Bill S731-2013

Provides a means of incorporation for organized groups affiliated with the Hindu, Sikh and Islamic faiths

Provides a means of incorporation for organized groups affiliated with the Hindu, Sikh and Islamic faiths; amends the definition of "clergyman" and "minister" to include a pandit, swami, guru, granthi, imam, moulvi, and maulana.

Details

Actions

• Jun 11, 2013: referred to corporations, authorities and commissions
  • Jun 11, 2013: DELIVERED TO ASSEMBLY
  • Jun 11, 2013: PASSED SENATE
  • Jun 10, 2013: ORDERED TO THIRD READING CAL.1174
  • Jun 10, 2013: COMMITTEE DISCHARGED AND COMMITTED TO RULES
  • Jan 9, 2013: REFERRED TO CORPORATIONS, AUTHORITIES AND COMMISSIONS

Meetings

Calendars

Votes

Memo

BILL NUMBER:S731

TITLE OF BILL:

An act to amend the religious corporations law, in relation to providing a means of incorporation for organized groups affiliated with the Hindu, Sikh and Islamic faiths

PURPOSE OR GENERAL IDEA OF BILL:

The legislation will give organized groups affiliated with the Hindu, Sikh and Islamic faiths the same rights to incorporation as enjoyed by more than 20 other religiously affiliated groups under the current N ew York State Religious Corporations Law.

SUMMARY OF PROVISIONS:

Section 1 of the bill amends the fourth undesignated paragraph of section of the religious corporations law, as amended by chapter 674 of the laws of 1947, by adding to the definition of "clergyman" and "minister" to include "pandit, swami, guru, granthi, imam, moulvi, maulana".

Section 2 of the bill amends the religious corporations law by adding a new article 22 that creates a category for "Organizations of the Hindu Faith" setting forth following sections: Section 460. Application; Section 461. Application for incorporation; Section 462. Qualification of voters; Section 463. Notice of meeting for incorporation; Section 464. Meeting for incorporation; Section 465. Church governance; Section 466. Certificate of incorporation; Section 467. Reincorporation of present incorporated churches; Section 468. Time, place and notice of corporate meetings; Section 469. Corporate meetings;

Section 3 of the bill amends the religious corporations law by adding a new article 23 that creates a category for "Organizations of the Sikh Faith" setting forth following sections: Section 470. Application; Section 471. Application for incorporation; Section 472. Qualification of voters; Section 473. Notice of meeting for incorporation; Section 474. Meeting for incorporation; Section 475. Church governance; Section 476. Certificate of incorporation; Section 477. Reincorporation of present incorporated churches; Section 478. Time, place and notice of corporate meetings; Section 479. Corporate meetings;

Section 4 of the bill amends the religious corporations law by adding anew article 24 that creates a category for "Organizations of the Islamic Faith" setting forth following sections: Section 480. Application; Section 481. Application for incorporation; Section 482. Qualification of voters; Section 483. Notice of meeting for incorporation; Section 484.

Meeting for incorporation; Section 485. Church governance; Section 486. Certificate of incorporation; Section 487. Reincorporation of present incorporated churches; Section 488. Time, place and notice of corporate meetings; Section 489. Corporate meetings;

Section 5 provides for this act to take effect immediately

JUSTIFICATION:

Current state law allows for a means of incorporation for more than 20 religiously affiliated churches/organizations from Protestant, Presbyterian and Roman Catholic Churches to Universalists and Unitarian Societies. However, this same privilege has yet to be explicitly granted to organized groups affiliated with the Hindu, Sikh and Islamic faiths.

Each of these religious faiths dates back a minimum of 1,000 years and their followers have practiced their faiths in the United States for decades if not centuries. New York State is home to many followers of each religious faith and their members count into the thousands if not millions throughout the state.

One of the fundamental tenets of the United States Constitution is religious freedom and it is time that the state of New York officially acknowledge the Hindu, Sikh and Islamic faiths by giving them the same privilege that is given to more than 20 other faiths who already enjoy the right to incorporate as a religious corporation with all of responsibilities and benefits that accompany this incorporated status.

PRIOR LEGISLATIVE HISTORY:

2011-12: S.4839

FISCAL IMPLICATIONS FOR STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:

None.

EFFECTIVE DATE:

This act shall take effect immediately.

When were you elected to the NY State Senate???

I actually have friends who sit in the NY State Senate. My social circle is broader than Liberty Avenue's fine rum shaps

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Does that mean al queda can now claim legitimacy in the US?

Basically, Hindus and Muslims and Sikhs were not catered for in the NY State Religious Corporations law so they have to register as a "free church." And now Hindus will be able to register as Hindus. Muslims as Muslims. And Sikhs as Sikhs.

Originally Posted by JoKer:

Basically, Hindus and Muslims and Sikhs were not catered for in the NY State Religious Corporations law so they have to register as a "free church." And now Hindus will be able to register as Hindus. Muslims as Muslims. And Sikhs as Sikhs.

