N.Y Guyanese to rally for legislative seats:

Written by VISHNU BISRAM
Monday, 06 February 2012 22:06
Chronicle -

A group of New York-based Guyanese and other residents of the greater Richmond Hill area plan to rally this afternnon at the office of the President of Queens Boro where there will be a final hearing on the redistricting of Queens for the New York State Senate and Assembly.

The organisers of the rally are urging Guyanese to come out in large numbers to show their support for the creation of an Assembly seat for the greater Richmond Hill area. The organisers have chartered buses to shuttle people from 127-16 LIBERTY AVENUE at 2:00 P.M to Queens Boro Hall where the hearing commences at 3:00 P.M.

After every census, every politically administrative unit in America must by law redraw electoral districts to provide fair representation to every ethnic group in the country that shows a community of interests or cultural bonding. Indo-Guyanese are classified as South Asians or as Indian Americans for census purposes, while Afro-Guyanese are classified as African-Americans.

Most Guyanese-Americans are settled in New York State. The boundaries to New York State’s 150 seats in its Assembly and 62 seats in the Senate must be redrawn by April. The redistricting to the US House of representatives (27 seats) will take place next month and that of New York City (51 seats) will occur later in the year.

Today’s hearing focuses on state redistricting for Queens County which has the largest number of Guyanese in America. And within Queens, Richmond Hill has the heaviest concentration of Indo-Guyanese so much so it is dubbed “Little Guyana”. The area was racially gerrymandered into six Assembly Districts(Ads) and two Senate Districts(SDs) after the 1990 census when prior to that it fell largely under one AD and SD.

Since Guyanese hardly voted in American elections, with one of lowest voter turnout rates, the Queens Democratic politicians carved out the area into six Ads, two SDs, three Congressional Districts and three City Council Districts, because they did not expect any electoral backlash. That move in effect has denied Guyanese a justly deserved seat in the Assembly, Senate, City Council and Congress. Of late, Guyanese are demanding a seat in the State legislature, City Council and US House of Reps and the community has threatened court action unless their demands are met.

In looking at the drawing of boundaries for state seats for electoral representation, African Jamaican American, Garth Marchant describes what has happened to Richmond Hill as “the worst form of racial gerrymandering in the history of America denying Indo-Caribbean people a seat”. Marchant, at a public gathering last Thursday evening on Liberty Avenue, said the greater Richmond Hill area needs to remain as a whole unit with its own seat. Each AD should have around 127,000 people.

The contiguous area surrounding Richmond Hill has a population of 196,000, according to the 2010 census, more than qualifying it for a seat.

Marchant described his role after the 1990 census in carving up Richmond Hill. He said Indo-Caribbeans did not have the numbers at that time and an agreement was made between African-Caribbean Americans and Italian- Americans to divide the area to create an additional assembly seat for African-Americans and an extra seat for Italian-Americans in Queens.

Marchant urged Guyanese and other Richmond Hill residents to collaborate with African-American politicians in Queens to retain the four African- American ADs in exchange for support for a seat in Richmond Hill.

Guyanese and South Asian advocates feel they qualify for two Assembly seats and 1 State Senate seat. The other proposed AD is North Jamaica where the population numbers 179,000 with a heavy concentration of Guyanese and South Asians.

Advocates like myself feel a third seat can be drawn in Queens Village where there is also a large concentration of Guyanese and other South Asians. I am advocating three ADs although realistically that won’t happen. The established politicians are opposed to giving any seat to Guyanese because they just don’t vote.

The proposed Senate seat will encompass most of the three ADs.

Guyanese Albert Baldeo nearly won the Senate seat representing Richmond Hill six years ago, losing by half a point to Republican Maltese. Baldeo backed down at the request of Democrats to allow Joe Addabboo to contest two years ago defeating Maltese by four points with Guyanese backing Addabboo. In 2010, Baldeo won his District Leader position with 80% of the votes cast, which further confirms this fact. "If we can do so well in districts that suppress and gerrymander our vote, it is clear that we will win fairly drawn districts," Baldeo said.

