Obama: ‘Trayvon Martin Could Have Been Me 35 Years Ago’

By Laura Matthews, on July 19 2013 2:30 PM, Source

Obama June 2012

President Barack Obama. Reuters

President Barack Obama made a surprise visit to the White House briefing room Friday where he reflected on comments made last year in the George Zimmerman-Trayvon Martin case.

“Trayvon Martin could have been me 35 years ago,” the president said.

Martin, 17, was murdered by Zimmerman, a former neighborhood watch volunteer last February. He was acquitted last week of second-degree murder and manslaughter.

He also suggested that the outcome of the case could have been different "if Martin were white".

"If a white male teen would have been involved in this scenario," he said, "both the outcome and the aftermath might have been different."

The nation's first black president, Obama said that it is impossible for the African-American community to not view the Martin case without filtering it through a long history of racial discrimination.

The Serpent

5 minutes ago
<form action="https://guyana.crowdstack.io/deleteReply!execute" id="hiddenDeleteReplyForm" method="post" name="hiddenDeleteReplyForm"></form>DeleteEdit

The President words and action speaks volume of racist and bigotry and gave rise to nationwide riots. If the president don't respect our court system then who will?

Mr. President, you don't judge a man by assuming if he was black or white or what could have done differently. You judge a man by the evidence presented to the court. I am ashame of you, Obama. You reminded me of David Dinkens of NYC when hethanked the blacks for not rioting

I just lost all my respect for this moron, Obama.

Originally Posted by TI:

Watch it bai! Obama might break yuh nose and bash in yuh head!

That don't even happen in Guyana more so in America, and even as the NSA reading our conversation. 

Like in Guyana, Blacks need to do some soul searching as to what they do, their actions which contribute to the "profile".  The truth of the matter, crime in that community were being perpetuated by mainly Black youths against non-Black victims.

Alyuh must remember Guyana.  When you walk the streets in GT, you always watch out for and Black trailing you.  Most were just going about their business, but women moved their handbags to the front and held it tight and men put their hands in pocket to prevent pick-pocket.  You always had to be cognizant of any strange blacks walking through your street.  Even black neighbors would look up and take note of his face and ask who is he.  No one took notice of strange Indian youths.

Alyuh come over here and forget the reality of Guyana, which is the same here.

Like in Guyana, Blacks need to do some soul searching as to what they do, their actions which contribute to the "profile". 

The law says one is innocent until proven guilty.

I guess if you are black you are guilty because of wjhat 10% of the black population does.

You are such a bigot and prove this with every passing day.

Baseman shoule every Indo Guyanese be treated as a drug lord because the biggest drug lords and money launderers in Guyana are Indians?  Even though 99% of IndoGuyanese do not engage in these activities.

YOu do not understand that when you stereotype others they can also stereotype you.

The President words and action speaks volume of racist and bigotry and gave rise to nationwide riots. If the president don't respect our court system then who will?

Mr. President, you don't judge a man by assuming if he was black or white or what could have done differently. You judge a man by the evidence presented to the court. I am ashame of you, Obama. You reminded me of David Dinkens of NYC when hethanked the blacks for not rioting

I just lost all my respect for this moron, Obama.

Calling you a human being would be insulting to the English Language.....

Like in Guyana, Blacks need to do some soul searching as to what they do, their actions which contribute to the "profile". 

I guess if you are black you are guilty because of wjhat 10% of the black population does.

Baseman shoule every Indo Guyanese be treated as a drug lord because the biggest drug lords and money launderers in Guyana are Indians?  Even though 99% of IndoGuyanese do not engage in these activities.

YOu do not understand that when you stereotype others they can also stereotype you.

I was stereo-typed a few times, people asking me if I was a doctor!

Like in Guyana, Blacks need to do some soul searching as to what they do, their actions which contribute to the "profile"

@ baseman . . .  i suggest u stop prancing about the board like a true GT antiman and address caribny's question

Like in Guyana, Blacks need to do some soul searching as to what they do, their actions which contribute to the "profile"

@ baseman . . .  i suggest u stop prancing about the board like a true GT antiman and address caribny's question

Irrelevant comparison.  Why do you people and your bleeding heart liberal losers like Kari-katahar cross-up the issue and muddy the waters rather than dealing with the real issue.  Ask Kari if his mom did not hold her purse tightly in front when a young black man was walking behind her in GT.  Every Indian Guyanese, even Blacks took this precaution, even today.  Very few have drug lords on their mind.

If, as he says, 99% of organized drug dealers are Indians, what does this have to do with the masses.  They (dealers) are not targeting the masses, Indian, Afro or other.  Like in the US, the people of Guyana are more sensitive to African youth criminals who target them and their kids.  Why in Guyana, even blacks, are concerned when a strange black youth is seen in their neighborhood?  Even YOU would be concerned.

You people can talk around the issue and muddy the waters, does not matter, the truth will be known and the jury is out, like with Zimmerman.

Address YOUR issues, YOUR youth criminals, YOUR fatherless children, YOUR lack of education, YOUR own issues which cause YOUR youth to embrace a life of crime and criminal behavior.  This will then stop the "profiling" and the innocent will have nothing to worry about.

Take ownership and responsibility.

Tell Obama he was profiled because of Black behavior, not White.  He is addressing the effect, not that cause.  Why don't he take leadership and talk bluntly to blacks and how they live and behave which contribute to their demise.  He IS a good role model if he does not take up the "hedgehog" Sharpton approach.

