NY-based Guyanese urged to promote Guyana’s history, culture

Dr Vibert Cambridge addresses the gathering .Standing alongside him is Richard Chin, son of the late cultural icon Godfrey Chin

Guyanese have had a historical, impacting contribution to New York City and Ohio-based professor Dr Vibert Cambridge, a son of the soil, is encouraging various generations of Guyanese resident in the Big Apple to promulgate and feature that rich history.Dr Cambridge made the call while addressing an audience at the 15th award ceremony of the Guyana Cultural Association (GCA), held at the Brooklyn Borough Hall in Brooklyn, New York Wednesday evening last.

A section of the audience at the event

Speaking to the large gathering of countrymen and women, Dr Cambridge who is President of the body, noted that the GCA is working as part of its mandate to generate content, including research and documentation of the Guyanese presence in New York, stretching way before 1966 when Guyana attained independence from Great Britain.

”In 1902 we had Guyanese here; in 1919 we had Rudolph Dunbar as a student here,” he said, as he called on the young generations of today to assist the GCA in telling “the story of the Guyanese presence in New York “.

The award ceremony was undertaken to honour persons who have contributed to the development of the arts in Guyana and it also recognized the contributions of several outstanding Guyanese based on the US.

According to Dr Cambridge, the GCA celebrates individuals who embody core values which promote originality and contribute to innovation within the arts.

The past 15 years have been marvelous, he said, and have been inspired by works of many outstanding Guyanese including the late Wordsworth McAndrew, whose spirit, he noted, showcased and celebrates the multiple roots of Guyana’s cultural heritage.

He said that that as the late Godfrey Chin would say “our mission is to preserve to promote and to promulgate Guyana’s heritage and creativity.”

He said that the work of the GCA is guided by the belief that Guyanese folk heritage reveal common threads which connect.”

Members of the National Dance Company perform during a reception following the award ceremony

“It is very easy to find the thing which separates us,” he said, noting that the GCA believes that when one seeks those common threads, one establishes and deepen thrust.

“Without intersecting trust there can be no sustainable development in Guyana,” he added, noting that that it was his only political statement for the night, as the audience laughed.

Dr Cambridge noted that over the past 15 years, the GCA has worked on preserving original research on Guyanese cultural heritage. He pointed to the body’s work aimed at reviving the masquerade art in Guyana, noting that there are a number of tangible efforts to support the art form.

Dr Cambridge noted that masquerade transcends grace and efforts are being undertaken to revive the form in Guyana . He said at the moment Essequibo possesses more masquerade bands than any other part of the country, including Berbice where no band can be found.

He noted that Dr Paloma Mohammed is pressing the study of masquerade lyrics in Guyana and according to him, she noted that there is much more to the few lyrics which is usually heard annually “Christmas comes once a year and everyone should have their share,” a sour ginger beer chorus, he said.

In terms of promotion, the GCA’s annual symposium is an area which he pointed out as is key to sharing Guyana’s rich heritage.

He spoke of the “we bridging” initiative, a collaborative approach involving persons in Guyana, New York and the wider diaspora, which points to a strategy for closing in on the cultural deficit. To this end , Dr Cambridge noted that in future, the GCA will give priority to partnerships, noting that body is looking forward to strengthening relations with the Brooklyn Arts Council and the University if Guyana, among other entities.

At Wednesday evening’s event, several persons were presented with awards including Guyanese Online advocate Cyril Bryan for his leading focus on expanding and enhancing the interests of Guyanese everywhere. Writer and Educator Cyril Dabydeen was also presented with an award for his contributions as short-story writer novelist as well as an advocate for race relations.

Egbert Carter , an expert in engineering field was also recognized for his work as a cultural enabler while Beverley Drake , one of Guyana’s first female pilots was also recognised at the event.

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of a lifetime award to Claire Ann Goring, an artist and cultural advocate who advanced Guyana’s festive and graphic arts for almost four decades.

Members of the National Dance Company also graced the event and its members who travelled to the US via assistance from the Department of Culture, Youth and Sport later entertained visitors to the event.

Guyana is an African country now so you all please promote Afro history and culture.  Hip, hip, hooray!

Stand in the corner, and scowl and cry and pout.  No one cares!

Most is blackman that you see here, Indians don't exist in Guyana with this new racist government.

The event was free and Indians decided to boycott as they boycotted all the Guyanese events this year.

Nagamootoo said that he is a Guyanese and you all began to call him traitor.  Forgive us if we think that Indians don't think that they are Guyanese.

As I said before 70 percent of East Indians of Guyana will choose having their own independent sovereign country. This is without having any campaign.

Still with this even after your wife told you that neither she nor her kids are going to live in a "coolie nation".  She isn't going to put a dot on her forehead and work six steps behind you, kissing your feet when you come home from work.  Neither is she going to live in a nation where men are given permission to rape if the women aren't covered from head to toe.

