No decision on referendum to scrap buggery law – Harmon

The Guyana government has not discussed or decided to take the scrapping of buggery laws to a referendum, a move that appears to have allayed some fears by one of Guyana’s gay rights organisations.

“This is not an issue that has been ventilated at Cabinet and Cabinet has made no decision on that matter and so the question of a referendum, when it will occur and all of that, that is really not on the cards,” Minister of State, Joseph Harmon told a post-cabinet news conference on Friday.

Read the full article on Demerara waves online.

People are free to be opinionated of other people's lifestyle or their sexual preference without proper knowledge. If Dr. Jagdeo is gay, he wouldn't be the first or the last. 

Cobra posted:

People are free to be opinionated of other people's lifestyle or their sexual preference without proper knowledge. If Dr. Jagdeo is gay, he wouldn't be the first or the last. 

It's nobody's business what two consenting adults do in the privacy of their homes. Homosexuality is as old as mankind.

Cobra posted:

It's nobody's business what two consenting adults do in the privacy of their homes. Homosexuality is as old as mankind.

And womankind!

ba$eman posted:
Cobra posted:

And womankind!

Currently it is illegal to bugger your wife in Guyana.

I think they should keep the law.

The Bible is against bugger ing your wife.

And Chief, may I ask how you know it's illegal for a man or woman to bugger his/her wife?

Dis is proof dat you guys livin  you fantasies.

In me teenage years me used to tell dem bhais, me gun stay outside and watchman at Rose Hall Town and New Amsterdam . Dem bai use to say watchman fa wha ? You knew, guard alyu when inside. But I was the smallest in the group.

All de way home on de bus, me can hear dem bhai talking about dem experience and laughing dem head off, wid all de make up stories.

Wine-ing like Sparrow.