Leader of the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR, David Granger on Friday vowed that his party would not give a “blanket apology” for excesses during its almost 30-year unbroken rule of Guyana.

“I am not going to give any blanket apology when nobody has given any indication as to what is to be investigated,” he said.

Instead, he first prefers investigations be conducted into alleged “errors” such as killing of persons and electoral irregularities during the PNC and Peoples Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) terms of office.

Asked whether the PNCR could risk waiting on an inquiry while it seeks votes from its non-traditional constituency, he stressed “I’ve said what I’ve said. I have said if things had been wrong, I am prepared to have an investigation. I am not going to apologise on the basis of hearsay or conjecture or speculation,” he said.

Granger, who is also Chairman of the parliamentary coalition A Partnership for National Unity (APNU),  has come in for sharp criticism by a number of letter writers in the daily newspapers about how he dealt with the issue of race and politics during interactions in the predominantly East Indo-Guyanese area of Richmond Hill, New York during the Independence weekend.

The retired Brigadier of the Guyana Defence Force (GDF) recalled being in the Rupununi in 1969 when the United Force (UF) had apparently advocated and led an “armed rebellion against the State of Guyana.”  “There is no innocent in the United Force or the PPP so let us have a total investigation into Guyana if you want and let us see who did what to do and why,” he said.

The PNCR Leader said there has been some misinterpretation of his position at the meeting in New York. He explained that APNU embraced parties and other groups as a means of forging national unity.  He noted that APNU’s associate, the Guyana Action Party (GAP), was one such organization whose members are predominantly Amerindian.

Arguing that about 20 percent of Guyanese are of mixed ancestry, Granger said race was decreasingly a major factor. “Trying to take a racial line with them doesn’t make sense… APNU is not trying to erase those differences but we are accepting the reality of contemporary Guyana,” he added.

Granger said his organization was not seeking to wipe out ethnic diversity but accommodate all races under the APNU coalition umbrella. “We are not trying to obliterate ethnic differences or ignore ethnic differences but the concerns of GAP are catered for in the policies and legislative performances of APNU,” he said.

The  PNC-led administration from 1964-1992 has been accused of rigging elections, beating and killing of political opponents and the locking up of persons for being in possession of basic food items which had been banned or restricted.

For its part, the PPPC-administration has been blamed for alleged police and army torture of suspects and being in bed with drug lords such as convict, Shaheed ‘”Roger” Khan, in the fight against heavily armed gangs in Buxton from 2002 to 2006.

The best "apology" the PNC can offer is to push and champion the constitutional reform(s) which will preclude the use of the military ever again, by any political party, and leader, from intervening in the national electoral process.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Same old PNC. They will devour Guyana and turned it once again into a beggar state. Don't let them have that opportunity again. 

Same old jumbie. Same old PNC, eh? Tell that to the youths in Guyana. They're not afraid of the PNC jumbie. They're not scared that the wicked PNC "will devour Guyana...."

And, according to Granger, 20 percent of them are now douglah; they won't vote race.

David Granger is a practical politician. He is not a suicidal political leader.

He is mindful of the feelings and opinions of his constituents, as all political leaders should be. We can't quarrel with that.

Tactically, Mr Granger cannot offer any "blanket apology" now, not while the Rodney COI is taking evidence.

After the COI has done its job and released its report, I think Mr Granger will offer a "qualified apology".

The best "apology" the PNC can offer is to push and champion the constitutional reform(s) which will preclude the use of the military ever again, by any political party, and leader, from intervening in the national electoral process.

yaaaaawwwwn . . .

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/si...out-that-prevents-it

yaaaaawwwwn . . .

I know, it does not fit with your 2011 election mantra, which got exposed with your defeat.  Now. go lick your wounds.

He is mindful of the feelings and opinions of his constituents, as all political leaders should be. We can't quarrel with that.

Tactically, Mr Granger cannot offer any "blanket apology" now, not while the Rodney COI is taking evidence.

