Dominic Gaskin, former Minister and son-in-law of President David Granger has said there is not a shred of evidence that the Coalition he is part of won the elections. Below is a statement he made on his Facebook page.

It’s hard to fathom how we could be arguing, more than four months after the fact, about something as straightforward as an election which, at the close of poll, was deemed by all to have been smoothly conducted.

It bears noting that no voting took place after the polls closed on March 2nd 2020 and, therefore, the amount of votes cast for each of the contesting parties could not have changed since then. So, for the most part, what we are grappling with is a static phenomenon. Further, the ballots were placed in sealed boxes which in turn were stored in sealed containers, unboxed only during the recount process, and subsequently replaced. So the evidence remains intact.

No amount of shifting narratives, specious arguments, contrived reports or court rulings can change the contents of those 2,341 ballot boxes, in which the net will of the people of this country is expressed. The transparent recount process provides an accurate reflection of what is in those boxes, and also shows a glaring discrepancy between the votes in the Region 4  boxes and the votes added up and declared by the Region 4 Returning Officer, Mr. Clairmont Mingo, whose clumsy attempt to fraudulently alter the results in favour of the incumbent coalition are what led to the recount in the first place.

If it appears that the entire world is lined up against the APNU+AFC coalition, it is because the entire world, except the coalition and its supporters, knows that Mr. Mingo’s numbers were not the right numbers. It is the failure of the incumbent to acknowledge Mingo’s unscrupulous act that has us where we are today. The unfortunate truth is that the only ones fooled by Mingo were his intended beneficiaries.

The coalition leadership needs to be honest with its supporters about the Mingo declaration, and answer the simple question – were Mingo’s numbers accurate or not?

It they believe that Mingo’s numbers were accurate, then they need to explain clearly to their supporters:

1. Why the recount of the same ballots produced such a vastly different result; and
  2. Why, up to now, neither they nor GECOM can provide a breakdown of the contentious Region 4 results; or better yet, copies of the corresponding Statements of Poll. The PPP was able to do so within forty-eight hours of the close of poll.

If they acknowledge that Mingo’s numbers were not accurate, then they need to let us know what possible cause could justify a final declaration based on those numbers, as is still being sought.

While I empathize with many who do not wish to see the PPP return to power, the harm that will certainly ensue can never justify what is contemplated. Our political system may not be perfect, but trust in our electoral system is paramount. The votes in those ballot boxes, all of which have already been deemed legally valid, show that the majority of Guyanese prefer a PPP-C government to an APNU+AFC government. This is what the coalition should be working to change in time for the 2025 election, instead of trying to change what has already happened.

It pains me to watch this situation escalate unnecessarily when it is clear to most that the APNU+AFC has lost the election, and will not be accepted, either at home or abroad, as the legitimate government for a second term. Fancy legal maneuvers cannot change the facts. They only serve to delay the inevitable and raise tensions among our people, while exacerbating the adverse economic impact of the COVID-19 pandemic.

It is no secret that the PPP and the PNC rely heavily on the Indo- and Afro-Guyanese populations respectively for their electoral votes. I tend to shy away from race issues because I believe that the process of enlightenment is an intergenerational one in which our actions speak louder than our words. Having said this I feel compelled, as the proud son of a black man, to comment on the future of Afro-Guyanese political leadership, in the context of the current situation. I find it regrettable that the younger generation of Afro-Guyanese politicians, should they choose to further their political careers within APNU or the AFC, will be saddled with the consequences of what has taken place over the last four months. This year, I have seen many bright shining young stars from all the political parties, and it is my sincere belief that those in the APNU+AFC camp will pay the heaviest price for what has occurred. While I hope that this does not happen, I cannot ignore the PNC’s prolonged stint in opposition post-1992.

To my colleagues in the Coalition I make one final appeal. You are losing political ground. You cannot win this battle. Find a way out today. It will be easier than trying to do so tomorrow. And for God’s sake stop abusing everyone who dares to suggest that you lost the election. There is not a shred of evidence  to suggest otherwise.

https://newsroom.gy/2020/07/17...s66FoioSLuyVzifL2-TQ

At least Dominic has the decency to come out and speak the truth. He sees things for what they are and his advice to the PNC is very sound. He is no big-mouth Joey Jagan who belts out nonsense to get attention.

"Fancy legal maneuvers cannot change the facts."

The above quote by Gaskin is the only thing in his submission that I disagree with. Whether it was the NCM case or any of the cases following the elections, there has not been any impressive legal representation for the Coalition. Maybe the lawyers are very competent but in these cases they are overburdened by the defective cases which the Coalition put forward. Today was another miserable legal display by the Coalition lawyers. Williams doesn't even argue law anymore. He just goes up there and try to con his way.

"Fancy legal maneuvers cannot change the facts."

The above quote by Gaskin is the only thing in his submission that I disagree with. Whether it was the NCM case or any of the cases following the elections, there has not been any impressive legal representation for the Coalition. Maybe the lawyers are very competent but in these cases they are overburdened by the defective cases which the Coalition put forward. Today was another miserable legal display by the Coalition lawyers. Williams doesn't even argue law anymore. He just goes up there and try to con his way.

The coalition lawyers are dishonest. They are trying hard to argue that 217990 is greater than 233336.  

Those token coolies who follow then are double stupid.

Last edited by Ramakant-P

The Coalition is out witting the PPP by having them run after their frivolous cases. There is nothing that will come out to legitimize the incumbent. The fact that the sanctions have started tells the international community is resolved against any PNC govt. 

The PPP has to decide where to break off and call their bluff. 

I agree with Gaskin that every day that the PNC spend on this election is one day they have wasted in getting themselves elected in 2025.