Which is?

in bold

The fact is that Blacks are targeted because most of the victims of crime describe the perpetrators as Blacks. Look to the country's jails for proof of this. You need to listen to Bill Cosby and clean up your act. Stop making excuses and implore the 10% of your people to stop robbing and killing then maybe the 90% who are innocent will not be harassed. 

Irrelevant comparison.  Why do you people and your bleeding heart liberal losers like Kari-katahar cross-up the issue and muddy the waters rather than dealing with the real issue.  Ask Kari if his mom did not hold her purse tightly in front when a young black man was walking behind her in GT.  Every Indian Guyanese, even Blacks took this precaution, even today.  Very few have drug lords on their mind.

If, as he says, 99% of organized drug dealers are Indians, what does this have to do with the masses.  They (dealers) are not targeting the masses, Indian, Afro or other.  Like in the US, the people of Guyana are more sensitive to African youth criminals who target them and their kids.  Why in Guyana, even blacks, are concerned when a strange black youth is seen in their neighborhood?  Even YOU would be concerned.

You people can talk around the issue and muddy the waters, does not matter, the truth will be known and the jury is out, like with Zimmerman.

Address YOUR issues, YOUR youth criminals, YOUR fatherless children, YOUR lack of education, YOUR own issues which cause YOUR youth to embrace a life of crime and criminal behavior.  This will then stop the "profiling" and the innocent will have nothing to worry about.

Tell Obama he was profiled because of Black behavior, not White.  He is addressing the effect, not that cause.  Why don't he take leadership and talk bluntly to blacks and how they live and behave which contribute to their demise.  He IS a good role model if he does not take up the "hedgehog" Sharpton approach.

both u and the limited dugabeer runnin helter skelter from de man question

"muddy[ing] the waters" has value . . . only the stupid and the charlatan fear that

answer nah

Having a fear of blacks and killing them because a few of them are indeed criminal is not the same thing.

Facts:

1.  At night many youngt Indians look likeblacks or Hispanics, especially if wearing a hoodie, when many wear during colder seasons.  You basically have signed a death warrant for them with your justification of killing a black because you think that he MIGHT be a criminal.

2.  More Indo boys in GY are becoming bandits.  While black bandits attack any one who they think is easy prey Indian bandits focus on other Indians.

I suspect that Guyanese women will look at ALL groups of young men and protect themselves accordingly.

3.  The boys with guns, Indo and Afro and mixed, get them from drug traffickers.  So keep on pretending as if the drug traffickers are irrelevant. They have also expanded the pool of petty criminals as many steal to feed their drug habit.  Indeed this might be part of th reason why there are increased robberies by Indo bandits within the last decade.

The fact is that Blacks are targeted because most of the victims of crime describe the perpetrators as Blacks. Look to the country's jails for proof of this. You need to listen to Bill Cosby and clean up your act. Stop making excuses and implore the 10% of your people to stop robbing and killing then maybe the 90% who are innocent will not be harassed. 

Another one signing a death sentence for young Indo boys in NYC. 

Oh yes many look like blacks and Hispanics at night, so if a Zimmerman type encounters them, you will start goping to mnay funerals if you continue to think that you can justofy the profiling of INNOCENT people.

BTW the level of violence in RH and other areas with IndoCaribs has led to cops not having agood opinion of them.  Between drunken brawls, fights between biscuit chested adolescents who need to show how manly they are, and spousal abuse, they have a front seat on Indo Carib violence.

So celebrate the abuse of innocent black boys and fool yourself that Indo carib boys are immune from this.

You know what amuses me as that just over a decade agao there was the One Million Man March.

Focus of the march.  To tell black men who ignore their kids, the damage that this causes, to deal with black on black violence.

Just about EVERY type of black leader was there.

yet druggie and baseman scream from the IndoKKK infested laptops/PCs that blacks do or say nothing about the social pathologies whcih exist within the community.

So many grass rootes community groups and chucches focus on theese issues, but you do not know about them, nor do you wish to as you peddle a system where black males should be assumed to be criminals, regardless as to who they are, or what they have done.  This then allowing society to engae in OPEN bigotry against this group.

There are many conflict resolution groups scattered around many urban centers aimed at conflict resolution in order to reduce violence.

There are many black schools  The Eagle Acadamey being one, to address the fact that many young black boys lack proper male role models.

Yet you bray that black people arent doing anything.

Given that even Sharpton has talked about the fact that the existence of racism is not to be used as an excuse for pathological behavior, I wonder who do you all think are the blacks who ignore this issue.

It is indeed a fact that people can complain about black on black crime, and also complain about institutional racism directed against their boys who they are trying to keep on the straight and narrow.  Especially when these are very related issues.

What message are you sending to the black boy who is trying to get into college, against the pressures on the inner city, when society are large tells him that he is a criminal and so can be shot by any one when everthey feel like?

Bet you something.  Many NY raised indo Caribbean boys are watching whats happening because they know full well that they too can be similarly profiled by some one who thinks that they are black or Hispanic, and there fore having no civil rights that society should respect.

Originally Posted by TI:

Dude, all minorities are profiled. By cops, by rich white people, Even by poor white people. This is nothing new. 

Tell that to druggie and baseman who thinks that IndoCarib boys arent profiled.  First because the NYPD sees them as a bunch of drunks engaing in senseless brawls.  Second becasue many IndoCaribs at night look either black or Hispanic and so attract the same abuse that those communities also get.

Originally Posted by TI:

Zimmerman types encounter them all the time. But they don't get shot. Guess why?

How do you know?

But for black community activists finding out about this Trayvon incident you wouldnt know about that either.