Foreign born population of the United States by country of birth in 2011[77] and number of immigrants since 1986 by country of birth[78] These data are complementary; the former includes the Census 2010 population of immigrants from that country, and is slanted toward historic immigration (e.g., Italy) whereas the latter counts immigrants between 1986 and 2012 and is slanted toward recent immigration (e.g., Burma). A country is included in the table if it exceeded 50,000 in either category. Country of birth Population (2000) Immigrants (1986-2012) United States 271,210,345 3,132 Total foreign born 40,381,574 26,147,963 Mexico 11,691,632 5,551,757 India 1,855,705 1,323,011 Philippines 1,814,875 1,480,946 China 1,651,511 1,399,667 Vietnam 1,253,910 955,967 El Salvador 1,245,458 676,776 Korea 1,095,084 609,321 Cuba 1,090,563 666,657 Dominican Republic 878,858 904,721 Guatemala 844,332 353,122 Canada 787,542 394,790 Jamaica 694,600 507,741 Colombia 655,096 498,551 Germany 618,227 192,676 Haiti 602,733 536,657 Honduras 499,987 178,321 Poland 452,224 360,669 Ecuador 429,316 243,217 Peru 406,008 320,611 Russia 398,086 476,306 Italy 368,789 69,111 Taiwan 368,024 269,873 Iran 357,189 358,586 United Kingdom 356,558 383,037 Ukraine 342,153 306,203 Brazil 334,121 214,266 Japan 314,042 172,893 Pakistan 307,855 347,237 Guyana 255463 214,995 Nicaragua 249,037 191,701 Thailand 243,250 174,168 Nigeria 228,953 227,497 Trinidad and Tobago 226,074 157,689 Hong Kong 219,872 156,676 Venezuela 198,468 143,411 Bangladesh 185,275 215,164 Laos 178,824 110,235 Romania 171,269 140,887 Argentina 165,029 98,999 Iraq 164,869 153,897 Ethiopia 163,407 202,518 France 163,000 87,601 Portugal 158,911 53,831 Cambodia 157,490 106,183 Egypt 156,149 153,755 Ghana 135,822 130,542 Israel 134,680 106,568 Greece 133,917 37,406 Republic of Ireland 130,351 104,586 Bosnia and Herzegovina 120,077 129,481 Lebanon 114,720 113,727 Serbia and Montenegro 103,170 88,688 Kenya 102,235 92,891 Panama 101,889 57,628 Chile 99,430 54,573 Indonesia 98,600 61,493 Turkey 96,970 85,415 Spain 93,578 41,328 South Africa 92,571 69,992 Somalia 89,474 94,978 Burma 89,289 94,792 Armenia 84,138 62,201 Bolivia 81,143 52,177 Nepal 79,996 58,841 Netherlands 77,522 35,117 Albania 76,870 84,031 Costa Rica 76,193 47,648 Hungary 74,985 31,365 Liberia 71,943 74,632 Syria 69,400 68,864 Jordan 69,283 104,168 Bulgaria 65,699 68,768 Australia 64,775 12,926 Afghanistan 63,291 59,480 Czech Republic 83,080 27,354 Morocco 62,761 76,622 Belarus 59,522 58,254 Malaysia 58,663 n/a Saudi Arabia 58,022 n/a Uzbekistan 56,503 68,654 Barbados 50,285 25,444 Austria 49,565 56,283 Sweden 48,704 51,840 Sri Lanka 48,411 51,675

Is Guyana the same as America if a foreign national marries a Guyanese wife or husband in Guyana, he/she can get Guyanese citizenship? Foreigners should look into this possibility of becoming a citizen of Guyana. The Chinese are taking advantage of our paradise.

TK gat all the answers, deh man brite laka Tide.

Is Guyana the same as America if a foreign national marries a Guyanese wife or husband in Guyana, he/she can get Guyanese citizenship? Foreigners should look into this possibility of becoming a citizen of Guyana. The Chinese are taking advantage of our paradise.

Nehru, this is like a permanent student or workers exchange. We come this side and them go Guyana side. Fair exchange is no robbery. 

As long as Butta Bing Butta Bang is involved I see no problem.

140,000 people fled Guyana between 2002-12.  The USA issued around 50,000 immigrant visas.  That means that 90,000 Guyanese fled to other countries.  Assume that 30,000 fled to Canada that means that 60,000 fled to other THIRD WORLD countries.

So quit your nonsense.  Guyanese are fleeing Guyana because they are tired of living there.

Janet Jagan became the President. You think a Guyanese born can ever become the President of the USA? The Chinese is slowly colonizing Guyana as they have done in Africa. BTW, they eat snakes.

Mits, it is racist for you to imply that all Chinese eat snakes. You got quite upset about PNC supporters eating grass and still voting for dictators Burnham and Hoyte.

Yuji, if Chinese eat snakes, dogs or cats, we all probably eat it too if we like Chinese food. As long as they make it taste like chicken or duck, then it's good for me. Wah eye nah see, belly nah bun. 

Mits, it is racist for you to imply that all Chinese eat snakes. You got quite upset about PNC supporters eating grass and still voting for dictators Burnham and Hoyte.

The difference is you lied. I speak the truth about most Chinese. They will colonize Guyana like they are doing in Africa. Same as if you can't pay your mortgage, the bank will come and seize it. No?

In the last twenty years, 157K Trinis and 25K Barbadians have emigrated to the US. Caribj wants us to believe that only Guyanese are emigrating. People emigrating does not necessarily means a country is dictatorial and in economic decline. Just look at the list of nations whose people who are migrating to the US. Caribj's constant argument about Guyanese leaving for other countries is a reflection of economic and political problems is just bull/