New GPC received 80% of drugs contracts in 2011 – Auditor General

October 28, 2012 | By | Filed Under News 

The 2011 Report of the Auditor General (AG) is out and its makes for some interesting reading.

The report concentrated on the accounts of the government Ministries including the Ministry of Health.

Specifically, the report raised issue over the government’s purchase of medical drugs and supplies.

New GPC’s Chief Executive Officer, Dr. Ranjisinghi ‘Bobby’ Ramroop

According to the report, one of two local companies pre-qualified by the government to supply pharmaceuticals and medical items are New GPC and Medpharm. New GPC received a whopping 80 per cent of the contracts to supply while Medpharm received one per cent.
In total, the Ministry of Health expended US$13.3 million for pharmaceuticals and other purchases.
New GPC received contracts to the tune of US$10.6 million which was equivalent to 80 per cent.
The other company, MedPharm, received just under US$40,000 worth in contracts.
In recent times, bids by New GPC have come under more scrutiny because of its high price tag submitted to the Tender Board when compared to other bidders.
This was very glaring two weeks ago when two lone tenders were opened for the supply of anti-malaria drugs.
New GPC submitted a bid for $261 million while IPA, another supplier, submitted a bid for $32M, a vast difference of more than $228M.
The issue has seen government saying it is too early to pronounce, as the tenders are still in the process of being evaluated.
It was only recently that the opening of bids at the National Procurement and Tender Administration Board (NPTAB) were allowed to be reported in the press.
New GPC has been the main supplier of drugs and other supplies to government since the late 90s.

LOOK HOW THESE OLD FOWL TIEF LICKING UP GUYANA.

In total, the Ministry of Health expended US$13.3 million for pharmaceuticals and other purchases.
New GPC received contracts to the tune of US$10.6 million which was equivalent to 80 per cent.

Dev, you should try to befriend Jag, maybe you get some soup.

Dev, Baseman is speaking from experience.

Baseman yuh ah guarantee lil poom poom or lil soup?

That's for me to know and you to find out...and there's only one way.

Ok Baseman I'll find out......

I will ask Kwame.....he will tell me

He was blabing his mouth about Nehru and Skeldon.....

You know I want to know..... I asked......

because I never believed u as one of them Poom poom Pata-cake.

and you are not do-u-bt-ing.....

Originally Posted by Ronald Narain:

It is clear as crystal that Baseman is a crook and a front for the jagabats in Georgetown.

Ronald.....of all the Fellas and Vultures that today find themselves defending the Corruption, Crime and Thiefing ......under the Jagdeo and Ramotar Govt....

I find it difficult to imagine Baseman is a Crook.....

Because in the Past we both defended the PPP....and when the thiefing became open and clear.... to all we both spoke out and we both were rallying behind the AFC.(At least so I taught)

However, he changed completly after the last elections.

I know he is smart.....he sees the thiefing and corruption.....but he has been silenced or forced and pressured to look the other way.

I guess it has got to do with his liveleyhood.....and he may be very very close to Bobby......closer than we think.

It is clear as crystal that Baseman is a crook and a front for the jagabats in Georgetown.

Ronald.....of all the Fellas and Vultures that today find themselves defending the Corruption, Crime and Thiefing ......under the Jagdeo and Ramotar Govt....

Because in the Past we both defended the PPP....and when the thiefing became open and clear.... to all we both spoke out and we both were rallying behind the AFC.(At least so I taught)

I know he is smart.....he sees the thiefing and corruption.....but he has been silenced or forced and pressured to look the other way.

I guess it has got to do with his liveleyhood.....and he may be very very close to Bobby......closer than we think.

Baseman thinks the PPP does have corrupt personalities.  There is also a lot incompetence and lack of care.  However, the racism displayed by the PNC and Afros last election gave me reason to ponder.  The callous and one-sided stance of the AFC before and after the elections has made me see them in a different light.  I think they are dangerous and play to the tune of the PNC and the radical Afros.  They have no coherent strategy which serves the interest of the people, it's this today, that tomorrow and attacking personalities (Indian) have become their main mantra.

Baseman cannot be part of that.

Baseman thinks the PPP does have corrupt personalities.  There is also a lot incompetence and lack of care.  However, the racism displayed by the PNC and Afros last election gave me reason to ponder.  The callous and one-sided stance of the AFC before and after the elections has made me see them in a different light.  I think they are dangerous and play to the tune of the PNC and the radical Afros.  They have no coherent strategy which serves the interest of the people, it's this today, that tomorrow and attacking personalities (Indian) have become their main mantra.

Baseman cannot be part of that.

fetching rehab water in a sieve for the corrupt PPP [again] . . . yaaawn

All that money that the PPP is stealing has to come form somewhere. Like the Norwegian donations or the write offs by foreign countries. It even comes from extortionate VAT receipts. Like PPP voters are suckers for punishment and poverty.