BIG DEAL!!!!!!!!!!!!

No self respect, eh bai?

Are you a member of a mandir or a "free Christian church"?

BIG DEAL!!!!!!!!!!!!

No self respect, eh bai?

church, mANDIR, tEMPLE, mOSQUE all are OK with me. The IMPORTANT thing is DHARMA!!!

BIG DEAL!!!!!!!!!!!!

No self respect, eh bai?

church, mANDIR, tEMPLE, mOSQUE all are OK with me. The IMPORTANT thing is DHARMA!!!

As an Indian, it offended me. So I chose to do something about it instead of ignoring it.

I feel sorry for you that these things don't bother you.

BIG DEAL!!!!!!!!!!!!

No self respect, eh bai?

As an Indian, it offended me. So I chose to do something about it instead of ignoring it.

I feel sorry for you that these things don't bother you.

Not at all. I am a man of the World.

Thank you Sir, this is not something the Drunks will write home about.

The Drunks would be more concerned if they can use pee as chaser and save on the Pepsi....so do not expect congrats from de sagiwang fellas.

LMAO...whah can I say bhai? This is abbe people

lISTEN TO DIS kUTHYA sALLAH!!

Great job Sir well done. I am not in NY but this is a great deal. 

I am concerned that followers of alcoholic spirits are not being catered for.

Mr T you should point this out to Nehru....Their Leader could be Rebranded as "Chief Sagi-wang".....instead of plain "Dutty Bum" 

Another example of failure for my good pal yugi

Ker you tail dat side.

Here is a Letter from the then Democratic Deputy Majority Leader addressed to one Farouk Samaroo acceding to a request for legislation on behalf of coolie people.

I guess the Senate deals with a lot of political rejects and failures

There you go. More like what I want to see from my fellow Guyanese.

You can be an outstanding citizen if you polish up your language and attitude towards other Guyanese who differ from you politically.

Yuji gives credit where credit is due. Congrats.

You can be an outstanding citizen if you polish up your language and attitude towards other Guyanese who differ from you politically.

I don't need your advice.

Now to the point. I failed and still managed to author a law despite not being a member of Government because senior lawmakers of this state trusted my good judgment.

Who are the senior lawmakers of Ontario that care what yugi thinks?

I don't need your advice.

Now to the point. I failed and still managed to author a law despite not being a member of Government because senior lawmakers of this state trusted my good judgment.

Who are the senior lawmakers of Ontario that care what yugi thinks?

....so that explains authored by the Neemakharam Guyanese......

Self-deprecating while talking to oneself.......quite a balancing act there Shaits...

Seriously I know you're capable of worthy things, my brother.

Here is a Letter from the then Democratic Deputy Majority Leader addressed to one Farouk Samaroo acceding to a request for legislation on behalf of coolie people.

i wouldn't advise crowing about how much 'influence' one wielded on behalf of "coolie people"[?] with crooked, mediocre Queens politicians on the take

http://www.nydailynews.com/blo...blog-entry-1.1694572

I am concerned that followers of alcoholic spirits are not being catered for.

man comforts a woman after a shooting early Sunday evening on the ...

... man appeared drunk and was verbally assaulting a black man who wasRichmond Hill native fatally shot on Liberty Avenue

Drunken’ driver kills Queens man, 89

Mr T you should point this out to Nehru....

Their Leader could be Rebranded as "Chief Sagi-wang".....

instead of plain "Dutty Bum" 

like the cap fit

I know I'm gonna regret this question, but what pray tell is a "kuthya sallah"?

like the cap fit

I know I'm gonna regret this question, but what pray tell is a "kuthya sallah"?

cobra friend nehru

i wouldn't advise crowing about how much 'influence' one wielded on behalf of "coolie people"[?] with crooked, mediocre Queens politicians on the take

http://www.nydailynews.com/blo...blog-entry-1.1694572

It pains me greatly to respond to posts written solely to annoy but I'll indulge you since this is your contribution to GNI and online raison d'etre. I believe an ungenerous characterization may that of "troll." Nevertheless.

I wasn't crowing about anything. Certainly not about any "influence" I may or may not have with anyone. I personally don't think I have any. Some think I do. I guess you know for sure.

My limited point to another "learned" poster (yugi) was that my contributions to my community go beyond the few lines written about one campaign in the press. Also, were I really the type of person who crows about things, I would have pasted this Senate bill all over Queens and in the press. But I did not. And you will be even hard pressed to find pictures of me with politicians. It is rare that I have pictures of myself with politicians. Even ones I know quite well.

. . . I wasn't crowing about anything. Certainly not about any "influence" I may or may not have with anyone. I personally don't think I have any. Some think I do. I guess you know for sure.

an instant classic!

you're actually trying to have it, like . . . four different ways ALL at the same time

seriously, u protest waaay too much . . . lol