Its your fault for marrying a red woman.  Next time go find some low caste peasant girl from Uttar Pradesh.

Guyana is an African country now so you all please promote Afro history and culture.  Hip, hip, hooray!

You can see alyu deh on tap now. Continue to thump your chest. Nigroes all over the place. People must think Guyana is Ghana in Africa now.

As I said before 70 percent of East Indians of Guyana will choose having their own independent sovereign country. This is without having any campaign.

Still with this even after your wife told you that neither she nor her kids are going to live in a "coolie nation".  She isn't going to put a dot on her forehead and work six steps behind you, kissing your feet when you come home from work.  Neither is she going to live in a nation where men are given permission to rape if the women aren't covered from head to toe.

Its your fault for marrying a red woman.  Next time go find some low caste peasant girl from Uttar Pradesh.

Carib no fault with that. The woman is a good mother.

You can see alyu deh on tap now. Continue to thump your chest. Nigroes all over the place. People must think Guyana is Ghana in Africa now.

Vex because Guyana is no longer India. If you all didn't treat blacks so bad you might have still been in power.  But you treated them bad so G/T and Linden had record turnout and now all you can do is scream "blackman a kill ahbe".

Carib no fault with that. The woman is a good mother.

That is why she doesn't want her kids exposed to people who despise them and their mother.  The kids are creole kids with ancestry and cultural exposure to the full gamut of what it is to be a Guyanese, but you want them to negate 50% of what they are and 100% of what their mother is.

Makes no sense.  You should be the last person demanding a Hindutva nation, given that many of those who think that this will consider you to be a traitor who is engaged in Indian Eradication.

Would your wife walk with she Bubbu hanging, barefoot, g SHIT in a bucket on her head, digging mud to make you cookies, wear a grass dress and scream like a pig and whistle like a bird????????????????

Most is blackman that you see here, Indians don't exist in Guyana with this new racist government.

The event was free and Indians decided to boycott as they boycotted all the Guyanese events this year.

Nagamootoo said that he is a Guyanese and you all began to call him traitor.  Forgive us if we think that Indians don't think that they are Guyanese.

These are more lies. The event was only revealed to PNC supporters, it was not properly advertised nor were the Indians welcomed. We continue to see this pattern repeated for all PNc functions as Indians are further alienated by racist ethnic cleansing from the public sector. 

Vex because Guyana is no longer India. If you all didn't treat blacks so bad you might have still been in power.  But you treated them bad so G/T and Linden had record turnout and now all you can do is scream "blackman a kill ahbe".

We should promote Guyanese culture and history. We should do it the nigro style..choke and rob, kick down door, murder, maim, drug trafficking(Lear Goring style), looting and burning, promote the sales of gasoline and matches, election rigging..etc.

These are more lies. The event was only revealed to PNC supporters, it was not properly advertised nor were the Indians welcomed. We continue to see this pattern repeated for all PNc functions as Indians are further alienated by racist ethnic cleansing from the public sector. 

So the events for the 50th in Guyana weren't advertised? When you and the rest of your Indo KKK posse were screaming that it was a waste.

Indians didn't go either.  In fact the celebrations in a park in Brooklyn was reported on GNI.  You and the rest of your Indo KKK lot began such racist anti bigoted screams against blacks that even Kari had to begin to condemn Indian racism.  Something that he had a policy of ignoring up to then.

Indians think that they are Indians in Guyana.  Don't see themselves as Guyanese, so don't attend Guyanese events.  The few Indians who do are called all sorts of foul things by you all.

We should promote Guyanese culture and history. We should do it the nigro style..choke and rob, kick down door, murder, maim, drug trafficking(Lear Goring style), looting and burning, promote the sales of gasoline and matches, election rigging..etc.

Indo KKK in action. Too bad when you went to that KKK rally you had to flee for your life when they called you a "Mawslim ni99er".

They want to promote nigro culture. Anytime you see they show case Guyana, it's only nigroes. So we must promote nigro culture in Guyana. That list of actions are inherited traits of the nigro population in Guyana.

So the events for the 50th in Guyana weren't advertised? When you and the rest of your Indo KKK posse were screaming that it was a waste.

Indians didn't go either.  In fact the celebrations in a park in Brooklyn was reported on GNI.  You and the rest of your Indo KKK lot began such racist anti bigoted screams against blacks that even Kari had to begin to condemn Indian racism.  Something that he had a policy of ignoring up to then.

Indians think that they are Indians in Guyana.  Don't see themselves as Guyanese, so don't attend Guyanese events.  The few Indians who do are called all sorts of foul things by you all.

You expect the Indians to show up for 50th anniversary when in one short year they were marginalized and expunged from the few jobs in the public sector as Granger rewarded his supporters? In fact it was a ploy for Indias to show up to get robbed, they knew better. 