Italian and Jewish residents of Queens are opposed to the proposed creation of seats for Guyanese and other people of Asian descent in greater Richmond Hill. But they will find it difficult to deny Asians an increase in seats. The largest increase in the state’s population came from Asians who increased by 17% in the 2010 census from the year 2000. According to census enumerators, as many as a quarter of the Indo-Guyanese population were not counted in the 2010 census because of a variety of reasons denying the area where they reside much deserved resources to which they are legitimately entitled.

The problem remains as follows :

1) You have Guyanese who are interested in running , winning and holding public office in districts predominantly Guyanese but who have failed to create a strong political organization to work diligently year round to get them there.

2) A very large segment of the indo Guyanese population failed to register , front runners are aware of the fact the mountain has to go to mohammad to get these lazy ass people to register.

3) Indo Guyanese are not politically proactive , in fact , they are basically very selfish and self serving and wont budge until something affects them directly then, they want everyone to rally around their cause .

4) The indo guyanese community needs leaders who mobilize the people to register , vote and be proactive . Front runners are called front runners because they hit the ground running.

right now I see most guyanese running for public office walking or taking a stroll. It is not easy to motivate and mobilize Indo Guyanese politically, especially in NY where they are doing great financially and not facing real threatening challenges .
I agree fully. When Guyanese move to America and can buy flour, rice, chicken, goat, Corona and salt biscuits, they dont care Ras ass about anything else. Some never heard of CNN or MSNBC.
The community need more morons like Ishri and Tanuja to encourage Guyanese to juk their waists and not use the brains. The Indians from India look at us like a group of playful kids who are oblivious to what's going on around us.

Keep it up Little Guyana.
when one Guyanese decide to run for legislative office,a few others would jump into the Arena and split the votes among them causing an African American across the Van Wyck to win.Ask kawal how many times he encourage and orchestrated this BACK STABBING.So this is another issue the Voters of Dist.28 have to address,or if they are sucessful with the redistricting and appropriate lines are drawn then there would be a huge split with part of R/Hill going to another Dist.GOOD LUCK ON A HUGE MISTAKE.
Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:
The Indians from India look at us like a group of playful kids who are oblivious to what's going on around us.

You are crazy. The Indians from India or Pakistan look completely out of place over here. While many of them are recognized for their brains, they are usually regarded as grossly lacking social skills. They are the ones who seem totally oblivious to what is going on around them. But I do agree with kidmose that Guyanese are generally either disinterested or cut-throat.
The community need more morons like Ishri and Tanuja to encourage Guyanese to juk their waists and not use the brains. The Indians from India look at us like a group of playful kids who are oblivious to what's going on around us.

A few Indians from India that view ITV did question whats up with these Guyanese shows with all those dances.

Billy B, your satirical twist is well taken and has a ring of truth to it. However I must make this counterpoint.

I grew up in the days when American soul music dominated the social culture in Georgetown and Reggae was seen as peripheral weak music - not unlike hip-hop in the 80s in the US. Artists like the Skatalites, Peter Tosh, Marley, and others were seen as bottom feeder musicians. I've seen how Reggae took hold in the UK and Toast in the US, as well as the rise of hip hop.

You also see how the English language evolved to the point where creole and chutney lyrics seem like aulde English.

The point here is that while Eshri and Tanuja may not be the ideal exponent of propagating the Indo-Caribbean nascent culture, I prefer to see a characterization of them as a start. It's like the expectedly flawed Affordable Care Act of the Obama Administration - you have to start somewhere, and do not make perfection be the enemy of the good.

The fare you see on the Indo-Caribbean TV channels on a weekend is part of our cultural evolution. We do not sing and dance Reggaeton or Salsa. So what you see is what is. Our task is to make the genre advance.

It's like the crap I've seen on this Board the past few weeks. I have no problems with folks disagreeing with each other and intensely so. But to lower our standards with coded references to President Obama as Hussein or not liked in social media (we have individual social media Neilsons amongst us!), then I know our task is more challenging. I indulge here as part of my mantra to embrace who I am and who our people are - District 28 with all its flaws. But I do so with a mission - to lift us up in all aspects of our lives and in all endeavors.