After the COI has done its job and released its report, I think Mr Granger will offer a "qualified apology".

It should not be about personalities.  Granger is terminal.  Democracy transend any individual.

yaaaaawwwwn . . .

I know, it does not fit with your 2011 election mantra, which got exposed with your defeat.  Now. go lick your wounds.

nooooo . . . not so fast deh usain bolt/fred astaire

u been runnin/dancin since 2011; we want to know . . .!

Good perspective Mr Gilbakka. Mr Granger have a tin line to walk on. 

And de tin cup party pelting blows like hell pon he.

Not only tin cup party. Racist from AFC like Mr Jalil and Mr KishanB.

Interesting how we are all begging for honest political leaders but willing to excuse them because it is not politically/legally expedient for them to be. Granger, leader of the PNC's position is "I know we did bad things but if you can't show what they are, we didn't do any bad things"

Politics is who gets what, when and how.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Interesting how we are all begging for honest political leaders but willing to excuse them because it is not politically/legally expedient for them to be. Granger, leader of the PNC's position is "I know we did bad things but if you can't show what they are, we didn't do any bad things"

At least he is admitting that the PNC did bad things. 

Looking forward to the PPP to make the same admission.

Two neighbors are pouring garbage outside their gates.  Only one (the PNC) is told that they must pay a fine.  The other, the PPP continues to pour garbage outside their gate, denies that they are doing so, and people like you rush to their defense.

Granger did not admit anything. What you read above was a analogy but I guess you are too racially blind to recognize that.

Granger admitted the POSSIBILITY of the PNC being engaged in not good things.  And added that so was the PPP.

Please cite evidence that either Jagdeo or Ramotar have done so.

"black man good, Indian good, so black man must apologize".  This is the mantra that is being forced down the throats of people.

If any one says "black man bad, Indian bad, so BOTH have to apologize" in your eyes, as well as those of basemen, yuji and the other tribalists, they become a racist.

Granger admitted the POSSIBILITY of the PNC being engaged in not good things.  And added that so was the PPP.

Please cite evidence that either Jagdeo or Ramotar have done so.

"black man good, Indian good, so black man must apologize".  This is the mantra that is being forced down the throats of people.

If any one says "black man bad, Indian bad, so BOTH have to apologize" in your eyes, as well as those of basemen, yuji and the other tribalists, they become a racist.

Oh so now he just admitted the possibility. Keep writing until you finally come to the truth, if that is even possible.  

Don't you think that some one admitting that maybe they did wrong is better then the other the PPP, who claims to be innocent?

At least Granger opens up the possibility of a discussion on the sordid track r5ecord of the PNC.

To the PPP there is nothing to talk about as they think that they are as innocent as a newborn babe.

But a card carrying man like you who harbors deep hatred towards blacks can't fathom that.  Too busy with your angry posturing that all the ills of Guyana are due to blacks.

Don't you think that some one admitting that maybe they did wrong is better then the other the PPP, who claims to be innocent?

At least Granger opens up the possibility of a discussion on the sordid track r5ecord of the PNC.

To the PPP there is nothing to talk about as they think that they are as innocent as a newborn babe.

But a card carrying man like you who harbors deep hatred towards blacks can't fathom that.  Too busy with your angry posturing that all the ills of Guyana are due to blacks.

Please list the WREONGS Indians did to Afros or STFU!!!1

Listed them many times but you were too racist to notice.  Ask Freddie Kissoon.  He agrees.

It not the tactical prudent thing do do and it is also not appropriate since it affirms he has the authority to do that. Those who do are dead. If Hammie headed the PNC I would be more inclined to ask him since I know he was part of the crooked scheming since I saw him in action at least twice. This matter also  skirts racism closely. The PPP can change from avowed communists ( a dictatorial one party structure) but the PNC cannot!

Further, the PNC are not the ones currently robbing us blind. They did not take us down the road to extrajudicial murder, the massive give aways of our property etc...who is apologizing for this. That the PNC claims to be against is has to count for something! After all, it coincides with what most of us believe.