They want to promote nigro culture. Anytime you see they show case Guyana, it's only nigroes. So we must promote nigro culture in Guyana. That list of actions are inherited traits of the nigro population in Guyana.

If you stopped crying and sobbing because you cannot scream "ahbe pan tap, black man time done, we gun send ahyu back into slavery" and went to these events you would see the same teenage Indo girls doing a clumsy Bollywood or classical Indian dance, when what they can better relate to is soca and reggae. 

Boring the crowd with the mediocrity of the dancing when there is not one Indian in the audience.

You expect the Indians to show up for 50th anniversary when in one short year they were marginalized and expunged from the few jobs in the public sector as Granger rewarded his supporters? In fact it was a ploy for Indias to show up to get robbed, they knew better. 

When Jagdeo drove Guyana into being Little India, with blacks forced into low and mid level jobs, blacks still thought themselves Guyanese so attended events to celebrate being Guyanese.

But you see yourself as an Indian born in Guyana so cannot relate to anything unless it is 100% Indian.  I will never forget how you all used to call yourself Trinidadian before 1992, with your brawling and crude Corentyne accents.

Drug B may have a point to here over you CaribJ.

Where was this program advertised for I am normally in the loop and heard nothing about this event.

Drug B may have a point to here over you CaribJ.

Where was this program advertised for I am normally in the loop and heard nothing about this event. 

KarI and Vishnu were you guys aware of this function?

Ahyou rasses said you're not Guyanese, so why cry the frigin blues now?

Every chance they have they cussing the Government.  

It's our turn now. We haven't forgotten how the PNC and AFC hammered the PPP!

Ahyou rasses said you're not Guyanese, so why cry the frigin blues now?

Every chance they have they cussing the Government.  

Its a free country and this is their right if it reflects their views.

My problem is last year when they deliberately misquoted Nagamootoo when he said he was a Guyanese.  He was referring to his nationality, and even made comparison to some one who is a Pakistani.

These clowns then implied that he said that he was ashamed of being of Indian descent. This because they wanted to scare the Indian vote, thinking that this ensured victory.  2015 was a straight haired vs. kinky/curly haired election.

GCA has been bending its back trying to get Indians to celebrate their events.  One year they even had a series of events in RH.  No one came.

Like most Afro Guyanese they are tired of breaking their backs to attract Indians.  Do Indians have any interest in participating in Guyanese events, unless they are run by Indians, with blacks only there for decoration.

At every 50th anniversary event Indians refused to be involved.  They weren't in Guyana, nor were they in NYC.  I know for a fact that the 50th Anniversary committee were running around trying to get Indians involved in it.  Few Indians accepted this invite.

Black people have come to the conclusion that Indians hate them and don't wish to be around them. We really don't care as this means less time spent being bored watching Indo girls clumsily trying to do classical Indian dances in a pretense that they are of India, while ignoring the rich Indo Guyanese culture.  Its a real torture watching this.

In fact when the Tristate Alliance has their events commemorating Guyana's independence its the same thing. Indians don't go.

Those people spent so much time trying to attract Indian support, so as their events can reflect the ethnic diversity of Guyana, that some even accused them of being a PPP group. Their groveling and attempts to ingratiate themselves with the PPP was the reason.  Now they can finally relax.

If Indians think that blacks must grovel and beg them to join in events to celebrate being Guyanese then they can continue to moan and cry.

If Indians wish their own nation where there are no blacks, then let them settle that New River triangle in Guyana.  No one lives there so no blacks to bother them.  They can then scream "ahbe pan tap, black man baad" all day with no one to bother them.  They can even formally establish an Indo KKK organization and ban blacks from entry.

GCA has been bending its back trying to get Indians to celebrate their events.  One year they even had a series of events in RH.  No one came.

Like most Afro Guyanese they are tired of breaking their backs to attract Indians.  Do Indians have any interest in participating in Guyanese events, unless they are run by Indians, with blacks only there for decoration.

At every 50th anniversary event Indians refused to be involved.  They weren't in Guyana, nor were they in NYC.  I know for a fact that the 50th Anniversary committee were running around trying to get Indians involved in it.  Few Indians accepted this invite.

Black people have come to the conclusion that Indians hate them and don't wish to be around them. We really don't care as this means less time spent being bored watching Indo girls clumsily trying to do classical Indian dances in a pretense that they are of India, while ignoring the rich Indo Guyanese culture.  Its a real torture watching this.

This sounds familiar when Blacks refuse to show up at celebrations durin PPP time. We can conclude that there is a dichotomy between the two races based on ill feelings. You may try to blame the Indians but the fact is that they have been victims of violence from the Blacks for several decades starting from the time Burnham ascended to power. We still remember the Blacks chanting "we fed up of the coolie".

So now it appears that you have taken the position to exclude the Indians since in the past they didn`t come.  There is no attempt to engage them as the ppp did with milk and other handouts.