So I would temper the critique and lay it out in a manner that can only move us forward. The language, the presentation, the other stuff....yeah they're shitty. And yeah the pompous "correct" Indians from India may look at us as antiquarians. But give us time. They don't "own" Indian culture, and it is our license to take it anywhere, whether it's Terry Gajraj or Wendy Khan.
Originally posted by Chief:
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

A few Indians from India that view ITV did question whats up with these Guyanese shows with all those dances.

Chief, I would tell them to mind their own damn business.

I would not call Tanuja and Ishri Singh morons. Tanuja is important for the community and is better than most other TV programs in the community. What about Lakshmee Singh, she is very self serving and a very poor host. The shows need to be reflective of the community rather than just "Indo-Caribbean" or Indian
Originally posted by Kari:

Kari I expect cussing{damn} from Chief not from you
Originally posted by marlon:

Kari I expect cussing{damn} from Chief not from you

An to think I was not intemperate.....the gall of me!
Originally posted by Vish M:
Here is another "Bright Star" for our community.

She was very vocal and was a impressive presenter at the LATFOR Redistricting Hearing

http://www.nydailynews.com/new...ts-article-1.1018730

I'm glad Vish made this post. There are many unsung young adult female Guyanese - of both major races - in the Guyanese-American immigrant community in the New York metropolitan area.

I also take with some skepticism that in elections, the Guyanese diaspora eligible to vote, is vulnerable to shenanigans by some of the names mentioned in this thread. I don't care if that person is described as back-biting, I think it's a disservice to the intelligence of the common person in that demographic to their gullible to the machinations of manipulators. Hell, go and do the work and build the organization and get the right message out, and I don't care if another Guyanese-American is in the race, you will do good. [There I go again cussing]. So leave our intelligence alone!
It is one thing moaning and complaining about what was, is and should be but, while the concentration of Indo Guyanese in a neighborhood may connote an indo Guyanese community, the community spirit is absent and needs to be cultivated and fostered. Most indo guyanese residents think the term ' Lil Guyana' signifies a strong unified community when in fact it is far from being one.

It takes more than one political candidate to unify a community. It requires an organization which is able to truely reflect legitimate representation of the members of the community and that my friends TAKES DEDICATION , WUK & TIME - elements most self appointed leaders are not willing to sacrifice for.

Some time ago I had to reach the community so I went directly to indo guyanese in business , social , religious groups and I got results . I went to mandhirs churches masjids etc even some door to door and events to engage , converse and exchange .

Who are the CLEAN sincere honest dedicated community leaders today in the indo guyanese community of NYC ? They should come together , built an organization which serves the community and community members needs and get the snow ball rolling . The A.M.E. church in St Albans grew to become a political behemoth in Queens after they organized the community created their own schools , health centers etc etc . There is a missionary church on Lefferts Blvd at 91St Ave which grew large by offering the punjabi sikh christians social services and they now offer child care , pre K , senoir care , health care and counselling for HS kids to College and Univ etc and they offer vocational training and job placement.
Like my beloved deceased brother Gora used to say, "you cant demand and ask of the people all the time when yuh nah give dem some dhal puri and curry" and " yuh can be two faced unda wan cap and talk with forked tongue and expect people nah gon mek yuh out fuh wan scamp".
Let me ask this question . Are the Masjids , mandhirs and churches willing to facilitate leaders to speak to their congregation on community issues which affect everyone ? Can the leaders create a leadership cadre to inititate , support and maintain community outreach programs ?
I asked a few indo guyanese who were and some still are teachers if they would be willing to offer tutoring for free a few times a week and on weekends if I provided the space - can get an answer back from most - dem busy yet, meh ah see dem at dem bar in RH . Do the religious leaders really care about the community as a whole of only their followers ?
Why cant contending leaders speak with each other in civil manner , be seen together on TV programs letting the community members get to know them ?
Alena,

Please get the NJ LATFOR telephone info early. (NJ may have a different name.

It is important to call in early to be able to testify as it can be a long wait.

