CJ orders GRA to release vehicles seized from remigrants

September 3, 2014 ·

Acting Chief Justice Ian Chang has ordered that the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA) release the vehicles belonging to Narootandeo and Gharbassi Brijnanan, who moved to the High Court yesterday to challenge the lawfulness of the agency’s decision to seize and detain them.

The GRA took possession of the vehicles on Saturday and Commissioner-General Khurshid Sattaur has since said that it is part of a wider investigation into the use of vehicles imported by remigrants that began since the start of the year. Kaieteur News publisher Glen Lall, who is a close family friend of the couple and made use of the vehicles along with his wife, has since said that the move was intended to persecute the newspaper due to its reports on government corruption.

Originally Posted by asj:

This skont hole Sattaur should now be kicked out from GRA, he allowed himself to be set up, now in the Eyes of the World, he appears Stupid.

You mean it's not Ramotar's fault? Wow? Sattaur is an excellent civil servant.

This skont hole Sattaur should now be kicked out from GRA, he allowed himself to be set up, now in the Eyes of the World, he appears Stupid.

Skeldon Man, Sattaur father was a Burnham man and NO he is not a good civil servant, he is a tief who continue to mismanage GRA by hiring his son to work under him.

GRA is not a family business but once you connected with CIOG, all set in the PPP.

Kursid = CIOG.

You guys are such clowns.  There was a dispute and it went to the court.  The court ruled against the Govt which indicates rule of law and independent judiciary.  This is not Burnham expropriating Sankar estates for himself.  Yet all alyuh katahars could do is apply dumb-ass logic and pump alyuh chest.  This shows under the PPP, rule of law exists in Guyana.  The Govt went to court as there is transparency, and the court decided who's right an who's wrong.  That's something commendable on the part of the Govt and the judiciary.

As antiman KishanB and the AFC bana would say "duh".

Skeldon Man, Sattaur father was a Burnham man and NO he is not a good civil servant, he is a tief who continue to mismanage GRA by hiring his son to work under him.

GRA is not a family business but once you connected with CIOG, all set in the PPP.

Kursid = CIOG.

And what did you do with the little authority you got at the mill nah, oh Robin Hood!

Kursid = CIOG.

And what did you do with the little authority you got at the mill nah, oh Robin Hood!

Harry Bhai, you are being dirty...

Under the PPP there is witch hunting of the people.

It is petty.

But this anti man harry come here to defend uncle oh nandalala the ppp incompetent.

Flour boy, talk about your abuse of lil authority nah.  Why butt-buddy Mitwah butting in nah!  You know bai, the word out deh, antimanishness close to your heart.

Under the PPP there is witch hunting of the people.

It is petty.

But this anti man harry come here to defend uncle oh nandalala the ppp incompetent.

Flour boy, talk about your abuse of lil authority nah.  Why butt-buddy Mitwah butting in nah!  You know bai, the word out deh, antimanishness close to your heart.

Suppose meh know de Gyal from Canal....

The PPP withc hunting is in full flow, check out how the witch hunting Glen Lal like they did before to Pater Ramsaroop causing him to become one of their fleas today.

But Glenn will not fall.

The PPP withc hunting is in full flow, check out how the witch hunting Glen Lal like they did before to Pater Ramsaroop causing him to become one of their fleas today.

But Glenn will not fall.

Looks like Narootandeo and Gharbassi Brijnanan got 2 Lexus for free.

But Glenn will not fall.

Looks like Narootandeo and Gharbassi Brijnanan got 2 Lexus for free.

Private business, why you getting involved.  Like you want glenn to Bgrd you for some free vehicle or what Skeldon?