Friday, 10 January 2014 15:27 administrator

Print PDF

Courtney Sandy was paid by Nigel Hughes on behalf of the shooter

Alliance for Change (AFC) Chairman Nigel Hughes is once again at the center of controversy this time for his role in subverting the course of justice. Hughes, who is also an attorney-at-law by profession recently, approached one of the victims of a shooting which took place at an Albouystown bar with monetary compensation in exchange for the victim’s non-cooperation in identifying the shooter. The victim, 28 year old Courtney Sandy, was among three persons injured when an individual connected to the drug underworld opened fire on Thursday last at a bar during an argument between himself and another individual.

Sandy received a bullet wound to his ankle. Hughes' initial offer of $100,000 was rejected by Sandy and the sum was then raised to an undisclosed amount.  He was then made to give a statement taken by the AFC chairman in which he claimed to have not seen his shooter. We were reliably informed that this procedure was repeated for all 3 victims and though collecting more than $3M from the shooter Hughes paid out less than half of that amount and kept the rest for himself.

Police have repeatedly complained that uncooperative witnesses and victims are hampering their investigation of many serious crimes including murder. Just recently a murder accused was freed after several witnesses repeatedly failed to turn up in court despite the fact that the entire incident was captured on video. Hughes and his opposition colleagues have also been severely critical  of the failure of the police to properly investigate certain crimes and this now shows that he himself is part of the problem.

Originally Posted by albert:

Friday, 10 January 2014 15:27 administrator

Print PDF

Courtney Sandy was paid by Nigel Hughes on behalf of the shooter

Alliance for Change (AFC) Chairman Nigel Hughes is once again at the center of controversy this time for his role in subverting the course of justice. Hughes, who is also an attorney-at-law by profession recently, approached one of the victims of a shooting which took place at an Albouystown bar with monetary compensation in exchange for the victim’s non-cooperation in identifying the shooter. The victim, 28 year old Courtney Sandy, was among three persons injured when an individual connected to the drug underworld opened fire on Thursday last at a bar during an argument between himself and another individual.

Sandy received a bullet wound to his ankle. Hughes' initial offer of $100,000 was rejected by Sandy and the sum was then raised to an undisclosed amount.  He was then made to give a statement taken by the AFC chairman in which he claimed to have not seen his shooter. We were reliably informed that this procedure was repeated for all 3 victims and though collecting more than $3M from the shooter Hughes paid out less than half of that amount and kept the rest for himself.

Police have repeatedly complained that uncooperative witnesses and victims are hampering their investigation of many serious crimes including murder. Just recently a murder accused was freed after several witnesses repeatedly failed to turn up in court despite the fact that the entire incident was captured on video. Hughes and his opposition colleagues have also been severely critical  of the failure of the police to properly investigate certain crimes and this now shows that he himself is part of the problem.

This is a matter for the bar. It is also a matter for the legislature since this has been happening for many years so if Nigil did what is said of him then he did then he is participating in what is an odious practice in the legal system.

I can list a number of cases we no longer hear about involving public figures

Ramotars son, Nocta's son, Lall's son, Fox's son, Benn's son etc...these things fall trough the crack and the crimes for which the accused is alleged to have participated in is no simple matter.

On the level of the courts magistrates habitually let rape victims settle their cases. This is gross and disgusting since rapists never rehabilitate they just re-offend.

In any event, if the above is true and nothing happens then it is a failure once more in our judicial process where accusations as this is not formally investigated and if true the offender feeling the full kick of the law.

Originally Posted by albert:

And these are the same folks who protract themselves as champions of of people of afro ancestry. How could US$500 be reasonable compensation for a bullet in the ankle?  

you ******* have to stop dragging people name in the gutter with your lies.what the ppp say will not matter what they do will matter

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Nigel Hughes is one of the most heinous character in the legal profession.

why because he is not a ppp supporter,it okay if he was APNU but the AFC is kicking the ppp ass exposing the corruption.well you ppp low life thieves get use to it the AFC will make sure the ppp get out of power in the next election  

Originally Posted by Conscience:

Nigel Hughes is no Sunday School boy.

nigle is not doing what he should be doing,listen fool i am a guyanese indian and i am saying nigle should be busy organizing a coup before its too late for guyana, what you see is only a protest what i want to see is some of the ppp ministers hanging from a tree.

Nigel was even fingered in being company secretary for the hydro, that his party was totally against, when they belated found out he was enriching himself, that voted overnight for the project.

Chairman of the Alliance for Change (AFC), Nigel Hughes, was appointed as the β€˜Secretary’ of the Amaila Falls Hydro Inc., the Special Purpose Vehicle/Company created for the development, construction and operation of the US$858M Hydro Power plant.
Executive Member of the AFC, Cathy Hughes, the wife of Nigel Hughes, as recent as yesterday issued a press statement in which she was identified as the Public Relations Officer for Sithe Global, locally.
Party Leader Khemraj Ramjattan, when contacted said that he was aware that Hughes has an association with the company but said he did not know that he was Company Secretary.

Excerpts from the Kaieteurnews

Nigel was even fingered in being company secretary for the hydro, that his party was totally against, when they belated found out he was enriching himself, that voted overnight for the project.