It is critically important for you to testify as this will be the last opportunity to alter the district lines without having to go the cost path, the courts.

Originally posted by alena:
We're hoping to get our share of legislative seats in Jersey in the near future. flag
TOO MANY CUNNING, DECEITFUL, BACKBITING, UNSCRUPULOUS INDO GUYANESE TRICKSTERS PARADING AS SO-CALLED COMMUNITY LEADERS IN RICHMOND HILL, QUEENS

The Rev was told that at most political gatherings in Richmond Hill, Queens, it's the same sleazebags and shady characters you run into.

These crafty scoundrels---pandits, imams, real estate brokers, lawyers, mortgage consultants, etc, etc are not really interested in the welfare of their community--they are just interested in promoting themselves and their bloated egos.

The good people of Richmond Hill, Queens know who these tricksters are--they are aware of their sinister motives---and so they choose to stay away from political gatherings.

OK Folks!

Feel free to name the indo guyanese charlatans and confidence men parading as community leaders in Richmond Hill, Queens---they should be pelted with rotten eggs.

Billy B, your satirical twist is well taken and has a ring of truth to it. However I must make this counterpoint.

I grew up in the days when American soul music dominated the social culture in Georgetown and Reggae was seen as peripheral weak music - not unlike hip-hop in the 80s in the US. Artists like the Skatalites, Peter Tosh, Marley, and others were seen as bottom feeder musicians. I've seen how Reggae took hold in the UK and Toast in the US, as well as the rise of hip hop.

You also see how the English language evolved to the point where creole and chutney lyrics seem like aulde English.

The point here is that while Eshri and Tanuja may not be the ideal exponent of propagating the Indo-Caribbean nascent culture, I prefer to see a characterization of them as a start. It's like the expectedly flawed Affordable Care Act of the Obama Administration - you have to start somewhere, and do not make perfection be the enemy of the good.

The fare you see on the Indo-Caribbean TV channels on a weekend is part of our cultural evolution. We do not sing and dance Reggaeton or Salsa. So what you see is what is. Our task is to make the genre advance.

It's like the crap I've seen on this Board the past few weeks. I have no problems with folks disagreeing with each other and intensely so. But to lower our standards with coded references to President Obama as Hussein or not liked in social media (we have individual social media Neilsons amongst us!), then I know our task is more challenging. I indulge here as part of my mantra to embrace who I am and who our people are - District 28 with all its flaws. But I do so with a mission - to lift us up in all aspects of our lives and in all endeavors.

So I would temper the critique and lay it out in a manner that can only move us forward. The language, the presentation, the other stuff....yeah they're shitty. And yeah the pompous "correct" Indians from India may look at us as antiquarians. But give us time. They don't "own" Indian culture, and it is our license to take it anywhere, whether it's Terry Gajraj or Wendy Khan.

Kari,

I am not out to berate our Indian culture which has evolved into something special and unique. My point is that most of the TV shows targetting the Guyanese community do not raise the consciousness of our people to become better citizens. When I say "better" I mean an individual becoming more aware of what's happening in his/her community and how it affects each and everyone of us and the community as whole. I want to see programs that enhance our thinking and make us see the importance of working together to create a better neighborhood. One of the things that can be encouraged on these programs is voter registration. The host of a cultural show does not have to do an entire editorial on his/her program to get the point a across. A simple message on these show can get across.

I spoke to Duvalle the other day and he told me hold much opposition and even hostility he faced trying to encourage Guyanese in Richmond Hill to simply register to vote and exercise your franchise in local elections. Our local shows do not appeal to the next generation of intelligent Guyanese who are educated in American Institutions. There is much lacking in these programs. Ishri's show appeal to the old folks who only want to relax with Indian music from yesterday or grind to the Chutney beat. We need programs that can appeal to the intellect of our people. We need programs that can motivate our Guyanese people to fight for re-districting and get our politicians to truly work for the community. We can no longer sit by idle. We will miss the boat if we continue on this path. The media is crucial in uplifting us. Lets get some talented people.. Please don't misinterpret to mean "the girl or guy or can move their waists fast". We need solid minds to beam at us and not those old dinosaurs from RADIO Demerara who are now obsolete.
Billy B, point taken.