Not only that. Every day the PNC-dominated Coalition holds on to power is shortening the PPP/C term. And based on PNC history, they will most likely want elections before 2025.

It started way back in 1961 when the PPP won the elections and expected a 4-year term as they had between 1957-1961. That was not to be. PNC orchestrated a destabilization campaign involving an 80-day general strike, riots, arson, looting, beating, raping, killing. That PPP term in office was shortened by one year. 

In 1997 after the PPP/C won the election, the PNC conducted a "slow fire, more fire" destabilization campaign that forced another election one year before it was legally due. And again, after Donald Ramotar became President in 2011 the PNC-dominated APNU+AFC cut short the PPP/C term to less than 4 years. 

On the other hand, the PNC gave itself 28 straight years in power from 1964 to 1992. After the 1985 election Hoyte extended his rule to 7 years.

Clearly PNC people believe they have a divine right to rule. That's why they refuse to accept defeat more than 4 months after the March 2 elections.

Not only that. Every day the PNC-dominated Coalition holds on to power is shortening the PPP/C term. And based on PNC history, they will most likely want elections before 2025.

It started way back in 1961 when the PPP won the elections and expected a 4-year term as they had between 1957-1961. That was not to be. PNC orchestrated a destabilization campaign involving an 80-day general strike, riots, arson, looting, beating, raping, killing. That PPP term in office was shortened by one year. 

In 1997 after the PPP/C won the election, the PNC conducted a "slow fire, more fire" destabilization campaign that forced another election one year before it was legally due. And again, after Donald Ramotar became President in 2011 the PNC-dominated APNU+AFC cut short the PPP/C term to less than 4 years. 

On the other hand, the PNC gave itself 28 straight years in power from 1964 to 1992. After the 1985 election Hoyte extended his rule to 7 years.

Clearly PNC people believe they have a divine right to rule. That's why they refuse to accept defeat more than 4 months after the March 2 elections.

If they take another two weeks to concede, it doesn't matter the PPP will win again in 2025 & 2030.

@Ramakant-P posted:

The coalition lawyers are dishonest. They are trying hard to argue that 217990 is greater than 233336.  

Those token coolies who follow then are double stupid.

Dishonest? Stupid?  You?  Mo chupid dan uncle Jairam dankey.

@Totaram posted:

Dishonest? Stupid?  You?  Mo chupid dan uncle Jairam dankey.

You confused me with your mama.  As I said before you are a Jackass.

You look like one. You bray like one and the chances are you are one. 

This trend will now change. In fact I am betting that after this fiasco is over you will not see PNC in office again in your lifetime. Cheddi was a weak leader and allowed his party to be bullied. Those days are over. 

Cheddi Jagan was a one of a kind leader.  He was not obsessed with power.  He was dedicated to a cause.  His cause was what he described as a new global human order.  He was happy whenever progress was made in attaining that objective.  What would be the point of being in power if the objective is to steal from the poor to build Pradovilles? That is what the PPP has become.  The Coalition's policies are more aligned with the new global human order.   

The actions you mentioned above has done more harm to the PNC reputation than any conjured up accusations against the PPP. Jeremie was bemoaning the need to obey the law and constitution when he was damned with the task yesterday of advocating for the continued violation of the laws and constitution by the PNC. Everyone knows that all three of these applicants, Moore, David, Jones were chosen by the PNC to delay/deny the declaration of the elections. Datadin is a smart lawyer and managed to get on the record that they are all straw to the PNC although he retracted it.

This is how I see it playing out. The Chief Justice will rule that she has no jurisdiction at this time and will dismiss the case. Hopefully she fines Jones quite heavily. The PNC will take the case to the COA and in a majority of 2-1 will magically find a way to pacify the PNC. Then it will go back to the CCJ. At that point, the PNC will have to make a huge decision on who they will send to represent them before the CCJ and how that representative will look those jurists in the eye and say that the jurists annihilated order 60 as Williams lied to the Chief Justice about.

And the musical chair will continue until eternity.

That is why one has to be very prudent who they are giving the keys to their car to.

Too bad Burnham was too obsessed with power and sought to replace Cheddie at the helm of the PPP. Had he not been so blinded and power hungry, he and Cheddie could have put their dreams together along with the human, natural and industrial resources of Guyana for the betterment of all Guyanese. Instead we have been wandering in the wilderness for over 60 years with no end in sight for a peaceful and quick conclusion to the current elections.

I too believe that the PNC will receive much less legitimacy now than if they had conceded in March. As long as those new smaller parties don't kowtow to the PPP, their appeal will grow and grab supporters from both the PPP and PNC. The besieged PNC will see a more significant erosion of support especially since in opposition their clout will be considerably diminished. This delay especially with the ongoing pandemic is hurting their supporters also and those supporters are smart to know that if the Coalition can't touch any of the oil money, they can't hand it out even if they wanted to.

The small parties will deliver the final blow to the PNC in 2025. Watch out for Tim Jonas, Josh Khanai, Gerald Ford and the rest of the young professional revolutionaries. Even the PPP will lose votes to them.

Jonas is British ,he can't be President or Minister.

@Totaram posted:

Cheddi Jagan was a one of a kind leader.  He was not obsessed with power.  He was dedicated to a cause.  His cause was what he described as a new global human order.  He was happy whenever progress was made in attaining that objective.  What would be the point of being in power if the objective is to steal from the poor to build Pradovilles? That is what the PPP has become.  The Coalition's policies are more aligned with the new global human order.   

You will like Cheddie because he caved and roll over and gave Burnham a free pass. You hate Jagdeo because you spit at him, he poke you in the eyes.