Leader of the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR, David Granger on Friday vowed that his party would not give a “blanket apology” for excesses during its almost 30-year unbroken rule of Guyana.

“I am not going to give any blanket apology when nobody has given any indication as to what is to be investigated,” he said.

Instead, he first prefers investigations be conducted into alleged “errors” such as killing of persons and electoral irregularities during the PNC and Peoples Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) terms of office.

Asked whether the PNCR could risk waiting on an inquiry while it seeks votes from its non-traditional constituency, he stressed “I’ve said what I’ve said. I have said if things had been wrong, I am prepared to have an investigation. I am not going to apologise on the basis of hearsay or conjecture or speculation,” he said.

Granger, who is also Chairman of the parliamentary coalition A Partnership for National Unity (APNU),  has come in for sharp criticism by a number of letter writers in the daily newspapers about how he dealt with the issue of race and politics during interactions in the predominantly East Indo-Guyanese area of Richmond Hill, New York during the Independence weekend.

The retired Brigadier of the Guyana Defence Force (GDF) recalled being in the Rupununi in 1969 when the United Force (UF) had apparently advocated and led an “armed rebellion against the State of Guyana.”  “There is no innocent in the United Force or the PPP so let us have a total investigation into Guyana if you want and let us see who did what to do and why,” he said.

The PNCR Leader said there has been some misinterpretation of his position at the meeting in New York. He explained that APNU embraced parties and other groups as a means of forging national unity.  He noted that APNU’s associate, the Guyana Action Party (GAP), was one such organization whose members are predominantly Amerindian.

Arguing that about 20 percent of Guyanese are of mixed ancestry, Granger said race was decreasingly a major factor. “Trying to take a racial line with them doesn’t make sense… APNU is not trying to erase those differences but we are accepting the reality of contemporary Guyana,” he added.

Granger said his organization was not seeking to wipe out ethnic diversity but accommodate all races under the APNU coalition umbrella. “We are not trying to obliterate ethnic differences or ignore ethnic differences but the concerns of GAP are catered for in the policies and legislative performances of APNU,” he said.

The  PNC-led administration from 1964-1992 has been accused of rigging elections, beating and killing of political opponents and the locking up of persons for being in possession of basic food items which had been banned or restricted.

For its part, the PPPC-administration has been blamed for alleged police and army torture of suspects and being in bed with drug lords such as convict, Shaheed ‘”Roger” Khan, in the fight against heavily armed gangs in Buxton from 2002 to 2006.

Very disappointing statement.  However, I am not surprised.  Same on PNC sugar coated to fool the kids, but the adults can see through and through them.

which one of your 5 personalities is disappointed?

wasn't the price of your 'favor' just the other day the croaking of Hammie and Corbin . . . and until such time, u support the continued bu**ering of Guyana by certain (now estranged) brothers in the PPP

It not the tactical prudent thing do do and it is also not appropriate since it affirms he has the authority to do that. Those who do are dead. If Hammie headed the PNC I would be more inclined to ask him since I know he was part of the crooked scheming since I saw him in action at least twice. This matter also  skirts racism closely. The PPP can change from avowed communists ( a dictatorial one party structure) but the PNC cannot!

Further, the PNC are not the ones currently robbing us blind. They did not take us down the road to extrajudicial murder, the massive give aways of our property etc...who is apologizing for this. That the PNC claims to be against is has to count for something! After all, it coincides with what most of us believe.

Hammie and carbin sits on the general council of the pnc.  Still in power.

Shut yu shuuuuuunt Nehru.  Too many wrong was done to the afro Guyanese by the Rager Khan gang on behalf of the PPP.

Why don't you shut yu skuuutnt.  The Raja Khan gang did much wrong to the Afros Guyanese on bahalf of the PPP.

Shut yu shuuuuuunt Nehru.  Too many wrong was done to the afro Guyanese by the Rager Khan gang on behalf of the PPP.

Sir you say PPP is the best.