There were some intelligent programming on Spotlight TV - we even wanted to put out a weekly series on retirement planning using financial securities instruments. Alas the sponsor pulled out.

There was a time when Spotlight TV used to cover and bring to our audience seminars like the one with Precinct 102 on domestic abuse. We engaged some minds in those days. We had the Rajkumari Culture Center folks on to talk about the relevance of propagating our Bhojpuri cultural heritage in the face of the new pop culture our youths were subjected to.

So it's not like we do not know how to do it, and well, we need a few more people to bring such talents regularly to our weekend TV fare, I do agree.
Originally posted by Rev Al:
TOO MANY CUNNING, DECEITFUL, BACKBITING, UNSCRUPULOUS INDO GUYANESE TRICKSTERS PARADING AS SO-CALLED COMMUNITY LEADERS IN RICHMOND HILL, QUEENS

The Rev was told that at most political gatherings in Richmond Hill, Queens, it's the same sleazebags and shady characters you run into.

These crafty scoundrels---pandits, imams, real estate brokers, lawyers, mortgage consultants, etc, etc are not really interested in the welfare of their community--they are just interested in promoting themselves and their bloated egos.

The good people of Richmond Hill, Queens know who these tricksters are--they are aware of their sinister motives---and so they choose to stay away from political gatherings.

OK Folks!

Feel free to name the indo guyanese charlatans and confidence men parading as community leaders in Richmond Hill, Queens---they should be pelted with rotten eggs.

What place does this moronic posting have on this Board? Or this poster needed this for an orgasm?
It is difficult to even have a united Pandit Association or a Imam Association. Each Mandir wants to be on it's own like each Masjid. If our Religious Leaders cannot have Unity how will the rest of the Community.
Originally posted by kidmost:
It is one thing moaning and complaining about what was, is and should be but, while the concentration of Indo Guyanese in a neighborhood may connote an indo Guyanese community, the community spirit is absent and needs to be cultivated and fostered. Most indo guyanese residents think the term ' Lil Guyana' signifies a strong unified community when in fact it is far from being one.

It takes more than one political candidate to unify a community. It requires an organization which is able to truely reflect legitimate representation of the members of the community and that my friends TAKES DEDICATION , WUK & TIME - elements most self appointed leaders are not willing to sacrifice for.

Some time ago I had to reach the community so I went directly to indo guyanese in business , social , religious groups and I got results . I went to mandhirs churches masjids etc even some door to door and events to engage , converse and exchange .

Who are the CLEAN sincere honest dedicated community leaders today in the indo guyanese community of NYC ? They should come together , built an organization which serves the community and community members needs and get the snow ball rolling . The A.M.E. church in St Albans grew to become a political behemoth in Queens after they organized the community created their own schools , health centers etc etc . There is a missionary church on Lefferts Blvd at 91St Ave which grew large by offering the punjabi sikh christians social services and they now offer child care , pre K , senoir care , health care and counselling for HS kids to College and Univ etc and they offer vocational training and job placement.
Like my beloved deceased brother Gora used to say, "you cant demand and ask of the people all the time when yuh nah give dem some dhal puri and curry" and " yuh can be two faced unda wan cap and talk with forked tongue and expect people nah gon mek yuh out fuh wan scamp".
Let me ask this question . Are the Masjids , mandhirs and churches willing to facilitate leaders to speak to their congregation on community issues which affect everyone ? Can the leaders create a leadership cadre to inititate , support and maintain community outreach programs ?
I asked a few indo guyanese who were and some still are teachers if they would be willing to offer tutoring for free a few times a week and on weekends if I provided the space - can get an answer back from most - dem busy yet, meh ah see dem at dem bar in RH . Do the religious leaders really care about the community as a whole of only their followers ?
Why cant contending leaders speak with each other in civil manner , be seen together on TV programs letting the community members get to know them ?
What place does this moronic posting have on this Board? Or this poster needed this for an orgasm?

