GOVERNMENT WILL CONTINUE TO LEAD THE STRUGGLE STARTED BY OUR ANCESTORS

Speech by Legal Affairs Minister, Anil Nandlall at Highbury, East Bank Ber­bice on the occasion of In­dian Arrival Day 
It is my honour to address you today on behalf of President Donald Ramot­ar and the Government of Guyana. I wish to tender apologies for the absence of His Excellency, who wished that he was here with you today. Unfortunately, he is at another event of a simi­lar type. On behalf of the President and the Govern­ment, I bring you Arrival Day greetings.

Hibury is the place where the first batch of Indian in­dentured servants landed on these shores, 176 years ago. Although, this particu­lar activity commemorates the first 128 indentured servants’ arrival to these shores, Arrival Day is set aside for us to celebrate the arrival of all of our peoples to this land from different continents in the world. I therefore extend greetings to all of our people who came here from different parts of the world and under different circumstances. 
As we commemorate the arrival of the first batch of Indian indentured servants to these shores 176 years ago, the story of their struggles, challenges and triumphs are well recorded and known. It is unnecessary for me to 
 recite them here. However, as we celebrate and salute their legacy today, we must reflect upon where we are and use their adversities and victories to inspire us to overwhelm the difficulties we face. Many of the prob­lems with which they grap­pled, confront us still. They did superlatively and under greater constraints. We live a far better life now. Our circumstances are vastly su­perior. Our victories and ac­complishments must natu­rally be greater. They would have expected no less from us. I believe that expecta­tion to be well founded. They have produced Heads of State, professionals in every conceivable pursuits, academics of world re­nown, business magnates who have built commercial empires worthy of billions of dollars, sports personali­ties whose exploits decorate the record books the world over, farmers whose hands continue to feed millions, culturalists whose works equal any, I can go on but I think the point is made. All of this they achieve, though started only with the clothes on their backs and from lo­gies built from mud. 
Our task is to surpass them, a tall order indeed. We can only achieve that by working tirelessly to cre­ate a world where all of our people are unshackled from the chains of poverty and exploitation of every kind 
 and where hunger is absent. Our task is therefore a per­petual one from which we must never shirk. 
Many of the goals for which they strive continue to be pursued by their descen­dants today. The struggle for better working conditions, for better living conditions, for better wages and salaries and indeed for a better life continues. Like them, their descendants continue to face challenges and difficul­ties. As a Government, it is our responsibility to facili­tate development to ensure that the ideals and aspira­tions of the ancestors of all our people are realised, es­pecially those that are still relevant. As a Government, we are struggling to provide better health care for all of our people, the same objec­tive which our forefathers pursued. However, we are faced with an Opposition 
 that votes down budgetary allocations for a Specialty Hospital. As a Government, as we try to create better liv­ing and working conditions of our people, we are con­fronted by an Opposition in the National Assembly who votes down a Hydro-Power Project that is so important to our development, deny­ing our farmers a Manufac­turing Sector to process that which they produce at Black Bush and elsewhere. 
As a Government, as we try to enact vital legislation to combat Money-Launder­ing and meet our interna­tional obligation, we face an Opposition in the National Assembly who are prepared to cause us to be blacklist­ed, thereby financially and economically estranging us from 190 countries who may sever trade relations with us and affecting our ability to access financing 
 from developmental part­ners for example the inter­national financial institu­tions of the world. The road to this site which we have heard so much about is to be funded by an IDB loan. That loan may never be rea­lised and next year when we assemble here may be worse than it is now. Therefore, the struggles of our ances­tors to achieve a better life for us must continue. The Government remains ready, able and willing to lead that struggle. 
 Happy 
Arrival Day 
to all. 

This banna sound more Presidential than the actual President.  THE Donald run under a rock these days.

isee u think Anil de dunce sound "Presidential" here . . . hmmm?

an accurate measure of your backwardness, no doubt

This banna sound more Presidential than the actual President.  THE Donald run under a rock these days.

isee u think Anil de dunce sound "Presidential" here . . . hmmm?

an accurate measure of your backwardness, no doubt

Kishan say....

"This banna sound more Presidential than the actual President."

I Understand.....

"De Duck is sounding like a Quack"

and Anil sounding better than de Quack

and we all know Anil is a dunce....

the Worst Attorney General Guyana ever had....

Redux see and Understand....

"Anil is a Bright Chap......

an accurate measure of Redux Brilliance.... no doubt

Kishan why are you reading comments by Anil which discuss race.  Isnt he "race obsessed" by talking about Indians.  Arrival Day is supposed to celebrate the arrival of all Guyanese, aside from those who wondered over the Bering Straits, or who arrived as slaves.  So why isn't he talking about the Chinese, Portuguese, Bajans and the Africans who arrived as indentures?

Because he is talking RACE!

Or is it that Indians can talk about each other, but when blacks do we are race obsessed?  This while you talk race out of the other side of your mouth by demanding that blacks face PPP bullets, because you know full well that Indians will not.

OH Nandalalala has no love for afro-Guyanese.  He is one of the principle architect that is working overtime to turn that community into economic mendicants.

And you said that he is "presidential" material.

Well I guess you just confirmed that you don't care about blacks, yet are upset that I do and speak about it.

OH Nandalalala has no love for afro-Guyanese.  He is one of the principle architect that is working overtime to turn that community into economic mendicants.

And you said that he is "presidential" material.

Well I guess you just confirmed that you don't care about blacks, yet are upset that I do and speak about it.

Carry on smartly CaribJ....Yuh Right....

Maybe that is why Kwame on top of Anil in the PPP....