said Article 61, I do hereby appoint the 2nd day of March 2020, as the day on which an election of members of the National Assembly shall be held under the said Article 60 (2).”
President Granger has been coming under immense pressure to issue his proclamation over the past few weeks. After almost a year of procrastination following his Government’s defeat to a No-Confidence Motion, President David Granger on Wednesday last announced March 2, 2020, as the “earliest possible” date for elections, during an address to the nation.
In his address to the nation, Granger had spoken of a need for a return to the National Assembly in order to seek an extension of time for his Government in office. According to the President, the Government of Guyana “must, as a consequence, return to the National Assembly to request an extension. The National Assembly reconvenes on 10th October 2019”.
The People’s Progressive Party (PPP) has repeatedly affirmed that it would not return to the National Assembly to grant the Government the two thirds vote it needs to extend its life in power.

New Govt is NEEDEd!!

Marco Rubio is a Republican that supports Trump and hates his ancestral homeland of Cuba. That said, Jagdeo needs to stop pushing and dealing with cocaine to stand a chance of being re-elected. Jagdeo has a stinking record in America. Them people prappa vex with am since Priya time. 

New Govt is NEEDEd!!

Marco Rubio is a Republican that supports Trump and hates his ancestral homeland of Cuba. That said, Jagdeo needs to stop pushing and dealing with cocaine to stand a chance of being re-elected. Jagdeo has a stinking record in America. Them people prappa vex with am since Priya time. 

Were you one of his runners? Be careful that Jagdeo doesn't send Diane Madray to your door. Me hear when you see dat lady, you baxside cut spike nail. You run fuh hide near the nearest woman's skirt you can find. Ah true dah princess bai.

The only way coolie will get a sense of relief is when Jagdeo wins the election. So pay attention and pray that he wins. America has the crystal ball for Guyana. Take note of that and forget about me. 

The Americans will echo their voices on Guyana more since they have big investments in this country.  We will feel the real effects of Geo-politics. 

Guyana got oil. Cuba does not matter now; it's Venezuela.

alena06 posted:

Only when PNC in power the whole world has to call for free and fair elections!!

That’s because the PNC doesn’t know how to behave in civilization.

These people need to be with their own kind.

The only way coolie will get a sense of relief is when Jagdeo wins the election. So pay attention and pray that he wins. America has the crystal ball for Guyana. Take note of that and forget about me. 

Bhai, weh yuh hear Jagdeo running fuh Prezy

America sees the crooked PNC government, them ah watch.

Dude...that is not what Rubio is saying.

Like you stuck IN ABC class, when would you learn. Ask your landlord for translation,  it's English ok.

Tiny Guyana could spark freedom in Latin America | Commentary

Ileana Ros-Lehtinen poses for a portrait in her congressional office in 2017.

Ileana Ros-Lehtinen poses for a portrait in her congressional office in 2017. (The Washington Post / The Washington Post/Getty Images)

https://www.orlandosentinel.co...t7upofb7e-story.html

Guest Columnist |
Aug 23, 2019

As a political refugee, I have a unique perspective on freedom, opportunity and human rights.

Like many Floridians, I arrived in this country not knowing a word of English. I was eight years old, and my family had just fled the Communist Castro dictatorship on one of the last commercial flights to get out of Cuba.

I ran for Congress because I wanted to make a difference and help uphold the principles that have allowed my family and countless others to succeed. I knew from my time in Florida politics that I didn’t have to be the biggest person in the room — I’m only five feet tall! — to have an outsized impact.

As a member of the House Foreign Affairs Committee, and eventually its chairman, I got to work right away influencing U.S. policy toward Cuba, Venezuela and Nicaragua. In my South Florida community, foreign policy is domestic policy. Everyone has a family member or friend in these countries yearning for the same opportunities and freedoms we enjoy.

Sadly, despite years of bipartisan efforts to bring about real change — both in Washington and on the regional level — Castro, Maduro and Ortega are still clinging to power. In Venezuela, the situation today is catastrophic.

The recent economic embargo of Venezuela announced by President Donald Trump is the right move to ratchet up pressure. Our goal is to force a peaceful transition away from Maduro and quickly get the Venezuelan people access to the hundreds of tons of aid he has blocked.

So far, the corrupt Maduro regime continues to squander its vast resources while serving itself, rather than the Venezuelan people. But hope springs eternal that change will come; and when it does, the example set by Venezuela’s small neighbor to the east will likely have played a big part.

Guyana, a Caribbean nation of less than 800,000, has roughly the population of my former congressional district. But don’t let its size fool you. Today it is on the verge of an economic and cultural boom.

Guyana’s offshore shelf is home to massive energy reserves, as ExxonMobil discovered in 2015. Thirteen additional strikes later, Guyana looks poised to become one of the world’s largest oil producers per capita by mid-2020. Some experts expect Guyana to generate up to $5 billion in production revenues by that time, more than tripling its GDP.

Of course, it’s been a long road. Prior to the major discovery, oil exploration had come up blank again and again. The situation was so dire that in 2014, Royal Dutch Shell sold off its acreage for $1. The streak of finds seems to suggest huge potential for future prosperity in the small nation. Nothing is certain, however, as development is taking place alongside a fractious and protracted political battle which threatens to stall the country’s progress.

In December of 2018, the country’s governing coalition — led by President David Granger — lost a vote of no-confidence in the National Assembly. After a series of appeals and months of legal battles, the Caribbean Court of Justice made a final ruling in July that the no-confidence vote was valid, setting the stage for future elections. Hopefully, a date will be set soon.

As the campaign gets underway, I urge both major political parties in Guyana to seize this opportunity to lay out a bold vision for the future. The Guyanese people want reforms to education, infrastructure and healthcare. Additional reforms to increase transparency and the effective management of energy revenues will also be key.

While the future is Guyana’s to decide, the U.S. and its regional partners have a role to play as well. I know our Guyanese-American communities are up to the challenge. It’s in everyone’s interests to help build a strong, prosperous Guyana where rule of law, good governance, and opportunity shine as a beacon throughout the region.

The author represented the 27th District of Florida in Congress from 1989 to 2017.

Let's stay focus on America impression of the present situation in Guyana the government has gone rogue. 

Exactly. Everyone and their uncle finds it necessary to bring to the wicked Coalition attention that they need to start following law and order.

“Elect a new government” does not translate into “elect a PPP government”.....

so why you people pulling off y’all pants and buktas? White man aint coming to Guyana to put the PPP in office with all dem anti-American, feral blaster, goat bite his ass rag tag people running that defunct organization call the PPP....keep dreaming.

How they did it in 1992?

Well since you know , which political parties does the US have in mind to replace this government.  Remember the key words are New Government . If you don't know then return to school. You are beginning to write nonsense,  check with your Parents before you post.

How they did it in 1992?

INdo was in the majority population then...

AND, Irfaan and Jagdeo ain’t no Cheddi Jagan

Like dis bukta thing really bothers you? I can assure you there are no more buktas hidden in your house.