Kari bai:

You seem annoyed and aggravated. Is it the truth disclosed by the Rev about the indo guyanese tricksters in your Richmond Hill community parading as community leaders that has riled you up ?

Or are you guilty of the fact that you Kari bai may very well be one of those self-aggrandizers who show up at the Richmond Hill gatherings with the sole purpose of promoting himself and his overbloated ego ?

Whatever your reason for being peeved kari bai--let me repeat the truth I stated above:

Hey turd, you gat no truth to tell anyone. Whah happen, didn't have a good orgasm, so you have to waste our time? The last thing anyone can do is get under my skin. You can post all the crap you want, I'll continue to try to educate your puny little mind.

Well said.

Kari bai:

Don't lie! You are clearly aggravated by the Rev's remarks. You have resorted to calling names---you are clearly peeved.

RE: ORGASM

What's with your orgasm comments Kari bai ? Maybe you need to spend more time with your significant other than with your fellow self-aggrandizers at those indo guyanese gatherings.

RE: PUNY MIND

Are you telling us about yourself kari bai ? Big Grin

LISTEN KARI BAI, THE INDO GUYANESE TRICKSTERS AND CON MEN IN QUEENS, NY MUST BE EXPOSED AND SHAMED.

A few are headed to jail soon---may the rest get their comeuppance.

Many are your friends, huh Kari bai ?

Show me your company and I'll tell you who you are.

Calling yourself Rev, Mufti, Imam, Majee or Pundit do not change who you are......or make you a honest person.

You defend Ramotar as a good fella.....
and all these conmen you refer to are Personal friends of Donald.

The good people of Richmond Hill, Queens know who these tricksters are--they are aware of their sinister motives---and so they choose to stay away from political gatherings.Donald knows they are Crooks.....but they are his friends in New York.
Moses Know they are Crooks.....and he refuse to mix with them.....

These are not Moses Friends.....

Show me your company and I'll tell you who you are.

"Mufti"......I can post a picture with Ramotar and anyone of the crooks above....

"Imam"....Can you produce a picture with Moses Nagamootoo and any one of these "Funny Fellas"
None of these Guys are associated with Moses in any shape or form,this is a fundraising event for Spitzer at a very well known location.Ramoutar are in pictures with 3 of these Guys Kewal,Ad and Bholo.and Bharrat are in many many pictures with 4 of them.Back to the Topic,Kari is bobbing and weaving like a Quack as usual.STICK TO THE POST.
Originally posted by creative:
None of these Guys are associated with Moses in any shape or form,this is a fundraising event for Spitzer at a very well known location.Ramoutar are in pictures with 3 of these Guys Kewal,Ad and Bholo.and Bharrat are in many many pictures with 4 of them.Back to the Topic,Kari is bobbing and weaving like a Quack as usual.STICK TO THE POST.

Bhai like "De Pundit".....open a can of worms here.....are u 100% sure these are Donald friends?????
One of the common problems facing NY based Indo Guyanese who try to create organizations in NYC to address Indo Guyanese NYC concerns is the infiltration of PPP Opportunists and the poisonous influence of Guyanese filty politicking which contaminates these NY based organizations. Take for instance , Prem Misir and his cohorts who destroyed the Indo Caribbeans Association of NA for their own selfish advancement into the PPP Party/Govt. I got nothing against PM because he is what he is and there are just too many like him on the community . People create and or join local NY organizations to get profiled for selfish reasons. Pity the community lacks the calibre and quality of the hindu , sanatanist , muslim and christian indians who comprised the BGEIA of Guyana back in the days when ethics honor and dignity were pillars of indo organizations .Now we gat crabs in Guyana , NYC , Toronto etc ...thanks to the PPP.
Back to the Topic,Kari is bobbing and weaving like a Quack as usual.STICK TO THE POST.