Chairman of the Alliance for Change (AFC), Nigel Hughes, was appointed as the β€˜Secretary’ of the Amaila Falls Hydro Inc., the Special Purpose Vehicle/Company created for the development, construction and operation of the US$858M Hydro Power plant.
Executive Member of the AFC, Cathy Hughes, the wife of Nigel Hughes, as recent as yesterday issued a press statement in which she was identified as the Public Relations Officer for Sithe Global, locally.
Party Leader Khemraj Ramjattan, when contacted said that he was aware that Hughes has an association with the company but said he did not know that he was Company Secretary.

wait until your brainwash comrade come online to post this shit,guyanese is disgust with the ppp

How is your one man revolution army going?

Aint that funny? None of you knew Motilal never build a fowl pen and his business was just as a murti seller? Yet he got the license ( he later sold for 12 million US) to build a hydroelectric plant and a contract to build a road in the jungle!

Only recently a minister claim she did not know her daughter was equal partner in a firm that did not exist and the government did not know the firm was a ghost yet they were awarded a contract for 30 million to build a recycling plant!

There are a dozen more of these cases that anyone can pick on the fly to mention yet you are here trying to disparage a man who is an officer on a company the PPP still claim to be clean!

Get real!

How is your one man revolution army going?

Spring will come!

Seems like lots of people see selling their souls to the  DEVIL is business as usual!!!!!

Pundit who you calling Devil.....

and the Real Devil are different people.

De Real Devil is....

The fella who tell de world eee gon Marry a Woman...

arrange with ee Bundit fren fuh do de Hindu wedding...

then tell dem Guyanese Hindu....

"Bamboo Wedding" is not a legal marriage.

De Real Devil is....

The Pundit Fella who do the "Bamboo Wedding"

Then ....Mek Varshni & Bharat sign the wedding forms

in front of all them Judge in Guyana

and then turn around and tell de world

he forget fuh register de Wedding.

De Real Devil is....

The Funny Fella who chase de Lady out de Bedroom,

and Tell aya Kwame is De First Lady...

and get all aya believing Kwame is a Woman.

Because ee like Olo

De Real Devil is....

The President who cannot control Crime

and refuse to Pay the Army & Police a Decent Wage,

But whine down good pun a lil Soldier Girl....

and get Kwame fuh Halla...

"Look, Bharrat giving we wha we like"

De Real Devil is....

The President who say Guyana aint got no Drug Problem...

and everything nice...although Teachers & Nurses Starving...

and...eee get a Crack-head-teacher fuh bend over like Kwame...

and Donald give she a good Whining.....

Dem Confuse De First-Lady....

now got she longing fuh lamumba...

fuh clap de Dolphin puh she....

Suh Nehru .....when yuh talking about.....

De Real Devil ....

yuh must talk about

Kwame, lamumba, Pundit, De Rat, De Duck

and Dem First-Lady right here who like bend-over...

and does practice, promote  and Love....

to Break the Laws of Guyana....

and Like Corruption, Wrong Doing,

Thiefing, Narco, Money Laundering, Gun Smuggleing,

Nepotism, Lawless & Nastiness.

So let us get this right

De Hon Councie, Skeldon Man, Albert & Kwame...are members of

"Team - Duck/Rat who Break the Laws of Guyana"

....Ok ...That's Clear to all now...

Now let us hear what

"Kwame - Boys & Girls" ...are telling us

"According to Kwame Boys & Girls"...

Ramjattan & Nigel Hughes steal money

from De Amarlia Hydro Project....

Is ...."Kwame - Boys & Girls".....Speaking the Truth?

"Kwame-Boys & Girls" are Dishonest Liars

why don't they speak the truth about

Bharat, Fip & De Missing Millions

Some Michigan fans mocked Tressel recently with this billboard.

2014 & Dem Dutty Crablouse lying more than before

To date, the AFC goons have find to condemn the wrongdoing of the hugheses.

According to an insider who ask to remain anonymous, stated that the Hughes faction of the AFC is in constant conflict with the Ramjattan faction.

Isn't it strange that in all of the Anansi stories that your team manufactures, there is always an anonymous source? I'm convinced that that you find this source whenever you have your nose up Kwamshe's BeeTee.  

To date, the AFC goons have find to condemn the wrongdoing of the hugheses.

According to an insider who ask to remain anonymous, stated that the Hughes faction of the AFC is in constant conflict with the Ramjattan faction.

Conscience, how much land did you secure on the East Bank?

Coounscie is just an uneducated lackey. He doesn't get much for his efforts.

SOURCE STABROEK NEWS.

The time has come to end the silence

Posted By Staff Writer On January 3, 2014 @ 5:08 am In Letters | No Comments

Dear Editor,

For most of my life (a quarter century) I have sat silently watching and enduring the sickness that plagues my country, our country.

I have watched our politicians, our β€˜leaders’ attack such things as integrity, duty and truth with dull, rusted swords.

The time has come to end the silence.

There are those of my generation who are beginning to find their voices.

What do those voices whisper?

What will they soon shout?

They say, we say, I say that we are tired of this political machinery that operates solely on fear, hate and anger from years long gone and other more recent and sinister things.

We are tired of being told that we should be satisfied with our present state simply because our past was a worse thing.

Perhaps today is better in many ways than yesterday but will tomorrow be better than today?

Change does not come to the naΓ―ve man or woman who sits and believes in shallow promises. Change comes to the man, to the woman who rises, questions everything endlessly so that he or she may find truth, and then acts.

I will not be silent. I will not be silenced.

Who among you will join me?

For my people and country

Yours faithfully,

Sara Bharrat