After the 1997 elections were won by the PPP/C, the PNCR used its street power to bludgeon the Janet Jagan government to its knees and extracted constitutional changes via the Herdmanson Accord to increase its powers as the Parliamentary Opposition. A most significant innovation was the formation of four “Sectoral Committees”: (i) natural resources; (ii) economic services; (iii) foreign relations and (iv) social services.
Checks and balance gone fuh channa on this one.
Even the PPP quiet on this one?
What happening?
what nonsense are you babbling like an idiot about?
per Notice Paper No.21 [10th Parliament]
"That Standing Order No. 86(2) be amended to read that representation on the Sectoral Committees should be calculated in accordance with the seat allocationsto the Political Parties in Parliament . .."
is it not a fact that composition of the committees was changed in the last parliament to reflect the then opposition 1% majority?
in real terms: 4 seats to 3 in favor of the (majority) opposition
is it not now a fact that the [11th Parliament] change in the Standing Orders reflects the coalition government's 1% parliamentary majority?
in real terms: 4 seats to 3 in favor of the (majority) Gov't
assuming that the arrangements for shared and rotating chairmanships remain in place . . .
what exactly is your f*cking problem?!
Al YUh CRABDAAGS gave the PNC and their TWO HOUSE SLAVE POWER and NOW wondering of the consequences??????????????????????????????????
drunk and stupid early on a Sunday morning is no excuse for u
Hey you DUMB ASS why dont you ask for a charity to pay for a brain surgery, and hopefully they dont transplant one from a DONKEY AGAIN!!!
"That Standing Order No. 86(2) be amended to read that representation on the Sectoral Committees should be calculated in accordance with the seat allocationsto the Political Parties in Parliament . .."
is it not a fact then that composition of the committees was changed in the last parliament to reflect the then opposition 1% majority?
is it not now a fact that the [11th Parliament] change in the Standing Orders reflects the coalition government's 1% parliamentary majority?
assuming that the arrangements for shared and rotating chairmanships remain in place . . .
is it not a fact then that composition of the committees was changed in the last parliament to reflect the then opposition 1% majority?
Do not know which school you went to but in a normal democracy the opposition controls the sectoral committee.
the school(s) i "went to" are obviously several leagues above the institution you attended
now, i cited the exact words of the Motion brought to the floor by Joe Harmon in the last parliament for a reason
what is it about ". . . should be calculated in accordance with the seat allocations to the Political Parties in Parliament" that you are struggling to comprehend?
Interesting! What's the reason for this? Can you cite some examples.
the school(s) i "went to" are obviously several leagues above the institution you attended
now, i cited the exact words of the Motion brought to the floor by Joe Harmon in the last parliament for a reason
what is it about ". . . should be calculated in accordance with the seat allocations to the Political Parties in Parliament" that you are struggling to comprehend?
You seem to be more familar with dictatorship than demcoracy VVP.
Well that is where we got a problem.
NO more shall Bharatism be allowed to foster in Guyana - read Anna Benjamin today.
Is that a reply to me? Why didn't you reply to my question. I want to know why in normal democracy the opposition controls the sectoral committee.
You might be onto something if this is true.
Is that a reply to me? Why didn't you reply to my question. I want to know why in normal democracy the opposition controls the sectoral committee.
checks and balance. DUUH! elementary!
kishan is now stripped down to his buckta . . . seeking to dodge blows by 'responding' to VVP on my question
i now move to strip him of his buckta:
"These Oversight Committees are unique to Guyana as no other Parliament in the English speaking Caribbean has a Parliamentary Committee System such as this. Additionally, and just as uniquely, the Constitution mandates that the chairpersons and vice chairpersons shall come from opposite sides of the National Assembly."
http://www.guyanatimesgy.com/2...-committees-elected/
lol