Staying with the boxing metaphor, your posts remind me of a groggy boxer in the late rounds who hit the deck several times. I got that thing that rhymes with quack for you to play with - a much better past time than spewing your verbal diarrhea.
It is unfortunate that America, which is perceived as the greatest democracy in the world and New York, as the great melting pot, reflect such horrid politics where ethnic groups who live in enclaves must seek districting in accordance with ethnic interests rather than general community needs. How else can integration and unity be realized through unity ? The political ideologue divides this great country and people more each decade , festers distrust and thrives on it. It is because of the racism which grows out of these political idealogues that people need to be more clannish in their political motives and it is sad. However , I must agree that minorities who are seen as less deserving must make a stand and make their demands heard and evidenced . These political fixtures have dictated for too long and it is time to break the practice .
Source:Guyana Times

NY Guyanese appeal for support at redistricting hearing
February 4, 2012 By admin Leave a Comment
At a meeting on Thursday evening on Liberty Avenue, an ad hoc Guyanese group has been formed in New York to advocate for an Assembly seat for Richmond Hill.
A flyer has been put out by the group titled “Stand up and be counted”.
The group has also printed a tee-shirt with the label “Unite Richmond Hill Communities of interest”. The group is calling on Guyanese-Americans and South Asians to join them at a redistricting hearing on February 7 to demand a seat for Richmond Hill, and for the area to remain united instead of being gerrymandered to disenfranchise them.
The advocates say they want to keep the “South Asian community (under which Indo-Guyanese are counted in the census)” of Richmond Hill as a whole so as to keep community areas intact socially, economically, and politically. They feel this would lead to political empowerment.
The boundaries of seats to the bicameral legislatures of New York State, New York City and the U.S. House of Representatives must be adjusted to account for the changing demographics after every census conducted at the start of every decade. The law requires fair representation for every ethnic group in the country.
Guyanese-Americans are seeking at least one Assembly seat for New York State and a City Council seat from the Richmond Hill area. Other advocates, like Vishnu Bisram and Albert Baldeo, are also calling for a seat for the House of Representatives and the New York State Senate. According to proposals put out by interest groups, the clustering of the Guyanese and South Asian population in several areas in Queens make it potentially possible to have three seats to the State Assembly, one seat to the Senate, one seat to the U.S. House of Representatives, and three seats to the City Council.
Currently, the way the boundaries of the seats are drawn, Guyanese have no chance at winning any seat as the communities they cluster in are gerrymandered into three House seats, four State Senate seats, six City Council seats, and eight Assembly seats. If the areas where Guyanese and South Asians are united together, they could potentially win three seats to the Assembly, two in the Senate, three in the City Council, and one in the U.S House of Representatives.
After the 1990 census, Richmond Hill was gerrymandered into six Assembly seats. Jamaican-American, Garth Marchant explained to the meeting of Guyanese community leaders that a deal was cut between the Afro-Caribbeans and the Italian-Americans to increase the number of Afro-American seats in Queens by one and to create a new seat for Italian-Americans encompassing parts of Richmond Hill, Howard Beach and Ozone Park.
Marchant is supporting the creation of a Guyanese/South Asian district in Richmond Hill in exchange for support for the retention of the current number of African seats. Marchant advised Guyanese to work collaboratively with African leaders of Queens Village and St Albans so that both groups could come out as winners in how the seats are drawn. Marchant feels there should be an increase in Asian seats and a decrease in “White seats” to reflect the changed demographics of the city.
The Whites, however, are seeking more seats although their proportion in the city’s population has declined. The largest increase in the population is among the Asians (under which Indo-Guyanese are counted) and Latinos. The Guyanese and South Asian ad hoc group are appealing to Richmond Hill-based and other Guyanese to come out and support advocates for a seat for the community on Tuesday from 15:00h at the Queens Boro Office at 120-55, Queens Boulevard. The Guyanese community needs everyone on board on this issue. A statement put out by the group on Friday morning reads:
“We are Americans too, and we demand a better life now – and for future generations!” The group said it is time Guyanese and other ethnic communities get their fair share in service and representation in government in New York and Washington.
The group is cooperating with the Institute for Latinos, The Black Caribbean Caucus, Asian Legal Defense, Latino Justice, and South Asians Taking Our Seat in order to get an Assembly seat for Richmond Hill.