GT banna over at social asking where to get cassareep, I told him you know nuff stuff. Go over an help the banna nuh.
Mits maybe your contacts might help, just in case Rama don't come back from he half-mile walk.
Beware of Chinese fake cassareep. Get the real thing that's made in Pomeroon.
@Tola posted:Mits maybe your contacts might help, just in case Rama don't come back from he half-mile walk.
He can contact Bedessee West Indian Grocery. It's the real Guyanese stuff.
Wuh happen Rama, you only like threads where people fite up an ting?
@cain posted:GT banna over at social asking where to get cassareep, I told him you know nuff stuff. Go over an help the banna nuh.
You sound Trinish. If you are from GT and do not know where to get cassareep, then you are in big trouble.
@Ramakant-P posted:You sound Trinish. If you are from GT and do not know where to get cassareep, then you are in big trouble.
I live in Northern Ontario, I know nothing about finding foods in the US.
@cain posted:I live in Northern Ontario, I know nothing about finding foods in the US.
Me na tink Rama can read good.
@Ramakant-P posted:You sound Trinish. If you are from GT and do not know where to get cassareep, then you are in big trouble.
Everybody and their mother makes cassareep to sell. I haven't had to use any of the store bought yet. I always had from Guyana and from the Pomeroon. I just wanted to know of the ones being sold here, if anyone had used and what their opinion was.
I just made 'barabake'.
I mixed Ground dahl and wheat flour (1/2 and 1/2)
I teaspoon baking powder with a touch of turmeric.
I grated 1 onion and mixed with 1 egg with salt.
I then mixed everything together with 1/2 glass of water.
I need the mixture until it became a dough
I made about 16 balls and rolled them out like roti.
Then at last I deep fried the 'barabake' in vegetable oil.
IT'S A WORK OF ART.
Rama, can it be eggless? Can you add channa to make them into doubles?
BTW the word is "knead" not "need".
@Mitwah posted:Rama, can it be eggless? Can you add channa to make them into doubles?
It can be eggless if you want. I added an egg to hold them together.
Yes! you can make them into doubles. You should try it some day.
Yogurt, arrowroot powder, mashed bananas, applesauce, could be used in place of egg. I would go with first two so taste wouldn't change much.
Thanks, Rama. I'll go to the West Indian store next week for the split peas powder and will try it.
@Former Member posted:Thanks, Rama. I'll go to the West Indian store next week for the split peas powder and will try it.
Do YOu mean dhall?
@cain posted:Yogurt, arrowroot powder, mashed bananas, applesauce, could be used in place of egg. I would go with first two so taste wouldn't change much.
The mashed banana with flour can make "gulgula". Anyway, we used Yogurt instead of eggs.
Mits, what is the dish where vermecelli is used along with raisins and maybe milk? My neighbour made that on occasion and shared with my family.
@Former Member posted:Do YOu mean dhall?
A little knowledge is a dangerous thing. What Guyanese call split peas is one kind of dal. There are many other types, e.g., urad, moong. You can't get those in North Minneapolis. Katahar Indian.
@cain posted:Mits, what is the dish where vermecelli is used along with raisins and maybe milk? My neighbour made that on occasion and shared with my family.
Is your neighbor Muslim? It's called Sevian or Guyanese "Sawine".
1. Dry Vermicelli
2. Green Sultanas
3. Butter
4. Whole Milk
5. Sugar
6. Saffron
7. Ground Green Cardamom Powder
8. Double Cream
Yes they are Muslims...Hoosein. Maybe I should try making some.
@Former Member posted:Thanks, Rama. I'll go to the West Indian store next week for the split peas powder and will try it.
You are welcome! Split peas power?